Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oscar De La Hoya And Floyd Mayweather Camp Notes

• 28-03-2007 7:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

For Oscar De La Hoya and his new trainer Freddie Roach, the honeymoon is over and training camp is down to business. It is Roach’s first training camp in three years (last one with Mike Tyson in Phoenix training for the Danny Williams fight) where he had to leave his Wild Card Gym in Los Angeles, go on location, work with and set-up camp with just one fighter. “I am used to being at my gym 10 hours a day training a bunch of fighters,” said Roach. “Being only with Oscar in Puerto Rico gives me a chance to concentrate and focus specifically on the game plan for the fight, something I wouldn’t have been able to do as well as I can now.”

http://www.fightbeat.com/news_details.php?NW=1380

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,374 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Anyone know what Oscar and Floyd are receiving for the fight, financially I'm talking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

On May 5th, Floyd Mayweather Jnr (37-0, 24 KO's) challenges Oscar De La Hoya (38-4, 30 KO's) for the WBC world light-middleweight title at the MGM Grand Arena in Las Vegas. Not only is Mayweather's 100% professional record still intact, but he has won world titles in four divisions, from junior-lightweight to welterweight. De La Hoya has done so in six weight-categories. Both men are unquestionably hall of famers in waiting. Without meaning to add to the already unbearable hype, fights simply don't come any bigger than this. Tickets sold out in three hours, grossing $19 million. The combined purse is something in the region of $35 million ($25 million for De La Hoya, $10 million to Mayweather). It seems entirely possible that this bout will also break the world record for pay-per-view buys. This contest is on a par with the Hagler-Hearns-Leonard-Duran superbouts of the 80's.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

Though I'm looking forward to the fight, I think it's well below the calibre of Leonard V Duran and Hearns. Mainly I suppose because the two fighters are well outside of their natural weights, one fighter is maybe 4 years past his peak, but still very good. Hey I think Floyd wins, but Oscar puts up a very good fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Hmmmm Walshb, a bit of revisionism here ??

If I remember correctly, when this fight was first mentioned you claimed it was a "farce" and Mayweather would win very easily.

I tend to agree with your current prediction, but am only hoping against hope that Oscar shuts the loudmouth up.

You are correct but after watching some more of Oscar, maybe I was a little hasty. He is still in good shape and looked quite good in his last outing. Oscar is always a tough match for anyone but I still think he is 3-4 years past his
    peak and Floyd is possibly at his peak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭bilbo79

I believe this could be the fight of the noughties-cant wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

thinking that oscar has no chance is stupid,his left hook is very damaging and will pose serious problems for mayweather.Also he hits a lot harder than mayweather is used to but the main problem for oscar will be getting his hands on him,mayweather is so quick and the last time he went toe to toe with someone he should have lost but for a dodgy decision.
    Im sticking my neck out and going for an oscar win

I don't think anyone thinks he has not got a chance. I simply feel his odds are low, considering that he is past his peak, slower and maybe not as conditioned as Floyd. But who knows, Oscar is such a legend and even past his best he is a tough match for anybody

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I'm not a big follower of boxing, I watch fights here and there.. But I must say, I'm really looking forward to seeing this fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

I cannot wait for this fight. Anyone catch that De La Hoya/Maywether show on Sky Sports? It was only 30 mins but it has totally changed my opinion on this fight.

I never liked the Golden Boy, he always seemed to me to take the easier fight, the title and the money. As an aging fighter i felt that it was better for the world of boxing that Mayweather beat him and stay the pound for pound best. But............

..........my god Floyd is a d**k! He IS a great fighter, and in my opinion will win, but what a bad ambassador for the sport. Everyone around him is obnoxious and ignorant. His father and uncle are total scumbags, and he is really disrespectful to a great fighter. I wasnt a huge Oscar fan as i said, but now i want him to whip his ass.

I think Oscar is a bit of a money grabber but he has Freddie Roach as his trainer and that is enough to see me go for him. Also the thing that made me totally switch on Floyd is, he was training wearing a t-shirt that said "I Heart Money". That is horrible.

Floyd said that he has chosen to play the villain for the fight, and pay per view sales will prove he was right, but i think he goes a bit far. No doubt after the fight he'll say it was all for the TV and that he respects Oscar. I just hope Oscar beats some respect into him.

