Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

irish women

• 22-04-2007 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 peveril13

heard bout this website before but stumled on it today and decided to post.
    was listening to Tom Dunne on the radio during the week who was in for Darcy. A woman in her 30s had written in asking where are all the single men of her age gone?

well Im in that category...........thing is thou that I find irish women near impossible to deal with. I would like to know if I am the only one.

I lived away for 7 years and have travelled plenty so have encountered plenty of different ppl along the way. Ive been back in ireland 4 years and in that time Ive had gone out with 1 american, 1 english, 1 spanish girl and recently Ive had a few dates with a french girl.

whenever I do meet an irish girl they come across as shallow and materialistic, and seem to just worry about the fake tan and the lv handbag. Im not a big drinker so dont really want to meet some1 deeply involved in that scene.

Ive generally found foreign women so much more straightforward to deal with, a lot less bs and mind games and just more honest.

Im a reasonable person so am totally open to being told that I am wrong, but these have been my experiences.

maybe its just me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

this topic has been done several times on after hours.

If you don't fancy Irish women then don't date them. You're not wrong you're not right. I'm not sure what you want out of coming on here and whinging about us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

peveril13 wrote:
    was listening to Tom Dunne on the radio during the week who was in for Darcy. A woman in her 30s had written in asking where are all the single men of her age gone?

well Im in that category...........thing is thou that I find irish women near impossible to deal with. I would like to know if I am the only one.

I lived away for 7 years and have travelled plenty so have encountered plenty of different ppl along the way. Ive been back in ireland 4 years and in that time Ive had gone out with 1 american, 1 english, 1 spanish girl and recently Ive had a few dates with a french girl.

whenever I do meet an irish girl they come across as shallow and materialistic, and seem to just worry about the fake tan and the lv handbag. Im not a big drinker so dont really want to meet some1 deeply involved in that scene.

Ive generally found foreign women so much more straightforward to deal with, a lot less bs and mind games and just more honest.

Im a reasonable person so am totally open to being told that I am wrong, but these have been my experiences.

maybe its just me!

I've dated plenty (and married) an Irish woman and this is all news to me. Assuming that this isn't a troll, why don't you just exclusively date foreign women? There are plenty of them In Ireland these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

peveril13 wrote:

Maybe she has impossibly high standards or has an unrealistic expectation of how men will treat her. There are no doubt as many men in a similar situation who feel the same way, so maybe she should hook up with one of them.

I can see where you are coming from. It is easier, in my view, to talk to many foreign girls when you are sober - in Ireland if you go up to a girl in the pub while drinking a coke and saying "hi, my name is Turnip, I am a whatever, I like such and such" you will often be stared out of it or simply ignored.

At the same time, I think there is something brilliant about Irish girls that can't be ignored. They are often spirited and fiesty, which I quite like, and you can have crazy conversations with them about something which girls from other countries would not want to talk about.

Some, not all. You will find shallow, materialistic girls across the world - they are put there to make interesting girls stand out. If you don't drink that much your options are somewhat limited - are there any girls you work with, share interests with, are friends of a friend that you like? I think that many of the girls that appear shallow and materialistic on a night out are often really interesting in a more sober situation.

Bear in mind that if English is their second language (and not in the way it is ours) they simply might not be able to communicate their bs and mind games, and so appear more honest.

So ultimately, while I see where you are coming from, I think you should perhaps be a little bit more open to Irish women. I think that since it is so hard to predict what type of person you will like until you meet them (i.e. was your first love anything like the hot blond model you expected), I wouldn't rule out Irish women, even if you have a preference for the French etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Irish women are no more of a handfull then women from other countrys. Perharps your just meeting the wrong kind. Where ever you are meeting these irish women is obviously the wrong place. Try somewhere else, like the supermarket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Yea, I have heard this before! Alot of Irish women (seems to be mainly in Dublin) are really hard to deal with. They are so far up their own...you know what... that its near impossible to strike up a conversation. Not all of course!

There is alot of stunning foreign women in the country at the moment. Not that we dont have a few cracking looking Irish girls but they tend to be completely lost in their own false world. Whereas the foreign girls seem to be more approachable.

But then again, when you find the right group of Irish girls you can have great craic and and conversation.

A good friend of mine NEVER dates Irish women. He is totally fed up with them. He reckons they are false, pretentious, materialistic etc. I think he needs to give some of them a chance but going on the Irish girls he has been out with he has a point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

I find it easier to have a conversation with foreign women alright. There is something more exciting to discover with them. That said I have had less troubles with them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

peveril13 wrote:
    thing is thou that I find irish women near impossible to deal with. I would like to know if I am the only one...maybe its just me! :rolleyes:
    You are not alone brother!

