Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Non Sensical / abused phrases!

• 12-03-2007 09:09AM
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

we're all guilty of using chliches and phrases that are annoying and non sensical. What ones get on your nerves the most?

To start off:

"Same Difference" - contradiction no?
    "Verbal agreement" - Dont u mean oral agreement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

"Ok then, lets agree to disagree" - No we bloody wont.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Yore ma!

Yes....
    In first thing....
    sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

People who say they 'could care less' instead of couldn't. Annoys the piss out of me, that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I know you are but what am I!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭iremex

quite literally - when used in, INCREDIBLEY, stupid statements in football such as "they are quite literally playing out of their skins!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

iremex wrote:
    quite literally - when used in, INCREDIBLEY, stupid statements in football such as "they are quite literally playing out of their skins!"
    That gets my vote for most misused word. Followed closely by "ignorant" I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I have a 19 year old sister who fancies herself as a bit of a Vicky Pollard.
    Every single time I get onto her about something the conversation goes like this:

SAMPLE ARGUMENT (If you could even call it that)

ME: Hey, you used up all my shampoo
    Her: And?
    Me: And now I've none left
    Me: That stuff is really expensive, I can't even afford to replace it. Why can't you buy your own toiletries instead of stealing mine?
    Her: Take a bleedin' chill pill would ya?
    ME: Well you shouldn't have done that
    Her: So, whats your point?
    Me: Well that's my point, that you shouldn't have done it?
    Her: And, so what?
    Me: What do you mean, so what? So you used up all my feckin shampoo and now I have none left and you shouldn't have done that.
    Her: And? And? And? And? And? So what? So what?
    Me(getting seriously pissed off): What do you mean, AND? What do you mean, SO WHAT? That's what, you nicked my stuff and I'm pissed off about it and your not to do it again?
    Her: yeah whatever, whatever, whatever.
    Me: For Fcuk sake, why can't you just say, Sorry, I won't do it it again?
    Her: (talking over me) Whatever, not interested, do I look like I even give a ****, I'm not bothered, whatever, whatever, whatever.
    Me: Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrggggggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,328 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I always thought a literal world would be great, especially when reading newspapers i.e. "evil pervert takes flight" who wouldn't pay to see that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

c - 13 wrote:
    "Ok then, lets agree to disagree" - No we bloody wont.
    So everybody has to agree all the time :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

No, what it should be interpreted as "so we both agree that we have different opinions".

What people use it as "I'm right, your wrong, this is the easiest way to pretend i'm listening even though I have no intentions of even considering your point"

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Few more:

"The thing about Peter Crouch is for such a big lad, he's great with his feet."

"Oh. Dr. B! No! I must sleep! My body just cant take another three hours of multiple orgasmic delight you red hot stud." I get really fed up of always hearing that one. Particularly when the chick is crying in delight....

Also business speak. You know those douchebags that love to talk about synergy, thinking outside the box, re-inventing the wheel and exploding profits.

Also anyone from cork talking about how its really the capital, or the Peoples republic, or saying "Like" in the start, middle and end of every sentence, or saying anything really.

Also anything prefaced with the terms i- or e-.

Also Pwnd. or Pwned. or N00b. all that ****. as in "I pwnd this N00b list."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Basically. I hate it.

And Dr. Bollocko... Just 'cause you're not a l33t h4x0r... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭megadodge

People who say they 'could care less' instead of couldn't. Annoys the piss out of me, that one.

Thank you super_furry. I thought I was the only person this side of the pond that noticed that incredibly stupid Americanism.

Another one is 'every other day' meaning 'every second day'. This has only appeared here in the last few years also and is IMO right up there with the above in making no sense whatsoever.

Of course there are the usual suspects (used mainly by females 12-25) found in any 'Friends' episode eg. "Oh my Gawd, you're like sooooooooo not getting it. Don't go there."

Actually while I'm at it, what does 'meh' mean ? Genuinely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭iremex

think meh means "could care less"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

meh is just an onomatopoeic word expressing a lack of interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

Meh = Instant conversation stopper.... it's true...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    Every single time I get onto her about something the conversation goes like this:

Her: (talking over me) Whatever, not interested, do I look like I even give a ****, I'm not bothered, whatever, whatever, whatever.

