Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

runners hung out of ESB wires

• 04-03-2007 6:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭

strange, i know, but i've been told that if there's a pair of runners hung from the ESB wire on the entrance of a housing estate that a drug dealer lives in there. ive noticed runners hung from many wires in the past, has any1 else heard anything like this??????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

There was a thread on this a while back and I think the general consensus was that people had heard this, and sometimes it was indicative of criminal behaviour, other times it was just kids stealing shoes.

I have heard it said, and seen the shoes on wires around questionable areas... but it's also more likely that kids are stealing shoes in these areas :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

OP: I think it's just one of those urban myths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

I've heard it from dealer's mouths (through work)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Huh. I've noticed runners hanging from wires or trees in the lane leading up to my house. That's an unpleasant thought. Also, on North Main Street in Cork, there's runners on almost every wire along the street! It's a dodgy area though, and I've no doubt that there's mountains of drug dealing going on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Wise move, letting everyone know you keep a substantial drugs stash inside your home. :rolleyes:

Wouldnt believe it, its just kids of 13 jumping younger kids and stealing their shoes, the way older kids used to do it to them years previously, circle of life :) It may have been the case years ago, but with everyone having mobiles these days I doubt its the case any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Branners

This is what they use as markers over in america, for drug dealing in rough areas

not sure if its used over, probably just kids messing about

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

wow its amazin how these threads recycle themselves! tried to find the old thread but cant, must be archived but yes its true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

It means exactly that in parts of NYC. I've seen it in Queens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

There are runners in all kinds of nice areas - down by the sea in Sandycove, for one!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

sure practically every second esb wire in dublin has runners hanging out of them, kids do it for a laugh. there has been a pair hanging out of the wires outside the stags head for about 10 years...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

luckat wrote:
    There are runners in all kinds of nice areas - down by the sea in Sandycove, for one!

Oh noes, call the police, there's drugs in nice areas too......who would've thunk it?! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Oh noes, call the police, there's drugs in nice areas too......who would've thunk it?! :rolleyes:

Gardai - And you say you have evidence that there is drug dealing going on in your area?

Caller - Definitely, I saw a thread on teh interweb that sealed the case as far as I'm concerned.

Gardai - Right we'll have 10 units around in 2-3 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I thought it came from LA as a mark of respect when a gang member died.
    Reminds me of an old album cover by a band that even the internet doesnt know much about.

http://www.cduniverse.com/images.asp?pid=1385335&style=music&image=front&title=Black+Train+Jack+%2D+You%27re+Not+Alone+CD

Cloud, I think you should ban the OP as you should expect legal proceedings from the drug dealers suing Boards.ie for revealing their massive drug dealing ring and all because the OP uncovered the whole "Runners on a Wire" sign that nobody else in RL knew about it!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

ive noticed runners hung from many wires in the past, has any1 else heard anything like this??????????
    There is not enough question marks for me to understand this is a question.
    /sarcasm

There was a thread about this last summer? A search will prob find it for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭loismustdie

yeah, i am good! didnt know there was already a thread, the runners are very high though would take work to get them there

I think it used to refer to this, but (correct me if I'm wrong) thi.s went on to being a trouser leg rolled up i.e. if your left trouser leg was rolled up, you were selling, or if your right trouser leg was rolled up, you were looking to buy.

This is probably complete tripe, but its what I was told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

My neighbourhood* and a few near me have PC mice hanging off the ESB wires wonder what that means, maybe porno dealers live in the area I'll have to keep an eye out when Im home again :D

*oops, I mean my Irish/parents home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

How many attempts must it take to actually get the runners to hang on the wires? Is it actually worth the effort?

crosstownk wrote:
    How many attempts must it take to actually get the runners to hang on the wires?

crosstownk wrote:
    Is it actually worth the effort?

not really, the buzz doesn't last long.

Throwing runners at ESB wires is lame anyway. We used to throw unravelled wire hangers at them, you'd get this mega fireworks show and everybodies electricity would be gone in the immediate vicinity.........but we had ROFLs so it was all good!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

I've seen this where the nearest habitation was miles away.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

daveym wrote:
    sure practically every second esb wire in dublin has runners hanging out of them, kids do it for a laugh. there has been a pair hanging out of the wires outside the stags head for about 10 years...
    I must never lift my head to look up as I have never noticed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Actually, this isn't an urban legend, it's true. I'm not saying that it's true in 100% of cases, but it's used to identify dealers. I know of times when the shoes were taken off the wires and replaced that same day.

If you see anything like that in your area, there is probably a dealer living or operating nearby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭random_banter

Its true, though id say in this country alot of the time its kids having a laugh!

Slightly OT, but when I was on my J1 in san diego a few years ago, I was cycling home alone down this shortcut I had found, it was like a back street/alleyway thing, but it was the middle of the day, so I figured it was grand and was chuffed with myself for using the shortcut...

Until I looked up and there were litearally HUNDREDS of shoes thrown up over the elec cables going the whole way down the street!

