Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Petition against Setanta Sports

• 25-04-2007 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭

Folks,

I never thought I'd see the day where Setanta would go hunting for rights to the championship.So now are we expected to pay to see the games we love if Setanta get their way?

It is puke inducing to read that A$$ HOLE Niall Cogley go on about the GAA cashing in on its popularity while Setanta can bleed money from the supporters.I think its our duty as fans and followers of our game to stand up to these corporate bastards from Setanta.

My uncle who lives in Sheffield can watch games on Setanta,thats good for people abroad but to try and cut off the free to air pleasure we have here in Ireland is disgusting.I am certain that Setanta Sports should have the rights to the championship for other countries but the GAA should realise that cutting off a lot of its fanbase from seeing games live is suicide.

I for one will never pay to have satellite tv just so I can watch GAA.The Offaly County Board (to my knowledge) are the only county board in Ireland to oppose this proposal so far.Why don't the other county boards follow suit.

How will us loyal supporters and lovers of the game object and petition against such a proposal.I just hope that the GAA sees moral sense and also that RTE get their finger out if it comes down to a bid.

So please,I am urging everybody to do what they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

blackbelt wrote:
    Folks,

I never thought I'd see the day where Setanta would go hunting for rights to the championship.So now are we expected to pay to see the games we love if Setanta get their way?

It is puke inducing to read that A$$ HOLE Niall Cogley go on about the GAA cashing in on its popularity while Setanta can bleed money from the supporters.I think its our duty as fans and followers of our game to stand up to these corporate bastards from Setanta.

My uncle who lives in Sheffield can watch games on Setanta,thats good for people abroad but to try and cut off the free to air pleasure we have here in Ireland is disgusting.I am certain that Setanta Sports should have the rights to the championship for other countries but the GAA should realise that cutting off a lot of its fanbase from seeing games live is suicide.

I for one will never pay to have satellite tv just so I can watch GAA.The Offaly County Board (to my knowledge) are the only county board in Ireland to oppose this proposal so far.Why don't the other county boards follow suit.

How will us loyal supporters and lovers of the game object and petition against such a proposal.I just hope that the GAA sees moral sense and also that RTE get their finger out if it comes down to a bid.

So please,I am urging everybody to do what they can.

I agree this is an outrage, and it's true that the other county boards need to follow Offaly and oppose this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭ublinina2

Under absolutely no circumstances should the GAA sell the rights of our games to pay per view or satellite TV or be allowed by their members for that matter. It would be an absolute outrage to think that you can go up training to your local club or give voluntarily your time to the sport and then when it comes to the championship you then have to pay to watch a game on the TV. The prices for the gate are already very high and Remember the players on the pitch are getting nothing for it ( unlike other sports)

Furthermore it will have to signify the first steps towards outright pay for play as the hierarchy in Croke Park cant expect players to play for nothing while they take in money left right and centre because of their skills, dedication and talent.

RTE has provided great free to air coverage to us for how many years and as has TG4 in the past few years. It would be totally hyprocritical of the GAA to bring this in and allow it to happen in any shape or form.

If this happened genuine GAA supporters should boycott games and the players should be encrouaged to go on an outright strike.

Money , Money , Money is all they want in Croke Park , but i have yet to see any of it filter down properly to the clubs.

The government should now also pass a bill to protect the rights of the public to view the All Ireland finals of our national sport on terristal TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

ublinina2 wrote:
    Under absolutely no circumstances should the GAA sell the rights of our games to pay per view or satellite TV or be allowed by their members for that matter. It would be an absolute outrage to think that you can go up training to your local club or give voluntarily your time to the sport and then when it comes to the championship you then have to pay to watch a game on the TV. The prices for the gate are already very high and Remember the players on the pitch are getting nothing for it ( unlike other sports)

Furthermore it will have to signify the first steps towards outright pay for play as the hierarchy in Croke Park cant expect players to play for nothing while they take in money left right and centre because of their skills, dedication and talent.

RTE has provided great free to air coverage to us for how many years and as has TG4 in the past few years. It would be totally hyprocritical of the GAA to bring this in and allow it to happen in any shape or form.

If this happened genuine GAA supporters should boycott games and the players should be encrouaged to go on an outright strike.

Money , Money , Money is all they want in Croke Park , but i have yet to see any of it filter down properly to the clubs.

