Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What scares you?

• 17-04-2007 5:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭

Everyone has something that they are afraid of. For me it's the mucky bottom of a lake! Yuck! :p And things that go bump in the night, since I now live alone. What is it for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Closing time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Alarm clock. Evil evil things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Fear itself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Mackerel..... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Sagittarius A*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

The bits of dirt and hair that are stuck under the legs of tables and chairs. I have a fear of being forced to eat it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

The self-destructive nature of human kind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Sewing needles for some reason, I can't even pick one up without alot of psyching myself up first, I'm too terrified of either accidentally droping one into my mouth and it getting stuck in my throat or getting it wedged up underneath my finger nail, but the same doesn't apply for tum-tacs or pins or small thin nails or any other type of small thin needle, it has to be one that you can run a piece of thread through at the top....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Spiders, and rubbing cotton wool on my teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

clowns, evil f"ckers. and spiders

feminine males. like, WHAT ARE YOU??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

injection needles and drips... and other peoples blood.... its something about taking things in or out of your veins i think... cant even watch people get injections on the tv.. hate it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Stinging insects, wasps, bees, if something starts buzzing around my head I'll leap away like I'd just seen a black widow on my hand. I'm not as bad as I used to be though. Poisonous spiders would creep me out but we don't have them :)

when you feel something under a table and find it's wet and gooey, bad vibes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

The self-destructive nature of human kind.

I was going to go with just plain old inescapable natural death...but that's a good one you have there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

I'm scared of loud noises

particularly hate fireworks, balloons and bangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Wasps
    Cancer
    Commitment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

The amount of time I spend reading boards.ie when I should be working/sleeping :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

large gatherings of crows.

a murder of crows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Scarecrows, damn you Worzel Gummidge! ;_;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Spiders, fire, Jaffa Cakes being discontinued, being stuck in a maze, clowns (the circus type)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

kaiser Soze

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

needles, blood, horror movies, death, earwigs, rats, eels (or the rocks they might be under), lobsters, electric shock, hacksaws, young fellas sitting at the back of the 77 smoking the gange, broken glass, Irish road safety ads, that mad fella who does autopsies on tv and cycling across the Luas lines.

I'm ok with sharks & spiders though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

the impending Leaving cert:eek::D :(
    oh and those snap buttons on bedsheets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

kenmc wrote:
    rubbing cotton wool on my teeth.

*shudder*

Dentists
    Birds
    Suffocation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

bops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

YORE MA OP!!!

Ffs lads, yous are getting lax lately. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭s&mbarbie

Spiders..nothing needs that many eyes or legs, there's something about the way they move...all lurking and scuttling...up to no bloody good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I have a real fear of just living and never making any kind of difference to anyone, or anything. I'm afraid I'll miss my chance to do something big. I really don't want to just 'exist'.

Eh, yeah, so that's my little nugget of insecurity.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Car Mad

neacy69 wrote:
    The amount of time I spend reading boards.ie when I should be working/sleeping :D

Me too :eek: Umm:rolleyes:

Garda Traffic corps:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The thought of telling my parents that I've failed exams again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Omnipresence

Soylent Green :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The thought of telling my parents that I've failed exams again.

That's a good one, actually swap parents for everyone I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Revelation Joe

Leeches *shiver*
    I can cope with rats, bats, bugs, spiders etc etc but leeches, man :(
    They freak me out big time :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Horizen

the size of my willy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Heights. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Nothing! Rahhrr, I am so hard!
    Oh, and cats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

kenmc wrote:
    Spiders, and rubbing cotton wool on my teeth.

Oh my god! People think I'm crazy when I say I afraid of cotton wool. And for the same reason as you! I cant even go to the dentist without insisting at least 10 times that they must not put cotton wool in my mouth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Needles scared me...then I got diabetes, the same with cancer. With the first two they were not nearly as scary when I had to face them. What scares me now is something happening to my loved ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

nesf wrote:
    Heights. :(
    OMG how could I forget that I'm afraid of heights too? Went up into that chimney thingy in Smithfield once when it was windy! Never do that again!! :eek:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Cotton Wool, and Heights to a lesser extent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Queen

Death, spiders... When you're asleep, and the next thing you're woken by the sound of a falling poster... It happened last night and gave me such a fright!!

I'd say my biggest fear then would be death by spider bites and paper cuts from the poster that has fallen.... While being dumped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

slipss wrote:
    but the same doesn't apply for tum-tacs
    just to be clear here, they're called thumb tacks as in you push them in with your thumb.

my name is commander vimes and i am a pedantaholic

i'm afraid of carnies. Circus folk. Nomads, you know. Smell like cabbage. Small hands.

and drowning. i nearly drowned when i capsized in a kayak and it got forced on top of me by the water in a weir and pushed me against the bottom. i was drowning in about 2 feet of water.

its a horrible feeling thinking that in a minute or so you might have to stop holding your breath and let yourself die. luckily the kayak got free and i was able to get out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

pillow pants

The feeling of helplessness. Being buried alive.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Clowns
    Mice
    Heights
    Spiders
    Flying insects that sting, particularly wasps
    Failure
    Being alone for the rest of my life
    Anything bad happening to my mum
    The noise that's made when my flatmate pulls back the bolt on the bathroom door without pushing on the door first. It's like a gunshot.
    Fire (specifically burning to death)
    Being burgled.
    Being attacked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭lynchpin

tomato ketchup - I get an awful slagging over this one. I just can't stand the stuff and shudder when its near me.

crabs - the 8 legs and claws variety. They freak me out no end. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

bops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

LOL how could anyone be afraid of a clown?

Its not a fear just one of those things... ever rub the tooth-brush wrong on your tongue? Or give the toothbrush a bite, terrible feeling, I'd probably vomit.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

LOL how could anyone be afraid of a clown?

http://www.best-horror-movies.com/images/it-pennywise-howling.jpg

That's how.