Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs and football

• 12-03-2007 6:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭

Why is it that pubs feel the need to blare football over the speakers to the extent that you cant hear yourself thinkk.I go into a pub for a drink or maybe for food but absolutely not to hear Sheffield Wednesday play Acrington Stanley in some "qualifier" or whatever they call it.I can understand(slightly) if it was a worl cup semi final with ireland vs england and a national holiday riding on the outcome but this idea that everybody in a pub wants needs to be subjected to the match and attendant racket is a bit much.Recently a few of us had been having a drink when we were lifted out of it by crowd noise on a speaker,this was about half an hour before the bloody match even started,i asked the barman to turn it down as we couldnt hear ourselves think and he more or less told us if we didnt like it we could split.This we did,leaving the pub half empty,as i'm sure he was the only one who wanted to see the match.Would it not make more sense to have a room or an area wher supporters of football idiocy can go and watch it without everbody else being subjected to it?

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

I think in general most pubs get a lot of business out of people in to watch matches and will always cater to this market. They'd be stupid not too.

It might makes sense for them to have a room for you lot so the rest of us wouldn't have to be subjected to your whinging though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Go to a different pub. Simple.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Go to a different pub. Simple.

Have you ever tried going to a pub on a sunday afternoon where football WASNT playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I'm gonna get up on this soapbox with Degsy. TVs in pubs are a ****e idea - bloody useless conversation killing machines. I go to the pub to get AWAY from the TV ffs!

[/tired old rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

Hear Hear !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

And why the fcuk is it always soccer? As the OP said, what interest have we in Wycombe Wanderers Vs Wolverhampton Wanderers? Look, Sonia's about to win Olympic gold on the other channel.

Why can't we watch the European/World/Olympic Athletics? Or the Tour de France (like they have in Pubs in France)? Or the cricket world cup? (OK forget this last one :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Most men have very little to say to each other, and without the blare of football they would be sitting there in an awkward silence. The blare of the football gives them a connection and when its over they hug each other and think to themselves "What a great day that was"

Slow coach wrote:
    And why the fcuk is it always soccer? As the OP said, what interest have we in Wycombe Wanderers Vs Wolverhampton Wanderers? Look, Sonia's about to win Olympic gold on the other channel.

Why can't we watch the European/World/Olympic Athletics? Or the Tour de France (like they have in Pubs in France)? Or the cricket world cup? (OK forget this last one :D )

Have you ever tried asking? In general they'll turn on whatever people want to watch, gaa, golf, rugby etc. Its supply and demand people..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I must say I do enjoy a Sunday in the pub watching a match or two, getting the dinner and maybe a few pints.

There are quieter pubs about y'know. I've oft been in a pub on a Sunday when there was no match on at all... I didn't stay long, but long story short - they exist.

daveym wrote:
    Have you ever tried asking? In general they'll turn on whatever people want to watch, gaa, golf, rugby etc. Its supply and demand people..

And get a bottle across the head?

Seriously for a minute, I was in Kerry last summer, having dinner in a pub, watching the European Athletics Championships, when in walks a local, picks up the remote (left conveniently on the counter) and proceeds to check the racing results. We were the only others in the pub, and to him we didn't even exist. I'll probably get ripped for this, but soccer fans are even more ignorant.

To answer your rhetorical question, if I walked in a pub with an entire club (of athletes) there'd be no point in asking for a channel change if there was even one soccer fan present.

You'll gather from this that I'm not a frequenter of pubs.

P.S. I just thought to add: I was in a hotel bar in Canada a few years back, eating my dinner and waiting for the match to come on (American Football), when in walked a few folks and asked the barperson to change the channel (to watch said match). But first, the bartender and the new arrivals made absolutely sure they weren't putting me out by switching. I had to convince them, that although I was a Paddy I was still there to watch the match myself. Could you imagine this happening anywhere in Ireland?

Slow coach wrote:
    And get a bottle across the head?

