Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to save money.

• 24-03-2007 8:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭

Every time you're tipsy and feel the urge to order a pizza , just make some toast and the moment will pass.

Net saving €18.

Feel free to add more suggestions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Best way to save money is not to spend it. :)

Damn you. I was going to say that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

See how much money you can fit into a balloon over time, before it bursts. When it bursts, you will have the money :)

OR, set up a direct debit between your bank account and a credit union account or somethin. Nobody's arsed goin to the credit union to take out money, so it'll just keep accumulating there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭el diablo

DaveMcG wrote:
    See how much money you can fit into a balloon over time, before it bursts. When it bursts, you will have the money :)
    but how can you put money in the balloon without deflating it? :rolleyes:

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

el diablo wrote:
    but how can you put money in the balloon without deflating it? :rolleyes:

Who said it was blown up to begin with? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Oman

Any Money You Save Hide It And When You Want To Buy Something Pretend The Money Isn't There

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Buy own brand and aldi/lidl instead of luxury products. Cook your own food. ehhh....don't bring your atm card to the pub...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

I don't want toast , i want pizza :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Have toast first. You will lessen your lust for pizza.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭csk

Never go shopping when you're hungry. You'll nearly always buy something you didn't want/need because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Pigman II wrote:
    make your own pizza ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

DaveMcG wrote:

OR, set up a direct debit between your bank account and a credit union account or somethin. Nobody's arsed goin to the credit union to take out money, so it'll just keep accumulating there.

Thanks cause they make you feel like you are robbing the place if you attempt a withdrawal, that's why I don't have a credit union account anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Join us tight arses in Bargain Alerts, we'll find a way of getting what you want cheaper. :)

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Who said it was blown up to begin with? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
    you cannot burst a deflated balloon.....:rolleyes:

See how much money you can fit into a balloon over time, before it bursts. When it bursts, you will have the money

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Pigman II wrote:
    Every time you're tipsy and feel the urge to order a pizza , just make some toast and the moment will pass.

Net saving €18.

and following on from that, never shop when youre hungry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

el diablo wrote:

Exactly........so he keeps saving.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Pigman II wrote:
    Have a soggy biscuit - I would imagine that will lessen your lust for eating anything!

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Exactly........so he keeps saving.
    well, that's just silly.

Orange pilled.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Pigman II wrote:

Net saving €18.

order pizza, get out your police 'stinger', wait at a nearby road, when the motorbike comes with your pizza, deploy stinger. run away. when pizza arrives late, you get it free.

el diablo wrote:

so it will get infinitely big without bursting?
    where do you get your ballons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Don't buy stuff on credit.

boooooring, I know :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

csk wrote:
    Never go shopping when you're hungry. You'll nearly always buy something you didn't want/need because of it.

Errrr.... like food? But you're hungry so you do want/need it! He's hardly going to buy speedboat because he's hungry!

copacetic wrote:
    so it will get infinitely big without bursting?
    where do you get your ballons?

so you save money in a balloon too? :rolleyes:

I've moved on from the scrimping days long ago....:D

Orange pilled.

el diablo wrote:
    so you save money in a balloon too? :rolleyes:

I've moved on from the scrimping days long ago....:D

I don't at the moment but only because I can't get those infinitely stretchable balloons that u can..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

m83 wrote:
    Errrr.... like food? But you're hungry so you do want/need it! He's hardly going to buy speedboat because he's hungry!
    Damn, now I want a speedboat.

copacetic wrote:
    order pizza, get out your police 'stinger', wait at a nearby road, when the motorbike comes with your pizza, deploy stinger. run away. when pizza arrives late, you get it free.

Won't the stinger cost more than the pizza though?:confused::confused::confused:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

emigrate to somewhere warm
    housing and everything will be cheaper and you won't have to pay for heating

if you find somewhere dry then you only need to have accomodation during the rainy season

Won't the stinger cost more than the pizza though?:confused::confused::confused:

no, you already have one as you are a traffic cop.
    Or you can make a homemade one with thumbtacks and a garden hose..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭TCollins

have all your sh1ts at work. You get paid for them and get free toilet paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

m83 wrote:

You'd think so wouldnt you?!

Come buy my speedboat on ebay :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Damn, now I want a speedboat.

See post above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭nicolo

in the vein of the baloon idea you could feed all your money to your pet (preferably something bigger thena hamster unless you've like loads of gaffa tape)then when it finally dies from euro poisoning cut it open and hey presto!
    i mean you wouldnt cut it open while it was alive! thatd be cruel. also you could evn just use it to put your bus change tickets into, average life span of a dog or cat is 8 years plus, imagine how many youd have!

to save more money use a neighbours pet.

copacetic wrote:
    no, you already have one as you are a traffic cop.
    Or you can make a homemade one with thumbtacks and a garden hose..