The government should now also pass a bill to protect the rights of the public to view the All Ireland finals of our national sport on terristal TV.

i think it should be allowed .... wait, wait fot it

then don't subscribe to it and don't go to it.

then theyed be ****ed!:D :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I know how ya feel, but then again, why dont RTÉ cough up more money for the rights to coverage? Agreed that it is awful that they might not show our national game on free-to-air though

Do the GAA really need the money that badly that they have to sell the rights of an Amatuer game to Pay per view? It is an amatuer and irish game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Ladies and gentlemen,

I'll be damned if I sit back and do nothing.I just rang the Dublin county board and was shocked that the secretary or whoever answered the phone was not aware of this matter.I asked her to tell officials about this news and the proposal of the county board to object.Lets all do our bit to keep our games on terrestrial tv.

I am not one for sabotaging a corporate business potential to do a great deal for themselves but in this case,our culture and privilege to see these great games may be under threat.

I'd urge evry member of this board to ring their respective county board and do as I have done,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

when is the present deal up for renewal?

Gucci,

The present deal is up for review/renewal this year but RTE will have the rights to show the championship this year.So we need everybody to start objecting against Setanta now instead of later when its too late.

I'm under the impression that each county board is out of touch with whats going on.There were county boards who disapproved of the new league structures when their teams fell victim even though at congress and meetings the new structure was proposed.

I was very surprised at the DCB that they didn't know,well they know now.

The following is from Hoganstand.com

Setanta make case for championship rights
    25 April 2007

Setanta Ireland chief executive Niall Cogley has urged the GAA to grant championship coverage rights to the satellite sports channel.

While acknowledging that some events like the All-Ireland finals must legally be broadcast on free-to-air television as provided by RTE, Cogley believes the GAA has a chance to cash in on its unprecedented levels of popularity by granting championship rights to Setanta.

Cogley argues that Setanta, which has already made inroads into the GAA market by covering National League and O’Byrne Cup games, would be very advantageous to the GAA both in financial and development terms.

“Twelve years ago, there were people in the GAA who felt that live television would spell the end of the GAA as we knew it. Some felt it would never happen, but it happened,” he said.

“Contrary to some people’s expectations, the GAA thrived.

“I would have thought that having put themselves into the position of popularity that they now find themselves in, I would hope that they include Setanta in the mix.

“Certainly I would expect to be invited to make our contribution to the build-up process and hopefully they would take our proposals seriously, the same as the Premier League and others have.”

The GAA’s TV championship rights are due for renewal later this year.

[/B][/B][/B]

Who in the GAA is actually pushing for Sentanta to get the rights. Could the county boards put forward a motion to stop our sports going onto Satellite TV , but as the congress is over for this year can we do anything ?

Nobody in the GAA has pushed for it.Niall Cogley from Setanta is pushing for it and the suggestion of the championship going onto satellite tv is enough to make my blood boil.Congress may be over for this year but who is to say the rights can not be offered up and bought out by Setanta?

I'm nearly certain that the GAA will continue its business and broadcasting with RTE with RTE delivering a more than satisfactory service.Plus there is the whole issue of the GAA,RTE and Sideline promotion of the championship on dvd.

I also think the GAA wouldn't sell out to Setanta as it would be a step in the direction of gaelic games going professional.This might please Dessie Farrell and co (I don't know).In accordance with satellite tv,if gaelic were to become pay per view,then as such it is a professional sport.This is something the GAA or the general public don't want.

Sometimes the prospect of big bucks can sway any organisation.Who is to say that the rule of "free to air" coverage of the championship is safe.I'm of the impression that the AI Final has to be broadcasted on terrestrial tv but I am not so sure about the provincial championships and the run up to the final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭easytiger!

• Ireland's Six Nations Rugby games
    • The Summer Olympics
    • The All-Ireland Senior Football and Hurling Finals
    • Ireland's home and away qualifying games in the European Football Championship and FIFA World Cup tournament
    • Ireland's games in the European Football Championship Finals Tournament and the FIFA World Cup Finals Tournament
    • The opening games, semi-finals and finals of the European Football Championship Finals and the World Cup Finals Tournament
    • Ireland's games in the Rugby World Cup Finals Tournament
    • The Irish Grand National and the Irish Derby
    • The Nations Cup in the Dublin Horse Show

These are as of 2003 but as far as I know they haven't been changed, Liam Mulvihil said the GAA were happy with the situation as is when asked for a submission at the start of 2006. Setanta complained at that stage about RTE's dominant position and said that more of these games should be available to bid for, and also looked for a change in their designation as most homes were now receiving Setanta without subscription

But when you say the football and hurling finals,does that mean the last match of each competition or from the quarters straight through to the final?

