Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ipoker me Bollix Where next?

• 10-03-2007 6:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭

Played on new software last night for the first time. Looking forward to try it out as I mainly only played on PPP/GJP over past 4 months.

Playing 1/2 cash in two separate hands it disconnected me from the table for no apparent reason...one hand I had AA on a A high flop!! Had to watch as muppets raised away and I was unable to act with the nutz!

Dropped $100 to play in the freezeout, going well...when I got JJ with action before me...going to make a big move when it froze again and disconnected me....table goes gamble mad ....my JJ stand up but I was once again left out of the hand.

Over the 3 hours I played 3/4 tables...but they kept slowing up and disconnecting me all the time..it was a fricking nightmare.... One hand I just pressed the call button in advance with AA because I was scared that I would be blocked out by the time it was my turn to act!

Also, when you go allin with someone and his/her cards aren't shown..what the fcuk is that all about? How are you supposed to assess their play. Go off and check hand history with tables freezing all over the place!

Plus you do not get brought to the table were you have to act, this leads to more timeouts. Fine if your playing one maybe two tables, but thats it.

Plus, the actual set up of the tables, avators, buttons etc gave me a serious headache...v. busy.....

So overall it was great:D Has anyone has similar issues?

I am now looking for a new site!

Can anyone recommend a good site for cash and some mtts? I have played on stars a couple of times...any suggestions?

Ray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

I've played about 6 hours on PPP and over 30 on GJP. I got disconnected 3 times on PPP and even if you click the call button beofre you act, once you disconnect, your call doesnt work.

I only had 1 problem with GJP today when it kicked me right out of the program in the middle of a tournie. I tried to log back on but it said the account was already in use. I restarted my pc and then got back it, lost a few chips though!

So PPP disconnect 3 times in 6 hours
    and GJP 1 disconnect in 30+ hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

Ive been playing on GJP a few hours a day since the changeover and not 1 disconnect yet, timed out lots of times though as its hard to know when its your go lots of sounds and beeps but no visual indicators to say which of the tables its my go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

Played on new software last night for the first time. Looking forward to try it out as I mainly only played on PPP/GJP over past 4 months.

Playing 1/2 cash in two separate hands it disconnected me from the table for no apparent reason...one hand I had AA on a A high flop!! Had to watch as muppets raised away and I was unable to act with the nutz!

Dropped $100 to play in the freezeout, going well...when I got JJ with action before me...going to make a big move when it froze again and disconnected me....table goes gamble mad ....my JJ stand up but I was once again left out of the hand.

Over the 3 hours I played 3/4 tables...but they kept slowing up and disconnecting me all the time..it was a fricking nightmare.... One hand I just pressed the call button in advance with AA because I was scared that I would be blocked out by the time it was my turn to act!

Also, when you go allin with someone and his/her cards aren't shown..what the fcuk is that all about? How are you supposed to assess their play. Go off and check hand history with tables freezing all over the place!

Plus you do not get brought to the table were you have to act, this leads to more timeouts. Fine if your playing one maybe two tables, but thats it.

Plus, the actual set up of the tables, avators, buttons etc gave me a serious headache...v. busy.....

So overall it was great:D Has anyone has similar issues?

I am now looking for a new site!

Can anyone recommend a good site for cash and some mtts? I have played on stars a couple of times...any suggestions?

Ray

I haven't had the same disconnection problems, I feel for you nonetheless. On the other issues I definitely think the site is a bit cumbersome, not seeing your opponent's cards in showdowns is a pain too, though that happened on tribeca too didn't it!? - or did they show it on tribeca when it was all-in? - Either way ipoker does seem extrabad for not showing showdowns even in comparison to tribeca. I've also missed the odd hand when multi-tabling - for myself I don't want to be automatically brought to the table, but the sound should properly alert you, which occasionally it doesn't seem to do.