(Just to say, My dream fight would be Erik Morales (+ 30 pounds) whippin Pretty Boy's ass)

i know it was tv show and that distorts things but it seemed to me that oscar was taking this fight way more serious,as in having shane mosley as his sparring partner and a great trainer

De la hoya is taking this very serious as this fight could dictate where these 2 stand in the history books-this could end up in a trilogy-i hope mayweather comes to fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

I never liked the Golden Boy, he always seemed to me to take the easier fight, the title and the money

I'm honestly confused over that one.

I won't even go into the 'title and money' bit considering that's how the man makes his living.

I'd like you to name any fighter (within reason) that Oscar ducked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

When is this fight taking place?

Whatever Oscar made he damn well earned it. A lot of the other fighters out ther begrudge him, but he was the star attraction. Best of luck to him I say.
    They could not generate the cash he could and a lot of them made huge paydays that they never would have made fighting any other opponent.

Oscar has fought the best and beat the best and proved how great he is. I rate him top 5 Light/super lightweight fighter ever. He was that good

WalshB totally agree,oscar has been a fantastic champion and makes any top ten of all time.Also in a time when boxing was/is full of dirty tricks and poor champs he comes along clean cut,all amercian olympic champ,family guy and makes a ton of money.
    Boxing fans(some)then claim he didnt deserve it while giving out about mayweather and his ilk's actions etc.
    He also shows with his goldenboy promotions that he has a serious head for the business and some people dont like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

I'm not denying Oscar was a great fighter, i'm just saying that a couple of times when going for a title shot, particularly at a new weight, he would invariably pick a title holder who wouldnt have been considered the best i.e Felix Sturm, or an old Julio Cesar Chavez.

Personally i would have liked a rematch with Tito and a fight with Winky Wright (before people point out the obvious, yes Tito retired and Wright isnt a marquee name) as well as a fight with Jermain Taylor. But i dont expect the man to fight every single fighter out there, he's getting older and i say fair play for staying in the game.

His callibre of opponent is probably only second to Erik Morales in the past decade. So i have great respect for the man.

When de la hoya fought chavez it was the end of chavez carreer but he was no mug! he would of still whopped most people out there out of it, this was no walk over either...i was very upset chavez lost back then-what a legend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

oscar is in much better shape then i first imagined,........

i cant help think that this fight may be a 12 round snoozer, despite the massive hype.

mayweather is quite boring to watch to be honest,.... he deploys a jab and run tactic,..... which may be enough to win the fight,... but in my opinion the p4p champion should be able to mix it up when needed !!!

the media made him p4p champion,..... and the sheep followed.
    take away the gatti fight and what have we got to make him p4p number 1 ????

manny Pac deserves it more in my opinion,... with skill speed and strength combined with a style that goes against the grain of all text-book boxing methods.

floyd doesnt have a seriously hard punch,..... and i will offer 15/1 for a ko by pbf on betfair come the time.

i also never been mad about oscar,... but i find myself backing him for the first time in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I never liked the Golden Boy, he always seemed to me to take the easier fight, the title and the money.

Don't agree with this at all. De La Hoya never ducked anybody infact he has always fought the very best fighters at whatever weight he was at, he even had the balls to face a much bigger Bernard Hopkins at middleweight. Got to give him the credit he deserves..............the mans a legend!
    ..........my god Floyd is a d**k! He IS a great fighter, and in my opinion will win, but what a bad ambassador for the sport. Everyone around him is obnoxious and ignorant. His father and uncle are total scumbags, and he is really disrespectful to a great fighter. I wasnt a huge Oscar fan as i said, but now i want him to whip his ass.

Totally agree with this. Although Floyd the fighter is magnificent, outside of the ring he is trash-talking lowlife. Ever since he called HBO's $12 million contract 'a slave contract' I lost major respect for this guy. Plus you are spot on about his family, his uncle Rodger (who Oscar whipped when he was a young pro) started that mass brawl at the end of the Zab Judah bout and his father, Floyd Sr, is a money grabbing turncoat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭henbane

Gonna be in Vegas for this. Oscar is a true great and PBF is doing his job pre-fight - respect to both of them. This isn't going to be Hagler Hearns but it should be worth seeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Floyd Maywetaher was one of the main things that rekindled my interest in boxing and before I knew anything about Floyd outside the ring I loved him and thought he was great. But each time the man opens his mouth I dislike him more and more. He really sums up everything wrong with boxing at the moment imo and his Uncle Roger comes across as a scumbag tbh!

