Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Telly Licence inspector

• 14-03-2007 7:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭

Well I see the ads on telly a bit these days. I've never had a visit or even heard of any one who has had a visit from these smug men the ad portrays. Anyone have any stories? Why do we need a licence for the tv anyways? Are certain people not allowed to have them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

boreds wrote:
    Why do we need a licence for the tv anyways?

it is law, thats why you must have one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭dermo88

I was in the UK, and got visited once. On principle, I dislike them, and what they do. But he asked about a particular troublemaker, and I smirked.

"Well, I don't particularly like what you do, but its your job. On balance, hes a bigger problem than you are (wifebeater), and he'll be back with his drug dealing scumbag mates around 8pm"

Said scumbag left two weeks later :)

The following year, he came back, and I had two weeks left to go in England and my licence had expired 6 weeks before, before going to Malaysia and working there.

Waited until he left, cycled after him, drenched him with condoms filled with water. Cycled home.

I got value for my GBP120, and he did'nt come back either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

You need one so that RTE can entertain us with *cough* top shows like The late Late and You're a star. And then they expect us to watch ads as well. If they come around I'm gonna say I just watch tv3.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Redundo

Living in a mostly student occupied housing estate the inspectors are round pretty regularly. Definately no chance of getting away with it for a full year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

ah, the weekly debate on tv licences.

yes ou need to have one, yes its the law, yes it may not be worth the money you pay for it, but see the first two points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

About 4-5 years ago my 2 yr old son and I were in the front garden playing. I went inside to answer the phone and must've been a couple minutes later the doorbell rang. There was a man holding my son's hand. I thought this is a bit strange, why is this man holding my son by the hand??Well it turned out my clever son had fetched an empty box from the garage,used it to climb over the wall into the neighbours and wandered off. The man found him across the green area of the estate we lived in. I was so relieved and thank him profusely. Ten minutes later the doorbell rings again and I opened it to the same man. I thought " Oh GOd where is Adam". This time the man held up an ID card and said:

Him - (seeing the look on my face says) I don't have ur son but I am a Tv Licence Inspector

Me - Ah sh**e

Fair play to him he gave me till the end of month to buy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

The system is all automated that you won't get a visit from them unless.

1. You stop paying.
    2. You just moved in for the first time and haven't paid yet.
    3. You just bought a TV for the first time and they took your name and address in the shop.

Based on what they are attempting to do recently regarding the laws, for example TV license if you own a computer or mobile phone, any serious push to get cash is going to be met with resistance to the point it might actually kill off this dodo type taxation.

Kazooie wrote:
    If they come around I'm gonna say I just watch tv3.:D

do you even know what the license is for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I moved house a few years back, and the very first morning in the new house the Licence Inspector called! I showed him the one we had, it being for the old gaff, and he suggested we transfer it to the new addy ASAP. I moved house again since but no repeat call, so I guess it was random.

(I just wanted to use the word 'random' :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

boreds wrote:
    I've never had a visit or even heard of any one who has had a visit from these smug men the ad portrays.

Talk about tempting fate, you deserve to be visited now ;)

I wonder how long you could get away with it by simply denying that you live in that house when they call to the door ie. I'm just a visitor and don't know who owns the TV or is the lease holder :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

ah, the weekly debate on tv licences.

yes ou need to have one, yes its the law, yes it may not be worth the money you pay for it, but see the first two points.

I know you're supposed to have one. Just wasn't too sure why. Drivers licence I understand, but tv licence? Do I need to have a test? Do they ask me questions about programmes like who presented the news last wednesday and how come fatty from lost is still as fatty etc.
    Surely it should be called tv registration or something else if it's a tax or am I just being too pedantic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Its a license to own equipment designed for recieving televsion signals.

Is that still relevant today with Digital?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Are digital signals somehow different in that they don't require being changed from one form to another before they can be viewed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

boreds wrote:
    I know you're supposed to have one. Just wasn't too sure why. Drivers licence I understand, but tv licence? Do I need to have a test? Do they ask me questions about programmes like who presented the news last wednesday and how come fatty from lost is still as fatty etc.
    Surely it should be called tv registration or something else if it's a tax or am I just being too pedantic?
    "pedantic" is not the word best suited to describing what you just typed...
    http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&q=define%3Alicense&btnG=Google+Search&meta=

Karoma wrote:
    "pedantic" is not the word best suited to describing what you just typed...

Yeah but I liked the sound of the word and when I heard it being used before I thought it sounded clever because I didn't know fully what it meant :)

Anyway...''a legal document giving official permission to do something ''

From that link. Why would a person need permission to own a telly is what i'm getting at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

my house has never had one,i asked my mam the other day did we have one and she said no im not paying for it if someone knocks at the door about it tell them to **** off and dont let them in!

Are digital signals somehow different in that they don't require being changed from one form to another before they can be viewed?

