Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Motors Meet?

• 12-04-2007 5:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭

Just reading the ''Who Drive's What'' thread and as i met up with Overdriver last night and he had a beautiful Triumph, and it got me thinkin' should we all meet up someday as the long evenings are here, we talk about nothing else but cars (well talkin' for myself), well what do ya's think just an idea, i'll leave it up to Mods to sort it as i would'nt know my ear from my arse when it comes to somthing like this.

Anybody up for it?

-VB-

/wax's the Carina

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Great idea, we should invite the bike heads too (Just saying that cause I fit into both categories)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

The more the better!

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭andrew_ireland

And the cyclists!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Sounds good to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

And the cyclists!;)

The entertainment, I presume? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'd be interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭NiSmO

maidhc wrote:
    The entertainment, I presume? :)

Yup! Seen as they dress like pole-dancers they might as well act like them!

Sorry, didn't mean to hijack the thread, it's a damn good idea VolvoBoy- definately interested and hope it comes to fruition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,268 ✭✭✭Elessar

With some of the people here? Are you crazy?

If you could filter out the insane and the PC brigade then maybe :D

Elessar wrote:
    With some of the people here? Are you crazy?

ye, there's too many "it's not the fast lane it's the overtaking lane" kinda people here actually...

Elessar wrote:

Thats me out so:D

-VB-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

But its NOT the fast lane! :D

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

mike65 wrote:
    But its NOT the fast lane! :D

It bloody well is when I'm in it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

We can have a race up so...... I'd be on for it too but where to meet up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Great idea mate, i would be up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Would be interesting. How about a poll for potential locations? There seems to be a good coountrywide spread, Cork, Galway, Dublin etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Somewhere in the midlands may be the best compromise. maybe coincide with another motoring event if there is any soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,010 ✭✭✭patrickc

Carlow then I don't have to travel, along the FAST lane!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭gyppo

Don't know if it would be a good idea - we'd probably bate the sh1te out of one another, going by some of the threads here:D

Seriously, excellent idea, and Colm's suggestion of the midlands suits me fine:)

Yea the midlands would be the best compromise as there is boardsies all over the country, waterford, cork, dublin, again would'nt really know the best location for it,

Kbannon
    unkel
    silvera ?

-VB-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭drdre

NiSmO wrote:

nah we will leave them out,there toooo noisey.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I'd probably be up for it, sometime in June though as my manager's on my ass for not working enough hours at the moment....ungrateful f******, i'm reducing his wage bill for him and he's still not happy...and probably north Tipp or somewhere round there

Should we carpool:D :D:D , my car ain't built for comfort travel!!

Sorry ninty9er no FF'ers allowed, it would only cause friction.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,010 ✭✭✭patrickc

junkyard wrote:

agreed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,270 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

No Greens either please. I'm sure junkyard wouldn't appreciate his X5 or Q7 being keyed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I'm up for a meetup too - but I can't believe that nobody has mentioned beer yet!!! Given my penchant for beer I'd be inclined to say lets meet in Dublin...... I'll be castigated for it, but the only reason is so I can have a pint or two - I don't get out often these days, so any excuse will do. If it has to be the midlands then so be it.

junkyard wrote:

me runs to tell Bertie they're bein discriminatrist against me:D :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

crosstownk wrote:
    I'm up for a meetup too - but I can't believe that nobody has mentioned beer yet!!! Given my penchant for beer I'd be inclined to say lets meet in Dublin...... I'll be castigated for it, but the only reason is so I can have a pint or two - I don't get out often these days, so any excuse will do. If it has to be the midlands then so be it.

hehe wouldnt that defeat the whole idea of a motors meet? :D

thats what the boards beers meets are for? ;)

how about somewhere in athlone or tullamore?? both pretty central, but i dunno, depends where the most people are comin from i suppose??

How about tonight (Friday) in the Crown in Wexford city? I'll defo be there!
    :D;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭overdriver

Volvoboy wrote:
    i met up with Overdriver last night and he had a beautiful Triumph,

-VB-

/wax's the Carina

Thanks Vb...

( disappointed you arrived in an Almera....) :D

crosstownk wrote:
    So are you suggesting a drunken rally race off.... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Right - looks like it's going to be a 'beer free' event (not free beer, unfortunately). Why I mentioned beer is because I'd be inclined to go without the car, I doubt very much that anyone would be interested in my Zafira - including me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I reckon im interested too, once its within 50ish miles of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Maybe Athlone; those in the east have a Motorway most of the way now!!! Also, as someone said, it's central, and it means that the rest of us don't need to go near the pale!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Dunno, I'd be afraid that Junkyard would drain the oil out of my Alfa, just to prove a point...

*only joking

Who me???:eek: Do you actually think your Alfa would make it past the half way mark?;) Only joking, I have two lovely Alfa's for sale at the moment, great cars so they are, the two I have any way.;) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

ned78 wrote:
    It bloody well is when I'm in it!

It should be the fast lane - you should have to be doing 90 to be in it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,847 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Everyone in the back of my van, I'll need as many as I can fit so I can get a push when I break down:D

I suggest Darragh's garage and have demonstrations and activities lined up and I'll put my van in as the demonstration piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,613 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

ninty9er wrote:
    me runs to tell Bertie they're bein discriminatrist against me:D :D:D

Tell him there's a 'kebab' out to get you. A bad 'kebab' at that! :confused:

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If this should happen I suggest Portlaoise as its pretty good in terms of access for most people.

Mike.

mike65 wrote:
    If this should happen I suggest Portlaoise as its pretty good in terms of access for most people.

Mike.

FFS mods get the finger out and sort a place for a meet, fair play to mike65 for recomending a place, but mods in your capacity banning people and giving out isnt all ya can do.

-VB-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

How about Birr castle or somewhere similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

Would NCT personal be welcome??? Even worse, german NCT staff????:D

theres a few spots around athlone you could organise a meet, am not sure about portlaoise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

mike65 wrote:
    If this should happen I suggest Portlaoise as its pretty good in terms of access for most people

Sure enough, Mike. But Athlone is probably better for most non-SE people as it is right in the centre of the country. Anyway, Dublin to Athlone should not take more than 30 minutes in a dedicated BMW lane* :D

*Why are people taught it is an overtaking lane? It really is a "get out of the fooking way" lane

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

unkel wrote:
    Sure enough, Mike. But Athlone is probably better for most non-SE people as it is right in the centre of the country. Anyway, Dublin to Athlone should not take more than 30 minutes in a dedicated BMW lane* :D

*Why are people taught it is an overtaking lane? It really is a "get out of the fooking way" lane

Portlaoise is prob best for me too

It'd be good fun if it happened but I don't think it's gonna lads....

steve06 wrote:
    It'd be good fun if it happened but I don't think it's gonna lads....

lets all just go away for a weekend to amsterdam ;)

no, lets organise an Irigh Gumball and we'll drive to amsterdam... we can leave the cars their, get fúked up and float home in the wind... lol