Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blatently false advertising!

• 06-03-2007 11:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

When have you ever seen an Abrakebabra like this at 1am?

false-ad.jpg
    falsed-ad2.jpg

Where's the fights? Where's people throwing chips? Where's the scrum to get to the counter? Where's the drunken girl being held up by her mate? Where's the flys in the burgers? Where's all the other crap?

Television .. pfft !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

You forgot the person passed out in jacks!

Jaysus i could murder a kebab right now...

• the hammered prick stealing people's chips...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

ha ha, just saw that add 5 minutes ago and i was thinking the same thing.

At first i thought it was going to be an add about drink driving or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

and those people seem to be enjoying their food. blatantly false advertising!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,644 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Whers the bloke on the bicycle wearing waders and superman y-fronts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

and those people seem to be enjoying their food. blatantly false advertising!!!!!

QFT

No matter how much advertising they do, it will always be the 2am 'licking the floor' drunk kebab place. If they changed their menu they might attract a different clientelle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭antSionnach

Have you ever seen people go in and eat there during the day? wtf!?

I blame Redz, if it wasn't for them I'd never give AK my custom...

And where's the big black or asian security guard?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

abra in donnybrook can look like that, especially during the ol anabels days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

You sure you don't mean Eddie Rockets? That place in Donnybrook is just a dive, bad memories of sitting there for hours... tired... waiting... sober!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Kebab chic :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

It would look more accurate if it was a turd she was holding, she had no teeth, and there was a syringe hanging out of her eye ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Yeah what's up with that.
    I want to see fat people dancing around in fast-food restaurant advertisements.
    Jiggling their big fat bellies to those catchy jingles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Bradidup

ciaranfo wrote:

false-ad.jpg
    falsed-ad2.jpg

Where's the fights? Where's people throwing chips? Where's the scrum to get to the counter? Where's the drunken girl being held up by her mate? Where's the flys in the burgers? Where's all the other crap?

Television .. pfft !
    This advertisement could have been filmed on the 25th december?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

"1AM, Nearly There."

Am I the only person who took that to mean "in here knickers" by the look the guy is giving the girl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Yeah that's what i thought...........pfft, he's a bit of work to do if you ask me!!!

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Yeah that's what i thought...........pfft, he's a bit of work to do if you ask me!!!

I'd say she's more interested in a bit of kebab than a bit of sausage anyway. :D

Aye and he looks like a right desperate twat as well. He's paying her too much attention imo, he should be playing it kool and the gang!!! He might as well not exist because she's locked onto the kebab on the table.......I'd say she might be a todger dodger but then when you cop a sight of yer man, ye can't really blame her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

haha, good 'ol Abra, one of the things I miss about home... I've never seen a kebab look like that though in all my visits to Abra...

I did one time manage to sum up the courage to make a visit to Abra during the day for a taco chip... never again. Only tastes good after a feed of beer, not that I need to tell anyone :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

jester77 wrote:
    I did one time manage to sum up the courage to make a visit to Abra during the day for a taco chip... never again. Only tastes good after a feed of beer, not that I need to tell anyone :o

lol, QFT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭SteveS

I wish they had them over here. Certainly isn't any worse than other fast food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,051 ✭✭✭Gaspode

ciaranfo wrote:

false-ad.jpg
    falsed-ad2.jpg

Television .. pfft !

ciaranfo, so glad someone else spotted how ridiculous that ad is - I saw it last night and LMAO! I am assuming that they are being sarcastic and have their tongue firmly in their cheek.
    Even at 1 in the day, nobody is in there smiling in their suits and clean clothes, never mind in the small hours of the morning!

Last time I went near haveakebra the bouncers told me not to go in as it was full of skangers boxing the crap each other, and even they were'nt going in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

this ad was on in the pub and everyone burst into laughter when abrakebabra poppedup on the screen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Maybe AK is actually really like that but we're always too drunk to consider the wellbeing of the family in the corner trying to enjoy their quality meal served by the friendly staff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Maybe AK is actually really like that but we're always too drunk to consider the wellbeing of the family in the corner trying to enjoy their quality meal served by the friendly staff...
    lol

"Mammy, what's that over there? (pointing at the guy chewing on his arm instead of his kebab)
    "Don't look Billy - finish your chips!", afterwards we'll goto Dr Quirkys!

or something ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

themole wrote:
    ha ha, just saw that add 5 minutes ago and i was thinking the same thing.

At first i thought it was going to be an add about drink driving or something.

I think everyone has this same vision, well everyone in my house seemed to anyway, great ad!
    What's the deal with him dancin around like a twat before he goes to abra? Does that just mean ya have to be completely wasted after a long night's drinkin and makin an arse of yourself before ya can set foot in there?!

Im ashamed to say I was in Stabra last week and wasn't really that drunk!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Archeron

Was it not an Abra that Des Bishop worked in as part of that work experience show in waterford? Seeing life from the other (sober) side of the counter genuinely sent a chill down my spine. Dozens of drunk gibbons clambering for deep fried muck before collapsing face first into a BBQ sauce in the corner and hurling drunken abuse at the staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

jester77 wrote:
    haha, good 'ol Abra, one of the things I miss about home...

