Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weekly Workouts!

• 21-03-2007 2:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭

Right, myself and Daveirl were having a chat about a nice way to add a sense of shared endeavour to the board! What we came up was to post a weekly workout on a Monday morning that people can choose to do throughout the week! They would be tough, hard workouts, with scaled options provided for people who might not be on top of their game yet ( me for example! ).

Obviously because it is one a week you could work them into your program on whatever day you wanted without too much disruption!

We think it would just be nice to be able to chat about different aspects of the same workout with people, maybe run them Xfit style for time some weeks and get some friendly competition going!

Let us know what you think about this idea?

It should be noted that neither myself or Daveirl are PT's, nor do we want to be seen as such. However we CAN come up with some interesting, one off, challenging workouts for people who would like to increase the sense of community!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭wasabi

Nice idea, and sure it fits in well with my training scheme :D
    I'd be up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

ah could be a bit of a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Dragan wrote:
    They would be tough, hard workouts, with scaled options provided for people who might not be on top of their game yet ( me for example! ).

Great idea! :)
    I know this is only in the ideas stages so I have some questions that might be worth considering...

Is there room on that scale for people who are only starting out? Not necessarily complete newbies but those returning to the fold after a few too many pork pies and marathon TV sessions in the intervening years?

Also will these be mixed workouts with cardio and weights?

Will there be different goal oriented workouts, i.e. one for weight-loss, one for muscle gain, one for strength gain and toning, etc. each week?

Finally, will there be a 'jargon buster' with each one, for people who don't know drop-sets from super-sets or who don't know what DOMS is etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

Sounds good D, i'll be interested to see what you 2 can throw at us .

r3nu4l wrote:
    Is there room on that scale for people who are only starting out?

Ye if this is going ahead it will definitely be scalable, yes the original post will be what the more advanced people will use but other then that scale it to you own abilities so things like assisted pullups and chin ups or use 10kg DB, or even less, for thrusters instead of 20kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Count me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Arsenal1986

sounds cool to me too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

I'd like to give this a shot too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭p-nut

sounds pretty good alrite. where abouts tho??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

Yeah this sounds interesting.. I have never really done gym weights or anything, but i'd consider myself reasonably fit and trim (all that grunt work in the job is worth something i guess), although i am a bit on the light side for my height. So any thing that gets suggested for the newbs like me would be great.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,640 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I'll give it a go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭p-nut

p-nut wrote:
    where abouts tho??
    sorry i misread the first post:p pardon my stupidity.
    ye sounds like a great idea tho, id defo be up for givin it a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I think its a great idea, I've fallen off the wagon recently and intend getting back on this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Coolers.

So this is the way we'll run it. On a Monday ( or Tuesday on Bank Holidays seeing as we have a few coming up ) myself or Daveirl will post a "Weekly Workout".

These will be posted in a stickied Thread at the top of the Page. People then do the workouts when they can ( as i said, they will normally be done for time, but could include 1RM's for certain lifts of things like push ups chins to failure or whatever else to easily gauge progress! ) and then post there efforts in the thread for all to see.

THe MAIN rule will be no bragging or knocking on others peoples times. To do so, even in jest, will get you a banning. The whole idea is to be on the same page for one workout a week and try and learn from each other and pointless internet bullying won't help anyone!

The Workout of the Week Thread will purely be for time posting and discussing the workouts, thats it. Any question about technique or anything should be taken elsewhere.

So lets say part of it "Turkish Get Ups" and you want help with them, then post a new thread. Doing the workout and then posting the following will be fine!
    3 rounds for time of :
    Bodyweight Deadlifts x 15 reps
    Clap Push Ups x 10 reps
    Hindu Squats x 20 reps

Took me 17mins 27 seconds. Found the deads hard, and the squats killed my lungs! Need to work on explosive power for the clap push ups! Hope the don't come up again soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

oooh, I like the sound of that. I'll be looking for all sorts of randomness to keep me occupied over the next few weeks - bring it on boys :p The bear + Tabata ftw!!!!

g'em wrote:
    oooh, I like the sound of that. I'll be looking for all sorts of randomness to keep me occupied over the next few weeks - bring it on boys :p The bear + Tabata ftw!!!!