On the plus side, at least the table size(plus chat) takes up less room than the tribeca one.
    Overall though I have to say I'm happy to continue playing on ipoker, there is stuff that I hope gets taken on board, hopefully the new sites on the block will forward their and their players concerns and it will improve into a top notch network that it's current player volume merits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

my big problem is the time out when playing a hand, you have to be quick if you want to type in a bet size etc, I had the nuts today on the flop and was trying to reraise a raiser and couldnt get the bloody bet in quick enough and muck my hand....

you should have 30 secs to make a decision, the only reason its so fast is to get more rake of you, feck the customer attitude..... If you monies in the pot, you should have acceptable lenght of time to make a decision.

No disconnections and the standard of play is terrible, will stick with it for a while and see if I can get used to it, but its ladbrokes, stars or full tilt after that for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

yeah, the amount of time to make a decision is ridiculous. Had the nuts on the river and went to reraise the guy, typed in the bet and clicked, but instead it mucked my cards! agggghhhh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

the show down of cards is annoying, but there is a button above the chat box that shows them when you click it, its hastle but it shows all hands that made it to river, even ones that could of been mucked, ie last to act
    i think you can turn on a tale pop up, i dont lke it when it does anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

I also have been disconnected and screen freeze approx 3/4 times yesterday in a 4 hr session. There is no showdown in the cash games but in the mtt's there is, which is ok i guess. Only piece of advice i can give ya is to go to settings, switch off avatars, sound, then go to chat options and leave only player/dealer summary, no need for card images, i found this alot easier on the eye and my concentration level was better. I will give it time to get used to the cash games because it is softer than tribeca. I have played a handful of mtt's and found the play terrible, everyone is min raising pre-f and post-f, re steals and blinds steals was minimal. I have yet to play the $50 double stack, looks like best tourny on it, the lower buyin mtts are just a waste of time huge field with way to many levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Sparky1808

Well i've had no experiences of disconnections to be honest apart from one time where my own router disconnected itself, apart from that nothing much.

In terms of the time to act, I only have myself to blame as I sat down at a $2/$4nl TURBO cash game today where you have around 12 seconds top to act (if that) ...and it mucked my two red Aces just to see a $280 pot took down by a muppet, where my Aces would have stood up.

...my own fault though, you play TURBO you have to be alert. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭The Ace Face

I'm going to try again tonight, starting at 9.... only goin g to play 2 tables...and take AK-47s advice re options before I start....

I'm all for giving something one more chance:D ..if not I might try FTP..never played there before......

Ray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Ollieboy wrote:
    my big problem is the time out when playing a hand, you have to be quick if you want to type in a bet size etc, I had the nuts today on the flop and was trying to reraise a raiser and couldnt get the bloody bet in quick enough and muck my hand....

you should have 30 secs to make a decision, the only reason its so fast is to get more rake of you, feck the customer attitude..... If you monies in the pot, you should have acceptable lenght of time to make a decision.

No disconnections and the standard of play is terrible, will stick with it for a while and see if I can get used to it, but its ladbrokes, stars or full tilt after that for me.

come on your the speed champ;)

nicnicnic wrote:
    come on your the speed champ;)

lol, yeh but thats years ago, I'm old now and need more time to think...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Im able to 8table full tilt and stars but Im having difficulty 2 tabling this ipoker ****, all I want is a one colour background, a one colour table with no annoying avatars, players name and chip counts clearly displayed along with the button, cards that I can see clearly while multitabling and be able to tell immediately who the action is on. I havent had any problems with disconnects on GJP either.

Almost 2 hours and no freezes, only playing 2 tables and took all chat/avators off....

2 tables in manageable but i like playing 3 or 4!

Ray

plus I'm up so far!:D

the amount of min betting/min raising going on is hilarious! I'm gonna end up in a min raise war with someone soon...

the minraising is mental, its nearly always top pair weak kicker from what Ive seen.

anyone else's autopost button keep unclicking?

yea, very annoying, then they ask you would you like to autopost you blinds. Why the **** do you think I pressed the autopost blinds button in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Sparky1808

bohsman wrote:
    the minraising is mental, its nearly always top pair weak kicker from what Ive seen.

