Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Apprentice New Series

• 22-03-2007 7:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭

Brilliant! New series of apprentice starts next Wednesday and is now on BBC 1 this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

.... It's always been on the BBC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

I think he meant BBC1......not that it really matters!

Looking forward to the new series, now that Dragon's Den has finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Lump wrote:
    .... It's always been on the BBC.

yup sorry meant bbc 1 this year, hope they still have the apprentice extra with Adrian Chiles.

Apparently this series Sir Alan has had input into choice of candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

Good, our BBC 2 is fuzzy and black and white these days :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Great to hear, I loved the first 2 series of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Good stuff. I'll make sure I get to see it from the start this time. I've always missed the first couple of episodes in the past series. And there always seems to be a psycho that gets the boot that I miss.

Good, our BBC 2 is fuzzy and black and white these days :p
    Strangley enough so is mine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Is it the american version with all the hot girls and pretentious ****ers or the english version with all the ugly girls and pretentious ****ers?

slipss wrote:
    Is it the american version with all the hot girls and pretentious ****ers or the english version with all the ugly girls and pretentious ****ers?

Thank God its the English version, far superior. Michelle was quite good looking actually, though Jo was, well Jo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭standbyme

Michelle was quite good looking actually,
    She wasnt bad ;)
    What happened to her since then, But i heard she left her 100,000 a year job to do more tv, left that leech Sayid & went back with him :eek:
    though Jo was, well Jo!
    Cant remember her face, cos im stuck with The (Ruth) Badger's face-when the two were in the Final !
    Thank God its the English version, far superior.

I came across the US Version on the Beeb late on Wed nites with double eps,
    Half of them were stuck-up primadonna's, stab you in the back as you left the room. But it was hilarious & the ironic thing was when the last series finished last year (i think it was the 1st series as they're a couple of series behind?) Was that Trump's female co-star got the same treatment! You're Fired!
    As she got too famous for Trump & now his daughter has taken over-heh.

The comparison i remember between the 2 shows was the finalist who won the US had a similar background story as Michelle Dewberry's thats what i found the uncanny resemblance (only in the 2 winners!)

What happened to her since then, But i heard she left her 100,000 a year job to do more tv, left that leech Sayid & went back with him :eek: Cant remember her face, cos im stuck with The (Ruth) Badger's face-when the two were in the Final !

Yes she has now left, set up her own company and if newspaper reports are correct has not been a success.

Tim the winner from first series has just left also again to set up his own company.

Jo was the really loud mad one, seems to be doing quite well.
    http://www.jocameron.co.uk/aboutjo.asp

Oh yeah i remember her now with her frightening laugh & hair :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭del_boy85

Did anyone watch it last night? It's great to have it back. Am not sure if the right person got fired though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Yeah it was an ok episode. He shouldn't have got fired though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I have to say I thought the right person did get fired. Apart from being a smug git, he didn't manage the whole enterprise very well.

And as for asking if there was anything he could do to change Sir Alan's mind..well, that will never work ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

Anyone think that Tré looks like the new Syed for this series?
    Didn't Kristina have an Irish accent?
    I think that Sophie should have been fired, she went and bought more stock without consulting the PM and Geri had tried to call the PM, but he only answers his phone every 5 minutes and she rang every 4 minutes :rolleyes:
    If Andy didn't go this week, he would be gone soon, he really didn't wanna be PM

robo wrote:
    Anyone think that Tré looks like the new Syed for this series?
    Didn't Kristina have an Irish accent?
    I think that Sophie should have been fired, she went and bought more stock without consulting the PM and Geri had tried to call the PM, but he only answers his phone every 5 minutes and she rang every 4 minutes :rolleyes:
    If Andy didn't go this week, he would be gone soon, he really didn't wanna be PM

I think Kristina may have had an Irish accent, god hope this does not mean we will have to listen to crap on Irish radio about "our Kristina":( so no I won't be supporting her just cause she is Irish.

You are right about Tre, could be the new Syed, interesting to see how he develops, looks like it could be a good series.

BuffyBot wrote:
    I have to say I thought the right person did get fired. Apart from being a smug git, he didn't manage the whole enterprise very well.

And as for asking if there was anything he could do to change Sir Alan's mind..well, that will never work ;)

He did look a bit lost didn't he:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

When is it repeated??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

BuffyBot wrote:
    I have to say I thought the right person did get fired.

Agreed he did nothing but talk complete bullshit. Talk about circle jerking going on in the lads group when they were choosing their PM.

Not a bad epsiode, but it needs to pick up a bit if it's to be as good as last year. But I suppose with a first episode it's main objective is to introduce the view to the individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭vibrant

Glad to find this thread, nobody I know watches the Apprentice!

I took an instant dislike to Andy when he was introducing himself in the first episode. He reminded me of someone from the X Factor, or Pop Idol - you know the sort - they hype themselves up so much that they honestly believe that they "deserve to be here", or deserve to win. I don't know how he manages his car dealership - obviously not too well, judging on his performance in this episode!

Overall, enjoyed the episode, I agree that Tre is going to be this year's version of Sayid! Naming the team after his company! Also, is Tre the one that spoke of breaking bricks with his bare hands? I predict lots of high jinks and japery when he's around ;)

As an aside, did anyone see the Comic Relief version of the Apprentice with Alistair Campbell, Piers Morgan, Grant Mitchell and er.. one of Girls Aloud? Good show... although I'm not sure why Rupert Everett was there.

I can see the girls team winning as the teams stand now. They just have so much more cop on and ability to work as a team then the guys. The guys are trying to find the alpha male in the group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

Skyuser wrote:
    When is it repeated??
    Dagnammit, my Skybox failed its recording last night, does anyone know when the show is repeated?