Imagine The Bear done Tabatha style???

I wonder if anyone alive could actually do that and live? :eek:

Dragan wrote:

that's a fuggling BRILLIANT idea!! That sounds like my kind of challenge :D I know what I'll be doing for my first week of randomness...

yes, yes I do have a deathwish :o

g'em wrote:
    that's a fuggling BRILLIANT idea!! That sounds like my kind of challenge :D I know what I'll be doing for my first week of randomness...

yes, yes I do have a deathwish :o

Well if anyone could do it...... :D

Dragan wrote:
    Well if anyone could do it...... :D

aw sweetie!! tell you what, I'll video it so you can play it as part of my eulogy :o

for anyone who is completely lost as to what g'em and dragan are on about, this is the bear

http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459657

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Dragan wrote:

Done it with 35kg, was great fun especially the last few rounds when i think my head was about to explode

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

jsb wrote:
    for anyone who is completely lost as to what g'em and dragan are on about, this is the bear

http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459657

Oh. My. God. What the hell is going on with that powerclean?? Look at the "catch" position. Can you say future wrist problems. It's stuff like that about t-nation that drives me insane.

Cool concept for a lift tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

Christ, yeah. Same with the front squat position, can you say ooH ooh Jesus! My back, it's on fire, fetch me more linament. Also his grip on the bar is atrociuos, which is why his back is gonna be buggered.

This is a monster of an exercise, but I would recommend anyone who wants to do it, look at crossfit.com for the correct form for the various parts. Also I would recommend that anyone who is not extremely well versed in weightlifting, to ask for help on each one of these exercises as some of them are extremely difficult and will need a lot of practise in isolation before loading a bar and going for gold.

Actually Xfit's version is even harder, with an overhead squat after the last push press. Now that's lifting.

The problem with T-Nation is they pose all shots for pictures..... on www.crossfit.com they just record the lifts being done on high res cameras and pause and capture where they need to.

As such, some of the pics on T-Nation can look pretty boogey. It's a pain in the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

This is cool, while I might not be able to do them because of time restrictions I think it is great to see such a sense of community on here.....

Fair play lads, am only getting into this now but am hopefully gonna post up a bit more here.....

"long time reader first time poster" :D

I can just see it now - D + d post up some obnoxiously random crossfit-style workout involving all manner of contortionist exercises for us to carry out. This will be either met by glares of confuzzled bemusement by our fellow gym-goers, or knowing nods of appreciation from other boardsie's attending the same gym :D

*is so tempted to post one now* :D

Dragan wrote:
    *is so tempted to post one now* :D
    nooooooooooooooo!!!! I can't do them yet :(

Well it's starting on Monday anyhoo! :D

Re the bear pics, down in the comments it says that the model used in the pics already had bogey wrists hence the dodgy positioning.

Dragan post the workout now, go on, go on, I'm out of interwebland from tomorrow for a week and I need a workout for tomorrow.

If I don't get a workout I'm doing tabata bear, man makers and turkish getups tomorrow morning :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Hmmm.... with a power clean and front sqaut like that I wonder why he has dodgy wrists.

If anything there should be almost NO stress on the wrists when cleaning and front squatting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Sounds like a great idea I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

wasabi wrote:
    ...it says that the model used in the pics already had bogey wrists hence the dodgy positioning...

Yeah I read that, but surely there's more than one guy willing to post for pics? I think they should have got someone else to do it properly, to stop newbs from killing themselves.

Still, who cares? Not me, I'm just bored. Also, I like the sound of my own voice.

Yeah it does seem like a poor reason to post pics of bad form, especially since there was no mention of it in the article.