Have noticed this more and more often on the cash tables, I think they can't get adjusted to the slider and it's just a lazy way of doing so, but they're not moving anybody off the pot, i'll play 98.7% of hands from the BB to a min raise. I've got my limits.

hmm, I don't see it pn any of the other sites I'm playing on atm with sliders, tribeca obviouosly attracted a certain type of player...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

anyone else's autopost button keep unclicking?
    pretty sure it happens after you reload (and sometimes just randomly).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭The Snapper

RoundTower wrote:
    pretty sure it happens after you reload (and sometimes just randomly).

What ! You've had to reload :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I wonder if PokerStars (or Full Tilt) would consider selling their software under a different name to other poker sites? Given that their interface seems to have been designed with common sense and poker players in mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Been playing ipoker for 3 days now.

CONS

1) Time to act sucks, way too short.

2) Alerts are poor, i miss hands regulary when playing 2 tables or more.

3) when in minature table mode the cards are not very clear. 8's & 6's are very similar. Need to increase res on the cards.

4) Some alerts do not sound when table is minimized

5) Sound effects are really annoying

6) hate not seeing showdown cards.

7)im sure ill find one........found it.........the way you have to select auto post every time you join a table.

PROS

1) i really like the hand history system and the cash and tournament reviewing system

2) the allin button. Great cause it makes fish easier to catch.

3) like the layout of the gui but colouring could change to make important things more visable

played 6.5 hours and its ok with 2 tables, no freezes at all. Plus I made $1.5k on cash...lol..Ipoker all the way!:D

Ray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

I folded the nuts today in huge pot as I was thinking of raising or calling, board was 2345 I had 67 against 2 players in a raised pot, the screen flashes up, i pause for a second, goodbye hand, sigh, then later on I pressed the wrong button and pushed over someones all in with 82o for 140bbs, board came J82xxj, he had aces which made it like two bad beats in one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

I pressed the wrong button and pushed over someones all in with 82o for 140bbs, board came J82xxj, he had aces which made it like two bad beats in one.

6 board cards - surely 3 bad beats in one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭PokerChild

bohsman wrote:
    Im able to 8table full tilt and stars but Im having difficulty 2 tabling this ipoker ****, all I want is a one colour background, a one colour table with no annoying avatars, players name and chip counts clearly displayed along with the button, cards that I can see clearly while multitabling and be able to tell immediately who the action is on. I havent had any problems with disconnects on GJP either.

In settings you can remove avatars.

Time is an issue. I nearly folded quads on the flop :D after I went all in.. then brought it down... then checked... paniced and min raised!!

I have used betfred for months (not any longer) so getting used to the software was never an issue. You can use the arrow keys to raise btw. Just hit enter after.

My big issue is that all poker software should have resize able tables as a matter of course. Stars FTW in that case.

On a side note I have found ipoker quite frequently turning a pair into a set on the flop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

okay, I'm a bit confused here.

firstly, the reason for the min-raises is without a doubt the software. It's not a matter of just "getting used" to the slider. Its an absolute **** slider.

lets say we're playing 1/2 and its folded around to you and you want to bet. By default it sits on the min raise option. If you move the slider it goes from 4 to 8. WHAT THE FCUK happened to 6?
    Now, I generally dont mind the 4X sized bet, but there are a large number of situations where I want to bet 3X and can't.
    You can see why that causes major problems for a lot of players, so they just min-raise instead.

There already has been numerous times I have min-raised the better on later streets because of the silly thing as well. e.g. lets say there is 40 in the pot. someone bets 30. so to 60 is the min-raise, and the next level is 120 or something retarded like that.

I actually hate the god damn thing... im getting pissed off again just writing this.