...ive never cycled so fast in my whole life!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Unpossible wrote:
    My neighbourhood* and a few near me have PC mice hanging off the ESB wires wonder what that means, maybe porno dealers live in the area I'll have to keep an eye out when Im home again :D

*oops, I mean my Irish/parents home

i've also seen a computer power cord hanging off one, how the hell it stayed there i dont know, must check to see if it hasnt been blown off by the wind...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I think it used to refer to this, but (correct me if I'm wrong) thi.s went on to being a trouser leg rolled up i.e. if your left trouser leg was rolled up, you were selling, or if your right trouser leg was rolled up, you were looking to buy.
    Bloody Freemason dealers. Ever notice the riualistic handshakes the gangmembers use? Masons everyone of them, I'll bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭NutJob

It has nothing to do with drug dealing

The reason they throw runners up there is its too hard to do it with builders boots.:rolleyes:

Problem solved:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

NutJob wrote:
    It has nothing to do with drug dealing

The reason they throw runners up there is its too hard to do it with builders boots.:rolleyes:

Problem solved:)
    Ever tried it with flip-flops? Biatch of a job, although I've two left feet so technically they were flip-flips...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Kernel wrote:
    If you see anything like that in your area, there is probably a dealer living or operating nearby.
    Another indication that there is a drug dealer living or operating nearby is:

Are you in any reasonably sizeable Irish town or suburb?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

connundrum wrote:
    Gardai - And you say you have evidence that there is drug dealing going on in your area?

Caller - Definitely, I saw a thread on teh interweb that sealed the case as far as I'm concerned.

Gardai - Right we'll have 10 units around in 2-3 minutes.
    Is that supposed to be funny or something?....Don't give up the day job

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Miaow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Well back in my Florida neighborhood, shoes on the power wires meant that was were drug-runners made regular stops: you just wait underneath one and at some point in the night a random drive-by dealer will come to your service.

5starpool wrote:
    I must never lift my head to look up as I have never noticed it.

i know, i never noticed either then took a silly looking up camera phone pic one night when leaving and look what came
    out in in!

(witness faces covered to protect the innocent)

stags head hanging shoes pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Overheal wrote:
    Well back in my Florida neighborhood, shoes on the power wires meant that was were drug-runners made regular stops: you just wait underneath one and at some point in the night a random drive-by dealer will come to your service.

I thought that that's what it actually means here (in the cases where drug dealers put the shoes up there, not kids/drunken students). Basically, if you go by and someone is standing there, then you buy from them. Makes more sense to me anyway, than having it outside your house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

A Garda I know once told me it was a sign for drug dealing!

They didnt seem too bothered about it though

humanji wrote:
    I thought that that's what it actually means here (in the cases where drug dealers put the shoes up there, not kids/drunken students). Basically, if you go by and someone is standing there, then you buy from them. Makes more sense to me anyway, than having it outside your house.

You realise of course I was taking the piss :confused: what a notion...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

This comes from the US where people used to sybolise a crack house by throwing runners onto the power cables above. This has been copied here by many a person here who is totally unaware of what it actually means. Perhaps there are dealers there, perhaps not although i'm sure they'd rather keep their head down then advertise to strangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

When I was growing up in my hometown in England (we're talking quite a few years ago here) my family lived for a few years in an area notorious for drug addicts and dealers and it was common to see hanging shoes the wires around the roughest estates where the known dealers lived. I'm sure people do it take the piss as well these days though. A friend of mine recently changed her mind about a house she was going to buy in Dublin as she spotted a few pairs of runners dangling as she drove around the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Ah f**k it! And there was me thinkin I had found a convienent place to dry my runners after washin.

And come to think of it those dirty smelly skinny scumbags calling every two minutes at the door were looking for a bit of smack and not a smack like I gave em :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

When i was a kid we used to join old runners or shoes together by the laces and throw them over wires.We did it for the crack and not anything to do with crack.We also did it with golfballs and conkers..what does THAT signify?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Personally I just think its a sign of scum bags in the area :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭jazoo

does anyone know what it means if theres a pair of dubes over the e.s.b. lines, better class of drugs maybe ???????????

Tesco shoes for hash; Adidas for heroine...theres a thought...

jazoo wrote:
    does anyone know what it means if theres a pair of dubes over the e.s.b. lines

It means that daddy is going to have to fork out another 70 shekels to buy a new pair, like hello!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Throwing runners at ESB wires is lame anyway. We used to throw unravelled wire hangers at them, you'd get this mega fireworks show and everybodies electricity would be gone in the immediate vicinity.........but we had ROFLs so it was all good!!!!

Physically impossible.

:rolleyes: It's not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Maybe with big heavy chain you could bring the wires down but hangers just arent heavy enough,these things are meant to survive high winds remember

Where in my post did I say anything about bringing the wires down? Nowhere that's where!!!

If you throw a wire hangar at a group of electricity wires, you get sparks galore!!!