Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RedFM - Cork Talks Back Airsoft Discussion tonight

• 06-03-2007 5:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭

Just got a phone call from a friend in RedFM asking me if I wanted to come on air tonight to defend Airsoft in a debate. Apparently some Superintendent was on the Evening Echo calling for Airsoft and BB Guns to be banned, and they're going to debate it on the show after 9. I can't go on air, as I'll be at a gig, but it would be no harm if there's people from Munster on here who could.

I mentioned Airsoft Ireland, and the fact that there's teams and tournaments, and the fact that it's no more anti-pc than Quasar, or even Super Soakers, but it would be great if someone could make an eloquent argument and defend the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Do you have any idea what time it will be on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Here you go Liam :)
    ned78 wrote:
    they're going to debate it on the show after 9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

If you wanna listen, go here
    http://www.redfm.ie/default.html

...and click 'listen to live stream' on the left.

It sucks that the moaners are getting publicity :(

I'll email in on: corktalksback@redfm.ie

Ye can text on: 086 827 333 6

For those with the balls to ring (not me): 1850 704 106

edit:

I'm gonna email them with a link to the site :)www.irishairsoftassociation.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Irish Trinity

would they listen to a 12 year old :o lol

i'm definatly going on to hear it tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Sent the following email:

I've just been told that there may be a discussion on your show about the new sport in Ireland called Airsoft. If so, I hope that it as not as blatantly biased as another recent radio discussion about the sport. Please provide a balanced debate and ensure that all parties involved have actually attended an Airsoft game.

I think I already know what concerns will be raised by the anti-airsoft group, so please allow me to try address these concerns in advance:

1. Airsoft is dangerous.
    Since the sport was invented (4-5 years ago), there has been only 1 recorded death worldwide, and it was not during an Airsoft game. There are less than 500 recorded serious injuries from the sport worldwide, and I imagine that these were due to inadequate safety measures. Rugby, soccer, boxing & martial arts result in proportionally far more injuries and deaths. An average day in an airsoft game will leave a few small light bruises to exposed skin. By comparison, paintball marker guns fire the paintballs with 14 times more energy that an airsoft gun....need I say more?

2. These airsoft guns are being sold to children over the counter.
    I seriously doubt this. Airsoft guns cost in excess of €200 and that's not including shipping or VAT. The Irish Airsoft community is only aware of one irish retailer that sells airsoft guns and they do not sell to children. Any 'guns' being sold in markets etc are mostly likely springer pistols imported from spain or similar countries. These guns are NOT airsoft guns (which are electric or gas powered). Please also note that Pellet Guns and BB guns are different from Airsoft guns as well. The Irish Airsoft Association which is just being formed to self-regulate the sport recommends that children only be allowed to use airsoft guns on approved sites and under strict adult supervision.

3. Airsoft guns can & are being used by criminals for illegal purposes.
    So are kitchen knives, baseball bats, hurley's etc. You cannot blame & punish the entire airsoft community just because of the actions of a few criminals. At least with the airsoft guns, you can't actually be seriously injured. Given the choice, I'd rather someone threatened me with an airsoft gun instead of a knife.

4. Airsoft guns look too real.
    Only the most expensive airsoft guns are full metal replica's. The vast majority have obvious plastic components. Yes, at a distance they look quite real, but from a few feet away it's easy to see the difference. This is especially true when looking down the barrel since it has a much smaller diameter than a real gun.

5. Airsoft serves no positive purpose.
    There are many cross-border games with airsoft, and each time I meet other airsofters from the north, I make new friends. To date, I have seen only a growing north-south friendship and people enjoying themselves without thoughts of religion, politics or nationality. The sport also builds team-working skills and boost self confidence. It is also the only sport that I know of that can be played by teenagers/adults of all ages, sex & fitness. It is great exercise that can be as strenuous or relaxed as you like.

