Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knacker Drinking

• 12-04-2007 11:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭marco murphy

Do you live in an estate, and every Friday night look out your window to see young lads sitting on the wall or otherwise drinking a few cans?
    Have you a problem with it, and how do you think it should be solved?

I used to do it myself, but out of view of the public.
    I suppose stricter measures at the offlicenses but would that solve it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Call the cops, get pictures as evidence?

Call grisham and the csi crew?

Get McGyver?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

Knock the wall...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Flame thrower tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Is this illegal? I mean the drinking alcohol in public places as opposed to any stupid behaviour that will probably come later (and of course the obligatory leaving their beer cans in situ)

Anyway I find the best thing to do about public drinking like this is ignore it. I'm not sure how it can be realistically solved exactly. Stricter off licences would help alright, they have a lot to answer for imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I can't top the suggestions above so here's the sensible suggestion.

A powerful motion sensor light so the lads can't sit in the darkness and they'll move elsewhere.

Failing that, snipe them with an pelletgun from an upstairs window;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭UnReg123

ah sure just join them!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

UnReg123 wrote:
    ah sure just join them!! :D
    You know...that could work. It'd freak them out of make it so much less cool... And they would be unlikely to retaliate. If it backfires and they try calling again, you can approach them as a friend ask them to shag off. hmmm!
    Less old people in Garda reserves; more old people going around in hoodies with cans of Dutchy! SUBVERSION!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

drinking in public is illegal so yes it is technically illegal............if it was outside my house i prob wouldnt like it but i was doing it 5/6years ago and while i understand older people getting anxious over it 90% of the time the kids doing it mean no harm and the corner house or whatever just happens to be a convenient meeting place

let it go unless things get rowdy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭UnReg123

my idea totally Karoma!!!! :D i think it could work!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I was never into the knacker drinking game... Too cold in Ireland. Me and my mates used to drink (among other things) in one of their sheds. It was great, TV in there, N64, radio, etc. Good times.

I dunno how to defeat knacker drinking. I've suggested this before, dunno how effective it would be but it's merely an idea: lower the drinking age in pubs to 16. Start a new advertising campaign showing young fellas having a casual drink in the pub and having a bit of a laugh there. Depict staying sober as being the mature thing.

Just a suggestion! Would it work?

I wouldn't be keen on 16 year olds in the pub, but I suppose better that than on my street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,295 ✭✭✭gucci

you could try that "invisable" sonic ringtone or whatever its called, blast that out....watch theyre face melt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

DaveMcG wrote:
    I was never into the knacker drinking game... Too cold in Ireland. Me and my mates used to drink (among other things) in one of their sheds. It was great, TV in there, N64, radio, etc. Good times.

I dunno how to defeat knacker drinking. I've suggested this before, dunno how effective it would be but it's merely an idea: lower the drinking age in pubs to 16. Start a new advertising campaign showing young fellas having a casual drink in the pub and having a bit of a laugh there. Depict staying sober as being the mature thing.

I wouldn't be keen on 16 year olds in the pub, but I suppose better that than on my street.

They already let them in :P its one of the reasons I dont go to any of the big pubs in Limerick anymore. Except for nancys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Do you live in an estate, and every Friday night look out your window to see young lads sitting on the wall or otherwise drinking a few cans?

well i can see by you thread title that you have already made up your mind about these young people...

DaveMcG wrote:

I think if alcohol was less of a cultural thing, less of a forbidden fruit, and more of a give the child half a glass of wine with dinner with the family the odd time, then there wouldn't be such an issue with it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

gucci wrote:
    you could try that "invisable" sonic ringtone or whatever its called, blast that out....watch theyre face melt.
    Is that the "brown note" ringtone of legend, also known as the russian roulette ringtone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I grew up somewhere where it was rife but where I live now you don't really see it. (All theneighbours kids too young probably).

I did it myself in the day (albeit in parks) and I don't have a problem with it at all unless they start acting like idiots or making loads of noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

well i can see by you thread title that you have already made up your mind about these young people...
    No, "knacker drinking" is the "official" term for this activity, even among young people. It has been since I was a young lad in school in Dublin and that's over 15 years ago now!

