Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

can anyone recomend a gym or swiming pool in the city centre thats public access?

• 10-04-2007 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭

as in no enormous membership fees,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

markevicz centre by tara street is corportion run and pay as you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Another vote for Markevicz. It was done up a few years back and is in good shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭dannyd20

nicolo wrote:
    can anyone recomend a gym or swiming pool in the city centre thats public access?

in which city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭JayRoc

dannyd20 wrote:
    in which city?
    I bet you and DaveIrl know each other :D

We ALL know there's only one city- everything else is just a collection of wee rural villages.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭dannyd20

JayRoc wrote:
    We ALL know there's only one city- everything else is just a collection of wee rural villages.;)

Aye - that seems to be the common assumption round these parts :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

The new trinity Gym just opened. It's massive apparently it's open to the public at weekends afaik. I think it's a rip off and you'd have to be mad to pay the money they want for such a limited service, but meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

TCD pool 25 m which is a pretty standard length. It has the advantage of being nice, new and shiny but as you say expensive. The pool isn't quite open yet either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Money Shot

There is a Dublin Corporation pool in Sean McDermot Street if Northside is handy for you.
    It will be a no frills experience so don't go expecting the Gillert Spa, but it will do grand if it's handy for you.

Money Shot wrote:
    There is a Dublin Corporation pool in Sean McDermot Street if Northside is handy for you.
    It will be a no frills experience so don't go expecting the Gillert Spa, but it will do grand if it's handy for you.

Avoid like the plague that entire area unless your local. That's from someone who knows it well and went there many times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Money Shot

Boston wrote:
    Avoid like the plague that entire area unless your local. That's from someone who knows it well and went there many times.

Apologies, I'm from the area, so wouldn't think twice about going there I suppose. It is a rough enough area, but you should be fine if you keep your wits about you, don't bring any valuables and don't leave anything in your car etc.

If she's going early morning or afternoon, it would be better too. I was only making a suggestion, and take no responsibility for any restulting damage or loss. Besides. she could be rough as houses herself - who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

270e for graduates. So that's what I paid that sports-facility fee for, for all those years. Scabby feckers.

quozl wrote:
    270e for graduates. So that's what I paid that sports-facility fee for, for all those years. Scabby feckers.

yeah I'm slightly annoyed that there doesn't appear to be a different price for those of us who paid the sports levy compared to graduates who didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Cheese Princess

I did swimming lessons in Tara Street last year and it was absolutely fine and very affordable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

yeah I'm slightly annoyed that there doesn't appear to be a different price for those of us who paid the sports levy compared to graduates who didn't.

and whats more to the point, i think you still have to pay for lockers, no??

Dunno, I ahven't actually used it yet. When I had a look around last week it looked like the standard lockers that you put a euro in but get back out when you open them. I'll let you know when I get back. lockers don't actually bother me as I work in the next building so usually change here and go over in my sports kit but I can see why it is unfair. It's like having a membership fee and then having to pay everytime you go as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

Rathmines pool (near the library) is a corpo run pay as you go and is pretty decent. There's another private pool behind the Burlington, Mespil, but I'm not sure what the fees are like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

DIT Kevin St. has a small gym with a pool. It's pretty cheap from what I remember and I think the pool is possibly public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Aura

quozl wrote:

Seconded!

Was always led to believe membership would be the same for those who paid the sports levy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 kindle

DIT Kevin St. has a small gym with a pool. It's pretty cheap from what I remember and I think the pool is possibly public?

AFAIK its not public at least during term time, its open to groups who pre-book it though schools and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Frankiestylee

kindle wrote:
    AFAIK its not public at least during term time, its open to groups who pre-book it though schools and stuff.

Ah, those groups could be what made me think it was public... loads of lil feckers leggin it about.

The gym is quite cheap to join though, very cheap for students, pretty reasonable for everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jonnykitedude

TCD will be open to the public soon but not yet.
    No you don’t have to pay for the lockers just have to buy a lock which is yours to keep.
    How is it a limited service? Maybe at the weekends but weekdays its open 15hours per day, also there’s a lot of people giving out about the prices but it is a business and they do have to pay over heads, buy new equipment etc so I don’t think there being “scabby Feckers” at all.
    If you look at DCU there charging 220+ for the year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 annafreud

thats great - how much does it cost for a lock though? and also can you basically keep the locker for yourself and leave stuff overnight etc.?

TCD will be open to the public soon but not yet.
    No you don’t have to pay for the lockers just have to buy a lock which is yours to keep.
    How is it a limited service? Maybe at the weekends but weekdays its open 15hours per day, also there’s a lot of people giving out about the prices but it is a business and they do have to pay over heads, buy new equipment etc so I don’t think there being “scabby Feckers” at all.
    If you look at DCU there charging 220+ for the year

I don't object to the fee at all. I do think those of us who paid the levy for years were somewhat mislead. We were told we would have a favourable rate when it was built but now we're paying the same as everyone else.

The hours are very restrictive at the weekend and I'm a little concerned that they may use the traditional opening hours during the summer which as restrictive everyday for those of us who are staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭losetheforce

just spoke with Gillian, the membership advisor in the new TCD Sports Hall, and I can confirm that 1998-2003 graduates get a 10% discount off membership. She's not sure for how long though. Also they're waiving eur50 joining fee for people joining this month, probably because the swimming pool isn't open yet!

She needs to tell the people behind the desk that. I asked and paid full whack.

Maybe this is better in another Thread but whats the generally opinion of the new TCD GYM? I heard it quiet badly layed out and still alot of the same off equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Boston wrote:
    Maybe this is better in another Thread but whats the generally opinion of the new TCD GYM? I heard it quiet badly layed out and still alot of the same off equipment.

I'm still undecided, but I'm going to give it the benefit of the doubt seeings how I've been promised the gym area hasn't been finished yet. I've used it a half dozen or so times so far.

No mirrors, very badly laid out weights area, no clocks, no music (not that that's neccessary a bad thing given some of the staff's penchant for Q102 :rolleyes: ), oodles of new treadmills/ rowers (two of which are already out of order!!) but no new weight equipment, no floor matting, bad air conditioning, and frankly, a crap atmosphere.

I'm only glad I paid my membership months ago that I didn't get hit with teh new charges. If you'll be regularly availing of the other facitlities (aerobics, sports hall, pool etc) it might be worth it but for the gym alone, not worth it.

Like I said though, I've been assured there's still plenty of changes to be made, but now that the doors are open and there's paying customers, I can't see them happening that soon.