Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the earliest you started drinking in the day?

• 02-04-2007 5:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭

As per title. Drinking in the morning the day after the night before doesn't count unless you stopped for brekfast or sleep. The earliest I've ever started was only at 3 in the afternoon on the first day or rag week. Disappointing I know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

When i was on holidays last year,the earliest i had my first drink was 10.40 in the morning.Usually though it would be around 1pm,before dinner.
    Back home though,i've started at 11am..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I imagine there are people in the student bar by 12, although I don't know any of those people. I'm about to crack open my first can of the evening cause I finished a bast*rd of an essay and I deserve a few (well I think so at least.)

You see when you give up all that college stuff you'll be able to apply yourself properly to drinking!:D

Lols shouldn't it be the other way around??? Still it seems I have many years of college ahead of me, I'm planning on doing an M.Litt. But which one??? History or English? Its so confusing *downs can*

History or English..both relativley manly subjects but still a bit lah de dah!Couldnt you study drinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Are funerals included? They usually kick off early with the swalley.

Of course you can include funerals hagar. Degsy, most college subjects are a bit lah de dah, its a matter of finding the one's which are least so! I imagine something like practical engineering or something involving getting mucky like archeology would be manlier, but what can you do at this stage??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Of course you can include funerals hagar.
    Excellent. Does anyone know anyone sick? I've a powerful thirst on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Hagar wrote:
    Excellent. Does anyone know anyone sick? I've a powerful thirst on me.

Yeah, Funerals are the best for getting the early scoops on, one that's after ten mass, skip the graveyard and head straight to the boozer, you could have the first one inside you by about a quarter to eleven if the priest went to the quick school.

What's even better is if said deceased has left money for a bar tab. You don't even have to buy the round back!

Christenings ar egood too,you could have it over with by half eleven then back to the venue or establishment and proceed to wet the baby's head in a massive orgy of alcoholic overindulgence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

About 7 or 8 in the morning. A couple of times when I was in college I'd wake up and find my housemates still up from the night before and when I'd go downstairs I'd grab a beer and join them drinking for the day.

And there was the time I woke up, couldn't be bothered getting out of bed but was thirsty. I had a bottle of buckfast beside the bed and started to drink it. I ended up going to the college bar when it opened already after drinking a bottle of buckie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i'd say earliest is about 7:30am....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

As per title. Drinking in the morning the day after the night before doesn't count unless you stopped for brekfast or sleep. The earliest I've ever started was only at 3 in the afternoon on the first day or rag week. Disappointing I know.
    A couple of options here. Both are from when I was living in Singapore. Firstly, myself and a few lads got the 7.30am ferry to Malaysia every Saturday morning for about six months to play golf. The golf always turned out to be a bit of a side show as we started drinking as soon as we got on the ferry. When we arrived at the golf course, they always had our buggies fitted with cooler boxes which were filled with beer.

On another ocassion, we left a night club at 3.30am and proceeded to a 24 hour 7-11 and drank cans until 7.00am. A brief sleep on a park bench was followed by breakfast in McDonalds at 8.00 which in turn was followed by another visit to the aforementioned 7-11 for more beer. This kept us going until the Irish Pub opened at 10.30. I seem to recall leaving at about 11.00pm that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭rediguana

I think I had a beer around midday once. It was grand but you've got nowhere to go then. Even one blunts your capacity to do anything productive for the remainder of the day. Have two and you're heading toward the start of a session. Start your session too early in the day and it will become messy and / or lose steam before six or seven.

A good "early" start is 6pm. Any sooner than that and you're shooting yourself in the foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

8.50am train up to Dublin for 'de match' last year! Actually it was before that, because we went up to the train station the pub beside it was open and selling cans so we stopped in there and had 2 quick pints and bought 4 cans each.

