Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst wake-up call ever?

• 15-04-2007 11:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭

Hey folks,

had an unpleasant wake-up call this morning. It being Spring, and quite warm, I decided to leave my bedroom window open. There's a roller blind and curtains still keeping any unwelcome critters from waking me from my slumber. Or so I thought.

Woke up this morning with a really sharp pain on the back of my head. I thought it was my sister pinching me to wake me up, but then I heard a REALLY LOUD and REALLY SCARY "buzzbizzzbzuzuzbuzzzbizzzz!!!" and then I knew it was a (edit: bumble) bee. I jumped out of bed, and still hearing the buzzing, thought it was in my ear, so started shticking fingers in there to get the bee out, but it wasn't there. I stripped nekked, grabbed on a pair of shorts, and legged it outa there!

I had never been stung before -- it hurts!!! Especially first thing in the morning!!!

I went back in to find the culprit, and there he was dancing in victory on the window ledge. But I'm a nice guy, and I don't hold grudges, so I captured him in a glass, and set him free (out in the garden). Now he's off to kill again . . . . .

What's your worst wake-up call? Dog jumping on your groin? Girlfriend accidentally kneeing you in the groin? Mate throwing cold water over you? The alarm goin off and smoke billowing in under your door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

DaveMcG wrote:
    What's your worst wake-up call? Dog jumping on your groin? Girlfriend accidentally kneeing you in the groin? Mate throwing cold water over you?
    All three simultaneously..... worse night EVER!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Worst ever was 7am on a saturday morning and the apartment door got smashed in!! Was greated by armed gardai raiding the place!!!
    When the showed me the warrent I laughed and went back to bed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Any morning that I woke up at 7am with a vodka and red bull hangover, completely impossoble to get back asleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

DaveMcG wrote:
    I went back in to find the culprit, and there he was dancing in victory on the window ledge. But I'm a nice guy, and I don't hold grudges, so I captured him in a glass, and set him free (out in the garden). Now he's off to kill again . . .

Never been stung before?????, I see you're in Tallaght so maybe that's why you escaped so long. Regular occurance if you're in the countryside.

Not being awkward, but it's well known that a bee dies after it stings. So know you know

http://www.bbka.org.uk/faq.php
    Why Does A Bee Die When It Stings?
    When a bee stings, barbs in the lance of the sting cause it to firmly stick into the victim pulling out the venom sacs and glands when the bee is shaken off. The venom sac muscles continue to pump after these organs have been torn from the dying bee. Only the female workers and the queen can sting, the queen having a smooth sting which she uses to kill other queens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Not a bumblebee, no, cos their stings don't have barbs. Forgot to mention that in the original post. They can keep stinging you over and over . . . . . :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

On mondays and wednesdays my alarm goes off at 5:30 and as I become conscious I realise I have to spend two and a half hours travelling to get to UCD for nine. It'd be less depressing to wake up to someone holding a gun to my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Irsraeli Jets on a bombing run.

I win :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭DaSilva

Hard Larry wrote:
    Irsraeli Jets on a bombing run.

I win :D

Thats a little worse than mine but very related..

Palestinian bus bomb going off a few blocks away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

It was a chilly April morning in 98 and Pighead was awakening with the mother of all hangovers. Before I even opened my eyes I knew this was gonna be a bad one. My limbs were freezing and I could here voices chattering in my head.

Finally managed to open my eyes and much to my horror my spiderman curtains were nowhere to be seen. In fact my general bedroom area was nowhere to be seen. I was on my mattress alright but I was outside and it turned out those voices weren't in my head after all.

Yeah Pighead was lying on his mattress in the centre circle of the football pitch in front of the Galway-Mayo-Institute of Technology. Apparently I had got so drunk and obnoxious the night before that lads decided it would be appropriate if they carried me and my mattress and park me in front of the college.Nice one lads.

Pighead wrote:
    It was a chilly April morning in 98 and Pighead was awakening with the mother of all hangovers. Before I even opened my eyes I knew this was gonna be a bad one. My limbs were freezing and I could here voices chattering in my head.