This sport has been played in the UK, Japan, America, Canada, Australia and other countries for many years without any major issues. Lets not rush in head first and make snap decisions based on myths, half-truths and rumor. This is a serious sport with players that are committed to making this work in Ireland. Give us a chance before you shoot us down (pun intended).

I'd love to phone in to your show regarding this, but it won't be possible this evening due to prior commitments. I have asked a friend to record the show for me though.

Thanks for your time and apologies for the long email. I look forward to hearing your show.

Anthony.

Could somebody try find a nice picture of an airsoft player wearing camo gear, smiling (not wearing a mask)? lol

I wanna get rid of the picture of Fiach on the IAA website, and put up a less intimidating picture, before I send in a link to the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Since the sport was invented (4-5 years ago), there has been only 1 recorded death worldwide, and it was not during an Airsoft game.

WTF! did you really think it was a good idea to bring up the fact that somebody died! The details on that story are so rediculously vague that for all we know it may never have happened, not that that matters now anyone who does ring in should now be prepared to be told that airsoft weapons have killed. Cheers Rabbit
    I'd love to phone in to your show regarding this

If you are going to add fuel to their fire its probably best you dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

DaveMcG wrote:
    Could somebody try find a nice picture of an airsoft player wearing camo gear, smiling (not wearing a mask)? lol

I wanna get rid of the picture of Fiach on the IAA website, and put up a less intimidating picture, before I send in a link to the site.

http://img.hexus.net/v2/gaming/airsoft/airsoft_1.jpg Nice because of the plastic look to the gun.

http://img.hexus.net/v2/gaming/airsoft/airsoft_4.jpg Because he looks as scary as me (meaning, not very)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

What about the group picture taken on the ASI birthday shoot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Jesus ... Rabbit.

firstly, where the hell do you find these statistics? Are your sources credible? If bringing up the topic of injury isnt bad enough dropping random facts and figures with no citation is insane and makes us look like flakes will to say anything to have our way.

Secondly - 4-5 years? You dont qualify this statement and in its bare state it is utterly wrong. The first Airsoft rifles were gas powered (way above 1 joule) and were available in the early to mid 80's (referred to as classic Airsoft (see wikipaedia). You make the sport sound like little more than a passing fad akin to happy-slapping.

Third. The death. It is an urban legend that has absolutely no supporting or credible evidence. who died? How did they die? What were the circumstances? all you did with this comment was state that Airsoft kills. Not what I would call conducive to positive public relations.

Look, I get that you are trying to help and that you are genuinely concerned for the future of the sport but please. Leave the Journalism, public relations and debate to people who know what they are doing because a few wrong or ill considered words do far more harm than good.

Here's mine...........

I'm gonna send it from admin(at)irishairsoftassociation.com !!! :D:D:D
    Hello,

I have been informed that you will be discussing the unregulated sale of BB guns on your show tonight, Tuesday 6th March.

I am writing in anticipation of a negative response from listeners when the argument is put to them by a Garda Superintendant that BB guns should be outlawed as a result of some shops carelessly selling them to minors.

The "BB guns" that are to be discussed are used in a sport called 'Airsoft', which is a combat simulation game almost identical to paintball, and which is played in designated venues all over Europe, Asia, and America. The main difference between the sports is that the equipment used in Airsoft looks more realistic, and shoots little plastic balls rather than paintballs, with the former producing a fraction of the amount of energy produced by the latter.

Airsoft equipment was illegal until a few months ago, when the Criminal Justice Act 2006 amended the definition of 'firearm' under the Firearms Act, to exclude equipment with a muzzle energy under 1 Joule of energy. This means that Airsoft equipment can be bought legally and without regulation, thus leaving it open to abuse. By way of comparison, because paintball guns produce a muzzle energy in excess of 10 Joules, they are considered firearms, and as such require a firearm certificate to possess.