I don't think Setanta can complain.They have some coverage of the league and O Byrne cup apparently.I never remember seeing many of these matches as I see most games are on TG4.

I am more than happy with RTE and their lineup and setup for broadcasting the championship.The panel bring life and atmosphere to the game.Darragh Maloney is a great commentator,something which is lacking in sports broadcasting.

Setanta have no right to come here and demand the rights for coverage.If they got coverage,you can bet your last euro that each game will be on Setanta 1 or 2,these are channels we do not get free,hence the satellite channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

I will be contacting the Donegal Board to see what they know about this and what their stance is.
    While acknowledging that some events like the All-Ireland finals must legally be broadcast on free-to-air television as provided by RTE, Cogley believes the GAA has a chance to cash in on its unprecedented levels of popularity by granting championship rights to Setanta

Surely he means Setanta want to cash in with their ridiculous charges for every channel. :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

I'll be following up on my phonecall from yesterday to the Dublin County Board.It should be a case whereby each county board opposes this.I'd also hope that a rep from each county follow me and Smashey's lead by informing each county board.

Say Culchie for Mayo,Lemlin/Pornapster for Cavan,Netwhizkid for Kerry and Cruiserweight for Wexford etc.

So far we have three CB informed:

Myself (Dublin)
    Smashey(Donegal)
    Offaly(who happen to be the only county board that has had the balls to do something about it so far and keep up to date with whats happening internally and externally)

I want to and always will want to choose the antics of Darragh Maloney,Colm O Rourke,Michael Lyster and Joe Brolly over anybody.

Even if I had the satellite channels,I'd still object.Not only would the game be heading for professionalism but it would decrease the fan support and stop promoting the game.

Setanta out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Setanta could buy the rights and show it freeview as they do with some programs and hope for people to sign up if not on NTL.

They will make money from advertisement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭squire1

I can't see it happening. The GAA would be cutting their own throat to sell broadcasting rights to a pay per view channel. I'm all for the open market but this would be just bad business for the GAA. Can you imagine the scramble by the GPA to get a slice of the action if it did happen? They would have to be brought on board for this to go through which would be the genesis of professionaism.

However, saying that, I will be having a chat with my club delegate to make sure that it is brought up at the next county board meeting and that they are aware of the potential.

Consider Kildare county board informed ;)

Good man Squire,

I'd agree that I can't see it happening but as the saying goes,the weather is not always predictable.We all know that it would be bad business for the GAA to agree a deal with Setanta but the problem is,the point needs to be driven home as the implications might be overlooked by the GAA if Setanta offer a ridiculous high sum of money for the rights.

I'd like for board members to inform on this thread that their county board has been notified and tell me what they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

easytiger! wrote:
    most homes were now receiving Setanta without subscription

Most but not all. it would be a disgrace if the Championship goes to Setanta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Mossy Monk wrote:
    Most but not all. it would be a disgrace if the Championship goes to Setanta.

Why the GAA gets more cash ? That is the bottom line of it all. I would imagine most people who post here go to their counties games so it wont affect them other than the GAA getting more money.

Welcome to the age of tv watching sports fans.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I know a few lads involved with derry gaa not sure if it will be any help but could get them to say it at next council meetin etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It is a disgrace that this could happen. The GAA has boomed over recent years, and much of that is down to increased TV coverage. At one time they only used to show finals and semi-finals live. When it was proposed to show more live games on tv, there were fears that people would stay at home and not go to games, leaving attendances dropping. What did happen is that the game became more popular as a whole new audience was reached, and attendances grew.

Putting the matches onto a channel that no one can see - with the exception of those stupid enough to pay for a satellite channel - is not going to do them any favours. I would never get Sky Sports or any of those subscription channels. They have ruined sport. If no one subscribed, we'd actually end up seeing more sport as it would move back to free to air. I like watching sport on TV, so I wouldn't do something that is going to help those that take that away, by paying a subscription. So the best way for you to see more sport on TV would actually be to not subscribe to those sports channels, and they'll go out of business then!

Let Setanta show the games by all means, but let the other channels show them too. Buying rights is not really competing. It is like saying that we will see who is the fastest runner here, but only the one with the most money can run. If Setanta think they can do a better job than RTE, then show the games alongside RTE and let the people and advertisers decide who to watch. Then they will be competing. It'll be the quality of their coverage, not the size of their wallet that will decide. The likes of Sky tell us they have the best coverage, and yet they are afraid to put it alongside other channels to prove it.

