Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Urban legends

• 21-04-2007 2:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭

Anyone remember the one going about a few years ago about the woman who stops for petrol late at night and the attendant tries to get her to come inside, an it turns out someone jumped into the back of her car with like rope and knives and ****.
    turns out its a pretty standard world wide urban legend,
    anyone else heard any decent ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

All the ones from that film a few years ago ... what was it called ... hmmm .... began with a 'U' ..... I'll get back to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

Yeah I remember that. Another, some girl returns to her apartment to pick up something she forgot, didn't turn on the light so as not to wake her room-mate. When she returns the following morning, her room-mate is sliced up real nice, blood everywhere. Scrawled in blood on the mirror was 'You're lucky you didn't turn on the light'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,837 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

nicolo wrote:
    Anyone remember the one going about a few years ago about the woman who stops for petrol late at night and the attendant tries to get her to come inside, an it turns out someone jumped into the back of her car with like rope and knives and ****.
    turns out its a pretty standard world wide urban legend,
    anyone else heard any decent ones?
    that actually did happen to a friend of my girlfriends family a couple of years back. the guy on the cash desk in the garage saw someone hop into the back of her car as she was coming in to pay for the petrol. He asked was there anyone with her, she said no, so he told her what he had seen, and called the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Tauren wrote:
    that actually did happen to a friend of my girlfriends family a couple of years back. the guy on the cash desk in the garage saw someone hop into the back of her car as she was coming in to pay for the petrol. He asked was there anyone with her, she said no, so he told her what he had seen, and called the gardai.
    moral being always lock your car, even if you're just paying for petrol or even when you're in it.

Mate of mine was driving through town late one night to pick up his girlfriend from work and stopped at lights. Next thing the back door opens and 2 people jump in thinking he's a taxi.

Also helps prevent "snatch & run" incidents. That concludes today's safety lesson :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

Have an urban legend? check snopes.

and a somewhat relevant comic:
    http://xkcd.com/c250.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Kaiser2000 wrote:
    Mate of mine was driving through town late one night to pick up his girlfriend from work and stopped at lights. Next thing the back door opens and 2 people jump in thinking he's a taxi.

Did he have a big glowing thing on the roof? Cos otherwise these doesn't seem to make sense...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Zillah wrote:
    Did he have a big glowing thing on the roof? Cos otherwise these doesn't seem to make sense...
    through town late at night ... would be a giveaway - few scoops had, perhaps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Smurfpiss wrote:

*shakes fist*

I was going to post that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Smurfpiss wrote:

Very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

davyjose wrote:
    through town late at night ... would be a giveaway - few scoops had, perhaps

ye i dont drink that often so i usually have the car and everyone i pass tries to flag me down..usually by standing in front of the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Kaiser2000 wrote:

Happens to me all the time and there's no way you'd mistake my car for a taxi. TBH - I think after waiting too long people don't give a **** and just chance their arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Yeah they always recommend having all your car doors locked when you're driving around Dublin City Centre. People have had junkies walk up and try to open the car door when they were stopped at lights.
    PeakOutput wrote:
    ye i dont drink that often so i usually have the car and everyone i pass tries to flag me down..usually by standing in front of the car

It's more terrifying when you're cycling home and people do the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

Actually my sister was waiting by the side of the road to flag down a taxi one night, and a woman in a car stopped and said she was an unofficial taxi, and brought them home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

PeakOutput wrote:
    I drive a model favoured by taxi drivers and regularly begin work on Sundays at 4am. I am always getting flagged down/blocked by poor misfortunates stranded miles from home. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

always liked the one where person is out drinking, meets nice person who puts something in their drink. few hours later person wakes up in tub of ice with some missing kidneys. think it was used in one of those ul movies too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭markk06

Not sure if it qualifies as an "urban legend" but its a good'n

Supposedly one night this girl ends up meeting some guy. They get on very well, one thing leads to another, and they both go back to his place. So the next morning he gets up to go to work, leaving her asleep in the bed.

So she gets up and goes to the toilet, doing a massive hangover s***. Turns to flush the toilet, but the thing wont flush, she discovers that the toilet is broken and wont flush. So now she is faced with a dilemma, leave it there and have him see the massive crap, or try to get rid of it. She goes to the kitchen and gets a plastic bag and then scoops it out of the toilet into the bag, hence removing all evidence of the incident.

So before she leaves she decides she'd better leave her number so he can call her, so she gets a piece of paper and a pen and leaves her name and number by the bed. Then she leaves closing the door behind her, only to realise that she has left the bag of crap in on his bed next to the piece of paper with her name and number on it.