Are you nuts....Do you not have those Turkish kebab-eries in Germany that actually fresh ingredients....mmm so good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

zuutroy wrote:
    Are you nuts....Do you not have those Turkish kebab-eries in Germany that actually fresh ingredients....mmm so good!

Very true, the kebabs here are in a totally differernt league!

If you've been to AK in Galway (is there a worse one in Ireland?) you will know what I mean here, you'll have people falling on the stairs, people puking at the door, usually a scrap going on and the massive squeeze to get to the counter to get your order in... good times :D Definetly not to food I miss, haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Archeron wrote:
    Was it not an Abra that Des Bishop worked in as part of that work experience show in waterford?

yes it was. that particular Abrakebabra was an absolute dive. fear for your life sort of place. they have since moved to the other side of the street but i have never ventured in there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭tamburlaine

Dragan wrote:
    "1AM, Nearly There."

Am I the only person who took that to mean "in here knickers" by the look the guy is giving the girl?

And the guy next to him wouldn't be giving that respectful, astonished, you are the man look. What usually happens is the drunken dope next to you fancies his chances with anyone's girlfriend or wife, insults you, and wonders even regardless of their own looks what she's doing with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

Archeron wrote:
    Was it not an Abra that Des Bishop worked in as part of that work experience show in waterford? Seeing life from the other (sober) side of the counter genuinely sent a chill down my spine. Dozens of drunk gibbons clambering for deep fried muck before collapsing face first into a BBQ sauce in the corner and hurling drunken abuse at the staff.

I know a fair few heads who were shíting themselves in case they were filmed. It was funny to watch, thankfully myself or none of my immediate family were featured in it.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Archeron wrote:
    Was it not an Abra that Des Bishop worked in as part of that work experience show in waterford? Seeing life from the other (sober) side of the counter genuinely sent a chill down my spine. Dozens of drunk gibbons clambering for deep fried muck before collapsing face first into a BBQ sauce in the corner a:cool: nd hurling drunken abuse at the staff.

yeah but the unfunny prick didnt help the situation by racially abusing the irish customers.Saying stuff like "in every other country in the world..blah blah" like he knew what he was talking about the rich-kid american knobhead.If you're gonna work in abra drunken crap comes with the territory and he should've been fired for getting lippy with customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Speaking from experience?:p

I worked in Abra for a while durning college for some extra money. Are you saying you have a problem with people who need to work in these jobs for some reason? Thats it's something it's okay to look down on someone for? :confused: :rolleyes:

Speaking from experience?:p

I'm never trying that.. I've had a good 8 or 9 of them, all when i was mouldy of course. Its gonna stay that way.

I never worked there specificly but i have worked in the service industry when i was younger,you've got to start somewhere.Why is it that some college boys think they're above certain jobs?They look down thier noses at serving food but welcome the oppurtunity to be a badly-paid gopher in an office somewhere.

Aye ya have to start somewhere, wherever it may be, you'll always want to improve on it.

This whole attitude about getting the perfect job first time is stupid and unattainable.........the kids these days have no work ethic and quite frankly, it disgusts me!!!!

Kenny 5 wrote:
    .....the kids these days have no work ethic and quite frankly, it disgusts me!!!!

See the passion??

Kenny 5 for President says I? Quite frankly it needs to happen!

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Aye ya have to start somewhere, wherever it may be, you'll always want to improve on it.

This whole attitude about getting the perfect job first time is stupid and unattainable.........the kids these days have no work ethic and quite frankly, it disgusts me!!!!

They soon learn the realities of life when they realise nobody wants to employ a 19 year old fresh from college with no work experience,communication skills or cop-on.My job is taking college graduates on at 19 grand and they're lucky to have it!

Seriously, they need to get out there and learn "Do you want fries with that?" or "Would you like to go large?".......instead it's, "Daddy I need some new dubes, cough over the shekels or I'll never speak to you again" :rolleyes:

Kenny 5 wrote:
    "Would you like to go large?"

Thats what i ask all the local girls. :D

lol-arific!!!! I used to be good with the girls too till super-size got taken off the menu!!! :D

hehe..i said "service" industry..hehe hehe uhuhuhuh!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭DeBeere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭maxi-twist

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Seriously, they need to get out there and learn "Do you want fries with that?" or "Would you like to go large?".......

Gonna disagree with u here.Certainly i would not be willing to do that.My rents dont give me money,but i believe that ANYWHERE is better than working in mdonalds! Especially daddys business! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

Guys, turns out Lynx was right. Just this morning I sprayed some Voodoo on me and I was mobbed by 5 stark naked women who were stunningly beautiful and made sweet love to me for about 5 hours.

Wow....:o

So Glad wrote:
    Guys, turns out Lynx was right. Just this morning I sprayed some Voodoo on me and I was mobbed by 5 stark naked women who were stunningly beautiful and made sweet love to me for about 5 hours.

Wow....:o

And your only realising this now??

How did it feel to lose your virginity? :D

maxi-twist wrote:
    Gonna disagree with u here.Certainly i would not be willing to do that.My rents dont give me money,but i believe that ANYWHERE is better than working in mdonalds! Especially daddys business! ;)

And here we have the problem.
    I used to be snobby about it too, but that was before I had any job. Then I grew up.