Instead of saying "I say chaps, anyone fancy a spot of outdoor drinking tonight, what ho?", you say "Eh lads, who's on for a bit of the ol' knacker drinking tonight?".

The former, gets your head kicked in for being a toff, the latter ups your street-cred and apparently makes you much more cool!

It's a tough one to solve, if these kids aren't causing any hassle then they're better off left alone where they are, if they're causing trouble then perhaps a large sensor light, mosquito (that sound device that only teenagers are supposed to be able to hear) and calling the cops.

I do think that the mosquito device will make you a target for troublemakers though, they won't like the fact that you are obviously out to move them on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Pour some Jaysis Fluid on the wall, they'll have no choice but to go elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Tigrrrr

bluewolf wrote:
    I think if alcohol was less of a cultural thing, less of a forbidden fruit, and more of a give the child half a glass of wine with dinner with the family the odd time, then there wouldn't be such an issue with it...
    Heh, my parents used to give us wine with our dinner, my granny used to even put brandy on by dummy. It doesn't stop me from getting completely langers though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Its not just teenagers that do this when the weather's good. I regularly see packs of more 'adult' looking skangers at it down by the river here in Kilkenny. They leave the place in a fúcking mess.

FFS go to a beer garden!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Tigrrrr

Outdoor drinking is so much fun though. I'm not talking about sitting on a wall per se, more of a picnic in the fine weather really... except with beer. Be at one with nature and the fruits of the er, Dutch Barley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Plissken1

Every Friday night ?? jaysus, you must live in one of those posh gated communities. You should come over to where I live, the kids drink every evening. I am surprised they don't walk to school in the morning with cans of Dutch Gold in their hands. It would be interesting to see how many of them have health problems in about ten years time, I feel a documentary idea coming on !. The litter they leave behind after their sessions is disgusting though, they have the place destroyed. The council do their best, but the kids never use the bins for anything, it all goes from the shops and off-licence's straight onto the ground. We get alot of Americans and French living in the area (working for HP and Intel), and they always ask why is Ireland so dirty ? I have no answer, we are just filthy I geuss.

r3nu4l wrote:
    No, "knacker drinking" is the "official" term for this activity, even among young people. It has been since I was a young lad in school in Dublin and that's over 15 years ago now!

Instead of saying "I say chaps, anyone fancy a spot of outdoor drinking tonight, what ho?", you say "Eh lads, who's on for a bit of the ol' knacker drinking tonight?".

well not in my day.... it was called 'bushing' or 'the bush tavern'
    but i suppose this is Dublin so "knacker drinking" would be more appropriate

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

if i seen them hanging around my place, i would definately call the cops but i have to say, i never went knacker drinking in my youth and feel i have missed out on a major part of life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

irishbird wrote:
    i never went knacker drinking in my youth and feel i have missed out on a major part of life

Oh you have, you have. Sitting around in the freezing cold with one can between 6 people and thinking we were all locked on it. Good times, good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Pff kids these days. Get a Field!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I used to go knacker drinking myself but only in the forest when a gang of us would go camping..

Up where I live though is not just the teenagers doing it but the adults.. Easter Monday afternoon I was watching a movie in the Sitting Room (should have been out in the sun but wasnt feeling great). Anyways all afternoon there was a processing of people young and old walking by the window drinking cans.. a lot of the cans where just f**ked on the ground when empty. Girls around 14 were walking by pissed of their face pulling their skirts up and knickers down when any 'yungfella' walked by..

My estate is one of these that is a mixture of social, affordable and private housing.. There is a block of council apartments near my house and there are 3 guys living in 3 seperate apartments on their own (didnt know the council gave apartments to single men) and they are always pissed.. Morning , noon and night.. They sit on the communal grass area to the side of their apartments and opposite the row of houses where I live and they just drink and litter.. The police have been called a few times but they dont do anything..