One thing lads, if it does go to Setanta, and less people see the matches and the popularity of Gaelic Games drops, it just might be a tiny bit easier for us real fans to get tickets for those big games. :)

The GAA has thrived with the extended coverage that RTE has provided to the nation.I know for a fact that this "business venture" Setanta are trying to pursue is not really as feasible as they think.

Only a small percentage of fans will pay extra to see these games and it will not yield the return Setanta or the GAA would hope for.

The truth is,with GAA games on RTE,the audience is much bigger.We now have foreign nationals playing our game and this is largely in part due to the fact that gaelic is shown on the national free to air channel.

If the GAA are stupid enough to accept Setanta then the following will happen....

Setanta will take the coverage away from 9/10 of Ireland,drag the game into professionalism..this in turn will awaken the GPA who will argue the case for players to be paid large sums of money,less people will go to the games as many will boycott the GAA.Then when players are being paid and less people are going to the matches,the GAA will find themselves just above financial peril.Remember,it could be a three year deal and it can take that long for the GAA to find themselves in trouble.When the deal with Setanta would finally run out,the GAA would come running and crawling back to RTE.

The county boards are our asset in protecting coverage.With the objection of county boards,if the worst case scenario happened,each county board who objects can/could get the county teams to withdraw from the games.

The proposal of Setanta is like stealing a desperate persons water supply in the desert and then hoping to sell it back to him/her.I am not going to budge.I am writing a letter to Niall Cogley to prove these points.The guy must not have done applied management in college (if he ever went there).

You take the issue and discuss its feasibility and folks,for the aforementioned reasons,thats why it is not feasible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭squire1

KdjaCL wrote:
    I would imagine most people who post here go to their counties games so it wont affect them other than the GAA getting more money.

Welcome to the age of tv watching sports fans.

kdjac

I go to all my county games and get to Croker to other games as often as I can. Sunday afternoons sitting watching the Ulster or Connaught Finals is what my Summer is all about. Especially now with all the qualifier matches in recent times. I love it, but not enough to drive all the way to Castlebar or Clones to see the game. It would be the radio for me I'm afraid if Setanta get the rights.

Following up from my phonecall the other day,I just rang the Dublin County Board.It seems as though I was wasting my time as they told me that "it was nothing got to do them,it is Croke Park that decide".

I'm quickly losing faith in the Dublin County Board,their opening hours are 9am although I went down early one morning and waited from 9-9:20 and not a sight of any employee,the place was locked up.

It seems that the whole issue of even raising an argument against such a proposal is too much to ask.Plus the DCB were out of touch with what was happening until I told them.

I'm getting more and more p1ssed off.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

RTÈ's coverage is ****e so maybe if Setanta get it, their coverage might be better. Hopefully however, RTÈ keep the rights as IMO it would be the begining of the end for the G A A...

Looder,stop trolling.If you have a problem with GAA take it up with the org,if you have a problem with the game itself,then get off this board.If you don't have a love for the game then you have no business being here.These games should be free to air.Its not about who you think would do better coverage,its about accessibility to see these games.

Can you imagine an 80 year old man down in Kerry wants to watch Kerry v Cork,he's a pensioner and can't venture out much.His right to see the match is under threat.He's a pensioner who might not be able to afford satellite or pay per view tv.

Looder,I can also assure you that Setantas coverage would not even match RTE.I'm under the impression that you have satellite?

RTE coverage is top notch with great commentary from Maloney and the pundits O Rourke,Brolly and Lyster.Gaelic games is a big part of our culture.I'm not going to sit back and let these corporate slugs take it away from us.The reason I feel our viewing rights is under threat is because the GAA have actually publicly stated that they would be interested in hearing both parties claims and that a deal with Setanta could be a worthwhile venture.

Its also interesting to note that the big business bastard,Niall Cogley,is an RTE reject.The man was head of sport coverage in RTE until he left and joined Setanta.So whilst Setanta are looking for a big deal which they think would earn them a fortune,you have a sick bastard like Cogley spear-heading this proposal just to try and get the better of RTE.

If Niall Cogley and Setanta succeeds with their case,it will be the fans and the nation who suffer and then to a lesser degree,RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

In fairness Blackbelt people are entitled to a different opinion than yours!

