Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone Fancy...

• 09-04-2007 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭

Heading into Pheonix Park on Wednesday evenng/night for some shots?

Chocheese and myself are heading up to Dublin anyways.

Tea and biscuits in my gaff after, or pints and a curry in Nancy Hands?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭DrummerBoy

If it's after 10pm I wouldn't mind going along if you don't mind (seeing as I actually don't know anyone).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Yep, well I'd say 9 onwards if that'd suit?

Actually, test out that lens then too!

Anyone else up for it?

Don't be shy :p

I can show you all ye need to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

Well I have to be up in Dublin on Thursday anyhow. Doubtful that I'll have a camera though.

Ah come up a day earlier! Go on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

I'm tempted....

Getting home (DCU) out of there will be a bitch though.:o

Hmmm, if someone would be so kind to drop you off on Prussia Street, you could get the 39 up, Prussia st is only a 30 sec drive from the gates of the park!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

It'll be useless for me, I don't have tripod nor display... However I am going to check my schedule. It is possible that I'll have new photos already developed and scanned. And again in big shopping centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Chochese

Fajitas! wrote:
    Chocheese and myself are heading up to Dublin anyways.

It's true! My annual outing to the Big Smoke! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

I'd love to go, but i won't be off work till 10, and the sun will be gone by then :(
    unless it's night photography you're after.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭DrummerBoy

Fajitas! wrote:
    Yep, well I'd say 9 onwards if that'd suit?

Actually, test out that lens then too!

Anyone else up for it?

Don't be shy :p

I can show you all ye need to know.

Sounds good to me. :) You could bring both lens too!
    Shiny wrote:
    I'm tempted....

Getting home (DCU) out of there will be a bitch though.:o

I could give you a lift home. I'll be heading very near there anyway.

Sunset & night photography Xios!

DrummerBoy wrote:
    I could give you a lift home. I'll be heading very near there anyway.

Cool. That sounds like a plan. :)

Worries of last bus, taxi frenzi, fading.........

Fajitas! wrote:
    Sunset & night photography Xios!

I see, well, if i could just find my ole battery charger which seems to have pulled a legger on me, then i can come.

Oh feck it, I'll be up tomorrow night, but I'll definately have no camera with me.

Who has a floor I can lay mine head down on? Free PS tips! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Ausdubliner

Whereabouts in the park do you normally shoot? I don't live too far away and am always looking for interesting spots to practice.

Finding this charger seems to be very unlikely, would anyone that's going, happen to have a spare olympus e-500 battery that i could use? other than that, not much point in me coming.

Sebzy might do Xios, dunno if he's coming to this, but he most likely will!!!

Fenster, I'll have my 1000Fn with me if you don't mind shooting film? Possibly a spare tripod too. No cable release, so no exposures longer than 30 secs!!

Space on my floor too. You can keep Chocheese warm ;)

Aus, thinking of starting out in the playground for some erie shots, then wandering over to the Cross to get some wide angles!

Sounds very tempting, but I have to face a barrage of X-ray scanners on Thursday morning.

Drop'em in to be dev'd before going to the embassy!

Oh...feel free to bring your IR filter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

i'd like to go myself , i won't be able to stay late , due to damn work , your meeting at 9 , will anyone be there 8ish -- if so where ? near cross ?

cheers.
    B.

Any chance of getting a google map of the location and
    a few rough photoshop arrows here and there???

Haven't been in the Pheonix Park since I was like...8..?

ie dont know where the "playground" is....etc...

There's a pond just opposite the playground too, might bet some interesting reflections.

Sunset is about 9, about that in Waterford I think.
    phoenix_park.jpg
    1: Playground/pond
    2: Papal Cross
    3: Pub

Where do ye think would be best to meet? The cross would most likely be best for the sunset, hang about there, head back to the playground, jump the fence and get some eerie shots in there, and head to the pub down the road?

Any other suggestions?

The bandstand near the playground will be good for a shot or two.

Er, and just from experience of living near the park. Try not to walk back alone.

I don't know how much internet access I'll have tomorrow, but my number is 087 9282991.

Fajitas! wrote:
    Oh...feel free to bring your IR filter...

It's really wasted at night, TBH

The cross sound good, i should be there 8:30ish , can get a little bit of practice in

Looking at that I will probably just get a bus to Heustan and leg it from
    there to the cross.

I will aim to be there for 8 but probably wont arrive till half past.:rolleyes:

Thanks for the map, at least I know where everything is now.hehe

I won't be in Heuston until 9, which probably makes me mugger-fodder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Sebzy

Wont make this one as I'm off rocking/shoting at a gig in Voodoo.