I really don't know, I just presumed from what you first said that having a licence to recieve tv signals has something to do with the broadcasting over the airwaves. I'm not sure how the digital signals work, but I thought it would be different to analogue, therefore being outdated.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Hobbes wrote:
    Based on what they are attempting to do recently regarding the laws, for example TV license if you own a computer or mobile phone, any serious push to get cash is going to be met with resistance to the point it might actually kill off this dodo type taxation.
    We live in hope.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Redundo wrote:
    Definately no chance of getting away with it for a full year.

Oddly enough i got away with it for about 3 or so years way back when i was in Uni.

I always wondered why we never got a visit, could i have lived with the shame?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Got snared yesterday for a damn bill.

Musta taken the name of one of the guys from the bins outside cos he called when noone was around but left a card with a proper name on it.

Bah, 18 months without a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

boreds wrote:
    Well I see the ads on telly a bit these days. I've never had a visit or even heard of any one who has had a visit from these smug men the ad portrays. Anyone have any stories? Why do we need a licence for the tv anyways? Are certain people not allowed to have them?

end of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Plissken1

Hobbes wrote:
    The system is all automated that you won't get a visit from them unless.

1. You stop paying.
    2. You just moved in for the first time and haven't paid yet.
    3. You just bought a TV for the first time and they took your name and address in the shop.

I have never had a visit, I have owned my property for 3 years now. I dont have a licence, actually, I have never had one EVER. The thought of the money being used to pay the likes of Gerry Ryan would just make me ill anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

dermo88 wrote:
    The following year, he came back, and I had two weeks left to go in England and my licence had expired 6 weeks before, before going to Malaysia and working there.

Waited until he left, cycled after him, drenched him with condoms filled with water. Cycled home.

I got value for my GBP120, and he did'nt come back either!

thats a very ****ty thing to do, the man was just doing his job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

When in college "certain people" used to give fake names when the TV licence inspector called around. Letters came telling this non-existent person to pay or else. Then threats about being taken to court etc.

Nothing came of it in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Linford

If you are trying avoid the TV licence man and live in an apartment be aware that when they ring your apartment through the intercom they will say that they are from An Post and only when you let them in or go down to them will they say they are the TV licence inspector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

No doubt some legal eagle will shoot this idea down but I’ve been told this works

TV license inspector calls to the door and asks your name.
    Give your name in Irish-nothing wrong here as you’re fully entitled to do this. I went to college in Galway and absolutely loads of people have the Irish version of their names.
    If the inspector asks you to spell your name, say no way as they work for An Post so they are supposed to understand Irish names and addresses.

If you get a letter in future and youR name is misspelled, maybe a fada is missing, then you can ignore the letter as that’s not your name and so you can throw it away.

It might be a terrible idea but sounds clever to me.
    I wonder would it work with speeding tickets.

Wouldn't work. They would only then turn up with a Gardai who would then say something like "Is this the man?" to the inspector and they summons you that way.

TBH thats an urban legend. I have heard the same story when giving your name to the police and I doubt very much the gardai would go "oh my mistake, I missed a fada your free to go".

Plissken1 wrote:
    I have never had a visit, I have owned my property for 3 years now. I dont have a licence, actually, I have never had one EVER. The thought of the money being used to pay the likes of Gerry Ryan would just make me ill anyway.

The fact you have never had one ever is probably the reason why no one has showed up. Once your not yet on their system your totally ignored.

A place I worked for gave a demo to RTE people on the business. Due to the nature of the business they were not allowed on the factory floors so they were given a TV show instead of the place. A few weeks later the company got a bill for the tv license.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

You can always increase the value you get by getting more TVs, you only need one licence per household covers all the TVs you have there.

Additionally, (I don't know this is just a thought) will the Digital TV Switchover in 2012 change the license requirements? It'll probably be updated by then but I think the current one covers analogue only, is that right?

Cheers
    Howard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I think its fairly loosely defined as covering anything capable of receiving a television signal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Hobbes wrote:
    They would only then turn up with a Gardai who would then say something like "Is this the man?" to the inspector and they summons you that way.
    Realistically though, what are the chances of the Gardaí actually getting involved? Surely they have better thing to be doing, especially if you live in dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Hobbes wrote:
    The fact you have never had one ever is probably the reason why no one has showed up. Once your not yet on their system your totally ignored.