Haveing said that anyone who deny's his skill as a boxer does not have a clue what they are talking about imo. He is tremendously talented imo and if he was in any way personable and charasmatic Floyd could have been a great thing for the sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Great interview with Oscar in the Sunday Times, I will really be rooting for him Saturday night, it won't be for hunger he will be beaten.
    Oscar in 8 rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

Just have to say that I've never been a big boxing fan at all, but the HBO specials on this fight were recommended to me to watch and now I can't wait for this fight. That Sunday Times interview was great, I really hope Oscar gets the win on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭StaggerLee

Does anyone know what time the fight is due to start, Irish time?

Between 2 and 4 in the morning as far as i know-i'd go with 4!!

2 am coverage starts so id say it will be at least 3.30/4 am before the main event.Cant f'n wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I can hardly wait for this. Oscar to win in the Seventh round:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 barrykil

look the hype of the fight is one thing,it shouldnt be taken so seriously.
    remember,ODLH is promoting the fight as well as boxing in it.the 24-7 thing was his and his peoples idea(and a damn good one).......but were seeing it the way oscar wants us to.Oscar loves to play the hero,the good guy to somebody elses bad guy.and hey.........it works. people eat up that kinda ****e. but as far as boxing is concerned,these are TWO GOOD GUYS.
    two of the best men of this generation meeting in a genuine superfight
    it doesnt get much better.
    it has to be said though,De La Hoya has always gotten the silver spoon treatment in his career.he has definetly NOT always fought the best man in the division.look at his record.Jimmy Bredahl???? Jorge Paez?????? Sturm???these guys were the the softest touches as beltholders,far from great champions.Oscar is great for the sport but he was always well looked after.Also the cynic in me really does`nt like the way he went out against Hopkins.that left a bad taste for me personally.
    then theres the "baddie".and every story needs one does`nt it?? meyweather is most definetly the best boxer in the world.since he beat Genaro Hernandez for his first title he has beaten a who`s who of the best superfeathers and lightweights of recent years before moving up the weights in search of the big money extravaganza type fights he feels he deserves.
    yeah he`s no Golden Boy or Sugar Ray,smiling ,kissing babies( and media behinds) but what he is is a throwback,old school super-slick boxer who is a master at what he does. he`s not everyones cup of tea i know,but boxers like him are an increasingly rare thing these days.
    unfortunately i dont think the fight will live up to its billing if blood and guts and give and take action is what your after.i see Mayweather weathering Oscars early storm to pick and pot-shot him apart over the distance. ill enjoy it either way, i cant f***in wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Is this being broadcast on our free Irish t.v? like RTE or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Valmont wrote:
    Is this being broadcast on our free Irish t.v? like RTE or something?

LOL.

sky sports-not sure if its 1 or 2 but coverage starts at 2 in the morning and fight might start at 4! dont miss this 1,,

barrykil wrote:
    look the hype of the fight is one thing,it shouldnt be taken so seriously.
    remember,ODLH is promoting the fight as well as boxing in it.the 24-7 thing was his and his peoples idea(and a damn good one).......but were seeing it the way oscar wants us to.Oscar loves to play the hero,the good guy to somebody elses bad guy.and hey.........it works. people eat up that kinda ****e. but as far as boxing is concerned,these are TWO GOOD GUYS.
    two of the best men of this generation meeting in a genuine superfight
    it doesnt get much better.
    it has to be said though,De La Hoya has always gotten the silver spoon treatment in his career.he has definetly NOT always fought the best man in the division.look at his record.Jimmy Bredahl???? Jorge Paez?????? Sturm???these guys were the the softest touches as beltholders,far from great champions.Oscar is great for the sport but he was always well looked after.Also the cynic in me really does`nt like the way he went out against Hopkins.that left a bad taste for me personally.
    then theres the "baddie".and every story needs one does`nt it?? meyweather is most definetly the best boxer in the world.since he beat Genaro Hernandez for his first title he has beaten a who`s who of the best superfeathers and lightweights of recent years before moving up the weights in search of the big money extravaganza type fights he feels he deserves.
    yeah he`s no Golden Boy or Sugar Ray,smiling ,kissing babies( and media behinds) but what he is is a throwback,old school super-slick boxer who is a master at what he does. he`s not everyones cup of tea i know,but boxers like him are an increasingly rare thing these days.
    unfortunately i dont think the fight will live up to its billing if blood and guts and give and take action is what your after.i see Mayweather weathering Oscars early storm to pick and pot-shot him apart over the distance. ill enjoy it either way, i cant f***in wait