Finally managed to open my eyes and much to my horror my spiderman curtains were nowhere to be seen. In fact my general bedroom area was nowhere to be seen. I was on my mattress alright but I was outside and it turned out those voices weren't in my head after all.

Yeah Pighead was lying on his mattress in the centre circle of the football pitch in front of the Galway-Mayo-Institute of Technology. Apparently I had got so drunk and obnoxious the night before that lads decided it would be appropriate if they carried me and my mattress and park me in front of the college.Nice one lads.
    and what a good pith it is.lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Emerging from a tent having put it up in the dusk the previous night only to discover the nice little clearing near the river was on a hippo trail. Fortunately the hippos had gone the other way that particular night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,096 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Pighead wrote:

lol. a traumatic enough memory to shake Pighead out of the third person!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

DaveMcG wrote:
    Hey folks,

had an unpleasant wake-up call this morning. It being Spring, and quite warm, I decided to leave my bedroom window open. There's a roller blind and curtains still keeping any unwelcome critters from waking me from my slumber. Or so I thought.

Woke up this morning with a really sharp pain on the back of my head. I thought it was my sister pinching me to wake me up, but then I heard a REALLY LOUD and REALLY SCARY "buzzbizzzbzuzuzbuzzzbizzzz!!!" and then I knew it was a (edit: bumble) bee. I jumped out of bed, and still hearing the buzzing, thought it was in my ear, so started shticking fingers in there to get the bee out, but it wasn't there. I stripped nekked, grabbed on a pair of shorts, and legged it outa there!

I had never been stung before -- it hurts!!! Especially first thing in the morning!!!

I went back in to find the culprit, and there he was dancing in victory on the window ledge. But I'm a nice guy, and I don't hold grudges, so I captured him in a glass, and set him free (out in the garden). Now he's off to kill again . . . . .

What's your worst wake-up call? Dog jumping on your groin? Girlfriend accidentally kneeing you in the groin? Mate throwing cold water over you? The alarm goin off and smoke billowing in under your door?

You think with all those bbs I shoot you with on a regular basis you'd have gotten used to the sensation by now :p

Yeah the pain was very similar alright! But the bee sting lasted for about 5-7 mins. And it throbbed! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Peter, wake up! Thomas died in a car crash last night. :eek:

A bat flew into my room one night. I didn't know wtf it was. I guess that's what I get for leaving the window open. I turned on the light after hearing something flying about the place, hopping off of everything. When I turned on the light the room was shaking like mad (not really, the light was shaking of course!). The ****er was about the size of my hand and he scared the **** out of me. I promptly turned off the light and slept on the couch. I still don't know if he's in there, I was moving house the following morning. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

16 or 17 years old. My house. The sound of two skangers on the net next door watching porno online at about 9am. Im in my mothers bed. Look to my right, bird from the night before panned out beside me. Look to my left, and see that the door panelling is smashed to bits after an incident whereby we had to kick it in. It was only at this point I remembered at least 30 people had been here the night before, and I just thought "oh christ".:D :D The drinks cabinet had been cleaned out (and there was a sh1tload of it, my oul one doesnt drink much so there was probably whiskey given as a christmas present 10 years previous still there, gallons of bacardi, brandy whiskey and vodka all slaughtered down). The living room carpet was drenched with gargle. Someone decided it would be a good idea to ride the lawnmower through the hall. Had to flip my mams matress upside down as someone had dropped a litl fag on it and made a hole. And I didnt manage to throw the last of the ****ers out until 5pm (about 9 people were still in the gaff when i got up). I now had 24 hours to get the house ship shape. We cleaned the carpet and walls grand, and got rid of the smell, however the broken door and empty cabinet was pretty much caught red handed.