A place I worked for gave a demo to RTE people on the business. Due to the nature of the business they were not allowed on the factory floors so they were given a TV show instead of the place. A few weeks later the company got a bill for the tv license.
    Well not quite the case its one licence per tv in your house. But since there is a tv licence registered at that address you will not get a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Realistically though, what are the chances of the Gardaí actually getting involved? Surely they have better thing to be doing, especially if you live in dublin.
    well no drug dealers tend to shoot them so they prefer to go after the easy targets. that's why people selling boot leg dvds and drugs in town can do it in plan sight without fear but buskers are regularly told to move or be arrested

hshortt wrote:
    is that right?

no it's not

you dont even need to have a tv
    if you have a vcr but no tv then you need a tv license

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

My familys lived in the same house for the past 20 years and they only called once there about 2 years ago. I answered the door and said we'd just moved in or I didn't live here, I can't really remember all I remember is it started with, uummm... He just said get one soon and off he went haven't heard any word yet. I'll be damned if I'm gonna pay RTE to polute the airwaves with fairly chity.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Hobbes wrote:
    The system is all automated

Completely automated, you mean they have robots driving around the TV detectors now...what an age we live in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Linford wrote:
    If you are trying avoid the TV licence man and live in an apartment be aware that when they ring your apartment through the intercom they will say that they are from An Post and only when you let them in or go down to them will they say they are the TV licence inspector.

Heh - an Post attempting to deliver a parcel to an apartment? Highly implausible, in my part of the country at least.

I don't mind the license itself but the ads are annoying. Look! It's Mr. License Man on his bold quest to fight injustice and shame the license-shirkers! My hero! Swoon.

/pukes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭s&mbarbie

dammit...one of those guys just turned up at my door!

What happened? Did you give him a bunch of flowers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭s&mbarbie

bribery! wish i'd thought of that!...hell i dont know if we have one, i moved in 6 months ago and the flatmates are out...why the hell did i get out of the shower to answer the door?...gotta start ignoring the doorbell...stupid licence..don't even watch rte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭deecom

Well i got a letter at the start of the year, and you had to sign it and send it back in 14 days, it went along the lines of do have a television? are you sure you dont have a television?? It was like if you didn't have one you were some strange person from another planet! So sign it said no, (i dont have one so can't wait for the guy to call round, i'll make him tea and cake) and much to my disappointment no sign of him yet. I'll wait and see i guess. Nearly going to buy a bloody tv now so i can live with the shame!!!:)

hshortt wrote:
    You can always increase the value you get by getting more TVs, you only need one licence per household covers all the TVs you have there.

I remember this being discussed before and..
    Under the current Wireless Telegraphy Legislation it is a prosecutable offence to be found in possession of an unlicensed television set. Fines for an unlicensed television set can be up to €635 for a first offence. There are a number of ways to buy or renew a licence so you can choose which of them suits you best.

That would suggest one licence per set, not per household. But I am open to being corrected :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

hshortt wrote:
    Additionally, (I don't know this is just a thought) will the Digital TV Switchover in 2012 change the license requirements? It'll probably be updated by then but I think the current one covers analogue only, is that right?

Cheers
    Howard

What's a digital TV switchover??

Maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Question, i have a portable in my room. To my knowlege my dad pays the licence for it. When i go off to college next year and bring it up with me will i get boned?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

connundrum wrote:
    That would suggest one licence per set, not per household. But I am open to being corrected :)
    Yet the rte site talks about households, businesses and buildings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

Let's look at this logically 99% of folks own and view a TV or radio, yes you need a license for a radio to. A license inspector calls to your door he is armed with what? Answer: a question, "do you have a TV", your good self being an honest citezen who obviously has no TV answers "no good sir I have no TV". Said inspector says "can I come in", "No" is the answer because obviously it is inconvenient.

If the said inspector in anyway tries to use any means by bullying, sneakiness etc towards the naive and so on, then he / she is in breach of rights of the average joe. (speaking from a friends experience on that one, conviction quashed because of devious means of entry).

The 'smug' adds are clever in a way as they always show the inspector in a situation where the TV is in obvious view or is obviously heard. An inspector only has power where he has this obvious evidence of real TV license abuse ie none payment for viewing priveledges. Other than that he / she cannot proceed further unless they have evidence clear.

But of course all of us good folks who enjoy lots of programming pay our licenses as it really enhances our programming pleasure, like the late late and eurostar. And let's not mention 'Tubridy' shudder.

And let's be fair the blind get a % reduction on their TV license fee you can't say fairer than that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

deecom wrote:
    Well i got a letter at the start of the year, and you had to sign it and send it back in 14 days, it went along the lines of do have a television? are you sure you dont have a television?? It was like if you didn't have one you were some strange person from another planet! So sign it said no, (i dont have one so can't wait for the guy to call round, i'll make him tea and cake) and much to my disappointment no sign of him yet. I'll wait and see i guess. Nearly going to buy a bloody tv now so i can live with the shame!!!:)

If you have a radio then hide it when he calls. I believe that you need to have a T.V. license if you own one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

Oh and the popularity of the so called anarchistic Podge and Rodge show, totally 'owned' by RTE. Anarchistic puppets made 'muppets' methinks. Based on their portrayal of being caught with no license.

My rant for the day.