WTf?? I hate rpgs!!!

hey, i took a chance. doesn't really work as a money
    saving tip if you don't already have a stinger. although
    you can get a similar result with fishing wire and a lampost
    a lá steve mcqueen.

You are a fisherman aren't u?

copacetic wrote:
    I don't at the moment but only because I can't get those infinitely stretchable balloons that u can..

either can I get those infinitely stretchy balloons. what the hell are you talking about?

why not get a proper job, so you don't need to save money in a balloon.?

end of subject.....

Orange pilled.

el diablo wrote:
    either can I get those infinitely stretchy balloons. what the hell are you talking about?

why not get a proper job, so you don't need to save money in a balloon.?

end of subject.....

does saying end of subject usually work for you?

I have a deadly job, hence the need for one of your infinitely stretchy balloons
    that never burst. I have too much money for your average balloon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

copacetic wrote:
    does saying end of subject usually work for you?

I have a deadly job, hence the need for one of your infinitely stretchy balloons
    that never burst. I have too much money for your average balloon.

Dude, you shouldn't have replied - el diablo said end of subject.

Anyways, a surefire way to save money is to stop drinking booze... stopped drinking in Summer 2005 and haven't really gotten back to it since... but have more money in the bank \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

put all your notes in the front pocket of your jeans, then put on loads of weight. And eh..leave your jeans on till you lose weight.

boreds wrote:
    put all your notes in the front pocket of your jeans, then put on loads of weight. And eh..leave your jeans on till you lose weight.

but how are you going to put on the weight on the cheap?

We need a new thread, "what are the cheapest but most fattening foods"

or maybe you could just keep all your money in the little 'watch pocket' of your jeans, I can never get anything out of that little pocket. Once it goes in there it is staying for good!

keeping condoms in there is also a good way to ruin your sex life. If anybody
    needs to do that..

Most of the cheap foods are fattening. they are high in sugar and salt. mcdonalds and the rest are great value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

Get a rabodirect or other savings account. Setup a weekly/monthly direct debit that seems like more then you can afford. Endure it. Amazing how quick it builds.

Chop up all credit cards and only buy stuff when you have all the cash to be able to afford it and if you really need it.

Shop around a lot.

Obvious stuff really.

Oh and as good as Lidl/Aldi brands are, fairy really does get stuff cleaner and makes mummies hands softer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

Knacker drinking or not drinking at all will save you a substantial fortune!

Also not having a sh!tty life will spare you from the financial horrors of shopping to fill a void...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

dont drink in town ! :D if you can change your drink to a non diageo pint/short. its cheaper than the pint that keeps going up and if you just go out once a week instead of two or three you save at least 40quid each go. this is actually THE major saver. if you can give up the drink you'll save an absolute fortune, begs the question though about wheather its worth it :)

buy food at a supermarket and make your own luches instead of eating out for lunch. even if your talking just a pannini you'd save at least 33 euro a week on a 5 day working week. near 60quid if your talking a carvery meal

in fact dont eat out period, fecking burgerking have put the price of grub up again . whoper meal now 6.85 :eek: , XL bacon double cheeseburger 7.80 (?) i know its at least 7.50). sweet jesus its cheaper to eat in a pub cavery now, well ok its not but your only talking the difference of 4 euro between a crap fast food outlet and enough roast beef with creamed potatoes, stuffing , various veg and gravey to stuff you for the day! im really starting to think BK have reached critical mass in terms of their pricing.

dont pay full fare on a bus. sad i know but it adds up so if you pay 1.60 instead of 1.90 you get covered for practically all of your journey while in the unlikely event of an inspector getting on your more than likely not to have passed the point your meant to get off at till after he gets off. saves ya 3 quid in a week.

get fresh food in butchers. some places do great deals, place i know does 10 chicken fillets for a tenner and dunnes and tescos regularly cut the price on steaks by 25% to get rid of stock. also keep an eye on your local shops. alot of em seem to be able to flog 12 packs of tayto for 2 quid. dont know how but it beats near 4 in other places.

and if your balding or have a tight hair style buy a clipers. fecking barbers are a rip off and havent been to one in 3 years. one for the lads i know but you can save some serious moola here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

ah but it pays for itself after the 700th free pizza

When you're going out for the night, take the car and not a taxi. If on the offchance you happen to get pulled over by a Gardai, tell him/her 'no you weren't drinking to avoid heavy fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

Ladies can save a fortune on expensive make up and mascara brushes by simply jamming a toothpick up the rear end of a centipede.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

Always make yourself something to eat before you go shopping, cos it will save you from buying loadsa random food when your in the super market and will also save ya from being tempted to eat out!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

get a generous boyfriend/girlfriend :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Don't throw away used tea bags.. Simply hang them out on the washing line for a while to dry and reuse them.. you'll get at least another 2 cups of rosie out of those bad boys..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

kbannon wrote:
    Have a soggy biscuit - I would imagine that will lessen your lust for eating anything!

quite possibly the nastiest game ive ever heard of!! :eek: