Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cinema hell - Loud people in the Cinema - Are they getting worse

• 07-03-2007 12:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14 dato_007

Just felt I had to write in and have a moan and see if anyone else has noticed this . . .I was in Cineworld (UGC) on Parnell street a few weeks ago. I went with a friend to see Hot Fuzz . Long story short – there was a couple behind me, about 20 minutes into the movie her phone rang , then she actually took the call and spoke loudly on the phone , then this was followed by loud conversations with her boyfriend and general noise from eating etc. . . It totally ruined the experience for me , WHY??? Why do people behave like this in the cinema.

Anyone else got any similar experiences. This is not the first time iv been to the cinema lately where people have taken calls on their mobile and chatted loudly for the entire movie. I wise there were headphone jacks in each chair , at least then id have the option to not listen to people talking . . moan moan moan . . ok rant over . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Cineworld seems to attract these morons. I was there last week and several people around me were talking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 dato_007

Yea i agree, I notice it happens a lot more in Cineworld . I have hardly ever noticed it in the Savoy. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i've more or less given up going to the cinema due to this sort of crap. If i do go it is on a day off from work at a morning show so that there are **** all other people there to cause problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Why did you not complain. They will kick them out pretty quick. As long as we take it sitting down these morons will get away with this crap. No one ever holds them to account so they don't learn what are acceptable behaviours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Agreed Cineworld seems to be the worst. I was in a cinema in Paris last week and it was brilliant. Everyone was completely silent, not a word from anyone.. except the Irish. I wish it could be like that here.

Its not easy to complain, i tried the usual, turn around and give them a dodgy look. It sounds crap, but sometimes for my own sanity i just try and ignore the behavior so i can try and salvage some bit of enjoyment from the experience. But I recon its getting worse (or maybe im just getting older and less willing to put up with it. ) . Im getting to the stage now where its easier to just download the movie I want and watch it at home, where I can keep my sanity and get to watch the movie without interruption from some chav on the mobile and eating like an elephant . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

dato_007 wrote:
    Its not easy to complain, i tried the usual, turn around and give them a dodgy look. It sounds crap, but sometimes for my own sanity i just try and ignore the behavior so i can try and salvage some bit of enjoyment from the experience. But I recon its getting worse (or maybe im just getting older and less willing to put up with it. ) . Im getting to the stage now where its easier to just download the movie I want and watch it at home, where I can keep my sanity and get to watch the movie without interruption from some chav on the mobile and eating like an elephant . . .

And that's where big screen tv's come in! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Not to mention the a**holes who have seen the film already saying to their mates "Oh this is a good bit coming up" or "Yeah he gets killed later..."

Frown 'em to within an inch of their lives I say:mad:
    Frown 'em all to hell.........:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

we get the same crap in UCI blanch, i've long since given up looking for staff to sort it. now i just tell the people to shut up and threaten them if i have to do it again, works a charm,i don't feel the slightest bit bad about it, why should i? i paid enough for the ticket, what right has some aszhole to ruin it for me.

I find pepper spray very effective :D

Whilst they are admitted to hospital I can enjoy the film in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Thankfully I've not experienced this in a long time, although there was a period during the summer when it was unusual for me to not be seething with rage at least once during every movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭DamoKen

gave up on Cineworld a few years back, always seemed to be one or 2 minor incident, such as some bloke wolf whistling to his mates sitting behind us while standing in the centre aisle in the last 5 minutes of the film as he was bored and wanted to go.
    Worst and last time was when this total skanger couple arrive 20 min into the film, his first move before sitting down is to stick his ar$e directly across my line of sight as he roots through a nice loud Dunne Stores bag he for some reason had stuck conveniently under the seat for crisps and other nice rustly treats.
    Next move was to sharply elbow my arm off the side rest and put his there with his elbow thoughtfully placed under my ribs, all the while eyeballing me from the side.
    Then he decides to vigourously rub the stubble on his head, producing an impressive mist of dead skin cells which lazily floated across my view, staring at me again, perhaps to see how long I could hold my breathe in the cloud.
    His partner meanwhile is running a commentary on the film with such insightful exclamations as "jaysus will ye luck a dat!" or "Jaysus dats bleedin terribill".

I left shortly afterwards with my date (first and last with the girl coincidentally) and have never gone back to the place.

