Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Irish classic Poker Festival (Macau Sporting Club, Cork City)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Macau Cork wrote:
    Hi Big city banker bops gave you the travel advice i reckon the train myself is the best option.
    The gresham number is 021 4508122 they give you a good rate €100 for single,€120 for double breakfast included just quote special poker rates.

Cheers for the reply - I booked the Clarion yesterday evening as there are 2 of us travelling and the Gresham said they had no twin rooms available.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Any Dublin cardrooms doing sats for this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭SIDESHOW BOBs

SLIM19198 wrote:
    Bob, if you have nothing nice to say, dont say anything!!!

I am in the Macau every week and I find it a great place to play!

There will always be some commotion at these events, but thats all thats remembered, not the great events that went without a hitch!

slim you are entitled to your opinion as i am to mine.i don't really want to get involved in a slanging match but any assertion that i have made are based in fact not conjecture or rumour.

I know some people are happy to stick their head in the sand ala an ostrich and say nothing , even if an appaling situation has occured. i can gladly say that i am not one of those lemmings. if i see something which i don't agree with i speak up, obviosly sometimes this approach ruffles feathers but so be it. i will also give praise where it is due.

I don't know you, i am not familiar with your name so i can't comment on your experience of poker but i have travelled extensively in ireland and abroad for poker events so i can say i have a qualified opinion.:cool:

His Sideshowness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Don't bother wasting 60 euros on the train. You can fly down to cork from the 30th till the 5th for 20 euros including taxes with Ryanair.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭SLIM19198

Bob, I do not know what transpired between you and whoever, all I was saying was that there was a time and a place to talk about it, not lower yourself to posting underhanded comments on a totally non related thread!

As for poker knowledge, I play for fun and mostly freerolls (with the odd real tourney :P ), but that had nothing at all to do woth the comment I made!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

RasTa wrote:
    Don't bother wasting 60 euros on the train. You can fly down to cork from the 30th till the 5th for 20 euros including taxes with Ryanair.

Jesus i mite drive to Dublin from Waterford and fly down:D n1

• Registered Users Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Fúck's sake. One time dealer, come one! My last ever exam is on the 1st of June and ends at 5 so there's just about no chance of me making the main event of this.

I'll probably come down for the 500 hold'em on the sunday and if I'm not too hungover I might even head to the omaha event on the saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭zsoulking

Any Dublin cardrooms doing sats for this?

We will be doing a Satellite at the Sporting Emporium in the coming weeks.

Possibly €100 + €10 with 1 Re-Buy or top up,

Probably do €2,000 packages, €1,500 being transferred to Macau for main event ticket and €500 spending money / expenses for each qualifier.

Will post when I have a date for you guys

John.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,846 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Good stuff, I would play a sat for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭sitout

well done ken and staff,
    as a regular at your fine club i will def be particapating in this years main event even if i have to buy into it. its always a excellent week and unlike some posts on here that eek with jealously eveyone i know looks forward to it immensley, myself included. The fact the leauge final is on a few weeks before hand is also another great idea giving us finalists a good chance to get in some big game deep stack practice! by the way what is going to happen to the stacks of gavin and bob in the leauge final will they be left in to play as they are still both in the top 20? Also what is the blind structure for the leauge final 30 mins /40mins i suppose.
    thanks again look forward to your reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

zsoulking wrote:

We will be doing a Satellite at the Sporting Emporium in the coming weeks.

Possibly €100 + €10 with 1 Re-Buy or top up,

Probably do €2,000 packages, €1,500 being transferred to Macau for main event ticket and €500 spending money / expenses for each qualifier.

Will post when I have a date for you guys

John.

I would defo play a sat for this too John.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

carfax wrote:
    I would defo play a sat for this too John.

Bob, being the fine gentleman that he is, may let me substitute for him in the league final, just for fun of course :P

:):):):):)

SLIM19198 wrote:
    Bob, being the fine gentleman that he is, may let me substitute for him in the league final, just for fun of course :P

:):):):):)

Was there actually any just cause for barring Bob or any of these players Slim?

Just wondering......I'm obviously thinking of heading down to this tournament but I think there will be feck all atmosphere in the place without Bob and company.....

Not trying to be clever or anything Macau but I just want to know what the story is and if you have mistreated or been a bit harsh with some of your most regular customers???

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭FungiWalsh

carfax wrote:

Just wondering......I'm obviously thinking of heading down to this tournament but I think there will be feck all atmosphere in the place without Bob and company.....

Not trying to be clever or anything Macau but I just want to know what the story is and if you have mistreated or been a bit harsh with some of your most regular customers???

I'm not sure what happened when Bob and the other regular that was barred, I heard various stories, but it wouldn't be fair to recollect them here. I know that a few regulars have had short-term barrings on occasion, but I think a fair few of them were just for arriving in drunk and causing a hassle, which is fair enough. I'm a regular there (well, not so much in the last few months, 'cos I stopped going in there when I hit a protracted bad run, to minimise losses), and I've never been mistreated in there, nor have I seen anyone being mistreated in there. But that's only my own experience, I'm not in there every night.

FungiWalsh wrote:
    I'm not sure what happened when Bob and the other regular that was barred, I heard various stories, but it wouldn't be fair to recollect them here. I know that a few regulars have had short-term barrings on occasion, but I think a fair few of them were just for arriving in drunk and causing a hassle, which is fair enough. I'm a regular there (well, not so much in the last few months, 'cos I stopped going in there when I hit a protracted bad run, to minimise losses), and I've never been mistreated in there, nor have I seen anyone being mistreated in there. But that's only my own experience, I'm not in there every night.