She's 19? Jesus sounds like 13.

boreds wrote:
    She's 19? Jesus sounds like 13.
    I know, and If I was to tell her you said that her response would be....

'and? so what? whats your point?'

:eek: :mad: :eek:

Meh is a fantastic word of indifference.
    I also hate the scourge of 'Literallys' ie I was literally sat/stood there. Horrible Englishism.
    Racist is another word ive come to dislike, due to mass improper useage
    'Ah fair play te yeh'. Just makes me think of fair city
    'Hellooo'? another irritating friendsism

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    I kow, and If I was to tell her you said that her response would be....

Just tell her then 'uhh wha'everrr, you are like um soooo childish. What would youuu know? Fire with fire and all that ;)

• Subscribers Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

oh my god.
    going forward.
    per se.
    meh, not so much. (like using that one though, good show)
    I wanna say.
    In fairness (say that one a bit myself)
    For future reference.
    yada yada (another one I am fond of)
    alright bud
    howya horse

etc etc etc, what annoys me most is when I find
    myself saying some of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Mrs_Doyle wrote:

yeah, so what?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,699 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

It's actually still correct though, it's just meant to be said differently. "I couldn't care less" is a complete statement, the kind of thing you might shout at somebody, e.g. "I couldn't care less what you think!" etc.

Where as "I could care less" is meant to be said sarcastically, e.g. "Like I could care less what you think", "I could care less...but I don't", etc.

Mrs_Doyle wrote:

AM I BOVVERED, THO'?!

I hate "same difference". It makes no sense whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

touche ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

I hate it when people give unpopular opinions and then buffer them using "No offense but..."

My sister does this all the time:
    "No offense but your arse looks huge in those jeans"

She knows that telling me I have a fat arse (BTW, I don't- I've just used it as an example; I swear! :o ) is going to insult me but instead of taking the time to say it in a less offensive way (maybe, "I think the black trousers are more flattering") she just adds in a disclaimer.

Grr

00112984 wrote:
    I hate it when people give unpopular opinions and then buffer them using "No offense but..."

My sister does this all the time:
    "No offense but your arse looks huge in those jeans"

She knows that telling me I have a fat arse (BTW, I don't- I've just used it as an example; I swear! :o ) is going to insult me but instead of taking the time to say it in a less offensive way (maybe, "I think the black trousers are more flattering") she just adds in a disclaimer.

Grr

I'm not being funny but... your arse really does look huge in those jeans.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

if one more person says to me "at the end of the day" - it will be the end of their days :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Something valuable to someone is expressed as

'Cheap at half the price.'

should it not be

'cheap at twice the price' or something like that.

So for example I buy a fire extinguiser for my kitchen and I get a good deal it only cost me 10 euro. Now I show it to my friend and he says that would be cheap at twice the price, In other words If I paid 20 for it it would still be cheap as it could possibly save my life. Instead he suggests it would be cheap at half the price. Now i already got it cheap for a tenner and obviously if i got it for a fiver it would be even better. However I did not get it for 5 and it was not available for 5 why the flux would you say that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

A passing phase - as opposed to a permanent phase.

Phase on its own will do, thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

when people use "no?" as a question, example "boards.ie, no"? would be used instead of "what do you think of boards.ie?". I've had a few shoutig fits because of that.

Also, "You have to admit", NO I DON'T! If I had to admit, I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

People that say "I would like to" which means "would want to but I don't want to..."
    Either you want to or not.

When people tell me to relax, chill, take a chill pill, chillax, it always sends me into a violent rage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

You'd want to have seen us...

I work with a girl who says this all the time
    'You'd want to have seen us at the weekend, we were total lockers1!'

Don't tell me what I want to see you retard!!

I also hate it when people say...'If I was you I'd...*insert lame advice here*...'

Well you're not me so get f*cked!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭megadodge

It's actually still correct though, it's just meant to be said differently. "I couldn't care less" is a complete statement, the kind of thing you might shout at somebody, e.g. "I couldn't care less what you think!" etc.

Where as "I could care less" is meant to be said sarcastically, e.g. "Like I could care less what you think", "I could care less...but I don't", etc.

The only way I've heard and read it being used is as you have explained it in your first paragraph, where it's usage clearly is WRONG !!