The mad thing is we have to pay mangement fees to clean up all the litter that they and the other drinkers make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

well not in my day.... it was called 'bushing' or 'the bush tavern'
    but i suppose this is Dublin so "knacker drinking" would be more appropriate
    Bushing is what we call it too

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

There's a lot of this where I live. We have to call the guards for them on a regular basis. My road overlooks a green and if the little w**kers just sat over there and were quiet I wouldn't care but instead the like to sit blocking the walk through on to my road and shout abuse at people as they walk past. Then after a few drinks they start screaming at each other. My next door neighbour had their window smashed twice. I've also seen them pissing in people's gardens, not to mention the cans all over the place.

I'm hoping one of the little w**kers steps on my driveway some night so I can make use of that baseball bat by the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Have that problem too - I wouldn't care if they just had a quiet drink in the lane behind the house - but the shouting, screaming, breaking bottles and all the other BS going on is very, very annoying. Plus, they do start to get destructive after one bottle of Buckfast too many, and start kicking people's wing mirrors, and stuff like that.

Not nice. They travel in packs as well (we call them the tracksuit brigade...), which makes it quite intimidating for elderly neighbours...

Calling the guards doesn't do much, cause the second these idiots see the guards coming up the street, they disappear...

Not sure what would help though...shouting out the window will make me a target, and having the guards on speed dial is not a great option either...

Air rifles, maybe...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,137 ✭✭✭✭Stark

boreds wrote:
    Pff kids these days. Get a Field!

There are **** all left unfortunately. We used to do all our "getting up to good" in the back of a woods somewhere when we were young. These days, those woods/fields are now all housing estates so kids end up hanging around street corners instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

People drink on the street outside our place all the time. Most of the time it isn't kids either. Combine a nearby off-licence and an out of the way street and you'll get people having a few drinks.

The strangest are when 3 - 4 guys buy a box of beer, bring it down and spend an hour or two drinking outside. Generally it's non-Irish guys but there's never any trouble so it's not that big a deal really. I've never understood why you'd do it for that long on a street though. It's not like they are too young to drink at home or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

The solution is simple if you wear runners or tracksuits you should not be allowed buy drunk anywhere no matter what age you are..oh and no baseball caps either :D

Oh and as a Galway Busher more bins might help.. the bins in the spanish arch are full by 1pm :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

I'm all for a blanket ban on Buckfast!
    Would solve a couple of problems, methinks...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,698 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

The solution is simple if you wear runners or tracksuits you should not be allowed buy drunk anywhere no matter what age you are..oh and no baseball caps either :D

So basically you'd be banning about 75% of country from buying drink :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭marco murphy

We annoyed a few people where we drank so we shifted to an out of the way place on the edge of town. Done nobody any harm.

I don't think theres a problem selling to young people in Offys.

Its a problem of young people sending in Adult freinds, older brothers or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,137 ✭✭✭✭Stark

As in what they tried doing in pubs&clubs. People will just buy Ben Sherman shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Stark wrote:
    People will just buy Ben Sherman shirts.

Any port in a storm. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Plissken1

We used to share cans, or a bottle of cider. Now everyone has their own case of beer. Yesterday at around 18:30 i saw five fellas, they looked about 15 years old. The had a bag of booze each. They had just purchased them from the new off-licence up the road. They were heading off to get rat arsed down a lane-way, behind the housing estates (there is more than one, I mean it is Ireland after all) . They were so blase about it though, surely if its that easy to get, and they do it so often they would get bored. But its the same every week. Even Monday nights, when they have school not just on holidays.

There is a new shopping complex opened near us, well actually all the units are empty except for a betting shop and an off-licence.
    classy place. CHAV TOWN !

hehe Ben Sherman ! ... dont forget the striped shirts from river island.

I remember getting slagged during the winter for wearing a crombie (it was freezing), but its not part of the CHAV uniform so I was always leaving myself open for attack. It was about 3 am, and it would have turned ugly only for my mates came around the corner, and the CHAVVY CHAV's scattered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Grisham is a wuss.
    This job calls for Lt. H. Caine.
    "Looks like we've got..*takes off sunglasses*... some underage drinkers!"
    *cue music.

Edited for realism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I wear runners and tracksuits because they're comfortable. I wear baseball caps coz I like baseball. Am I also precluded from boozing?

zuutroy wrote:
    I wear runners and tracksuits because they're comfortable. I wear baseball caps coz I like baseball. Am I also precluded from boozing?

yes