I worked outside Ireland for about 7 years of my professional life, I'm now in my mid-30's and like you I find the exact same thing.

An Australian woman friend of mine who was working here told me once that she found all Irish women to be either a) overly-confident, unapproachable and stuck-up, or b) very meek.

I wouldn't go as far as to brand them all as being shallow and materialistic, but I think they are very mistrusting of Irish men. I have lots of English mates who love Irish women, and Irish women mates who like English guys, so I guess it's an inter-cultural thing.

...and ladies? We guys do notice nails and hair!
    anti wrote:
    Where ever you are meeting these irish women is obviously the wrong place. Try somewhere else, like the supermarket.
    You are kidding, aren't you?...SECURITY TO THE FROZEN FOOD ISLE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 peveril13

thanks a lot Turnip for your reply. U makes some good points and along with most of what others say I feel a bit better now that it is not ENTIRELY me that is the problem.

I actually met the spanish girl and the french girl thru speedater website. I sent them a msg and they replied, a reasonable thing....... I think maybe 1 in 15 irish girls replied to a msg I sent which I just think is fecking rude!. somebody said that irish women have inflated expectations and that they are so far up themselves. maybe if any of them belive in the hereafter will know that I will be here after!

again some1 else said it, if U approach a girl in a bar here chances are ull be laughed at or starred out of it. its like performing open heart surgery on yourself with a spoon!

anyways, Im off to Super Valu now to do a bit of shopping!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

peveril13 wrote:
    thanks a lot Turnip for your reply. U makes some good points and along with most of what others say I feel a bit better now that it is not ENTIRELY me that is the problem.

I actually met the spanish girl and the french girl thru speedater website. I sent them a msg and they replied, a reasonable thing....... I think maybe 1 in 15 irish girls replied to a msg I sent which I just think is fecking rude!. somebody said that irish women have inflated expectations and that they are so far up themselves. maybe if any of them belive in the hereafter will know that I will be here after!

again some1 else said it, if U approach a girl in a bar here chances are ull be laughed at or starred out of it. its like performing open heart surgery on yourself with a spoon!

anyways, Im off to Super Valu now to do a bit of shopping!
    Just make sure you a) chose your supermarket carefully and b) be careful what you shop for, you don't want to get caught with cream for your piles in your trolley as you try to chat someone up;)
    Seriously though, all Irish women aren't bad just as all Irish men aren't either. Some (of both genders) are totally up themselves and into materialistic things only others are totally genuine funny caring people. As an Irish woman I take exception to being told that by virtue of being female and Irish I am only interested in men who are loaded and drive a big car because thats balls I'm not, there is nothing I love more than meeting a bloke who doesn't want to spend all of every weekend in the pub getting rat arsed, someone who can hold a conversation, make me laugh at the stupidest things and doesn't play mind games cause life is just too short for them!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 290 ✭✭Tak3n

why would u date an irish woman ? it doesn't make sense... 95% or them are fugly compared to women on the continent and most if not all never stfu(woops, that covers all women ^_^)
    Marry an asian chick,,, they respect their men and dont think they're princesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

Tak3n wrote:
    why would u date an irish woman ? it doesn't make sense... 95% or them are fugly compared to women on the continent and most if not all never stfu(woops, that covers all women ^_^)

Marry an asian chick,,, they respect their men and dont think they're princesses.
    and all Irish men are walking sex gods of course:rolleyes:
    which is code for "I think all Asia women are overly deferential and will never make me feel threatened or unsure of myself:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

peveril13 wrote:
    Im not a big drinker so dont really want to meet some1 deeply involved in that scene.

so why are you going to those places to meet women? meeting people (friends or otherwise) you like usually occurs in a place where you have something in common. meeting someone in a nightclub inherently links you to going out for drinks on at least some sort of regular basis, since that's the "done thing".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 jac83

Tak3n wrote:

Obviously someone trying to be funny,i hardly doubt that you have seen that amount of irish women to make that comparison, ill bet your a real looker yourself to make this statement. Oh and please fugly! try using a word that doesnt come out of a chick flick to insult women!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

I think Irish women are fairly wary of Irish men in a club/pub surrounding.

Generally when an irish bloke walks up to you half cut in a pub they don't start with "hiya my name is..." they generally try to be funny and somehow you end up at the butt of their chat up line.. in which case an Irish woman's retort is to turn her back or just try and cut the guy off.
    I've seen this happen on numerous occasions.

The materialism thing I don't get. Its a new thing, which has effected most of the Irish populace born after 1980, male and female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not a PI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

peveril13 wrote:
    How is this a personal issue?
    You've obviously never dated an Italian woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It's not unless the op has nothing else worth while in thier life to be concerned or worried enough to whine over.... poor diddums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

kizzyr wrote:
    All Irish women aren't bad just as all Irish men aren't either.