Oscar has fought everyone out there and more. He's a prime example of a fighter who ducked nobody and to go to middle to face a much bigger stronger and talented guy like Hopkins is really special. Mosley, Trinidad, Vargas, Whitaker, Mayorga. All extremely tough opponents. How anyone can say his career was a 'soft' one is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Oscar de la Hoya is a living legend and I hope he KO's Mayweather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

barrykil wrote:
    it has to be said though,De La Hoya has always gotten the silver spoon treatment in his career.he has definetly NOT always fought the best man in the division.look at his record.Jimmy Bredahl???? Jorge Paez?????? Sturm???these guys were the the softest touches as beltholders,far from great champions.

Why do people keep on going on about this???? :confused: Oscar HAS fought the best fighters in each division he has been in. Name a fighter that he has ducked??? If you want to be cynical then why not point out that Mayweather has fought 'soft touches' like Carlos Rios, Victor Sosa & Henry Bruseles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

walshb wrote:
    Oscar has fought everyone out there and more. He's a prime example of a fighter who ducked nobody and to go to middle to face a much bigger stronger and talented guy like Hopkins is really special. Mosley, Trinidad, Vargas, Whitaker, Mayorga. All extremely tough opponents. How anyone can say his career was a 'soft' one is beyond me.

Hammer. Nail. Head.

Legend is the word all right-he's the man and i hope he shows it on sunday morning-i cant wait for this..

When was the last real fight like this? Boxing needs more of these showdowns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

I cannot wait for this fight. Anyone catch that De La Hoya/Maywether show on Sky Sports? It was only 30 mins but it has totally changed my opinion on this fight.

Yeah I saw that preview on Sky, theres another one on Sky Sports One at 19:30 (repeated at 22:15) tonight. I think its a different one to the one previously shown, but not sure.

The other one changed my opinion of Floyd aswell but not in a negative way. Don't get me wrong I still think he's a smug arrogant bastard, but alot of the best fighters are. I kind of have a bit more respect for him as a person now than I did before. I mean having that arsehole of a Da pushing him non stop growing up, trying to live his dreams through Floyd can't have been easy, and he's in a position now that if he wanted he would never have to see him again, but he still treats him with a lot of respect and tries to make a connection with him becuase asd he said himself "whatevers gone on in the past hes still my father and I love him". Aswell as that he did seem in that ss thing to have a sense of humour and a bit of wit about him, which I never seen before in any interviews or anything he's given.
    Of course having said that I'll still be rooting for Oscar to lay him out and take him down a peg or two.

As for the fight itself I can't wait, should be amazing but I'm a bit apprehensive, so many times in the past the big big fights with so much hype around them have been such letdowns when the night comes around but I hope that won't be the case here. I can't see Mayweather fighting too defensively, I'd imagine he'll want to keep the pressure on and try to wear Del la Hoya down in the early rounds to use the age and fitness advantage and Oscars got a lot to prove to some people depite what hes done consistantly over the years, and has to be relishing the chance to awnser all the crap Mayweathers been saying about him so I really can't invisage anything other than an open aggressive fight.

slipss wrote:
    Yeah I saw that preview on Sky, theres another one on Sky Sports One at 19:30 (repeated at 22:15) tonight. I think its a different one to the one previously shown, but not sure.

