Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Curves Fitness

• 08-03-2007 3:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭

Ok so does anyone have any actual knowledge of these fitness centre's ?
    I dont see how 30 mins 3 times a week will give u both aerobic and resistance training.
    All i know about it is that it cuts out eccentric contractions with its hydraulic machines.
    but what about warm up and particularily cool down. Do they do this after the 30 minute routine?
    So they do a circuit training routine? do they do the same routine each day per week. wouldnt that cause muscle soreness using the same muscles.
    What i mean is is there enough different machines when each machine is working opposing muscle groups at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

They work off a cicuit routine but there is very little thought in there and no variable resistence at all.

For my money, you would be better to buy a small weights set and do a circuit at home? Even better, visit www.crossfit.com for new workouts everday that don't cost you a thing!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

my gf did curves for about a year i think and it did good things for her, she wasnt exactly fat but she wanted to tone up and it helped, give it a try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

The thirty minutes line is the bare minimum amount of exercise a person should do to slow/prevent turning into a lard bucket. Its not just curves that say this of course, but they are definitely using it in their ads a lot lately and perhaps offering false hope imo.
    Also with the curves ads that you are refering to there is small print at the bottom refering to healthy diet and stuff. although it is definitely a good idea to start going to the gym and whatnot don't believe everything you're told, even here! Set some goals for yourself, then find out what it will take to achieve them.
    My opinion at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭KC81

Wouldnt go there myself. I dont like machines anyway.
    I just wanted to know what it involved and if maybe i was missing something. I think its such a pity that they can get away with what they advertise. I would have thought their should be a code of practice or something that stops this type of misleading information being banded about.
    Although i suppose curves would argue they're getting inactive people into the gym for the first time and i suppose they could educate them from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

KC81 wrote:
    I think its such a pity that they can get away with what they advertise. I would have thought their should be a code of practice or something that stops this type of misleading information being banded about.
    You can report their ads to the Advertising Standards Authority.

30mins/3days might be a minimum but it is probably 90mins more than many people are doing.

The advertising agency doesnt prevent the misleading 'healthy' or 'low fat' labelling in the food industry so i think this sort of thing goes along the same guise. My main problem is that i dont see how they can get the cool down in during the 30mins.
    They do say something about stretching in the routine but i dunno i dont believe any form of exercise is good because injury can leave some people worse off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭hardtrainer

In fairness to curves, they don't claim to take an average person and turn them into an olympic athlete. They simply filled a gap in the market. Many women are intimidated by the weights area in the gym, not least because the machines look complicated to use, but also because quite often the guys aren't exaclty welcoming. I'm sure you've all seen this. I think many women would feel less self conscious working out in a female only environment, where they don't feel added pressure of men watching them do things 'wrong'!

Will their workout plan help? For the average person, yes, a lot. If you think of a small change, like 3 x 30 mins circuits a week, that can have a drastic impact on the metabolic rate, particularly of someone who is normally quite sedentary. Is the program usefull for someone whose goal it is to build a lot of strength or muscle, no, but we all have different goals and for many ordinary people their goal is just to go to the gym regularly. If curves can help them to do that, then hats off to them.

Just as long as they do it properly. but i guess it is better than the women who go to the gym. and walk for 10 minutes on the treadmill. chat for 20 at the water fountain and then do the stair climber incorrectly for the next 15 mins without being shown how to do it correctly.
    Oh and i definitly agree that men can be intimidating in and around the weights area. i remember going into one weights area with 5 guys there and they actually all stopped and just stared blankly at me and my female friend. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭OTK

They don't have showers.

water dispenser not fountain sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I still feel like appologising when I pull up a bench in my gym. Some people really do stop and stare. The nature of weights is that there is a lot of resting (aka hanging around) so more time to stare. The sensible part of my thinks they're just looking around aimlessly, the insecure part thinks they are wondering "what's the fat cow doin' in OUR weights area".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I still feel like appologising when I pull up a bench in my gym. Some people really do stop and stare. The nature of weights is that there is a lot of resting (aka hanging around) so more time to stare. The sensible part of my thinks they're just looking around aimlessly, the insecure part thinks they are wondering "what's the fat cow doin' in OUR weights area".

pah balls to that, as long as you are paying your gym membership you have a much right to use the same gym equipment as them, and if you are doing the exercise properly chances are you have more of a right to be there then most of the lads.