In a nutshell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

*waits for the "irish men" AH response* :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Irish women are great so are foreign women. There are just a percentage no matter the nationality that are completely bat**** crazy! However the exact same thing can be said of us blokes. The key thing is to find someone near the level of crazy as you and see how it works from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Tak3n wrote:

Leave it out. Ive been to the continent, Id say we are joint second in Europe (tied with the Brits and some E Europeans), which is not a bad showing. Despite the stereotypes we whack most of the med countries, France and Germany :) We`re quite lucky.

Ive a mate whos been with two American birds (his flat block is full of them, he has no job/lives off the parents and so he has nothing better to do than drink/party/meet birds 7 days a week). One was pretty sou7nd, the other was a complete and utter succubus (a woman sent from hell to suck the soul out of a man and isolate him from his friends, according to an old South Park :) ). The seocnd one was pretty sound but, as hanging around them Id meet alot of American girls, they aint the same as Irish, they are all way too timid, too goody two shoes, nothing even sliughtly wild about them. Their idea of going on a mad one is drinking 5 beers, and they constantly passed comment about the amount me and our mates drank (we`re Irish ffs, deal with it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Tak3n wrote:
    Bahahah, spoken like someone who's never been closer than ten feet to an asian chick! They are hot however, that can't be denied. Irish women seem to be stewing in a mix of post feministic stridentness which brings with it an inferiority complex like you've never seen, mixed with a dollop of catholic prudishness, marinade in terrible soaps like coronation street and eastenders for a decade or so, and bingo, Irish woman soufflé. Set it off with a few gallons of wikd blue or vodka and coke, and you're sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

shane86 wrote:
    they constantly passed comment about the amount me and our mates drank (we`re Irish ffs, deal with it)

What is that supposed to mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Irish women seem to be stewing in a mix of post feministic stridentness which brings with it an inferiority complex like you've never seen, mixed with a dollop of catholic prudishness, marinade in terrible soaps like coronation street and eastenders for a decade or so, and bingo, Irish woman soufflé. Set it off with a few gallons of wikd blue or vodka and coke, and you're sorted

ROFL :D

Seriously though, this was possibly an issue a few years ago when there was not such an influx of foreigners here but I don't think this is that big of an issue in this day and age. There are lots of different nationalities here now which means there is alot more diversity which inturn makes it much easier for people to find other people that they are compatible with.

I have to admit though, when I was in my late teens/early twenties I found Irish women to be particularly unapproachable, overly defensive & quite shallow. I also noticed that they had extremely unrealistic standards and I was pretty much put off by them to be honest. Obviously things have changed as I have matured, but I would still be swayed towards foreign women, especially now since there is such a variety on our doorstep ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Mossy Monk wrote:
    We're all alcoholics, donchaknow. Didn't you get the memo? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

Add yet another to the disgruntled Irish men's club.

No smoke without fire ladies........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

I have to say looking back on my ex's, there have been quite a few nuts in there, the majority of them thought they were princess' and thought i should treat them as such, now i don't think i could ever be thought of as a bad bf, i always go out of my way to make a girl feel special, and yet i have found that no matter how good you are to an Irish girl, she will 9 times out of 10 drop you in a heartbeat if a slightly better prospect comes along.

which leads me to believe that Irish girls, in my experience are very shallow and naieve(sic) people.

I will say though, that there is hope out there for irish women. My current gf is one the most down to earth, nicest people you will ever meet, and she's a stunner too......and where did i meet her???? Work!!!! not in a club or pub as i had with my previous gf's.

Don't despair lads, there are sane Irish women out there, you just have to find them among the nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

How come all these threads end up reading like "the only woman who'll come near me is gunning for a green card?"

Something tells me that Irish women don't give a flying **** fellas. I do love the way the OP inability to chat up a girl in a pub means all Irish woman have problems.

News just in, chances are while you think your being mad charming your really just drunk. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

I must be hanging out in all the wrong places.

Without a doubt the irish women i know, talk to and chat with would blow any guys mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

Without a doubt the irish women i know, talk to and chat with would blow any guys mind.

Agreed. You seriously can't brush a whole island worth of lovely girls with the one stroke lads!! Its probably just the community you're living in, and a few bad experiences do not an argument make!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭boffin

peveril13 wrote:
    ....... I think maybe 1 in 15 irish girls replied to a msg I sent which I just think is fecking rude!.

^^^^ A man scorned................

Dragan wrote:
    "the only woman who'll come near me is gunning for a green card?"