Seriously for a minute, I was in Kerry last summer, having dinner in a pub, watching the European Athletics Championships, when in walks a local, picks up the remote (left conveniently on the counter) and proceeds to check the racing results. We were the only others in the pub, and to him we didn't even exist. I'll probably get ripped for this, but soccer fans are even more ignorant.

To answer your rhetorical question, if I walked in a pub with an entire club (of athletes) there'd be no point in asking for a channel change if there was even one soccer fan present.

You'll gather from this that I'm not a frequenter of pubs.

hmmm, I dunno I've gotten them to turn on the golf in my local a fair bit and no-one else has any interest in it. Right enough if something else is on they won't put athletics on, and you will struggle if a regular wants to watch something else.

I'm also watched athletics in more than a few pubs, in fact I saw gillicks win in a pub as I was out and about. Also watch McKiernan run in a pub in Kilkenny and seen Sonia a lot of the time too.

I don't know why you feel soccer fans are ignorant? Because if there is a game on they want to watch it and stand up for their rights to do so? If atheltics was more popular than soccer then it'd be on everywhere instead.

One of my locals could have three clowns shouting at the telly while everybody else is ignoring it.I saw a bloke stand up on a chair one night and turn the football on like he was at home in his own place.What is it about football that people think they have the right to ram it down everybody else's throats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Acrington Stanley?? Who are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Degsy wrote:
    football idiocy

Not a fan then? :rolleyes:

Stay and home and stop f*cking moaning.

Caliden wrote:
    Acrington Stanley?? Who are they?

Who cares

DaveMcG wrote:
    Not a fan then? :rolleyes:

Stay and home and stop f*cking moaning.

If me and people like me DID stay at home thepubs would be out of business so fast there'd be nowhere for the football crowd to watch thier scabby matches.

Or maybe the football crowd could watch their scabby matches without the pleasure of your scoffing and sighing as a soundtrack.

Degsy wrote:
    If me and people like me DID stay at home thepubs would be out of business so fast there'd be nowhere for the football crowd to watch thier scabby matches.

Bollox, 98% of men enjoy the noble art of watching football, the other 2% are bitch slapped and aren't allowed to watch it. Listen Degsy, don't be letting your missus bully you, nip it in the bud now unless you want to end up like Norman Bates.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Or maybe the football crowd could watch their scabby matches without the pleasure of your scoffing and sighing as a soundtrack.

Why,would i be drowning out the roaring of 20,000 english fans?Why,if people just want to watch a match do they have to have it blaring?Cant they just watch the men in thier shorts running around after a ball without the attendant racket?

Degsy wrote:
    Why,would i be drowning out the roaring of 20,000 english fans?Why,if people just want to watch a match do they have to have it blaring?Cant they just watch the men in thier shorts running around after a ball without the attendant racket?

sweet jesus, what did soccer ever do to you? talk about having a chip on your shoulder!

There are plenty of pubs around that don't have games on and don't allow music/loud talking and mobile phones etc where like minded people can relax without the sport on, why not try them?

Next you will be complaning that pubs are selling beer and everyone who drinks it is loud and annoying and in your face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Degsy wrote:

If they were to mute the sound we'd be forced to listening to your and your mates moaning like a pair of women as to why you hate football.

Degsy wrote:
    In my experience most places do have the sound at a reasonable level unless there's an important match on. Maybe you should frequent better pubs.

If there's a decent match on, eg. Man Utd vs Liverpool, then it will attract a large number of people, and I would think the sound would be raised a considerable amount so that (a) the atmosphere in the stadium can be recreated to an extent in the pub, (b) the commentators can be heard over the high number of chattering people, and (c) because most people there will be watching the match, and so the establishment will obviously be catering for them.

If you want to read a book then (a) go to a better pub, (b) don't go to the pub when there's a match on (ring ahead?), or (c) find somewhere else to go.