METAL METAL METAL
    Deathstars and MORPHIIS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Flying out the door, but I might head to this. Mark I'll have a shutter release cable if thats any good to you?

Al I'll give you a ring. But you've probably already left. In which case I'm talking to myself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

It is today? Damned, it was today. Well, it's time to go to bed...

Hope yaz are havin fun taking photo's without me :(
    Stupid charger is still missing, time to buy a new one, anyone know if i can buy one in liffey valley? Olympus e-500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Focusing in the dark is an issue. I must learn which direction of the focus ring infinity is at...

Had a good evening over all.

Never got to visit the pond or playground but they
    are closer to the entrance and will be on my list for
    the next visit. :)

Always bring your torch!!!

Thanks a million for the lift DrummerBoy, would have cost me
    nicely getting a taxi home.:p

since i was first to leave , i'm probably first to post my results

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/

i took a few around Dublin earlier which i was happier with, particularly this one

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/455923661/

but its good to put faces to names , and meet in real time...
    enjoyable

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

funting c0ckgnashing bollocktastic!

One of these days, just one of them, I'm going to not completely c0ck up my life and actually get along to one of these. I saw this and then realised its 2am on Thursday already.

*fume*

DeV.
    ps: my laptop packed up yesterday with all my photos on it. Needless to say my ex-laptop now has a HDD-sized hole carved in it. The bitch of it was that I was booting it to back it up when the power died. :(

Good craic last night. Bloody wrecked after all that walking! :D

Julie - You need a torch! Makes focusing a hell of a lot easier!!!

Playground and pond would be good for another night, let me know whenever you're interested in going Shiny.

TheBaz, I'll have a look at those shot's when I get to college - Only on my shítty Irish Broadband wireless, so fug-all speed!

Dev is it the hard drive that's gone?

Where did yous go after the cross, like? Straight to the pub?

Home to my bed!

Fenster slept on my couch, and Chocheese in the spare bed.

We were all a wee bit tired...

DrummerBoy flew me to Glasnevin in his Sports Car.:D

Aye that was a pretty car parked outside the gate, I noticed :D

has anyone got any results they are going to post -- i want to see the standard i need to aspire to !!

i wasn't too happy with my results

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/

Think this was my favorite ,and it doesn't have the cross

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/455934896/

Like Julie i had serious problems focusing in the pitch dark , and got seriously cold , unlike choccheese running around in a tee shirt.

The one I really liked is out of focus :( The one that came out sharp-ish is boring as hell...

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/220/456649722_c10d0d0973.jpg

I spent the morning wandering around the city centre with Al and Trevor and showing them how to take a good IR photo. Hopefully they'll have something up soon.

Laughing Fenster..

My awesome Canon programs (ahem..) have decided to play silly buggers and not work. And I can't find my card reader so I have no idea still how I fared. I do however know that at *least* 99.9% of my shots were out of focus. You can however blame Elven's other-half's ambient-sexual-preference-wine for that and not my obviously otherwise expert eye.

I'm ducking in advance for that one..

Personal attack! I'm getting the moddssss

Have some stuff up on my flickr for those that are bored - Linky

I really liked using IR - Thanks Fenster!

I trawled through all your posts earlier today, looking for the link you posted for developing them!

Was in the pub for the evening. Hmmm. Free Coors Light. Yay.

Note: it's the wine that's questionable, not my other half ;)

Sinead, why don't you just use the old scanner & camera wizard that pops up in windows when you plug the thing in, rather than using the canon software? You should be able to copy the files straight off the camera that way...

Yep - just got them :)

And as I guessed they're all out of focus. This is the only one that came out half decent

cross.jpg

So is it just practice that gets it right?

elven wrote:
    Note: it's the wine that's questionable, not my other half ;)

Sinead, why don't you just use the old scanner & camera wizard that pops up in windows when you plug the thing in, rather than using the canon software? You should be able to copy the files straight off the camera that way...

i use picassa 2.6 for copying accross from camera , and it does a good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

sineadw wrote:
    Laughing Fenster..

My awesome Canon programs (ahem..) have decided to play silly buggers and not work. And I can't find my card reader so I have no idea still how I fared. I do however know that at *least* 99.9% of my shots were out of focus. You can however blame Elven's other-half's ambient-sexual-preference-wine for that and not my obviously otherwise expert eye.

I'm ducking in advance for that one..

Sinéad, Windows Explorer will allow you to copy and paste from the camera to the hard drive if you ever get stuck like that.

I have to go and reinstall the Canon stuff tonight - I like Zoombrowser and the camera download stuff I have to say. But I'm guessing that the Adobe camera reader will get there first.