Do you play women's hockey? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Mossy Monk wrote:

You dont go to Saudi and mouth off about the lack of pubs. In the same way that you dont come to Ireland and criticise peoples drinking habits just because the average Irishman drinks at a level considered alcoholism in many foreign countries ;)

Fair enough, my mate actually is an alcoholic, but no need to tar the rest of us with it just because we can sink x amount of drink in a night. As long as we arent doing it every night its simply the Irish way.

Raekwon wrote:
    Do you play women's hockey? ;)

Yes.

They give me an exemption and allow me to play dispite being a man. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

peveril13 wrote:

thats exactly what i thought when i read the title

Dragan wrote:
    Yes. They give me an exemption and allow me to play dispite being a man. :rolleyes:

Not much of a sense of humour...........you wouldn't be a bouncer by any chance? :rolleyes:

Irish or foreign?

F?*ck, I love em all*

*except Mary Harney

Bahahah, spoken like someone who's never been closer than ten feet to an asian chick! They are hot however, that can't be denied. Irish women seem to be stewing in a mix of post feministic stridentness which brings with it an inferiority complex like you've never seen, mixed with a dollop of catholic prudishness, marinade in terrible soaps like coronation street and eastenders for a decade or so, and bingo, Irish woman soufflé. Set it off with a few gallons of wikd blue or vodka and coke, and you're sorted.

read: Simple Sam06 can't get his hole :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Dragan wrote:
    How come all these threads end up reading like "the only woman who'll come near me is gunning for a green card?"

Something tells me that Irish women don't give a flying **** fellas. I do love the way the OP inability to chat up a girl in a pub means all Irish woman have problems.

News just in, chances are while you think your being mad charming your really just drunk. :rolleyes:

For example of "mad charming" click here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

peveril13 wrote:
    I think maybe 1 in 15 irish girls replied to a msg I sent which I just think is fecking rude!.

Probably not wise to begin the text message.."Hi. I'm from Cork"*

* ducks for cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

tak3n wrote:
    I know a few chinese women who are of the opinion that they should be spoiled and the man should pay for everything.

Thankfully my missus wasn't brought up that way (strict-ish military father) and after some initial teething she knows western partners aren't quite the same as chinese ones (so we do little things to spoil each other every so often) :D

I havent dated Irish women in years since I "discovered" foreign women, I found them better looking and more interesting. Being with someone from a different culture always made it a bit more interesting (even if there was a bit of a language barrier). Still this is all just me, people are raving on about polish women but I don't think they are anything special really.

Maybe the women the OP met were having a bad day or tired and fed up of fella's trying to get laid, or tired of hearing men go on and on and on about how terrible Irish women are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Speaking as a foreigner who has married an Irish girl, I'd be mad if I said Irish girls aren't the best :rolleyes:

My impression of Irish girls, is that no matter how ggod looking, how old, fat or thin etc, they always (well 9 out of 10 anyway) look their best. Their make up is always good, the hair is always neat and of course there is usually a fake tan.

I think, sometimes this "Perfect Presentation" can make Irish women look a bit false and shallow, especially to those of us who are not used to it and can possibly lead to a bit of pre-judging.

One thing I would say though, this is a lovely country to live in when the sun is out;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

stovelid wrote:
    read: Simple Sam06 can't get his hole
    I find its mostly people that refer to women as "their hole" that can't get that sweet sweet lovin... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

What's wrong with an Irish girl wanting to be treated like a princess by her boyfriend? I treat my Irish girlfriend with lots of love and affection and guess what, she returns it in kind.

Raekwon wrote:
    Not much of a sense of humour...........you wouldn't be a bouncer by any chance? :rolleyes:

Ah , sorry dude. I thought you actually thought i was a chick is all.

And yes, i am a doorman, but i'm also a statistical analyst..... then again sense of humour would not be a big thing in that job either, as we known that depending on different factors things are only funny 17% to 43% of the time. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

What's wrong with an Irish girl wanting to be treated like a princess by her boyfriend?
    I think he meant the woman expects to be on a pedistal and everything to be done/given to her (or at least how I read it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Unpossible wrote:
    I think he meant the woman expects to be on a pedistal and everything to be done/given to her (or at least how I read it)
    The only women who I know who are like that, are ones that have meek boyfriends who let them get away with it.

I find its mostly people that refer to women as "their hole" that can't get that sweet sweet lovin... :D

I'm married so I don't get it anyway*

*Edit: Only joking, sweetness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Tall Tom

Grass is always greener on the other side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

More girls should wear skirts! I saw a woman on campus today, late thirties I imagine, in a nice pair of heels, stockings and skirt. Much nicer than badly fitting jeans that most of the girls here go around in.
    This has been a message from your friendly neighbourhood chavinist.