Airsoft participants are aware of the problems present since the change in legislation legalised the equipment. We are not putting our heads in the sand, and are highly critical of any and every shop that sells the guns to minors, or sells them as toys, when they are in fact sporting equipment, and should be treated with the same level of respect and safety as any other such equipment.

To address the problems presented by the sudden arrival of Airsoft in the Republic, a number of participants of the sport have formed what is to become a representative group for players, and a guiding body for all matters relating to airsoft in this country.

The Irish Airsoft Association (IAA) hopes to regulate the sport in order to eradicate problems such as sale to minors. We hope to provide structure and administration to airsoft in Ireland, in a similar manner to the FAI act in relation to football. We will act in the best interests of members of the IAA, as well as the Irish public, and liaise with airsoft venues around the country to ensure that they provide a safe and friendly environment in which to partake in the sport.

I urge you to point your listeners in the direction of our website, www.irishairsoftassociation.com , and have them read the 'About' section, to find out in more detail what the sport entails and how we are hoping to address the problems you discuss on your show, without resorting to the knee-jerk reaction of illegalisation.

One sentence that I have heard to sum up the sport is the following: 'Airsoft is nothing but a bunch of grown-ups playing soldier'. That's all it is, and it's nothing to be alarmed about once it is done in the safe manner envisaged by all participants.

Please read this email out on your show in the interest of journalistic balance.

N.O.I.P. wrote:
    WTF! did you really think it was a good idea to bring up the fact that somebody died! The details on that story are so rediculously vague that for all we know it may never have happened, not that that matters now anyone who does ring in should now be prepared to be told that airsoft weapons have killed. Cheers Rabbit

If you are going to add fuel to their fire its probably best you dont

I was waiting for your typically negative comment. I can't seem to do anything right in your opinion...

I specified that it was not during an airsoft game, which afterall, is what we are trying to protect.

1 death in 5 years, outside an official sporting game is still a pretty damn good record.

If we paint a totally rose-tinted picture of airsoft, people will not believe it. Tell them that airsoft is extremly safe, but there are exceptionally rare serious injuries and even more rarely death(s), and it will come across as being an honest depiction of the sport. Lets be realistic here, a shot at point blank range from a 1J+ airsoft gun (legal or not) to the unprotected eye could kill.

People don't appreaciate it when you lie to them, or cover up facts. Honesty is the best policy here since we know that airsoft is very safe. We have nothing to hide.

I'm gonna send it from admin(at)irishairsoftassociation.com !!!

You were joking about that bit right?

That makes it look like the email is coming from the IAA committee which no offense it isnt, by all means send the mail just send it from you personal address

ehh too late, lol

What's the problem with the email that you want to distance the IAA from it?

DaveMcG wrote:
    ehh too late, lol

What's the problem with the email that you want to distance the IAA from it?

Nothing I actually quite like it, hell if I didnt think they'd notice I'd copy it and send it in again with my name at the bottom :D I just think that official statements should be run by the commitee thats all.

That said I guess this means you can now send in another one from your personal email address :D

If we paint a totally rose-tinted picture of airsoft, people will not believe it. Tell them that airsoft is extremly safe, but there are exceptionally rare serious injuries and even more rarely death(s), and it will come across as being an honest depiction of the sport. Lets be realistic here, a shot at point blank range from a 1J+ airsoft gun (legal or not) to the unprotected eye could kill.

Well, this only shows a fundamental ignorance of biology.

Unless the round penetrated the eye itself, passed through the bone socket behind, through the cushioning fluids, the pre frontal lobes AND still had the energy to rupture a vein - their is NO BLOODY WAY AN AIRSOFT ROUND COULD KILL by shooting someone in the eye.

And as for your comment about 1 death in five years being a good record - YOU STILL DONT QUALIFY THIS - WHO?WHAT?WHERE?WHEN?HOW? In all honesty, 1 death in ETERNITY is too many but if you are going to bring it up then at least do the homework and actually EXPLAIN it properly or dont say anything at all.