The other one changed my opinion of Floyd aswell but not in a negative way. Don't get me wrong I still think he's a smug arrogant bastard, but alot of the best fighters are. I kind of have a bit more respect for him as a person now than I did before. I mean having that arsehole of a Da pushing him non stop growing up, trying to live his dreams through Floyd can't have been easy, and he's in a position now that if he wanted he would never have to see him again, but he still treats him with a lot of respect and tries to make a connection with him becuase asd he said himself "whatevers gone on in the past hes still my father and I love him". Aswell as that he did seem in that ss thing to have a sense of humour and a bit of wit about him, which I never seen before in any interviews or anything he's given.
    Of course having said that I'll still be rooting for Oscar to lay him out and take him down a peg or two.

As for the fight itself I can't wait, should be amazing but I'm a bit apprehensive, so many times in the past the big big fights with so much hype around them have been such letdowns when the night comes around but I hope that won't be the case here. I can't see Mayweather fighting too defensively, I'd imagine he'll want to keep the pressure on and try to wear Del la Hoya down in the early rounds to use the age and fitness advantage and Oscars got a lot to prove to some people depite what hes done consistantly over the years, and has to be relishing the chance to awnser all the crap Mayweathers been saying about him so I really can't invisage anything other than an open aggressive fight.

I'd agree with the over hyped boxing matches and how the spectator is let down alot but wether this ends in the first (unlikely) or a points decision I think boxing fans agree that these are the first really good boxers to fight

Hype dictates that they both go hell for leather for 12, it may not happen but what I think is, the best fighters, two guys with everything to prove , despite their impressive records, are fighting.

I hope this fight shows that the ducking and diving by fighters doesnt work, these unbeaten records are pointless unless you fight the absolute best .

Is there any other fights on the card?

Weigh in: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fuE6L6839GU

DLH was 154, Mayweather was only 150.. DLH looked slightly bigger than Mayweather, maybe he can muscle Mayweather around.

Dempsey wrote:
    Is there any other fights on the card?

USA, Nevada, Las Vegas, MGM Grand Hotel & Casino
    Oscar De La Hoya 154 V Floyd Mayweather Jr 150 NC ? 12
    Rey Bautista 122 V Sergio Manuel Medina 122 NC ? 12
    Rocky Juarez 125½ V Jose Andres Hernandez 125½ NC ? 12
    AJ Banal 115 V Juan Alberto Rosas 112 NC ? 10
    Billy Dib 128 V Jose Alberto Gonzalez 128 NC ? 10
    John O'Donnell 146 V Christian Solano 152 NC ? 8
    John Murray 139 V Lorenzo Bethea 139 NC ? 8
    Ernest Johnson 137 V Hector Beltran 137 NC ? 8
    Carlos Duarte 190 V Calvin Brooks 185 NC ? 4

dlofnep wrote:
    USA, Nevada, Las Vegas, MGM Grand Hotel & Casino
    Oscar De La Hoya 154 V Floyd Mayweather Jr 150 NC ? 12
    Rey Bautista 122 V Sergio Manuel Medina 122 NC ? 12
    Rocky Juarez 125½ V Jose Andres Hernandez 125½ NC ? 12
    AJ Banal 115 V Juan Alberto Rosas 112 NC ? 10
    Billy Dib 128 V Jose Alberto Gonzalez 128 NC ? 10
    John O'Donnell 146 V Christian Solano 152 NC ? 8
    John Murray 139 V Lorenzo Bethea 139 NC ? 8
    Ernest Johnson 137 V Hector Beltran 137 NC ? 8
    Carlos Duarte 190 V Calvin Brooks 185 NC ? 4

Cheers, what time is main fight suppose to start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Dempsey wrote:
    Cheers, what time is main fight suppose to start?

I'd estimate it'll be 4:00 . Bautista v Medina is a WBO eliminator at S.Bantamweight . There has been a lot said about Bautista and he is meant to be the dogs bollocks .

Big Ears wrote:
    I'd estimate it'll be 4:00 . Bautista v Medina is a WBO eliminator at S.Bantamweight . There has been a lot said about Bautista and he is meant to be the dogs bollocks .

04.00 Irish time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Dempsey wrote:
    04.00 Irish time?

yep .

The show starts at 2am on sky sports - no idea when the fight will be. Big Ears guess is as good as any.

I taught there was set times for every fight regardless of KO's