Another one i heard was a guy going down the country for the weekend. He went to this nightclub and met a girl who lived in the area. So yet again one thing lead to another and they got in a taxi to go back to hers. So yer man sat in the taxi and started to notice that she lived miles out the road. As they drove all signs f civilisation disappeared, Next thing he knew the taxi stopped and there was no sign of a house anywhere. To his surprise she brought him across this field and in the dsistance he sees a group of caravans. So he goes back to the caravan, inside, where all the family, parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters and cousins are sitting down. She brings him into the other room, strips completely naked, puts one leg up onto the bed and goes.. "now none of your fancy stuff, just lob it in there boss"
    I dont know how relevant they are to the thread but i've heard the 2nd story off about 100 people so either she does this quite often or its one of those urban legends...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

never put your dog in the microwave or hell explode ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

weeder wrote:

You're supposed to stir him before hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 royaldutch

I heard this weird Urban Legend. There was a girl who met a guy in a club. They hit it off and went back to hers to do the bold thing. After a night of passion she awakes to find her conquest gone. He didn't even leave his phone number.

Some days had past and she didn't feel quite right in the vaginal department, so a trip to the clinic was in order. After a brief exam, the doc left the room and returned twenty minutes later with the Gardaí. She was arrested and taken to the station for an interview. At this point she hasn't a clue as to what was going on. She was questioned about her itch and she told them about the guy she had been with in the club.

It turns out that the poor young lady had caught a nasty bug from the guy (bug is used loosely here, could have been bacterial or viral?). A bug that is only found on dead bodies. The dirty b*****d was into necrophilia and had passed a bug onto the poor young girl.

In the end the Gardaí caught up with the guy. He worked in a morgue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

weeder wrote:
    Stab him with a fork a few times and he'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

markk06 wrote:
    Not sure if it qualifies as an "urban legend" but its a good'n

Supposedly one night this girl ends up meeting some guy. They get on very well, one thing leads to another, and they both go back to his place. So the next morning he gets up to go to work, leaving her asleep in the bed.

So she gets up and goes to the toilet, doing a massive hangover s***. Turns to flush the toilet, but the thing wont flush, she discovers that the toilet is broken and wont flush. So now she is faced with a dilemma, leave it there and have him see the massive crap, or try to get rid of it. She goes to the kitchen and gets a plastic bag and then scoops it out of the toilet into the bag, hence removing all evidence of the incident.

So before she leaves she decides she'd better leave her number so he can call her, so she gets a piece of paper and a pen and leaves her name and number by the bed. Then she leaves closing the door behind her, only to realise that she has left the bag of crap in on his bed next to the piece of paper with her name and number on it.

I heard that one from a friend of mine. She told me that exact story about a girl we both work with. I've never laughed so much in my life, seriously thought it was the most hilarious thing I'd ever heard until I went home, told my brother and he was able to finish the story and informed me what an idiot I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The swans in the river transmit telepathically........they only do it with interesting people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Alter-Ego wrote:
    Stab him with a fork a few times and he'll be fine.

have a little decency and put a paper towel over him too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'm urban.

I'm a legend.

I can't believe there are sick bastards on here who are advocating putting a dog in a microwave :mad:

A dog should always be cooked in the oven for crispiness and tenderness.

Stark wrote:
    I can't believe there are sick bastards on here who are advocating putting a dog in a microwave :mad:

A dog should always be cooked in the oven for crispiness and tenderness.

Nah!, if you're in a hurry, a few minutes in the micro then crisp in a hot oven ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

McCain MicroDog ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I heard one about this guy who went out on the lash one night. He was in the nightclub and started chattin to this gorgeous woman from Turkey. They hit it off and eventually she persuaded him to come back to her flat. They get to the bedroom, she strips naked first then he does the same. Just to make things kinkier, she ties him to the bed. Suddenly 3 huge black guys enter the room and have their way with him for the night....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

Nightmare :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

A friend of mine told me this one and claims it was a friend of hers that it happened to.

Basically, this girl, living over in London is asked to apartment-sit for a family while they are on holiday. The family had an old dog that they didn't want to put in a kennel, so the girl basically had to look after it.

One day, she wakes up to find that the dog has died. She calls the parents of the family and tell them. They're a little upset, but knew that it'd happen at some point. They ask the girl to bring the dog to the vet to dispose of the body. Unfortunately, she couldn't find any kind of basket or carrier for the dog, so you found a suitcase and popped the dog into it.

She starts off downstairs with the suitcase, (which is heavy and she's quite small). She gets out the front door and there's a load of steps down to the pavement. A guy walking by offers to help and she happily agrees, only to have the guy push her over and do a legger with the suitcase.

She started to run after the guy and then remembered that it was only the dog in the case :D I'm assuming it's just another bullsh*t story, but I hope not. I'd love to see the look on the guys face when he opened it up :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Alter-Ego wrote:
    McCain MicroDog ftw
    mmmm, hot dogs. jack russel for preference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭d-redser

royaldutch wrote:
    I heard this weird Urban Legend. There was a girl who met a guy in a club. They hit it off and went back to hers to do the bold thing. After a night of passion she awakes to find her conquest gone. He didn't even leave his phone number.

Some days had past and she didn't feel quite right in the vaginal department, so a trip to the clinic was in order. After a brief exam, the doc left the room and returned twenty minutes later with the Gardaí. She was arrested and taken to the station for an interview. At this point she hasn't a clue as to what was going on. She was questioned about her itch and she told them about the guy she had been with in the club.