Still, I dont regret a second of it :D In the 4 following years Ive been to some belters of partys, but that one just took the biscuit :)

This tune/video pretty much sums the whole thing up scene by scene lyric by lyric. There was even an incident whereby a loaded shotgun got pulled :eek: (not maliciously, its just some people have a different definition of having a laugh :eek: )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igZhoiB3LYU

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I was camping in the savannagh of africa once and i awoke hearing a tree crashing down. got a fright. an elephant was strippin the bark of the tree when it fell down. (The tree that is!) had the tree been a bit longer and we were goners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Good few years back, after a very hard night on the booze and a few pills, I managed to break my ankle (and walk half a mile home on it)
    I groggily awoke the next morning with a severe thirst and a need for cold water and the toilet, so I hopped out of bed still half asleep....until my right foot hit the ground and I was jolted into the harsh reality of blinding pain. It was the first saturday in june of 95, and I spnet the next 2 months in a cast in what ended up being the warmest summer here for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Tornado warning sirens going off, so loud:( *covers ears* Happens every Tuesday of every month (for test purposes)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

DaveMcG wrote:
    Hey folks,

Bees are making an early gathering this year. Had a similar experience. Managed to avoid getting stung though.

Woke up a week ago at 7am to hear this buzzing and the sound of something banging against the window. I thought to myself. Dam flies and tried to go to sleep again but the buzzing was too loud so i got up and grabbed a newspaper, rolled it up and pulled back the curtains ready to squash whatever lay beyond, that was untill i saw the bee.

It was huge, the body of the bee bust have been about the size of a 2 euro coin. Then the bee got angry. Its eyes burned with the anger of revenge for the many bees and wasps ive squashed over the years. It made a bee line "pun intended" right for me. Luckly my reflexes kicked in and WHAM, bee+paper=DEATH. I showed him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

NiSmO wrote:
    ...and your problem is? It could have been so much worse, it could have been your mate!

My worst wake-up call was walking downstairs at 8am (on day of my birthday) in a house I recently purchased to find Niagra falls being reenacted in my living room.

The seal on the above immersion tank broke (switched it on for hot water the night before) and all the water had been wee-weeing out of the tank, through the floor below and down into the sitting room. The ceiling was ruined, the plaster had come down, the water was going all over the Ez-e-boy leather recliner I had bought for €900 in Arnotts only months before, causing the mains to short out, and there was water all over the hardwood floor

Thankfully, all turned out ok. I just dried out the electronics on the Ez-e-boy, the floor didn't warp, and a master-plasterer made it all look like new again.

Pretty bad at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Waking up with an intruder (the type you need the gardai to get rid of) in my bedroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Hurricane Wilma while on holiday in Cancun. We had to leave the hotel at 5am in the morning and drive inland, the army were rounding up people at 7am so it was either leave the city or spend 3 days in a government designated shelter which was a church with 1 toilet for around 500 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

Heard a mouse gnawing at the skirting board last week at four in the morning. Not to worry -- I set a trap by the door and my fluffy friend was no more when I got up later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

Head-on collision outside the house at 3am.

Overslept and taxi waiting outside to go to airport. Housemate woke me up.

Overslept and had missed bus to heathrow. Had to get expensive taxi.

Very annoying magpie making noise eating window putty.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Woke up after a wedding in a hotel. Must have been 7 of us in the room. All of us hungover, smelly, cranky. I look down to notice that there is more then the usual amount of naked people in my bed. Somebody broke the "You can kip in the bed with us but you got to keep your underpants on rule".

He was also quite happy to see us all. AND he'd pissed himself. Now there's a wakeup call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭frizzefreckles

Boyfriend decided to be nice and bring me in a cup of tea one morning when he was calling me, but he tripped and spilt the tea all over me. Not the nicest wake up call I've had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭imeatingchips

I was sleeping in some kip of a hostel up the west coast of Australia. Myself and girlfriend had managed to get our own room with double bed which was grand.

However, In the twilight of early morn I felt a little tiddle at the top my right leg/nut area.

I giggled to myself, still asleep.

Then it happened again.

I was catapulted from sleep with a massive rush, realising that something was badly amiss. I tore back the duvet and there sat the biggest cockroach I've ever even across my lap and balls (I was later told that cockroaches will often be drawn to sweat for a drink, especially heavily pregnant female ones). Cockroaches can be very big in the countryside and, I kid you not, this thing was 4 inches long not including the big long tiddly antennae. I was screaming and roaring my heart out and tried to vault over my girlfriend (the bed was in the corner of the room and I was on the inside) but, of course, she was bolting upright from my screaming and as I vaulting out over her our heads clattered like conkers. My forehead hit her right eye sending her flying across the floor.