I agree with KTRIC

Pepper spray and/or tear gas, or even Elephant Tranquilizer darts can be very useful for shutting up the plastic bag rustlers and chavs . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

normally never have a problem...

but there was one time during the film festival, me and monkeyfudge were watching this film called a the bothersome man, when about 30 minutes from the end this family (i think it was a family) walks in, talking quite loudly, laughing etc. They walk all the way up the back talking...then back down again to sit in the front row...still talking excessivly loud. Then they finally look at the film they are in...immeaditly start argueing with each other and run out of the film.

it seems they walked into the wrong theatre...its shocking that they got that far without noticing...or without the ticketperson stopping them and pointing it out.

It was in f*cking Iclandic..how the feck do you not cop on your in the wrong film if it was in another bloody language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭bruce wayne

well my visit to see x men 3 in cineworld was compleatly ruined by the two people sitting next to me practally having sex......to be honest she looking like bit of a thai hooker and yer man was a fat ugly.....way older man.....odd couple....but really irritating had to concentrate really hard on watching the movie....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

I make sure to go to off-peak screenings and avoid a lot of the ignorant populus :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

First show of the day in Cineworld is generally fine, unless it's a children's film. Methinks the clan of scang are not early risers. Subtitles tend to weed them out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

spurious wrote:
    Subtitles tend to weed them out too.
    Not always. I watched Passion of the Christ in UGC (or Cineworld as the kids are calling it these days). Some skanger girl behind me answered her phone yelling, "Hello Mah? Oim in da pictures!" Luckily someone turned to her and told her to "Shut the hell up or get the hell out". She tried to defend herself by saying, "Not like you need to hear it". Suffice to say we shut her up...

My funniest cinema experience was Jurassic Park 3 in Ballinasloe where some kid behind me grabbed my hair every time something 'scary' happened. I also say a young girl being escourted out by an embaressed mother while the kid wailed, "A dnosaur, dinosaur! Waaaaghhhh!!!!!" through her tears. Now this was at the point where you first see the Spinosaurus. Going to see Jurassic park, what where you honestly expecting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 supernic

When i was at the film festival, these 3 walked into a film 3/4 of the way in and started talking really really loudly, and swearing about how no one was moving to give them a seat. even though people were quietly trying to tell them that they must have come into the wrong cinema (how did they get in?), they were too busy being d**kheads to listen. d**ckheads.

oh, and for the record this was at Cineworld...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

supernic...i believe we where in the same film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I havnt been to a movie in Cineworld since I went to see Wedding Crashers.. It was the 5pm showing on a Friday.. Gang of about 8 scumbags sitting at the back. I was about 6 rows in front of them.

They were talking all through the movie and some people including myself were doing the usual 'shuh' thing.. Anyway about an hour of this and they started moving into different seats and throwing bits of popcorn etc at people.

My blood was boiling at this stage and nobody else was doing anything so next minute I had one of those out of body experiences where you do something and not realise you are doing it.

I just stood up, turned around and said. "If you lot dont shut the f*ck up I will go up there and knock 7 different types of ****e out of you, not sit the f*ck down or get out"... and do you know what... they didnt say a thing after that.. i suppose it could have went the other way and they could have jumped me and battered me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭K!LL!@N

Irish people just don't complain enough.
    I'm guilty of it myself.
    We'll sit through a film with people talking, we'll eat crap food in a restaurant or whatever.
    Will we complain to someone that can do something about it? No.
    Will we regale our friends and family with stories of people ruining the film we went to see or about the horrible dinner we ate? Yes.

I'm living in the US now and generally people here just don't accept bad service.
    If there are people talking during a film, they will be "Sssssh'd" by at least one person.
    If they continue they might get "Ssssssh'd" again.
    If they still continue then they're going to end up getting thrown out, i've seen it happen quite a few times.

All it takes is a quick word with a member of staff.
    I can guarantee everyone else in the cinema will be grateful and you'll feel pretty good about yourself too.
    You could also snag yourself some free passes for your troubles if you push the issue.

The worst thing you can do is just sit there.

Killian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

supernic wrote:
    When i was at the film festival, these 3 walked into a film 3/4 of the way in and started talking really really loudly, and swearing about how no one was moving to give them a seat. even though people were quietly trying to tell them that they must have come into the wrong cinema (how did they get in?), they were too busy being d**kheads to listen. d**ckheads.

oh, and for the record this was at Cineworld...
    Ha... Yes... I too was at that screening.