Unqualified and un-researched statements will only hurt the game in the long run so for the love of Kalashnikov DONT SAY IT UNLESS YOU KNOW IT!!!!

N.O.I.P. wrote:
    Nothing I actually quite like it, hell if I didnt think they'd notice I'd copy it and send it in again with my name at the bottom :D I just think that official statements should be run by the commitee thats all.

That said I guess this means you can now send in another one from your personal email address :D
    Sorry you're right, I put it up here before I actually sent it but I wanted to get it in ASAP to ensure it gets on the show, so I didn't leave it long ¬_¬

In future I'll wait!

ah dont worry about it man lets just hope they read it

Got a reply...........
    Hi David ,thanks for the info- much appreciated! This evenings discussion is about the banning of fake/replica weapons in general and isn’t exactly about airsoft but I have no doubht it will be mentioned throughout the topic. The number for the show is 1850 704 106 or text 086 827 333 6and you can listen online at www.redfm.ie - if you have anything to add do give us a ring!

Best Regards,

Eimear Varian Barry

Producer

Cork Talks Back

Might be worth addressing point such as people using the guns to rob shops.......... If anybody else is emailing in (since I don't wanna flood them with my own), make sure you point out the following.....

(i) If someone wants to rob, they will. With a machine gun or a penknife.
    (ii) What difference does it make if they rob a shop with a gun, or a syringe? If they use the latter, the owners will still hand over the money -- or should if they value the safety of their employees.
    (iii) If people are using airsoft guns rather than real guns, then that's a GOOD thing, because then your life isn't in danger, is it? At worst your vision is in danger.

right looks like we need to send in a fresh batch of mails about how other countries have banned replicas but made an exemption for airsoft. If we keep hammering them with calls and mails we might scare other stations from discussing it :D

Thats interesting.

But chances are that people will see them as the same thing

I cant get a connection to the live stream. Please tell me someone is recording this????

"For some reason we seem to be flooded with calls by people defending airsoft, i dont now why"

Any ideas lads?

We may have been a wee bit "over zealous" ...

... some of us more than others (ahem)

hmmm, the OP might have been a bit mislead about the subject!

Well at least when the Superintendant comes on we'll have lots of responses in there.

I can't record this cos it's streaming from the net, so if ye can't get through, try a different browser.

Well, this only shows a fundamental ignorance of biology.

Unless the round penetrated the eye itself, passed through the bone socket behind, through the cushioning fluids, the pre frontal lobes AND still had the energy to rupture a vein - their is NO BLOODY WAY AN AIRSOFT ROUND COULD KILL by shooting someone in the eye.

And as for your comment about 1 death in five years being a good record - YOU STILL DONT QUALIFY THIS - WHO?WHAT?WHERE?WHEN?HOW? In all honesty, 1 death in ETERNITY is too many but if you are going to bring it up then at least do the homework and actually EXPLAIN it properly or dont say anything at all.

Unqualified and un-researched statements will only hurt the game in the long run so for the love of Kalashnikov DONT SAY IT UNLESS YOU KNOW IT!!!!

Well sorry for having the same knowledge of biology as 95% of the population. And calling me ignorant (even if true) is not a particularly nice way of telling me that my biology knowledge is lacking. Nil points for diplomacy.

I'd send an email to the show recanting the statement about airsoft injuries/deaths except after listening the show for the last 5 mins, the host seems really pissed at us for emailing him. They seem to be talking about replica guns only and not airsoft.

Regarding the death from airsoft, I'll try find the website I read about it on....It seemed well researched to me, but I suppose it could have been faked or something.

I'm on my way out now for the night though....back later.

At least he admitted he wasnt fully informed of what airsoft was and that he wasnt intrested in discussing banning AIRSOFT

I didnt think he sounded pissed of, just confused as to what was going on

I have to go to work so i wont get to listen. whos gonna record it?