That day was my finest hour(s), 22 pints of black, 4 cans of stella (only the posh stuff!) and about 4 burger king feeds. Aye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭ro1798

long time viewer first time poster,
    time was 6.19am
    this was the day i was flying over to oktoberfest last year, it was an early start for a pint bottle of bulmers in the airport.. did not stop till we got back to dublin 3 days later...:D

good times good times
    #
    ronan

rediguana wrote:
    I think I had a beer around midday once. It was grand but you've got nowhere to go then. Even one blunts your capacity to do anything productive for the remainder of the day. Have two and you're heading toward the start of a session. Start your session too early in the day and it will become messy and / or lose steam before six or seven.

A good "early" start is 6pm. Any sooner than that and you're shooting yourself in the foot.

Well said brother. I'm not one to get in the way of a brother who wishes to start drinking at the craic of dawn, but well my rag week experience showed me that pace is the most important aspect of a pissup. I've been up til five or six manys the night last year, but if you start drinking at two or three then I think lasting much later than midnight would be damn near miraculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FunkyDa

07.30, off a night shift. My bodyclock at that hour is the same as yours at 17.30, so a can, or two, goes down a treat(now, if only the chipper was open at that hour!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What time does the Gate bar in Dublin airport open at?
    I remember getting the 2:00 am Citylink coach from Galway to Dublin airport many times to catch an early morning flight and queueing outside the bar till it opened. Was great to get a nice refreshing pint after a rough nights sleep on a coach! Don't think I've done any earlier than that!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Have woken early on a sunday mornin and started at about 8AM usualy dont get out of bed till 1 tho which is when I start drinkin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

jester77 wrote:
    What time does the Gate bar in Dublin airport open at?
    I remember getting the 2:00 am Citylink coach from Galway to Dublin airport many times to catch an early morning flight and queueing outside the bar till it opened. Was great to get a nice refreshing pint after a rough nights sleep on a coach! Don't think I've done any earlier than that!

Not sure what time it opens these days, but I can remember downing a few G&Ts there before catching a 06:50 flight.

As for early starts - I used to regularly go for a couple of pints at 10:30 on a Saturday morning. Now my early-Saturday-monring-mind-altering-experiences are limited to watching The Wiggles & The Backyardigans. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Hill Billy wrote:
    Not sure what time it opens these days, but I can remember downing a few G&Ts there before catching a 06:50 flight.

I was catching a 6:50 flight as well and managed 2 or 3 (if flight delayed) pints before it left. Guess it opens around 6 as I used to get into the airport before 5:30 and had a bit of waiting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

7.45 on the bus to slane about 5 or 6 years ago. It was a naggin of mace own brand vodka and it might as well have been turpentine.

On a few occasions I've had a bottle of beer with toasted sausage sandwiches for brekkie, bout the half 8/9 mark. Good times.

I had a 9 o clock exam (physics) bout 4/5 years back, left after the mandatory minimum 30 mins, took the naggin of southern comfort out of my bag so I didn't have to wait to get to the pub to drink... Got a C3 in the exam :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Left work at 12:05am one night and had the first drink (free) in a hotel bar at about 12:15am. Two house partys and an early bar later we knocked it on the head for a few hours about 4:30pm. Think it was about 8 we started again. I must have looked like some waster falling asleep on the bus with two days of stubble, pissed as a fart at 5pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

Hill Billy wrote:

Simular situation. Early flight - few shots of rum - a couple of solphadine - slept like a log.

ro1798 wrote:
    long time viewer first time poster,
    time was 6.19am
    this was the day i was flying over to oktoberfest last year, it was an early start for a pint bottle of bulmers in the airport.. did not stop till we got back to dublin 3 days later...:D

good times good times
    #
    ronan

Over 10euros for 2 drinks? Rip off.

I think around 10:30 for me when I was just finished the Leaving Cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

6.30am most Sundays throughout the summer when I was living in San Francisco. We'd get up to watch the GAA matches down the local. It made for some interesting days.

The Americans didn't know what to make of lads stumbling out of the pub at 10.30am muttering "I'm never drinking this early again".