I wonder just how many boardsies they managed to upset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

I went to see X-men 3 when it came out in Dundrum, two girls come in before the trailers start and begin to chat to one another in a normal voice. This doesn't really bother me as long as they shut up when the movie starts. 5 minutes into the movie they still haven't stopped chatting, so i leaned over to the girl beside me and said " I haven't paid €20 to listen to you two chat, so will you kindly shut the fcuk up".
    Which they did, ten minutes later they get up and leave. i never really saw the point of them going to the film.
    But usually i never have any trouble with other making noise.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I must pick good showings to go to. Very, very rarely have this kind of problem. And am a regular attende of Cineworld. Although my current annoyance is the odd laugher. My worst case was at a show of Little Miss Sunshine when we had someone right in front of us with the most bizarre laugh ever. And they found every single line comical.
    But yesterday I was at Letters from Iwo Jima and we had one. Which was odd because it was the most humourless film ive had the unpleasantness to endure in a long while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I find that if you tell them to be quite, they do. Well, for me, anyhoo's.

If a 6 foot 6 man stands up and tells you to "shut the f**k up!", I'd say you generally would.

[quote=supernic]When i was at the film festival, these 3 walked into a film 3/4 of the way in and started talking really really loudly, and swearing about how no one was moving to give them a seat. even though people were quietly trying to tell them that they must have come into the wrong cinema (how did they get in?), they were too busy being d**kheads to listen. d**ckheads.

oh, and for the record this was at Cineworld...[/quote]
    Ah. Screen hopers. Usually, they go from one screen to another, and create a disturbance. See above. If anyone annoys me enough, in the cinema, I'll either tell them to shut the **** up, or ask the staff to kick them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Ah yes the odd laugh. I went to see Hot Fuzz (in the IMC Dundalk). At that where the fat fellow runs into the fence a guy about 5 rows in front of me started making this really loud giggling/laughing noise. it was one of the most bizarre things I have ever heard. Infact everyone in the cinema was laughing at him more than the scene itself. Its strange since that bit was in all the trailers. Its like he didn't expect it to happen. I mean it was the most obvious joke in the whole film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 dafresh

Some people here seem a little too sensitive....If you can't handle someone eating their popcorn of M&Ms or laughing in a comedy (not everyone sees the trailers!) then stay at home

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Bradidup

Its the crunching and the rattling of papers that drives me mad in the movie theatre, unfortunately with the revenue they make from the rip off charges one pays for pop corn, sweets and other garbage this is not going to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

DamoKen wrote:
    gave up on Cineworld a few years back, always seemed to be one or 2 minor incident, such as some bloke wolf whistling to his mates sitting behind us while standing in the centre aisle in the last 5 minutes of the film as he was bored and wanted to go.
    Worst and last time was when this total skanger couple arrive 20 min into the film, his first move before sitting down is to stick his ar$e directly across my line of sight as he roots through a nice loud Dunne Stores bag he for some reason had stuck conveniently under the seat for crisps and other nice rustly treats.
    Next move was to sharply elbow my arm off the side rest and put his there with his elbow thoughtfully placed under my ribs, all the while eyeballing me from the side.
    Then he decides to vigourously rub the stubble on his head, producing an impressive mist of dead skin cells which lazily floated across my view, staring at me again, perhaps to see how long I could hold my breathe in the cloud.
    His partner meanwhile is running a commentary on the film with such insightful exclamations as "jaysus will ye luck a dat!" or "Jaysus dats bleedin terribill".

I left shortly afterwards with my date (first and last with the girl coincidentally) and have never gone back to the place.

Are you sure that you were not at a Fianna Fail Ard-Fheis ? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Agree with the Cineworld bashing. Invariably any time I've ever been witness to muppetry in a cinema it's been at this place.

I avoid the place like the plague if I can and these days I just use a combo of Savoy/Screen/IFI. Between them they show pretty much everything Cineworld does and all without the mcmovie-moron element.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭TCollins

I've stopped goig to the cinema because of the noise from people.
    I actually ended up hitting someone the last time when he answered his phone beside me. Told him to shut up and he just turned around and went back to talking on the phone so i lamped him.
    I Left before he got the staff back to me and never went to the cinema since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I'd be wary enough of telling somone to STFU in the cinema. First of all, if someone is acting the wanker in the cinema they're probably a scumbag. Also, I notice an increasing trend of people going to the cinema with drink taken. Confronting a drunk scumbag about their behaviour may well lead to a fight. I have heard of a couple of incidents where this happened.