Much screaming, panic and blood ensued and I drink heavily ever since.

[edit: fixed typo]

I was sleeping in some kip of a hostel up the west coast of Australia. Myself and girlfriend had managed to get our own room with double bed which was grand.

However, In the twilight of early morn I felt a little tiddle at the top my right leg/nut area.

I giggled to myself, still asleep.

Then it happened again.

I was catapulted from sleep with a massive rush, realising that something was badly amiss. I tore back the duvet and there sat the biggest cockroach I've ever even across my lap and balls (I was later told that cockroaches will often be drawn to sweat for a drink, especially heavily pregnant female ones). Cockroaches can be very big in the countryside and, I kid you not, this thing was 4 inches long not including the big long tiddly antennae. I was screaming and roaring my heart out and tried to vault over my girlfriend (the bed was in the corner of the room and I was on the inside) but, of course, she was bolting upright from my screaming and as I vaulting out over her our heads clattered like conkers. My forehead hit her right eye sending her flying across the floor.

Much screaming, panic and blood ensued and I drink heavily ever since.

[edit: fixed typo]

Haha...excellent one....I hate cockroaches more than any other living thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Ruu wrote:
    Tornado warning sirens going off, so loud:( *covers ears* Happens every Tuesday of every month (for test purposes)
    So what happens if there's an actual tornado on a Tuesday then? Will everyone assume it's just a drill and go back to bed? That could be some wake up when your roof flies off and you end up visiting the Wizard.
    looksee wrote:
    Emerging from a tent having put it up in the dusk the previous night only to discover the nice little clearing near the river was on a hippo trail.
    I tore back the duvet and there sat the biggest cockroach I've ever even across my lap and balls
    You see, this is exactly why I like Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

while working at a summer camp in america I woke up to see a kid in the bunk above the other counselor having a **** :eek:
    not much i could do or say. just closed my eyes and ears and went back to sleep.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

zuutroy wrote:
    Haha...excellent one....I hate cockroaches more than any other living thing
    I didn't know that cockroaches could fly until I went to Queensland. What a shock that wsa to me first time. I thought it was bad enough they scuttled all over the palce, but flying too? Ugh. Horrible things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Willymuncher

Ruu wrote:

Its worse being woken by a real warning, scared the bejaysus out of me a few weeks ago when one ripped right through here, wasn't sure what to do or what to expect.

Didn't know Oklahoma was a tornado hot-spot. Nearly got into a spot of bother when I was there years ago. Ended up in this place called Sherlocks, and the locals didnt take to kindly to the Irish? Know it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Man i get wasps in my bedroom EVERY summer. I dont know where the f*ckers come from, but im so used to it now, that no matter how deeply asleep i am, as soon as i hear that buzz im up and out of bed like a light.
    Worst ever wake up call was about 18, brought some absolute munter home from the pub, i was so drunk when i woke up id totally forgotten about it. Sat up in bed, my head is banging, and i think 'why the f*ck am i in my parents bed??' Look to my left, see said munter, and let out a groan of 'ohhhhhh f*ck'. I think she heard it too tbh... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Willymuncher

zuutroy wrote:
    Didn't know Oklahoma was a tornado hot-spot. Nearly got into a spot of bother when I was there years ago. Ended up in this place called Sherlocks, and the locals didnt take to kindly to the Irish? Know it?

I've seen the place but I've never been, it doesn't surprise me one bit the welcome that you got though...I find it pretty hard to fit in here, want to move state asap.

Boyfriend decided to be nice and bring me in a cup of tea one morning when he was calling me, but he tripped and spilt the tea all over me. Not the nicest wake up call I've had.
    Hah, reminds me of when I was younger on a plane going to Spain with my family. The stewardess was offering tea, so I obliged. She filled the plastic cup and gave it back to me. I was at the window and my sister was beside me.