Everyone said that Sky Sports was gonig to ruin english football but it has thrived since Sky got the rights (at least the top divisions). Who's to say Setanta couldn't do a better job than RTE! There are some of RTE's commentators that would get on your nerves (which ones is different for different people) so Setanta's could be an improvement! There are worrying points to Setanta getting coverage but I wouldn't be against it completely until I knew more about what was being proposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Its a bit ridiculous to suggest Cogley is doing it "just to get the better of RTE" :rolleyes:

He was the one who left RTE to join Setanta, far from a reject. Now he's just doing his job to get as much top sport on Setanta as he can. You cannot blame Setanta for trying to get championship games.

However, the GAA do not have to accept the big money offer, and I admire blackbelt's enthusiasm in trying to get it stopped. Writing to Setanta is a waste of time and effort and just makes no sense. Its the GAA that have to be canvassed to get it stopped.

I never sent the letter to Setanta but I did however talk to a friend in the Fianna Fail party who would have a word with the minister for communications,Noel Dempsey.Hopefully our viewing rights and our culture (sport) will be protected.

I couldn't care if Setanta got the rights and made it free to air but the whole concept of the championship being on pay per view is sickening to me.I just think that these guys in Setanta are trying to get rich off the love we have for our games.

The whole reason I am doing something about it is because this issue could surface without any objection and bang...its too late.I'm not going to let that happen.Some people who say they love gaelic games just sit and say "oh it would be disgraceful if that was to happen".I say,do something about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

blackbelt wrote:
    I never sent the letter to Setanta but I did however talk to a friend in the Fianna Fail party who would have a word with the minister for communications,Noel Dempsey.Hopefully our viewing rights and our culture (sport) will be protected.

I couldn't care if Setanta got the rights and made it free to air but the whole concept of the championship being on pay per view is sickening to me.I just think that these guys in Setanta are trying to get rich off the love we have for our games.

Noel will be to busy canvassing now to deal with it.

If Setanta make it freeview then it wont be on ppv as people will be able to tune it in to watch the games.

Maybe a case of RTé not giving less than they should as they are using their powers.

How would people feel if TV3 made a bid?

If TV3 were to make a bid,it would be fine with me.The main thing is to retain our right to see these games on tv.Maybe I might be seen as too passionate about our games but that is how I am.Its our culture,our way of entertainment.Maybe Cogley and Setanta would have the decency to make it free to air but I'm worried about our viewing rights.

RTE have always provided great coverage for the championship.i like their setup,commentary,pundits etc.To me they add a bit more drama to the games.You can feel that they are into it as much as you are and I like to see O Rourke being proved wrong.Thats why I want to see the championship broadcast on RTE.

If its not broken,don't fix it.

Looks like it could be coming in ...

Brennan won’t rule pay-for-view coverage

http://www.examiner.ie/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=31783-qqqx=1.asp

By Jim O’Sullivan

THE GAA is not prepared to rule out pay-for-view coverage of major championship games.

Association President Nickey Brennan admitted yesterday that ‘some of their product’ could conceivably be given to Setanta. However, he held off from giving a definitive view about the possibility of RT not continuing to hold the full rights to the domestic championship programme.

Brennan was speaking in Croke Park before the formal launch of what RT trumpeted their ‘most comprehensive GAA coverage ever’ — on television, radio and the internet — for which fans ‘won’t have to pay a penny!’

Asked if he could ever envisage championship games going to pay-for-view, Brennan said that while he had personal views on the matter, it would be ‘wrong’ for them to go into discussions with anybody ‘with preconceived ideas.’

The current contract (for which Setanta successfully negotiated the rights to floodlit League games), ends next spring after the league finals.

“Clearly we will be talking to RT and other interested parties as to the future. In addition the radio rights will come up for the first time.

“The challenge will be to make sure we pull together a package of coverage that is suitable and relevant to the Association for at least a three-year period,’’ Brennan said.

“Right now, whoever has an interest in talking to us, or whoever has an interest in taking our tender document, we should be prepared to meet these people and see what they have to say to us.

“That’s the way professional negotiations are conducted. And while we would have views on aspects of how our games will be presented and levels of access to them, we should be going in with an open mind and work out what’s the best for our Association.’’

In his view, it was ‘reasonable’ to speculate that if all of their championship games were not available on terrestrial television, then they couldn’t all be ‘free-to-air.’

That was the reality of the situation, he pointed out, because terrestrial television by its nature has to accommodate the needs and wishes of the wider population, many of whom do not have an interest in sport.