The good thing was sometimes you'ld head back to bed for a few hours and then head out again - it was like having 4 nights out in a weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Years ago, getting an early ferry to England I had a pint of Guinness at 6 am. My uncle also has a proper bar in his house and after an all night party I awoke at 8 am (3 hours sleep on the floor) and poured myself a pint of Guinness. Delicious going down, not so nice coming up again an hour later :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

ah jaysus Id allmost forgot about the aul boozecruise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

6am in the Airport on several occasions... mmmm Bulmers for brekkie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I often have my first drink at 4:30-5am after work.

Last Saturday I started work at 3pm, finished at 6am. Had a drink with the rest of the staff and then moved on to a different bar and got drunk. Pretty soon it was lunch time and time I went home before I stayed out too long.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

The earliest I have ever started was 10.45 am. It was about 15 years ago, when I was still able for debauchery on such a scale, on a weekend in Cork which involved a football match between our office and our branch in London. For some reason I decided to start with a pint of Guinness, unusual as I'm not a massive Guinness drinker, but I think at that stage I thought there'd only be a couple consumed. I wasn't playing in the match, which allowed me to stand on the sideline with a pint in hand, so what followed that first pint was another 21 pints of Guinness (somebody started to keep count), with the last one consumed at 5.30am the following morning in the residents bar of our hotel. It was days before my insides sorted themselves out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

a couple of years ago i didnt bother going away for my holidays so went to the local most days so i would be starting to drink around 11

I feel like an alcoholic reading these. It seems normal for me to drink regardless of the time. We used to hang around outside the early house in San Diego cans in hand waiting for it to open at 7am. Its also impossible to go on a train/bus/plane journey with more than two people without a bag of cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Used to go drinking around 7 or 8 in the morning while in America because the GAA matches would be on tele around that time. Felt a bit weird leaving the pub round 2 and the sun beaming down on us and us heading home for a nap!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Two years ago. Me and two of the lads were going to see Oasis in Marley Park. We got the early morning train from Sligo and brought a boatload of cans on with us. Can't remember what time the train leaves at. Must have been about six or seven in the morning though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Between 6 and 6.30am in Dublin airport. Maybe 7.30am when not at an airport. Don't do it too often though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I used to meet a mate of mine who did nights in Dublin Airport in Delany's in North King St (early house) at 7.30am. Jebus, I was usually rubber by early afternoon. Ah yes, what carefree days before I had children.

ahem ...baileys n cornflakes
    yum!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Never tried baileys in cornflakes. Tried stella in frosties though when I was drunk. It was rank.

Tried beer on cornflakes once because the place I was staying in were out if milk. Never got as far as a second spoonful.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

In Ireland, loads of 10.30 starts as a student. Get a sandwich in the stables in UL, and as soon as 10.30 hits, order pints. that was the old stables though for anyone who knows UL, before it got all modern and couloury and stuff.

Aside from that probably some 8.30 starts in the US waiting for GAA matches to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

12:30 is the earliest I can remember for a normal day, I had an interview at 3:00 that day.

But I'm guessing around 10:00 while on holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

6:00am one morning at the airport.

Ah, bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

I forgot about the flight from Heathrow to Singapore (before 9/11 and all the new sh1t). Got as much beer as I wanted on the flight and when I got to the apartment at around 11.00am, threw the bag in and went straight to the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Around 5pm, I'm not much into the whole student "OMG like drinkin!" fandango.

I can't understand people smoking on a sunny day. It's a seedy activity for seedy times

When watching Ireland vs Cameroon in the 2002 world cup. I think we started drinking at around 7:30 I think.

zaph wrote:
    Tried beer on cornflakes once because the place I was staying in were out if milk. Never got as far as a second spoonful.
    pffft and you call yourself a man

Well I dispensed with the cornflakes and finished the beer if that helps?

zaph wrote:
    Well I dispensed with the cornflakes and finished the beer if that helps?

That a boy. Get rid of that pointles food. It only makes it longer before you get drunk.