Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who Will Last Longer And Perhaps Win Irish Open..Vote Now

• 26-03-2007 4:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭

As the title suggests which boardsie do you think will last the longest and perhaps go all the way, and no mucking about with the voting (mods inclusive):rolleyes:

Who Will Last Longer And Perhaps Win Io Vote Now 116 votes

1. Jackyback
    0% 0 votes
    2. BAZ2007
    0% 1 vote
    3. Goodluck2me
    1% 2 votes
    4. Flushdraw
    3% 4 votes
    5. The-Rigger
    5% 6 votes
    6. ocallagh
    3% 4 votes
    7. DocO
    12% 15 votes
    8. Dacman
    0% 1 vote
    9. Phantom Lord
    3% 4 votes
    10.PatMac
    2% 3 votes
    GoldCupFav
    0% 0 votes
    carfax
    0% 1 vote
    BCB
    4% 5 votes
    wreck
    0% 1 vote
    LuckyLloyd
    0% 0 votes
    Smurf
    1% 2 votes
    Bops
    6% 8 votes
    HalfBaked
    0% 0 votes
    carrigeen
    0% 1 vote
    Straddlefor6
    3% 4 votes
    robinlacey
    6% 8 votes
    FatBoyDim
    6% 8 votes
    NorwichFanRob
    3% 4 votes
    Connie147
    20% 24 votes
    Davidk
    2% 3 votes
    anthony112
    0% 1 vote
    roguetrader
    0% 1 vote
    dannydiamond
    0% 1 vote
    mickste
    3% 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Straddlefor6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

mods will be putting up other 17 shortly so you can vote for the rest, i fancy that jackyback a very good player :rolleyes: all joking aside there is a few in there with a decent shot to take it down it will be interesting to see how the poll goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Let me know if any more names need to be added to the poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Running well will be essential in my view.

Sums it up neatly. I don't think anybody in the list will have a huge edge over the rest.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    The O' Callaghan Brothers; Smurph; Straddlefor6; Robin Lacey (who recently had a great result in Vienna); Ollieboy; NFR; Flushdraw; Carrigeean;The - Rigger would be the pick in terms of talent and experience IMHO.

All are capable of very deep runs. However, the structure and the size of the field will mean that playing great tournament poker will not neccesarily be enough. Running well will be essential in my view.

I would agree on your picks and it is important to get some good cards on day 1/2 to give yourself a shot at going deep, who knows LL maybe a decent finish looms providing you do not get a cold deck:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jacQues

Aarg, from the original list there were two names I'd vote for. So I felt already like "Who to vote for?" But none of them are on this list... :(:(

Now I'm clueless who to vote for, or can at least one of those names be added?

jacQues

SavageBeat & Mr. Flibble

jacQues wrote:
    Aarg, from the original list there were two names I'd vote for. So I felt already like "Who to vote for?" But none of them are on this list... :(:(

who are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I'm just gonna tell everyone what cards I have and run well. poker is ez. I said top top!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

jacQues wrote:

Now I'm clueless who to vote for, or can at least one of those names be added?

jacQues

SavageBeat & Mr. Flibble
    are they playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

no atari jaquar option? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭jacQues

are they playing?
    OMG Where's my head, where's my head?!?

Mistook this poll for another one. :/

jacQues

/me going to Adverts.ie looking for a new brain...

I'm just gonna tell everyone what cards I have and run well. poker is ez. I said top top!

1 jamie luckbox gold is enough TYVM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

I've gone for Carfax - Stephen has always impressed me when I've played against him.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Me!

I'm betting I'll be there when its headsup. :)

DeV.
    ...and I'm betting Mike will be in the bar! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Fatboydim wrote:
    I've gone for Carfax - Stephen has always impressed me when I've played against him.

Cheers Len,

Little confidence booster for me......

I've gone for ocallagh. He's just in cracking form lately.......From what I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

carfax wrote:
    I've gone for ocallagh. He's just in cracking form lately.......From what I've seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

stick in dannydiamond (long time lurker recently started posting)for me he is on fire atm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

i went for fatboydim:rolleyes:

(despite ur latest article :) cant say anymore its with my solicitor)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

I wondered who that was voting for me. :D If I slandered you Pat it's only what Dave Curtis told me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

i fancy 4 boardies who aint on the list to go deep - i reckon they're all playing:

nicnicnic (2nd best player in the south east! capable of winning if the variance fairy fks off on holidays)

ritchielawlor (dirty fish runnin hot - cashed in the big pokerevents yoke)

flipper (i like his style - knows his sh*t)

sideshowbob (never afraid to GAMBLE!! - big balls are a definite plus in this tourney)

anybody know if they're in/out??