Could someone please tell me if I'm a complete and utter idiot and there's a way to fix this??????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭PokerChild

jimbling wrote:
    okay, I'm a bit confused here.

firstly, the reason for the min-raises is without a doubt the software. It's not a matter of just "getting used" to the slider. Its an absolute **** slider.

lets say we're playing 1/2 and its folded around to you and you want to bet. By default it sits on the min raise option. If you move the slider it goes from 4 to 8. WHAT THE FCUK happened to 6?
    Now, I generally dont mind the 4X sized bet, but there are a large number of situations where I want to bet 3X and can't.
    You can see why that causes major problems for a lot of players, so they just min-raise instead.

There already has been numerous times I have min-raised the better on later streets because of the silly thing as well. e.g. lets say there is 40 in the pot. someone bets 30. so to 60 is the min-raise, and the next level is 120 or something retarded like that.

I actually hate the god damn thing... im getting pissed off again just writing this.

Could someone please tell me if I'm a complete and utter idiot and there's a way to fix this??????????

Sorry if I am stupid. (Likely) But is the same issue there if you click on the slider bar? The increments so to speak? (Or use the arrow keys/enter)?

I find clicking does the job. Failing that my other option at times is to type in the amount.

I have never actually used the "slider" part of the slider bar! oh Well done on Friday in the 2000 Tournie! :) You were unlucky!!

I don't understand all the problems with the slider...it's no t that difficult to use. The timing is the bit that gets to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    All this talk about the slider - what exactly is so difficult about physically typing in the appropriate amount to bet??

Lloyd, have you tried it? you dont get enough time to type it in, specially if your multi-tabling. Also, there's not enough time to work out the size of the bet etc depending on the action going on in front of you.

Its crappppp

As anyone tried to contact support about it?

Not all of us can multi table like you Lloyd, live and online....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

another fine example of designers ****ing things up.

This took me 5 minutes to do. First, the old view.. second the new view with a few changes. what do you think?

oldew2.jpg

newsg7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    All this talk about the slider - what exactly is so difficult about physically typing in the appropriate amount to bet??
    not much difficulty. If I had to do it once every hour then fine, but when 4 or 6 tabling it is not an option. Even with 1 table open it's a pain in the ass having to reach for the keyboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

I didn't realise how much I'd miss tribeca's mtts, i never took them that seriously but when i wanted to play poker for a bit of fun they were a good buzz - they were like fast food for poker players, to be fair to ipoker there's not much on offer on other sites either. Man if you are happy playing $5 mtts you are well catered for but if you want something a bit more meaty but not too serious it seems to be in short supply.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Jaysus, I was just wondering...

its just pi$$ me off, not taken it out on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

PokerChild wrote:
    Sorry if I am stupid. (Likely) But is the same issue there if you click on the slider bar? The increments so to speak? (Or use the arrow keys/enter)?

I find clicking does the job. Failing that my other option at times is to type in the amount.

I have never actually used the "slider" part of the slider bar! oh Well done on Friday in the 2000 Tournie! :) You were unlucky!!

no, clicking is the same. it doesnt let you select whereever you want.
    never tried using the keys.. ill try that in a while.

I don't understand all the problems with the slider...it's no t that difficult to use. The timing is the bit that gets to me.

I thought I covered my difficulties. I cant select the bets I want.. if makes big jumps. Is this not happening for you? or are you just typing it in?
    LuckyLloyd wrote:

exactly the reasons ollieboy stated.

Oh, and I really miss the tribeca mtts as well. They were great fun. who the hell wants to play low level buy in tournaments, with a large field, that has a good structure. I sure as hell dont. And I also very much dislike not been able to rebuy once you have less than starting stack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭malinh

U see the hold cards in a showdown by looking at the hand history

99% of the time I bet 3x BB, so no matter what I have my bet is always the same... 2is too little and 4 is too much..IMO.....

This slider sucks big time..... it skips my 3 bet option..... when I don't have time i either min bet or 4 bet...which is less than satisfactory!:D

On the positive side cash is great on Ipoker!

Ray

Also, I hate the player note taken, you cant access it quick enough and very little space to see it after, just one big line of notes and with so little time to make a decision on a hand, you think the note taken would be better.