To be I have a lot of respect for any woman you uses the free weight section properly and doesn't just do the general arm routine to try and get rid of the bingo wings and isn't afraid to lift something heavier then a 3kg DB, however the same can be said of the vast majority of men who are in the gym, it is just that I am generally numb to the level to which they piss me off. I generally also see much more potential in a woman who has had the courage to do weights in the first place that I just feel a bit sadder that they follow the same bad training routine that the vast majority of men follow

Hunnymonster, I don't think you are alone at all. I have seen guys in my gym being totally inconsiderate to other gym users, guys and girls, and it's intimidating to the most hardened among us.

I take what JSB is saying (a lot of respect for any woman you uses the free weight section properly) but I think comments like that can be taken the wrong way. It almost implies that women are taking up space by doing a "general arm routine to try and get rid of the bingo wings". I know that is not what was meant by that comment, but I can see that some people might take it that way. (I don't mean to single you out JSB, it's just an example that stood out for me and I'm sure the way I've implied it was not your intention at all).

Every one is equally deserving in their use of all the equipment in the gym. People can get caught up in their workouts though and kind of zone out from what is going on around them. Sometimes you have to just be brave and approach them and alert them to the fact that you would like to use something. Often times they'll be almost embarrassed as they didn't realise that their lazy pace was holding you up. I know I often take longer rests than I even intend to, but sometimes daydreaming takes over. So someone asking can they work in is actually a help to get my ass moving again.

I have some other things relating to this, but they're moving away from the curves thing even further so I'll start a new thread with them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Waaaait... So if I'm understanding this correctly;

They cut out eccentrics
    You work on machines only
    30mins, 3x a week

Ehhhh..... now I'm just gonna go out on a limb here and say it's kack.**

**Kack in terms of building a significant amount of muscle. By all means go for it if you like the footballer/swimmer look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Hunnymonster, I don't think you are alone at all. I have seen guys in my gym being totally inconsiderate to other gym users, guys and girls, and it's intimidating to the most hardened among us.

I take what JSB is saying (a lot of respect for any woman you uses the free weight section properly) but I think comments like that can be taken the wrong way. It almost implies that women are taking up space by doing a "general arm routine to try and get rid of the bingo wings". I know that is not what was meant by that comment, but I can see that some people might take it that way. (I don't mean to single you out JSB, it's just an example that stood out for me and I'm sure the way I've implied it was not your intention at all).

Every one is equally deserving in their use of all the equipment in the gym. People can get caught up in their workouts though and kind of zone out from what is going on around them. Sometimes you have to just be brave and approach them and alert them to the fact that you would like to use something. Often times they'll be almost embarrassed as they didn't realise that their lazy pace was holding you up. I know I often take longer rests than I even intend to, but sometimes daydreaming takes over. So someone asking can they work in is actually a help to get my ass moving again.

I have some other things relating to this, but they're moving away from the curves thing even further so I'll start a new thread with them.

ye that came off the wrong way ( sorry have a million other things on my mind and am not thinking before I type). I have slighty changed my original post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭JayRoc

Hanley wrote:
    Waaaait... So if I'm understanding this correctly;

They cut out eccentrics
    You work on machines only
    30mins, 3x a week

Ehhhh..... now I'm just gonna go out on a limb here and say it's kack.**

**Kack in terms of building a significant amount of muscle. By all means go for it if you like the footballer/swimmer look.

Yeah, but I've gotta go with Hardtrainer on this one- Curves isn't aimed at real trainers, it's aimed at complete exercise novices who've probably been leading a totally sedentary lifestyle for years. In these cases the initial benefits of even 30 mins of ANY kind of exercise, three times a week, would be worth the effort for them, so I say: Fair Play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

JayRoc wrote:
    Yeah, but I've gotta go with Hardtrainer on this one- Curves isn't aimed at real trainers, it's aimed at complete exercise novices who've probably been leading a totally sedentary lifestyle for years. In these cases the initial benefits of even 30 mins of ANY kind of exercise, three times a week, would be worth the effort for them, so I say: Fair Play.