...i just hope to finish 39 places better than last year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

just back from cardiff, surprised to see im winning this poll, with the way ive been running last 5 or 6weeks, god knows im due a bit of luck, maybe the irish open will be it, off to spain tomorrow, one full week off to prepare for this, we will see what happens.

lots of good players on that list, robin, niall, pat all got great chances, well, theres too many good players on that list to name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

I think one of the Davids will win this. Can you add Davids to the pool please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

whats the story with the last longer bet?
    anyway,count me in for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

If I could pick two options I'd go for Straddlefor6 and Robin Lacey. I ended up flipping a coin..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

has no-one voted for mickste?? i would have but wasted my vote on joe... wasted...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭58o

stick me down for the last longest too please.
    Voted for mickste. he's chopped/won the S.E Deepstack twice in recent months plus seems to be at the final table every time i walk into the S.E. Very consistent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

mickste was saying he has won a tournament 9/10 weeks this year that couldnt all be luck...cough A9..cough...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

I've picked Flushdraw due to his last two performances in big tournies, which have netted him a nice 40k profit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

NicNic is capable, just doesn't have the luck in big tournaments & when running well always runs into a monster suck out. Given a break he could do it.

DannyDiamond is **** hot at present, worth a wager to cash.

Straddlefor6 is rock steady & I would reckon Flushdraw will be there or thereabouts .

Good luck to all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭rogue trader

Carfax for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Norwich Fan Rob for me, always impresses in big tournaments and has the experience of the WSOP placing behind him. Definitely think he'll go deep (and ollieboy as my 2nd choice)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

I didnt vote yet - and i havnt voted for myself (I note I have 1 vote and I know who the looney is).

Its too hard to pick one player for this so im goin for these two chancers...

-Mickste
    -Carrigeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

smurph wrote:
    Norwich Fan Rob for me, always impresses in big tournaments and has the experience of the WSOP placing behind him. Definitely think he'll go deep (and ollieboy as my 2nd choice)

thanks for the confidence Smurph, but I just cant find my range in these live tourneys of late and starting to give them a miss as there a waste of time. Long live the internet...lol

I would fancy Robin or HJ if he's playing. Always fancy Rob to go deep, but he needs to calm down a lot a before this game. Niall is in top form and is really due a big result and as been playing top poker for a long time. I would be supprised to see a newbie last longest, a event like this does take expierence, so Niall or Robin would be my automatic choices.

Finally, gl to all in the event...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Not a single vote makes me sad. :(

I'll show alll of ye. :)

there ya go Lloyd!! I've faith in you :)

...i haven't qualfied yet - will play a couple of sats in the next week so hopefully i'll be there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

there ya go llyod. now go do the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Ollie are you playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Glad to see no one is crazy enough to pick me - kinda of embarrassed my name is even up there lol.

My vote goes to Mick Stephens, who has been running really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Ollie are you playing?

Not sure yet, dont want to spend 3.5k, but there's so much dead money in this and if theres a chance of a overlay!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

I'd also give honorable mentions to Ocallagh/The-Rigger who i think could do well and I have a few shillings e/w on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭slegs

For me one of

- Eoin Olin
    - Conor Smyth
    - Dave Masters
    - Eoghan Lyons
    - NFR
    - O'Callaghan Bros

Would be good if Paddypower did some group betting like this...maybe a list of 20 boards players at 10/1 or something like that

lafortezza wrote:
    Let me know if any more names need to be added to the poll.

PIPER T to be added

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

Is there going to be a book on this? I'd like to bet but I have my eye on an outsider on this list.

Players to watch are so obvious I won't mention it. But I wll add our syndicate player will have 27+ lads behind him and he will have to beat every boards player on the syndicate to be there......Every event needs a story , this might be a good one.....go the syndi.

Is it too controversial to do a poll on who will go out 1st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Camone

Straddle for 6 for 6th or better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Solksjaer wrote:

I might get a vote then:)

ppp pitboss, karlh any chances of running betting on "last longer boardsie" for the craic.

my choice is between, robinlacey, NFR, Flushdraw and Ocallagh all running good at the moment and should be there or therabouts

Solksjaer wrote:

I am not starting one as i am pretty sure whoever polls highest as first to go will quit the game, move to siberia, wear tinfoil on their head and start running around in circles whilst shouting "i'm a lady"