Tues 7pm afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭DS

Isn't the preview of next week at the end of each episode a huge spoiler? It shows Sugar saying "You're fired", and you can see exactly where he's talking to, so next week you know who's getting fired as soon as they all sit down. Maybe they use stock footage for it but it matched up last night
    with Sugar firing to the left in last week's preview, and sure enough the guy on the left gets fired.

I'm sure they use random shots.... they're not stupid!

(I Hope)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭DS

Yea hopefully. I've taken note of where he was looking in this weeks preview, so I'll be watching intently next week.
    In the preview he fired the person on his left. This might suggest they always show the same footage in the preview seen as it was left as well last week, but we'll see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

no, I remember last year, if you remembered where he pointed, it was possible to see who was going to be fired as soon as they came into the boardroom at the end. made a few quid on bets :) Next week, it looks like (from the trail at the end of last nights ep) the women get drunk, and my bet is he fires the drunkest one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭purplegeko

tbh wrote:
    no, I remember last year, if you remembered where he pointed, it was possible to see who was going to be fired as soon as they came into the boardroom at the end. made a few quid on bets :) Next week, it looks like (from the trail at the end of last nights ep) the women get drunk, and my bet is he fires the drunkest one.

Yeah i think they are selling kisses? and the guy said no tongue! the mentor looked disgusted so yeah my guess is she gets fired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

I found it hilarious and ironic how they all started out as individual groups and mantras of both groups seemed to be 'we are a team and we stand by each other no matter what'!
    Then at the board room meetings they pratically cut each others throats.
    The guy that got fired was set up from the start by his own team and the girls screwed him over big time, this is 'business' people not loyalty!
    The sheer brutality of this show is what makes it unforgiveably cruel and good.

Ps who would you predict as a winner at this stage based on deviousness and gung ho business talent? So far the possible winner is on the guys team because some individual recognised the fired guys 'patsy' potential and convinced the rest to go with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I thought it was quite cruel the way he fired 2 people this week.

Well it was never going to be a walk in the park for any of them. Ifti clearly didn't want to be there so he shouldn't haev remained any longer. But his lack of contributing to the task did not lead to it's failure, so it was only fair that the second person was fired for that.

Yea.... and the PM for that week was shíte :) Saying that I thought it was cruel/funny when Alan said... "You've been bankrupt twice, here's the hatrick..... You're Fired!" Talk about kicking him when he's down :)

John

Seems like the most controversial people are being kept on and the quieter ones are being fired, Trey is an arrogant muppet with more noise and tv ratings than talent, jabine was the same, They make it seem like ok these people have business potential, bull, if anything they make controversial tv and nothing more.

Are they firing people based on tv interest or are they keeping them on because they are loud swear a lot and scare the **** out of the others? See the reaction when 'Sir' Alan asked his team members was trey a good leader, all heads down and nod nod. He was ****, just a bully and a usurper with a big mouth.

Saying that what is 'Sir' Alan Sugar's overwrated title to say the least last apprentice winner doing now, tucked away in a basement somewhere perhaps?

....Tre won the task, he couldn't be fired anyway. Plus I think he's good, all the others are just bull****ters.

Sir Alan has to pay their salary at the end of the series, he's not gonna keep some one on because they make good tv.

The last winner quit, because she was a dirty slag. Also, Sir Alan often says in interviews that people aren't to call him Sir Alan.....

Lump wrote:
    The last winner quit, because she was a dirty slag.
    That's a bit harsh.

BaZmO* wrote:
    That's a bit harsh.

Is it though, is it really, think about it......

Lump wrote:
    Is it though, is it really, think about it......
    I don't need to think about it, it is harsh.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Oh lordy, Wikipedia's just informed me that Jadine's previously been sectioned. Makes sense.

The winner will be someone we don't see do anything of note for a few episodes yet. No triumphs or screwups, just keeping off the producer's radar.

BaZmO* wrote:
    I don't need to think about it, it is harsh.

Everyone has the right to their opinion....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

So is Kristina Irish? Haven't seen anything in the irism media about it (or maybe I'm not reading the right papers :) )

Snake ;)

Yep she is. read something in the Sun about her being a complete slapper, sleeps around, cheats on husband etc. But it is the sun though.....

Edit: linky link

Yeah she's from Wicklow, but moved over to Harrogate for better job prospects. The story was in the Irish Sunday People b4 the show started.

There seems to be a diff. story about her every week, interesting bird?

He fired the wrong one again last night.

Not at all. She didn't want to work late, she was useless at selling and dug her own grave when she said she had problems selling for profit. As soon as she said that I knew she was out the door. That goes against the whole ethos of Sugar.

Miss labeler should have gone imho.

The person that was fired tonight was a total disaster on all levels. I was cringing at the decisions made. And the excuses that followed. Totally deserved to be fired. Even as the show was unfolding I was just saying no, no, no. Absolutely everything the person did was wrong.

Yep, was a complete disaster in decision making. And you could see from episodes ago paul and katie had something going on.

Katie has gotten really bitchy. Butter wouldn't melt in her mouth.

And as for the reception Adam got when he got back to the house. Ouch! I think he's done better than a lot of the others. They obviously have the knifes out for him regardless. If he messes up the next task he's def out. Sugar's patience with him is drying up.

Yeah the right guy definitely got the boot last night, he was an absolute disaster. Some of his decisions were disastrous. Selling Cheese to the French? It's like selling sand to the Arabs. :rolleyes: And the makeshift fire was just shocking.

I thought he had a cheek to complain about the Irish girl making it personal in the board room, something he had already done by not picking his "friend" to go in with him.

Kinda felt sorry for yer man when he went to the house. If looks could kill. It'll be interesting to see how he manages as Team Leader, I'd be surprised if he manages to get the support of his team mates during the task.