So basically if you tell some eejit to keep quiet just be prepared for what may happen next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

The Screen cinema is probably about the best cinema to go to..

You don't get the skangers and you don't get the absolute pretentious f*cks who go to the IFI who are just as bad at making noise and will get up and walk out of a film half way through if it offends their sensitive sensibilities.

Worst popcorn in the city though... too much salt.

I work in a cinema (not gonna say which for obvious reasons). If one person comes out to us and complains, we will check out the situation, and if needs be we will remove the people from the cinema.

Just tell someone!

I was at the cinema a few weeks back and a group of about ten walked in halfway through the film. They were talking when they came in and continued to do so till they found seats, which took time a few minutes.

They proceeded to talk amongst themselves and one of them make a phone call and asked what happened during the first hour of the film. This was a Friday night and the place was about a quarter full. I asked them to be quiet as did a girl. They continued to talk and both of us went out to complain. An employee came in to check, but of course they were sitting quietly watching the film. He said he couldn’t do anything and left. The group then started talking again as well as throwing stuff at me and the girl who complained.

To cut a long story short, it ended with the film being stopped, the group being kicked out and me being jumped while walking home that night.

The thing that annoys me most is the number of people who were quiet happy to pay 9 euro to see a film and then just sit there while a group of people ruined the entire experience.

People haven’t gotten louder they’ve jut got more tolerant of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Beelzebub

I work in a cinema (not gonna say which for obvious reasons). If one person comes out to us and complains, we will check out the situation, and if needs be we will remove the people from the cinema.

Just tell someone!

Good advice Regina Moldy Jib, I've always found cinema staff to be most helpful in these situations.
    All I can say is keep up the good work, some of us do appreciate you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

The problem with most cinemas isn't the staff themselves, but the numbers. there aren't enough staff to have one present in every screen all the time, which is what you need to ensure people dont gatecrash or talk all the time.

If you really want to know the worst thing thats EVER happened to me in the cinema, I used work in the bar in cineworld. One evening, this junkie comes in, pukes on the floor of the bar, walks out, pukes on the first floor foyer, then disappears somewhere.

I look at the two lads who are on with me, both of whom give puppy dog eyes and say "if I smell it, i'll get sick too!"

So Neil goes and cleans pile of vomit #1. Its within my area, and I'm expecting some floor staff to come down and clean up the other pile of vomit they've put a "wet floor" sign over.

so I wait. and wait. and wait.....

eventually after watching so many customers retch that I'm pretty sure there'll soon be two piles of vomit, I go clean up that one. and THAT, my friends, is where i swept up something that i'm pretty sure was a junkies tooth.

Needless to say, I was glad I had handed in my notice that day, told the bosses I was taking my last hour off, and called in sick for the rest of my notice time. Didn't even want to THINK of going back there after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Obviously you have to watch who you tell to shut the f*ck up in the cinema. HOwever I hate having to walk out and miss a few minutes of a film that I've paid to see because some ignorant little ****e doesn't know how to behave in public.

Went to see Bobby a month or so back and had to resort to using my 'scary guy voice' to tell a bunch of teenagers in no uncertain terms that they were going to shut the f*ck up right now. I hate having to do it - not because I feel bad for the little bastards but because it annoys me and distracts from watching the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

yeah have to say its really annoying when that **** happens, but id be careful about taking it into your own hands like, could make things worse.

I'm 6ft5 and find it kinda hard to sit in some cinemas, and usually have to fold my legs or sit slouched, and the odd time id usually bump a chair but id say sorry, few times now ive had mouths turn round telling me to watch myself or ill get bashed, and its funny walking by them when its over towering over them.