God I miss Tribece.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Brando_ie

I would agree with most of the GUI comments mentioned so far, particularly the colours selected in PPP where the chips stacks left behind are perfectly unreadable (not slightly .... but just perfectly unreadable!!) Another issue with the slider in mind is how the scale is amended (or certainly appears to be on my limited usage) as your stack grows (or shrinks.... :( ) and if you are lucky enough to double or treble or more up it becomes a surgical exercise to select a suitable PFR (I know all the other variables to enter bets.... but its slider for me until i train my tiny brain into another method).

My real purpose of this post is to question if any of these substantial comments on what if effectively a large beta test from real players are likely to make it into an updated client (ppp pit-boss??) or is what we have now likely to remain the same warts and all? it would appear that some of the cosmetic changes would be relatively easy to implement as demonstrated by ocallagh earlier, perhaps slider issues would have to wait but it would be a start to improve the GUI and would perhaps stop the groundswell against the new software.

Oh, and if there were to be amenable ppp programmers reviewing this post, my vote would be for a toggle in options to put a in multiplier which can be edited by a player which can replace the min-raise button (I guess it is x1 as standard) If a player could set an option for that to be say x3 and the 'min-raise' would read a x3bb figure instead of the minraise currently it would improve pre flop play / steals when multi-tabling for me anyway.

bohsman wrote:

multi-tabling ft too atm, good fun, have to say, ahk scripts are the nuts! it's easier playing 6-8 tables here than 4 on tribeca.

Phantom, whats all this about AHK scripts, ive heard about them a good bit but dont know exactly what they are. I presume its like the old dos scripts where you can setup a script within one of the function keys like F1,F2 etc and if you press F1 for example it will type 3x raise into the box and hit enter?????

If so how do i go about making one, im currently playing stars and FT if that matters.

Cheers

search through the software section of 2+2 and you'll find loads.

the one I'm using auto reloads, auto sits down at a table, clicks all the boxes, loads up etc, sets the bets to pot which i can adjust in sb increments with the wheel on the mouse, does everything!

Now why would you need an auto reload function, i taught its only useful for scripts that run often:D

Whats the name of the one you use and ill track it down on 2+2 whenever its back up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

hmmmn I like the sound of this, shall have to give it a try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Brando_ie wrote:
    My real purpose of this post is to question if any of these substantial comments on what if effectively a large beta test from real players are likely to make it into an updated client (ppp pit-boss??).

When we first launched poker with the Tribeca network there were a number of issues which we received feedback on. Boards is fantastic for getting feedback (negative and positive) and obviously from a business perspective you want to provide software that is tailored towards players needs.

We managed to tackle some of the feedback and had many of our ideas implemented by Tribeca. We submitted requests ranging from introducing 7 cards stud to supporting poker tracker etc. For the most part agreement would be reached and Tribeca would implement however in some cases the other companies within the network might have different ideas so requests somethimes do not come to fruition.

But there is rarely a request that goes forward to developement from PPP that does not come from player feedback. Therefore I am always interested in hearing your feedback so we can improve the product.

One of the really great things about the new software is its ability to upgrade in the background. This means that we do not have to launch a new version from here. It cuts down on all of the problems associated with uploading a new version. Another positive is the sheer amount of developers working for Playtech, this should allow us much more scope for developing the room.

I personally almost fell off my chair in disgust when I saw the blow up avatars... but I have calmed down since... its only a wee graphic file surely we can design ones with less clothes on for future amusement:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,337 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

I am staring to like the new ipoker
    had 1 really bad session where i got disconnected every 2 mins for 30 mins i just gave up but other than that it has been fine
    I think the standard is much lower than Tribeca which is great
    and while i miss the old tribeca 2x4x8x16x button and would love to see it back
    I have got used to the slide rule and find it really good in PLO and in NLHE I just type my bet each time

On the multitabling time out i had real issues my first couple of sessions and will not play the turbo again but i have hit a rhythm now and i play 3 tables with ease will move to 4 next week