DaveMcG wrote:

If you want to read a book then (a) go to a better pub, (b) don't go to the pub when there's a match on (ring ahead?), or (c) find somewhere else to go.
    (d) grow a pair of testicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

taxi for Degsy

Yeah it would be a pity you couldnt hear the commentaters saying "at the end of the day" and "over the full 90 minutes" and the other rubbish they've been saying since the 60's.For such a "manly" sport its followers are very thin skinned!

Degsy wrote:
    Yeah it would be a pity you couldnt hear the commentaters saying "at the end of the day" and "over the full 90 minutes" and the other rubbish they've been saying since the 60's.For such a "manly" sport its followers are very thin skinned!
    Alright then hotshot, what "manly" sports are you into then?

Pighead wrote:
    Alright then hotshot, what "manly" sports are you into then?

One where the 'manly' players aren't 'ramming it down everybody else's throats' in their 'little shorts'??

Is Degsy trying to say somehing about us, the players or himself? I see undertones of something here people, possibly latent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I have sod all interest in watching football but wouldn't begrudge those who do want to go to the pub with a few friends, have a few drinks and watch a match.

What does annoy me is when you go into a normal pub for a drink and a chat, it's not too crowded, some ambient noise, good atmosphere, the way a pub should be, but no, instead they have some god awful pop music playing so loud you have to yell at the top of your voice to be heard across the table.

humbert wrote:
    I have sod all interest in watching football but wouldn't begrudge those who do want to go to the pub with a few friends, have a few drinks and watch a match.

What does annoy me is when you go into a normal pub for a drink and a chat, it's not too crowded, some ambient noise, good atmosphere, the way a pub should be, but no, instead they have some god awful pop music playing so loud you have to yell at the top of your voice to be heard across the table.
    I wouldn't begrudge those who want to go to the pub and have a chat without watching the match, and if they asked I'd have no trouble lowering the football.

But when they say smug things like 'football idiocy', I'd be more inclined to glass them :rolleyes:

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Stupidest thread....ever.

On a Sunday afternoon I would like you to find a pub that has Sheffied Wednesday vs Accrington Stanley (or the like) on at full blast. They will likely have the premiership games on and will cater for the people that like to go out for a few pints to watch the match. There are loads of pubs that don't have football on speakers, just go to one of them, or go to Keoghs or the stags head that aren't exactly awash with TVs.

Alternatively, stay at home and wait for the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

Degsy wrote:
    Would it not make more sense to have a room or an area wher supporters of football idiocy can go and watch it without everbody else being subjected to it?

it would make more sense to have a room where pansies can go away from the big bad noise of the telly, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

eirebhoy wrote:
    Heh.

I was thinking of Soccer AM, so I see where they got their "sketch" from!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

I like to watch sport at home & in the pub but most pubs I go to keep the sound really low or muted unless its a big game like Ireland V England or a Cup final, I can make do without the sound so that ppl can talk.

Is it sport in general or specifically soccer?
    If its all sport i dont think you'll be having a peaceful paddys day.. 3 rugby games and 2 GAA club finals!
    Wooot! Super Saturday! Bring it oooon!

and the first half of man u v bolton before the rugby starts and maybe a second screen with chelsea v sheff utd on, then 6 games on Sunday!! It'll be a tough weekend, but sport hurts, go hard or go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

5starpool wrote:
    Stupidest thread....ever.

On a Sunday afternoon I would like you to find a pub that has Sheffied Wednesday vs Accrington Stanley (or the like) on at full blast. They will likely have the premiership games on and will cater for the people that like to go out for a few pints to watch the match. There are loads of pubs that don't have football on speakers, just go to one of them, or go to Keoghs or the stags head that aren't exactly awash with TVs.