I'm still trying to get my head around the second part of your explanation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

A few from work:

Feedback

Close of play

Touch base

All these from the same person-think he watched Wallstreet too many times, and he's from Kerry!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

People using the word retard in the wrong (every) context.

If Johnny doesn't know that the capital of France is Paris, he is ignorant, not retarded.

People saying 'my bad'.

Mumsy in the car beside yours in the car park bangs her door off yours and she says, "My bad". Why can't you just say, "Sorry, my fault", or better still, fcuk off over the other side of the car park.

"Johnny, you left your schoolbag in the middle of the living room"

"Oh, my bad..."

"Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr"

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,699 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

megadodge wrote:
    The only way I've heard and read it being used is as you have explained it in your first paragraph, where it's usage clearly is WRONG !!

I'm still trying to get my head around the second part of your explanation.
    It is kind of confusing, especially when you're so used to hearing people use it incorrectly. It's an americanism as you say, and you know that old adage about americans not understanding irony? Well this is a good example of that, they can't even understand their own irony.

Here is another proper way of putting it: "As if I could care less..."

The above is basically a sarcastic version of "I couldn't care less", but over the years people got it confused with latter and started using it as an honest statement—"I could care less!!!"—which is wrong. Said in speech in a ironic tone of voice it is correct however. Most people use it wrongly though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I know it's not a phrase but does anyone else here hate the stupid upward intonation at the end of sentences when someone is explaining something to you like you're either in a cafe in Manhattan or you have the IQ of a dog's fart?

Boils my blood.

kraggy wrote:
    I know it's not a phrase but does anyone else here hate the stupid upward intonation at the end of sentences when someone is explaining something to you like you're either in a cafe in Manhattan or you have the IQ of a dog's fart?

Boils my blood.

I know what you mean, This one time...

:d

Oh and can't believe i forgot

"Nice One"
    "Cheers"
    "Mate"

Have half the Irish population suddenly obtained UK passports?

Or is it too much British telly?

These are as much offenders as "Oh My Gawd" and "Totally".

I always thought of cheers and nice one as more Irish sayings than English sayings? We certainly say them a lot more that they do...

I dont miss this at all
    Mrs_Doyle wrote:

ME: Hey, you used up all my shampoo
    Me: And now I've none left
    Me: That stuff is really expensive, I can't even afford to replace it. Why can't you buy your own toiletries instead of stealing mine?
    Her: Take a bleedin' chill pill would ya?
    ME: Well you shouldn't have done that
    Her: So, whats your point?
    Me: Well that's my point, that you shouldn't have done it?
    Her: And, so what?
    Me: What do you mean, so what? So you used up all my feckin shampoo and now I have none left and you shouldn't have done that.
    Her: And? And? And? And? And? So what? So what?
    Me(getting seriously pissed off): What do you mean, AND? What do you mean, SO WHAT? That's what, you nicked my stuff and I'm pissed off about it and your not to do it again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    I'm not being funny but....

and the answer should always be 'no, youre not funny'

grrrrrrrr!

as for that 19 year old sister and the shampoo, that would make me want to punch her in the face!

grrrrrrrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Oliverdog

Here's another one the Sports Commentators are warming up to really get on your wick - "It's a big ask".

If I hear it again, I'll be APPSOLUTELY DEVASTATED - another one-size-fits-nothing interview response.

And here's another one. "I think she'll Medal at the Beijing Olympics !"

Don't get me started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

People that say "actually" every five words. I find Germans to do this a lot.

and the answer should always be 'no, youre not funny'

grrrrrrrr!

as for that 19 year old sister and the shampoo, that would make me want to punch her in the face!

grrrrrrrr!

one of my pet ones is people who say 'grrr' rather than
    actually growling, hear it a fair bit. like people who say 'woof woof' rather than making the noise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

^Similar to the above, my father in law says "oh sigh" instead of exhaling. Another one is the word, "Anywho I'll be off now" *punch*:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Mrs_Doyle wrote:

Oh dear. You need consequences.

You: What do you mean "Whatever"? You used all my shampoo!
    Her: I'm not bothered. Whatever.
    You: Well now I'm going to set fire to your favourite dress.
    Her: I'm not bothered...wait, what?
    You: You heard me. *sets fire to the dress*
    Her: Holy ****, you bitch!!!

Lets see her use your shampoo next time :D