And indeed other sports have to be accommodated.

“I think we are very conscious of that in dealing with people like Setanta or others (Sky, possibly) who may be getting into that market that some of our product can be given to them, maybe on a deferred showing basis.’’

From the GAA’s perspective, their (first) venture into subscription coverage with Setanta went ‘reasonably well.’ Brennan said: “We went in to test the market, to see the level of coverage and to see what kind of a partnership we might develop there. Generally it has been pretty successful. We now have to decide if that should continue in the future or should it be expanded. There’s probably no specific ‘one fit’ that suits everything, but I think the development of Setanta has been worthwhile.

“I know people have a very strong view on it and would be ‘anti’ the notion, but from an Association perspective, I think we are correct to explore all sorts of markets and technologies where our games can be shown. I think we would be failing our units if we weren’t to do that and explore those areas.’’

Brennan explained that the type of package they would be interested in negotiating would include much more than inter-county and club competitions — for instance, schools and colleges games and those involving Cumann na mBunscol and Feile na nGael.

And, Brennan stressed they would have to keep abreast of developments in terms of technology changes in relation to the internet, and mobile 3G phone rights.

While insisting that it wouldn’t be all about ‘doing a deal’ that would generate the most finance, the President said that enhancing the quality of coverage would be key to agreeing a new package.

“I’m not saying money is not important, but the quality of presentation and how we present our games has to be better. By having more competition for your product, of course it enhances the prospects of getting more revenue.’’

At a more general level, Mr Brennan accepted that they may review the number of ‘live’ games they permit at weekends, because of the damaging effects they can have on County Board revenues for domestic fixtures.

“Maybe there would be less live games at specific times or that games can be shown at a later time. We have to be very conscious that there are certain times of the weekend where cutting across club games is a problem. We definitely have to take that into account in schedules going forward.’’

He stressed that the issue of radio rights will be given a special priority, because of the huge number of local stations and ‘growing’ national stations. Specifically in relation to local stations, he pointed out that many of them were highly successful operations. “I think that their involvement and broadcasting of games has to be more rigidly managed as well going forward in any new contract.’’

What a joke,

Brennan is blatantly guising "whats best for the Association" as a principle for this.I feel he is concerned with whats best for the Associations wallets whilst failing to look at the bigger picture...the general public and its fans.

The GAA are doing very well for themselves.This is not a good business venture in the long run if it were to occur.Sure they would cash in but the level of support will decrease and what about promoting the game?Young children wouldn't be able to see many of these games,or foreign nationals for that matter.

In the short run,its good but in the long term,its suicide.I can't envisage everybody subscribing to Setanta either or running to the operators

I knew of Brennans interest in this proposal over a week ago.He may have personal feelings about it but if he thinks the GAA will benefit financially,he will feel he can secure another term for presidency.

I can see an uproar if it went ahead.Thats why each and everyone of us should do something now

I was thinking earlier that the GAA,RTE and Setanta should not quibble about rights to the Championship.

In an ideal situation,I'd hope that the three parties could sit down and work out a solution that would be beneficial to the GAA,the fans and the tv companies.

If I were president of the GAA,I'd have the following format

1. RTE,TG4 and Setanta purchase the rights for tv coverage together,leaving no one tv station company with full rights.

2.RTE radio retain the rights to broadcast on the airwave while TG4 is included.

3.RTE show the big matches in Croke Park while Setanta cover other big matches around the country.For example,(just picking counties for example sake).

1.The minor Leinster final and the senior final,Dublin v Laois 4pm Sun 15th July by RTE
    2.Cork v Kerry 4pm 15th July Setanta 1/RTE radio
    3.Mayo v Galway 2:30/3pm live on RTE.IE
    4.Qualifier,Cavan v Meath Setanta Sports Ireland
    5.A Saturday game covered by TG4
    6.Another game covered by Setanta 1
    7.Highlights of every game on Sunday game and Setanta.

Therefore,the GAA could benefit financially,also the tv stations and the radio stations and most importantly,an increase in viewing and coverage around the country,thus satisfying the large and niche markets and also promoting the game.

Some matches are not televised due to the tight fixtures and games being played at the same time.I feel a proposition like this would solve this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭cousin_borat

Setanta have been gouging for years in the US. $20 to watch a championship match in a bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I dont think anyone has pointed to the real problem. RTE do not pay enough for sporting rights, that is why they lost the battle with Sky Sports a few years ago and the governement had to intervene, and now they are in danger of losing the GAA. Setanta are perfectly entitled to go after this coverage, and while I hope they do not get it, if I worked for them I would be encouraging this chase as it would add value to the channel to get the rights. I think RTE are pretty much entirely to blame as they use their position as state broadcaster to ensure they pay buggerall for these rights.