Alternatively, stay at home and wait for the summer.

was just thinkin that! me bro was goin mad askin around if anyone knew any place shopwin the sunderland v stoke game tomorrow. was gonna ask the OP where it was!

on topic, yes i've been in places where people have asked us if we were watchin whats on the telly, be it in carlow, laois or dublin. i've also been in other pubs with (shock horror) more than one tv!!! i've also been on the other end and asked the bar staff to change the channel, each time making sure nobody else was watchin something.

regards the noise. do ya whinge when the place is full and there's people shouting? do you ask them to lower their voices? there are the tpyes of pubs where you can go for a quiet one, and the types where you can go and know it wont be quiet. i suggest you choose the one thats right for you and ur delicate ears! heaven forbid you go to a gig or a concert!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Well Degs, if you thought the cut and thrust of the thunderdome was bad...:eek:

St. Patricks Day, and the usual orgy of sport and gambling will do me just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Going to the pub to watch football is for muppets. Real football fans actually go to matches.

"We won, we won!" I hate listening to that ****e in the pub.
    They come up to you out of nowhere.

Muppet:"Who do you follow?"

Me:"Shels"

Muppet:"No, who do you really follow? Y'know in the Premiership?"

Me:"I follow Shels, couldn't give a toss about English football"

Muppet:"Eh, fair play to you, eh, so you go to watch them and all like"

Me:"Yeah, it's what fans do"

Muppet:*Speechless and starts looking for someone in a Brit football shirt that he can talk to cause he feels really uncomfortable and embarrassed*

Zebra3 wrote:
    Going to the pub to watch football is for muppets. Real football fans actually go to matches.

Muppet:*Speechless and starts looking for someone in a Brit football shirt that he can talk to cause he feels really uncomfortable and embarrassed*

more likely he was trying to get away from the nutter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Zebra3 wrote:

Will you EL heads ever get rid of the chip on your shoulders?

Looking forward to relegation again this season?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Zebra3 wrote:

*yawn*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

football is football. do ya whinge at the ppl that only follow italian league or spanish league? i hope all eircom league fans arent like this. hope its just boardsies. i assumed the true fan was the one who actually liked football?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

Zebra3 wrote:

lol so true, only bit of wisdom in this thread, this and what the op had to say.

Didn't realise one had to follow the EL in order to be a football fan... Hooray for being different!

daveym wrote:
    sweet jesus, what did soccer ever do to you? talk about having a chip on your shoulder!

There are plenty of pubs around that don't have games on and don't allow music/loud talking and mobile phones etc where like minded people can relax without the sport on, why not try them?

This doesn't quite tally with asking for a channel change, does it?

Now this is the attitude we expect:
    event wrote:
    it would make more sense to have a room where pansies can go away from the big bad noise of the telly, no?

Now this is a bit more subtle than the other guy, but essentially saying the same thing (if you don't like soccer, you're a fairy):
    daveym wrote:
    One where the 'manly' players aren't 'ramming it down everybody else's throats' in their 'little shorts'??

Is Degsy trying to say somehing about us, the players or himself? I see undertones of something here people, possibly latent.

Funny, isn't it soccer where the players try to ride each other after scoring? And they had to stop them taking their shirts off, "Hey look, my chest is hairier than yours"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Thunderdome TBH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

What a load of bollix. If you dont like it, recognise the majority of people do and just dont go. Unlike the rest of the country, the rugby doesnt particularly excite me (I know recent events have massively boosted interest in a game many never watched before, I was in the pub Saturday watching it trying to gain interestbut I simply find waiting for the scrums to break up too slow moving). It doesnt mean I think pubs should stop showing it when Im in because Ive no particular interest in it. Most pubs will have a corner where the football match cant be seen or barely heard from. Feck off down there and quit blocking our view.

shane86 wrote:
    What a load of bollix. If you dont like it, recognise the majority of people do and just dont go. Unlike the rest of the country, the rugby doesnt particularly excite me (I know recent events have massively boosted interest in a game many never watched before, I was in the pub Saturday watching it trying to gain interestbut I simply find waiting for the scrums to break up too slow moving). It doesnt mean I think pubs should stop showing it when Im in because Ive no particular interest in it. Most pubs will have a corner where the football match cant be seen or barely heard from. Feck off down there and quit blocking our view.

So I guess that's a NO to changing the channel (to National Geographic) then? :p

I guess non-soccer fans don't contribute anything to pub profits.