The tea was hot, as my sister was soon to discover, as it landed all over her ;) That's a pretty unpleasant wake-up call!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

jor el wrote:
    So what happens if there's an actual tornado on a Tuesday then? Will everyone assume it's just a drill and go back to bed? That could be some wake up when your roof flies off and you end up visiting the Wizard.

You see, this is exactly why I like Ireland.

*snore* "Turn up the heat it is getting a bit nippy in here". It goes off at exactly 9am on the first Tuesday every month so if a tornado hits then, we're all ****ed. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

My cat kneading my scalp with his clws demanding to be fed at 7 am (for fe..k's sake i was loving opposite the school and could have crawled out at 10 to nine) Never had a lie in cause of him.

The worst was when i was rudly woken by my mother to tell me about Princess Diana's death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

Around 4 times a year we head down to Tramore for a monster session in a college friends house. Each and every night we get mangled, and more often than not, one of the following songs is heard belting out of the speakers before 10 the next morning:

Purely random:
    Islamic "Call To Prayer"
    The Tokens "The Lion Sleeps Tonight" (wee-ah-mumba-way!)

Hardcore/Gabber/Trance (never good for headaches!)
    Klubbhoppers "Buddy Joe"
    3 Steps Ahead "Gabbers Unite"
    Eddie Halliwell "Such Is Life" or "Murder Was The Bass"

Emo/Indie (because only an arse or a trendy would like either genre nowadays!)
    Anything by Rise Against, Something Corporate or Fallout Boy.

God I love Tramore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭markk06

Worst wake up ever was waking up on the last morning of a ski trip and being in complete agony.. The day before i'd taken a bad fall and somehow managed to twist my testicle. Cue a lot of puking induced from the pain and a 2 hour ambuance journey in the snow... Followed by an operation and having to stay on my own in france for 4 days when EVERYONE else went home.

I win!

(Lads: to get an idea of the pain imagine the initial first two seconds of pain from a kick in the balls that goes right into your stomach just before the pain subsides... then take away the pain fading and instead of 2-3 seconds imagine it for seven hours
    Ladies: Forget childbirth... this you will never understand)

Sounds horrendous....Did you get the amazing 'the pain is gone' euphoria at the end? Hope you were wearing clean undies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭markk06

zuutroy wrote:
    Sounds horrendous....Did you get the amazing 'the pain is gone' euphoria at the end? Hope you were wearing clean undies!

No the pain is gone feeling was applied via anaesthetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭bolliwoodi

DaveMcG wrote:
    and there he was dancing in victory on the window ledge.
    ah ha ha ha:D i can see it now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

markk06 wrote:
    to get an idea of the pain imagine the initial first two seconds of pain from a kick in the balls that goes right into your stomach just before the pain subsides... then take away the pain fading and instead of 2-3 seconds imagine it for seven hours
    Ladies: Forget childbirth... this you will never understand)

Winner alright, winner alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

scojones wrote:
    Peter, wake up! Thomas died in a car crash last night. :eek:

A bat flew into my room one night. I didn't know wtf it was. I guess that's what I get for leaving the window open. I turned on the light after hearing something flying about the place, hopping off of everything. When I turned on the light the room was shaking like mad (not really, the light was shaking of course!). The ****er was about the size of my hand and he scared the **** out of me. I promptly turned off the light and slept on the couch. I still don't know if he's in there, I was moving house the following morning. :o

Have you checked the bathroom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Went to bed about 4am after work on a Saturday night. Woken 7am Sunday morning (does such a time exist?) to find a mouse in the corner of my room.

Mr. Mouse met Mr. Umbrella.

The headboard thumping me on the head and then seeing the fridge walk across the room:eek:

Then realised it was an earthquake... about a 5.5, I think,
    I was on the fourth floor,
    After the fridge stopped walking, I want back to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

The headboard thumping me on the head and then seeing the fridge walk across the room:eek:

Then realised it was an earthquake... about a 5.5, I think,
    I was on the fourth floor,
    After the fridge stopped walking, I want back to sleep.

In Athlone!? When was this? You sure you weren't on acid?