Same goes for if im whispering to my girlfriend or friend, having someone turn round and tell me to hush or they will break my neck.....

go a the good times, late night or early morning :)

i nvr see a film i really wna c at peak times, i always go morning or late night, its always best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

The IMC in Dun Laoghaire is also notorious for having more then it's fair share of muppets in the audience. Infact, I actually cannot remember going to see a movie in the IMC that was completely incident free! There is always some idiots there that ruin it for the rest of us, be it a group of skangers messing around or some teenage girls talking non-stop :mad:

The worst experience I have had though was in Cineworld a few months ago. I went to see 'Blood Diamond' in one of the smaller screens and I sat infront of a group of people that were chatting loudly in a foreign dialect. The movie hadn't even started so no harm there. But once it started the chatting persisted. A few people, including myself tried to 'Shhhhhh' them but they only lowered their voices and kept on talking. Anyway, a steward was called and they got a warning. But still, through the whole movie I could hear a faint whisper coming from behind me. It actually became apparent that one of the people in the group was actually translating the dialogue for the person beside them! Unbelievable! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Deliverance

yeah have to say its really annoying when that **** happens, but id be careful about taking it into your own hands like, could make things worse.

I'm 6ft5 and find it kinda hard to sit in some cinemas, and usually have to fold my legs or sit slouched, and the odd time id usually bump a chair but id say sorry, few times now ive had mouths turn round telling me to watch myself or ill get bashed, and its funny walking by them when its over towering over them.

Same goes for if im whispering to my girlfriend or friend, having someone turn round and tell me to hush or they will break my neck.....

go a the good times, late night or early morning :)

i nvr see a film i really wna c at peak times, i always go morning or late night, its always best
    Ha ha, that's good advice from the tall man. Maybe cinemas should hire bouncers like in nightclubs. Anyway the early and late shows are the best for those who want the full experience of the movie as serious movie goers, and choice of cinema is also apparent.

To be fair everyone enjoys movies in their own way, some teens get their kicks by being loud and impressing boyfriends by screeching for some attention and boyfriends love said attention that's life, how many guys have taken a girl to a horror film knowing that said film gets the hugs and attention.

You can't ban a movie goer for their choice just choose the movie going times that suit you best. Fair play it is entertainment after all. Each to their own.

Simple rules for attending the cinema.

1: Enter screen
    2: Shut the f*ck up
    3: Watch the film
    4: Leave film when ends

I think if everyone managed to follow these rules then it would be an enjoyable expierience for all.

very simple rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

KTRIC wrote:
    1: Enter screen
    2: Shut the f*ck up
    3: Watch the film
    4: Leave film when ends

/me enlarges, prints and sticks to local cinema screen doors

very simple rules.

Yes they are , but the trouble makers in cinemas tend to be very simple people so I was trying to make it as easy as possible for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭caffrey

those rules look pretty good. I totally agree with the hatred of loudness in the cinema. eating noise is the thing that annoys me most. Close your damn mouth!! this problem is not always a problem only found in the cinema i have friends that are bad at this simple function that should have been mastered by most people past the age of say 5 and before the age of ~95.

There are problems of unneccesary noise from people in many places but i shall not rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I just don't bother going to the cinema a whole lot. I go early or very late as mentioned where there is alot less. Major annoyances are, phone rings and rings.

"Ah right hows it going..noo noo its fine I can talk...dunno what the **** it is, some ****e..blah blah blah.."

Don't bother coming in if you have no intention of watching it, whether you paid or most likely didn't. Stay at home, bastids.

KTRIC wrote:
    Yes they are , but the trouble makers in cinemas tend to be very simple people so I was trying to make it as easy as possible for them.
    I agree, but I don't think they will listen, being simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

I went to the cinema with my mom and my dad a few months ago - my dad is in his 70's and my mom is in her late 60's now so they really grew up in a different world to us.

Anyway I was watching the film and my mom was beside me, I noticed my Dad turning around in his seat about half an hour in. Thought nothing of it, then about 10 minutes later he turns around again and says in a very vicious voice, "Keep your ****in feet on the floor!!" to a guy about my age (mid twenties) who appeared to be out with his girlfriend... I nearly wet myself trying to keep the laughter in.

Apparently the guy was hitting off the back of my Dad's seat. Anyway, the guy didnt say anything back, and presumably stopped hitting the back of my Dad's seat. Case closed, maybe we should all take a leaf out of my dad's book when it comes to dealing with cinematic annoyances. I would generally just ignore such things in an effort to try and enjoy the film as much as possible in a similar vein to other posters.

Damn whipper snappers :D