It turns out that the poor young lady had caught a nasty bug from the guy (bug is used loosely here, could have been bacterial or viral?). A bug that is only found on dead bodies. The dirty b*****d was into necrophilia and had passed a bug onto the poor young girl.

In the end the Gardaí caught up with the guy. He worked in a morgue.

This one is quite frightenly true...

It happened two years ago to my cousin's friend.

It was her boyfriend who gave her the "disease/infection" which only grows on dead bodies. She went to the doc, the doc referred her to a consultant who then referred her to another top consultant who clarified what it was and told her. She was devastated and went to the guards on the way home and her boyf who works in a well known undertakers was arrested... He was admitted to a special hospital in Dundrum!!

Fecking scary tho... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Dreamer 7

The one with the Irish girl living in Turkey, finds a dog sniffing around outside her apartment, she befirends the dog as she is lonely so far from home etc. Dog becomes her best mate they watch tv together, she bathes him, hell the even sleep in the same bed.
    Girl starts to feel sick, temperature etc goes to the doctor and the can't figure out what it is. She is admitted to hosp and as she has no friends etc a person from the hospital goes to her apartment to pick up nightdress etc for her.
    When he returns to the hospital he tells the docs he had to call pest control to the house as there was a giant sewer rat in her bed!!!!!!!!! not a dog after all then. Girl becomes anorexic because she is so sickened by this and cant bear to touch or eat anything since
    The End

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Anybody heard the one about the mudcrabs??? I'm going to put it in a spoiler cause its pretty ****in sick:
    A woman decided to be a bit kinky one day and bought a lobster from a fish market. Her intention was to use it as a sex toy. So later that night she's laying in the bath, using the lobster to pleasure herself. Gets out of the bath, dries off and goes to bed. Gets up the next day fine but half way through work she starts getting unreal pains in her stomach. She takes the rest of the day off and goes home. She goes into the toilet as she thinks it might just be constipation. Her friend finds her dead on the bathroom floor 2 days later. And in the toilet?? 12 dead mudcrabs. She supposedly got impregnated by the lobster as it was carrying these eggs around in its tail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

Zillah wrote:

same thing happened to me one night when stopped at the traffic lights...some bloke jumped thinkin i was a taxi. He was really pissed so i had to push him out of the car and back onto the street!
    usually lock the doors when I'm driving now.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Some of these are so funny. The one with the s*it bag!hahahahaha.
    Others are just plain gross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

d-redser wrote:
    This one is quite frightenly true...

It happened two years ago to my cousin's friend.

It was her boyfriend who gave her the "disease/infection" which only grows on dead bodies. She went to the doc, the doc referred her to a consultant who then referred her to another top consultant who clarified what it was and told her. She was devastated and went to the guards on the way home and her boyf who works in a well known undertakers was arrested... He was admitted to a special hospital in Dundrum!!

Fecking scary tho... :(

A freind of my brothers told me that one before, wasn't entirely sure it was true.:(

Its madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

My favourite one is that there is a place in "cyber space" called the "internet" where people can swop stories and "urban legends". How thick do they think we are?

By the way, kittens are better for the microwave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

DarkJager wrote:
    Anybody heard the one about the mudcrabs??? I'm going to put it in a spoiler cause its pretty ****in sick:
    A woman decided to be a bit kinky one day and bought a lobster from a fish market. Her intention was to use it as a sex toy. So later that night she's laying in the bath, using the lobster to pleasure herself. Gets out of the bath, dries off and goes to bed. Gets up the next day fine but half way through work she starts getting unreal pains in her stomach. She takes the rest of the day off and goes home. She goes into the toilet as she thinks it might just be constipation. Her friend finds her dead on the bathroom floor 2 days later. And in the toilet?? 12 dead mudcrabs. She supposedly got impregnated by the lobster as it was carrying these eggs around in its tail.
    if she was found dead, how does anyone know that she had pains in her stomach or that she thought she had constipation?

yes it is an urban legend which is debunked on snopes :)

Excellent.

*goes back to using a lobster as a sextoy*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Dreamer 7 wrote:
    The one with the Irish girl living in Turkey, finds a dog sniffing around outside her apartment, she befirends the dog as she is lonely so far from home etc. Dog becomes her best mate they watch tv together, she bathes him, hell the even sleep in the same bed.
    Girl starts to feel sick, temperature etc goes to the doctor and the can't figure out what it is. She is admitted to hosp and as she has no friends etc a person from the hospital goes to her apartment to pick up nightdress etc for her.
    When he returns to the hospital he tells the docs he had to call pest control to the house as there was a giant sewer rat in her bed!!!!!!!!! not a dog after all then. Girl becomes anorexic because she is so sickened by this and cant bear to touch or eat anything since
    The End
    isn't that from married with children, peggy had a pet dog as a kid, that was really a rat