Blackbelt, allot of your comments were said about Sky and the Premiership 15 years ago. Both have thrived since that time. I can understand your point of view and your passion, but others are entitled to differing opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Imposter wrote:
    Who's to say Setanta couldn't do a better job than RTE!

Their coverage of the league is woeful. I suppose that would say it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

Woah there lads and lasses, jesus, the GAA have said time and time again that the money on offer is not the deciding factor in the rights package, that the quality and depth of the coverage is very important to who wins the rights packages.

It looks as if RTÉ have stopped taking the GAA rights for granted with a much improved coverage setup for this year, with cameras at all matchs, a new highlights show, new radio shows and a whole range of online features. They really sound like they've upped their game, why? becasue of the threat from Setanta, they'd been in the comfort zone far too long and the GAa are dead right to use Setanta as a threat to RTÉ.

It'd be a disgrace of the sunday game was to go, bt i really cant see it, I would have nothing against offering different packages to the different stations, coverage of the lower tier hurling would be great, or increased club coverage - round up shows etc etc ... there is a ton of rights out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Weird how people defend RTE here mainly as its sorta free, yet the same irish tv company that spends more on the English premiership than on GAA rugby and irish football combined.

Why should RTE get hand outs?

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote:
    Weird how people defend RTE here mainly as its sorta free, yet the same irish tv company that spends more on the English premiership than on GAA rugby and irish football combined.

Why should RTE get hand outs?

kdjac

Certainly shouldnt get free handouts but they have 98% coverage around the island of Ireland, compared to Setanta who have what? 20-30-40-50%? If the coverage is of high quality, then there's a lot to be said for the marketing value of being on free to air TV. The ERC has disappeared off my radar since it went to SKY, I used to watch it a fair bit but not enough to bother going to the pub of a saturday afternoon.

If you think about it,the main issue here is our right to see the games we love for relatively low cost.We pay a tv licence and its not possible for 300,000 Dubs,Kerrymen or Cork fans to get into Croke Park.

The setup RTE have is good.They have made major improvements with their technology and programs,with the fruits of this upgrade ready to being unveiled this Sunday.

However,I think my alternative proposal works out for the country and its fans better.Many games are not televised or broadcast on radio simply because they are deemed to small.
    I Propose Setanta,TG4 get coverage of these games.If somebody can't reach a match in their county,let Setanta provide the subscription service for these games

Croke Park matches are always something special.There are teams like Leitrim,Monaghan etc that will probably never see a blade of grass inside Croker this season,so lets not shut them out.Their games should be available to see live at least on a subscription basis.

I do believe in competition in business and the GAA is a business but this issue of getting rights could adversely affect its market....the fans.The repercussions would be disasterous.I believe that the GAA should not concentrate their aim on what they call "quality" of coverage.RTE have already taken the next step to solve that.What the GAA should focus on is availability of matches to air live nationwide and thats where I think Setanta,TG4,Raidio Na Gaeilge etc could come in.

Like you say RTÉ seem to have upped their game this year, with at least highlights from every game. Long may it continue, I can't help thinking they're reacting to the threat of losing the rights.

i agree that there are plenty of games to go around. mind you i'd be lightly wary of airing too many more live games, i love watching a match againw hen you get in from being at the game or the next day. It'd be great to be able to watch the dublin hurlers now and again on the box.

Be that as it may,watching the Sunday Game is a ritual and a great tradition for the sport but many fans would like to see their team play live.Not everybody would want to find out the score via the news or The Sunday Game highlights.

I think there should be such provision for the smaller counties.I do not support pay per view for our games as it would take away a lot of fanbase but the availability of such a service to the niche market would do just nicely.Therefore smaller,weaker counties games gets some exposure and their fans have an option.

For example,some of the qualifiers with weaker teams like Waterford,Tipperary,Down or Clare.I don't think the increase in showing live games would adversely affect ticket sales and attendences.In fact,I can only see this as a financial and promoting tool for the GAA with attendences remaining the same.