I'm with both hardtrainer and JayRoc tbh. Hanley I can totally see where you're coming from, but let's not forget who the "curves" gyms are targeting - older women.

If it's a choice between doing shag all and 3 x 30 minute walks a week I'd rather see a woman do the latter. If it's a choice between 3 x 30 min walks a week or 3 x 30 min curves sessions, again I'd rather see a woman do the latter. It's a start and it's better than nothing. Then *hopefully* some women will realise the benefits of resistance work and may upgrade to a 'regular' gym.

It's only recently that I've been able to adopt the "to hell with everyone else, I just want to lift" attitude, but for most girls it's bloody hard walking into the very male-dominated free-weight area. Curves is a compromise - it's not ideal, but it's a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I used to feel like that when I trained on my own. If you haven't already try to find a training partner, you might not feel so self conscious about resting if you are spotting a friend while resting. At least that's what I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭ambman

my wife to curves for over a year everyday and they said she was had lost nearly a stone in weight. but yet her clothes still fit her the same. she since did the system 10 diet programme and has lost 3st 7lbs in about 16 weeks.
    now thats results. curves is a rip off if you ask me. but thats just my opinion:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

Since I had my children I let exercise slide so gradually piled on the weight. The thoughts of going to a gym left me cold.

I eventually got up the courage and joined Curves and have found it a very positive experience. You are constantly supervised to ensure you're doing everything correctly and safely. The staff are very encouraging and if they spot you slacking off or yawning they'll make you do a forfeit. You have to check your pulse a number of times throughout the session.

You're measured and weighed every month to see if you're toning up and losing weight. It you haven't toned up or lost weight they'll try and find out why and go over your diet. They encourage healthy eating.

You can go 6 days a week if you want but they expect you to go a minimum of 3 times a week. They encourage you to go for at least a 30 min walk on the days you don't go for a workout.

At the end of each session there's a cooling down chart that you follow.

I'm having a temporary break from it at the moment because I recently broke my ankle and I'm learning to walk again.

There are more young females than older ones at the Curves that I go to. I'm in the middle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭JayRoc

deisemum wrote:
    Since I had my children I let exercise slide so gradually piled on the weight. The thoughts of going to a gym left me cold.

I eventually got up the courage and joined Curves and have found it a very positive experience. You are constantly supervised to ensure you're doing everything correctly and safely. The staff are very encouraging and if they spot you slacking off or yawning they'll make you do a forfeit. You have to check your pulse a number of times throughout the session.

You're measured and weighed every month to see if you're toning up and losing weight. It you haven't toned up or lost weight they'll try and find out why and go over your diet. They encourage healthy eating.

You can go 6 days a week if you want but they expect you to go a minimum of 3 times a week. They encourage you to go for at least a 30 min walk on the days you don't go for a workout.

At the end of each session there's a cooling down chart that you follow.

I'm having a temporary break from it at the moment because I recently broke my ankle and I'm learning to walk again.

There are more young females than older ones at the Curves that I go to. I'm in the middle

Sounds positive to me.
    What are they charging for the service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

€35 per month if you pay by direct debit.

You have a once off joining fee which is often half price. At the moment they are waiving this fee if you bring a bag of food for their food drive fundraiser.

I'm glad to hear that you've had a positive experience there Diesemum. People are so quick to slate the likes of curves, finding faults with their methods and equipment, but the fat remains that serious weight training is not the goal of the people who join curves. Sure, that might be something that someone want's to work towards, but to say outright that curves is rubbish and that someone should go to a traditional gym etc is not helpful to anyone.

I still maintain that for the vast majority of women, curves is an excellent way to lose weight, tone up and strengthen their muscles. WRT the 30 min sessions. People can be really pushed for time. The thought of a 90 min workout session, plus shower etc (~2 or 2.5 hours out of your day if you have to travel to and from your gym) is very off putting for many. If you can do it all in under an hour, that's going to make it that bit more manageable, meaning people will be more inclined to stick with it.

Hope you get back walking again soon Diesemum.