Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

10 k and Soccer Blitz

• 02-04-2007 10:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭

Two seperate questions.

I am doing the Bupa 10k in two weeks time. Just wondering where other people are with their training for this. I am kind of a novice at running, but I am trying to be out every second night, doing between 6k and 9k each night.

Should I aim to do the 10k before the actual run. What time do people think is a good idea to aim for? Any helpful tips for the final forthnight before what will be my longest run yet? I am thinking of continuing the trianing ater and going for the Dublin marathon. :eek: in October.

Second question. Anyone know of a one day or weekend long soccer blitz on astro turf or indoor football coming up in the Dublin area in the next couple of months?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Ohyeah wrote:
    Hi all, I am doing the Bupa 10k in two weeks time. Just wondering where other people are with their training for this.
    I'm not doing it myself, I'll be in Paris. Was originally going to be running the Paris marathon but injury put the nix on that :)
    I am kind of a novice at running, but I am trying to be out every second night, doing between 6k and 9k each night.
    That's good, if you can already run 9k then obviously the 10k isn't going to be any bother to you as long as you pace it sensibly.
    Should I aim to do the 10k before the actual run.
    If you're going to then do it very soon, it takes a while for any training benefits to appear so there's no point in trying to get in a few last really hard efforts in the week before the race. In fact it'd be much more likely to just tire your body out and slow you down. So if you want to run the 10k for psychological reasons (it won't do much physiologically different vs 9k) then do it soon.

For the next 10k race you do you can significantly improve your endurance by building up to an easy 15 or 20k weekly run before it.
    What time do people think is a good idea to aim for?
    Impossible for us to tell. What time do you run 9k in training in? And is that an honest training pace, you're not racing your training right? You should be able to go faster on race day. If you've been racing your training then you won't go that much faster, if you've been doing your training at an easier pace then you should be able to go quite a lot faster. So how easy have your 9k runs seemed? I'd suggest trying for a goal you think will be tough but do-able. I'd expect you to surprise yourself.
    Any helpful tips for the final forthnight before what will be my longest run yet?
    Just don't tear yourself down the week before it trying to get in some last minute hard training. It won't help but can hinder.
    I am thinking of continuing the trianing ater and going for the Dublin marathon. :eek: in October.
    Fair enough, what weekly mileage are you doing? If you can comfortably be running 25 mpw for months before you start your 4 month marathon buildup you'll find things a lot easier.

Enjoy the run :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Lockster

I'm also doing the BUPA and did 10k yesterday in around an hour. I don't plan to do 10k again before the race, but just did it yesterday to prove to myself that I could do it. I plan to take it relatively easy between now and the 15th with perhaps 3 x 7 k this week and 2 x 5 k early next week. I don't think I'll do anything else between Wedneday 11th and the race on the 15th (Is this a good idea?)

In terms of time I'd be happy with 60 mins and anything below is a bonus.

Does anyone know the exact coarse? Are there many hills, just out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

The course map is on the website. I've just had a look and there is only one significant hill about half way around. It's only about 200m long so shouldn't cause a problem for anyone.

Predicting a time for someone who has never run a race before is very difficult. 60 minutes seems to be a snesibe time to aim for on your first time out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

http://www.greatrun.org/events/map2.asp?id=6

There's two decent size hills in the south and southwest, between miles 5 to 6 or so if I had to guess. They'll be very annoying if you're already wrecked by there :) If you can do the 10k in an hour in training then even with the hills you should be able to on race day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

I'm doing the Bupa 10K too. Ran 7k this morning in about 45mins, aiming to do the 10k in about 65mins. Have been up to the Phoenix Park the last couple of months every weekend to get used to the place, great for weekend runs.

I am a bit worried as this morning I got a few blisters, think it was a pair of cotton socks that did the damage. Anybody have any remedies as my right foot is a bit sore now.

I think I will just take iot easy next week, going to doa few 6/7 km runs, and then with about 2 days rest run the Sunday.

I too am hoping to do the marathon in October, so I'm looking forward to Sunday week.
    Second question. Anyone know of a one day or weekend long soccer blitz on astro turf or indoor football coming up in the Dublin area in the next couple of months?

This good friday in the Astro up in Tallaght there's a soccer blitz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Roddy23, I had the same problem with blisters etc.
    Get some running socks.
    Nike do them and they are light as well as letting your feet breathe.

Will prob take to the Pheonix myself before Sunday week to get a look at the route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Ohyeah

I signed up for the Bupa run on line last week, but got no race pack in the post yet?

Is anyone still waiting on theirs, or has it arrived in post?

Also any idea how much running should be done between now and Sun. Thinking of doing 5- 7k Thursday and then leaving it at that? Anyone else have other plans?

Cheers

I don't think you will get the same pack as the rest of us, as you applied a lot later. Am open to correction on this, but you should have received some sort of a pack. I'd say if you got their phone number and rang them, as you need the little yoke that tracks your time.

That reminds me, I think I lost mine. :o

5-7km should be grand between now on Sunday. I can't see myself running any further then this between now and then.

Cheers for the tip about the socks, picked up a pair at the weekend, and have had two long runs since then - happy days.

from the http://greatrun.org site -
    ALL the race packs for the Great BUPA Ireland Run have now been sent out and you should be receiving yours in the post shortly.

If it does not arrive by the end of the week, please check your emails for the pre-race email from Great Run and this will have information in it about what to do if your race pack has not arrived.

I put a post on the Athletics forum this morning that I have not received my race pack yet either and I registered for the run in November. It didn't arrive in the post today either, so I am getting a little concerned.

With regards to runs between now and then, I did 5 k last night and I may do another 5 k tomorrow, but then nothing again before Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Cheese Princess

I registered a few weeks ago and still haven't received the pack. Called them yesterday and they said I should have it by the weekend. I think there was a delay because they had problems with credit card payments and we had to send a cheque in the end.

What number did you call? I can't find anything on the web site or the emails that I've received.

The number was on a letter I got about the problems with credit card payments. Don't have it with me now but will try to get back to you on it.

Ok I found it in a text....
    0044 191 2727 033

Thanks for the number, I just gave them a call and apparently if you don't receive the pack by Friday's post you can pick up a duplicate at the customer service point near the start of the race and this is open from Saturday morning.

Thanks for all the info guys, I still have not recived anything in post, although I did recive an email saying that I had been registered, so looks like I have to pick up the run pack from the park before the race then. I take it you have to bring your register number to pick it up?

Anyway going for a 5k tonight, and fingers crossed we get some nice weather like today on Sunday.:)

do people know whether there will be a place where you can leave your bag safely during the race?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Lads you wont have any problem doing 10k. When you have a group of people running round you its not too hard to keep yourself motivated. The farthest I ran before the half marathon in Connamara was 8miles - c 13k. I managed to finish within 10 mins of my friend who had the dublin marathon under his belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

The information leaflet I got says there will be a baggage drop area next to the start. There was a waterproof bag and label in the pack.

As well as the UK number listed above, I noticed there's an Irish contact number 01 8680088 in the leaflet. The information desk, toilets and baggage open at 10.00 on the day.

One of my friends called the number this morning as he hadn't received his pack either. Apparently a load of packs were only sent two days ago and they said we should all have them by Saturday morning - they didn't realise we don't get post on Saturdays!
    But you can definitely pick it up at the information point. It's actually open tomorrow as well from 12-4.