I don't think a fan from Galway or Louth would not go to a game because its on live on tv.I think hose fans would go regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

blackbelt wrote:

However,I think my alternative proposal works out for the country and its fans better.Many games are not televised or broadcast on radio simply because they are deemed to small.
    I Propose Setanta,TG4 get coverage of these games.If somebody can't reach a match in their county,let Setanta provide the subscription service for these games

I think it's a bit unrealistic to say that setanta sports, rte and TG4 could "share" the coverage. Basically RTE at the moment pick the highest profile matches on and if there ain't any they pick the closest to it. The Games that would be left for setanta would not bring the same viewing. fair enough it sometimes happens that big matches will not be show as they clash but i doubt setanta would have much of a schedule to play with. Clare play Waterford first round. chances are (no disrespect ment) it will be a below par game of football. a lot a clare people would tune in to see how paudie does, maybe a share of waterford folk, but not too many else i guess. not when there is better games on. Setanta (and RTE) are looking to make money in the end of the day. A partnership with TG4 is more realistic but that is not wats being discussed here.

Having said all that i definately think the GAA should have a serious think about letting setanta gain rights. Anyone who compares it to wat happen to the premiership must realise that soccor is huge around the world (look at the world cup). The people of ireland should have easy viewing access to our own games.

Well setanta already have the rights to show matches for the week following the game, it's very handy, they also have the GAA show, which is very good, just a bunch of lads sitting around talking GAA. It's basic but it's better then RTÉ's usual efforts like Park Live and all that sort of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Imposter wrote:
    In fairness Blackbelt people are entitled to a different opinion than yours!

Everyone said that Sky Sports was gonig to ruin english football but it has thrived since Sky got the rights (at least the top divisions).

English football has been ruined by Sky. How many premiership teams could send out 11 English players in their correct positions? It is most foreign players, not English ones. People can no longer see the matches on television without being ripped off, and paying to see the games is not much different. We always get at least 2 matches for what we pay to go to matches, and usually a lot less than to even see one Premiership game. The days of a father and son going down to their local soccer club to watch the game on a Saturday afternoon is long gone. The chance of seeing a local English hero in that game is quite remote too. Real English football most certainly has been ruined, and a lot of that is down to Sky.

Flukey that is the leat objective post i have seen in a while. How can you blame Sky for ticket prices at the various premiership grounds? Or for the fact that the clubs sign allot of foreign players. Neither of these are valid points as the clubs themselves make these decision. Also this is an international problem in soccer, not just restricted to the English league, but hey, maybe Sky have ruined La Liga too, as they do screen those matches.

Also, I subscribe to Sky sports and do not feel the slightest bit ripped off, in fact sport is the only thing I watch on tv these days, so without Sky Sports I would be lost. Any of my mates who subscribe are also happy enough with what they get for their money.

Lets not get side tracked here folks.The fact of the matter is that English football,ruined or not,is incomparable with our sport.We are amateurs.We play for the love of the game and to represent our county.GAA is part of our identity and culture.We have these corporate giants pleading their case to cash in on our passion for the game.We see America and UK as capitalist corporate countries.

To let Setanta creep in will be a step to being like USA and UK for Ireland.This kind of thing has given businesses and big companies the idea that Irish people will pay any price for anything.Believe me,this is how its happening.

Setanta are trying to feed off this passion and its deplorable if they want to seek full rights and then ask its followers to pay to watch.RTE coverage,as seen yesterday,is excellent.The Sunday Game live is a tradition.I won't stand for corporate slugs like Setanta try to take it away from us.Their coverage of our games is not on par.Its v sedate if you ask me.

If Setanta want to get coverage,they should be given a contract by the GAA to cover games for the weaker counties while RTE lineup would remain unchanged.

Blackbelt it was you who brought the comparison to Sky and the premiership up, now that that arguement has been shot down, I find it kind of ironic that you are saying it is irrelevant.

Also I think you are being harsh on Setanta. You are pretty much saying they can have the smaller matches that they cannot make money from, but RTE have to have the big matches. I think this is bull for the reasons I have already outlined. RTE are a shower of cheapskate ******* who will not pay the going rate for their sport, yet are happy to pay the likes of Pat Kenny and Gerry Ryan etc millions per annum. They have TV licence income, and they have advertising income. They should have lost right for the Irish soccer team matches but the government intervened and they still have not learnt their lesson. You aree also speculating that Setanta wont be able to rival the Sunday game, and maybe they wont, but it is speculation and not fact, and therefore is also invalid. Why you insist on blaming Setanta for showing a bit of opportunism, while RTE are trying to keep money out of Irish sport I do not know.