Thats fair enough Darragh, it just crossed my mind that maybe the lads had been treated a bit harsh.

I'll defo try to make it down for this but would obviously prefer to qualify.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭LARDO

i go in there ocacionally also has anyone noticed how often the staff change?
    also all the big game players play in dublin.

? LARDO??

carfax wrote:

I cannot really say myself as I do not know the whole story myself, but, in the time i have been going there (~2 years), I have not seen anyone being mistreated that did not ask for it, and everyone always seemd to get a second chance!

But anyway, this thread is not for that subject, so to get back on topic, anyone want to donate the buy in for the main event to me! I am a very bad poker player who has absolutley no chance of winning whatsoever, but if somebody buys me in, i will donate any winnings to charity :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Macau Cork

The tournament director for the irish poker classic festival has now been confirmed, I can now tell you that Donal MacAonghusa will be presiding over the festival.

Donal will have the say on the tournament games, as well as the satellite and cash games available during the festival!

I hope everyone that enters has a great time, see you all there, Macau Club!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭LARDO

SLIM19198 wrote:
    I cannot really say myself as I do not know the whole story myself, but, in the time i have been going there (~2 years), I have not seen anyone being mistreated that did not ask for it, and everyone always seemd to get a second chance!

But anyway, this thread is not for that subject, so to get back on topic, anyone want to donate the buy in for the main event to me! I am a very bad poker player who has absolutley no chance of winning whatsoever, but if somebody buys me in, i will donate any winnings to charity :p

ok ill take ur word for it as im not a regular, i was told there are often screamimg matches with managment down there?

I also heard of a guy Mick O sullivan who was barred, i meet him in dublin and he seemed to be o total gentleman, know anything about this?

LARDO

• Registered Users Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

played in the macau twice over the weekend. Very enjoyable. I played like ****, but it was very enjoyable :D

point being... I want in

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭murph01

Just qualified for this on pp.
    Really looking forward to this event,
    looks like a great structure with plenty of play.
    Any idea of how many runners they are expecting for this????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Captain Tom

murph01 wrote:
    Just qualified for this on pp.
    Really looking forward to this event,
    looks like a great structure with plenty of play.
    Any idea of how many runners they are expecting for this????

congrats.i beleive the max is 180.im guessing it will be around 160 or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭murph01

congrats.i beleive the max is 180.im guessing it will be around 160 or so.

Nice 1 tom.
    Just have to organise transport and a hotel.
    Anybody any advice,bank holiday weekend so its goin to be pretty hectic.:D :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

looks good,i think i'll try and make it down to this.

what sort of holdem cash games will be going on,anything above 2/5?

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

I rang a couple of hotels Friday and there still seems to be plenty of availability.....Can't wait for this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Captain Tom

murph01 wrote:
    Nice 1 tom.
    Just have to organise transport and a hotel.
    Anybody any advice,bank holiday weekend so its goin to be pretty hectic.:D :D

people who come down for the festivals usually stay in the Gresham Metroploe which is right next to the casino.
    robinlacey wrote:
    looks good,i think i'll try and make it down to this.

what sort of holdem cash games will be going on,anything above 2/5?

2/5 is usually the biggest holdem game but the omaha games get very big.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,138 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Managed to get Saturday off and am thinking of heading down for the 500 Yamaha and Hold'em tourneys on the Saturday and Sunday (to provide an overlay obviously). Could the Macau just assure me that the structures will not be rolled back at the last minute?

They are worth travelling for at the minute - but I would be annoyed if they were rolled back to a 30 min clock or whatever. Thanks in advance for your reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Managed to get Saturday off and am thinking of heading down for the 500 Yamaha and Hold'em tourneys on the Saturday and Sunday (to provide an overlay obviously). Could the Macau just assure me that the structures will not be rolled back at the last minute?

They are worth travelling for at the minute - but I would be annoyed if they were rolled back to a 30 min clock or whatever. Thanks in advance for your reply.

Lloyd I'd say any there will definitely be no rollback on advertised blinds.

Numbers will be very good for the ME if tonight's super-sat is any thing to go by 130 runners generating 17 tickets ME will be 150+ runners.

I drove down from Waterford for tonight's game arrived 20 mins late but people were still registering. A new table was opening and I was allocated seat seven the only other seat occupied was seat one. The dealer dealt the first hand, eight dead ones and AK to me. I raise with AK and get a call and a A75 rainbow flop. I raise get re-raised and I push AQ calls and hits a Q on the river. So one hand heads up after a two hour drive and it's back to the car:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

nicnicnic wrote:
    Lloyd I'd say any there will definitely be no rollback on advertised blinds.

Numbers will be very good for the ME if tonight's super-sat is any thing to go by 130 runners generating 17 tickets ME will be 150+ runners.

I drove down from Waterford for tonight's game arrived 20 mins late but people were still registering. A new table was opening and I was allocated seat seven the only other seat occupied was seat one. The dealer dealt the first hand, eight dead ones and AK to me. I raise with AK and get a call and a A75 rainbow flop. I raise get re-raised and I push AQ calls and hits a Q on the river. So one hand heads up after a two hour drive and it's back to the car:)

overplaying marginal hands again Nicky?