Well sorry for having the same knowledge of biology as 95% of the population. And calling me ignorant (even if true) is not a particularly nice way of telling me that my biology knowledge is lacking. Nil points for diplomacy./QUOTE]

Erm ... Rabbit, the word "ignorance" means "to not know or be unknowing of a subject". I didnt say you were "ignorant in general" but merely used the correct word for the correct circumstance.

No sense getting upset about it. You are wrong and making statements about something you cant prove, dont understand or are "ignorant" about is exactly the same behavioour we are trying to combat in the general public.

Im still calling that a victory for the IAA

Right we are 1-0 now, whos next the independent? Come get some :D

Er all I'm getting is Star Wars music :confused:

Why not organise a day where we go to the head quaters of a paper directly and demand to speak with a reporter to tell our side of things?

The start wars bit was for a competition. was very cool actualy.

The Carlow Nationalist is our first stop.

Suprise the F*ck out of those people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

DaveMcG wrote:

I wanna get rid of the picture of Fiach on the IAA website, and put up a less intimidating picture, before I send in a link to the site.[/QUOTE]

:( Next time I take a pic I'll wear a flower in my collar, a peace symbol on my cap and have little fluffy bunny rabbits playing at my feet :p You're probably right though. My style hits a bit too close to the mark.

Why not organise a day where we go to the head quaters of a paper directly and demand to speak with a reporter to tell our side of things?

That could look really aggressive, might be best to wait for the IAA to be finalised and then we can release an official press statement

Fiach Dubh wrote:
    DaveMcG wrote:

I wanna get rid of the picture of Fiach on the IAA website, and put up a less intimidating picture, before I send in a link to the site.[/QUOTE]

:( Next time I take a pic I'll wear a flower in my collar, a peace symbol on my cap and have little fluffy bunny rabbits playing at my feet :p You're probably right though. My style hits a bit too close to the mark.

Just wear the same gear but wear a t-shirt over it saying "No War For Oil" nd you'll be fine.

whens this going to be on?

N.O.I.P. wrote:
    That could look really aggressive, might be best to wait for the IAA to be finalised and then we can release an official press statement

Too right. We should wait until we are fully prepared and then blitz the papers at the same time garnering the fullest media exposure and actively forcing the issue.

i've got it recording at the moment for anyone that cant listen in, have to head out in a bit though, but ill leave it recording if it's not on before i leave

kdouglas wrote:
    i've got it recording at the moment for anyone that cant listen in, have to head out in a bit though, but ill leave it recording if it's not on before i leave

Brilliant, thanks man :D

"For some reason we seem to be flooded with calls by people defending airsoft, i dont now why"

Any ideas lads?

didnt hear him say this... whoops, glad i didnt email in now, lets see what comes up anyway

Well i dont mean demand a reporter at "Airsoft-Gun" point.
    Or even bringing a tonne of airsoft guns at all. I also didnt mean in the next few days but more that we should plan out our approach and then go to the papers as opposed to sending emails and waiting for the papers to get back to us.

N.O.I.P. wrote:
    Exactly. I don't know what marching to the newspaper headquarters would do for the sport. It's not like it's being widely reported or anything. It's been in 1 Carlow paper, and had 5 minutes of discussion on 1 radio station. It may get a mention on this Cork radio station if we're lucky.

Once it's all sorted, get a press release out, then contact some sports magazines. Don't mind the newspapers, it won't do us any favours to approach them, especially not right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭whupass

can't read all 3 pages they talked about it yet???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

No. Talking about CV's now.

ok so it wasn't talked about at the start? i only saw the thread at 930 ish and have been listening since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

was on ASI, supposedly its replicas rather than Airsoft.

Depends what happens bu might call in.

And OMFG, dont mention a death! These are non-lethal weapons!

(Edit: Happy Whupass???)

you might want to edit away the personal attack before it gets edited away, lethal weapon, just a though you know

This is the worst show in the history of radio.

Please please please talk about airsoft ricky f*cking tick so I can turn it off !!!