Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I got arrested

• 23-02-2007 1:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭

That crazy neighbour of mine threatend to kill me if I don't move out in 24 hours. So, I called tha gardai and they came up to take a statement. While in my living room, they seen the box for my AK Beta. Concerned, they asked some questions and I explained it was legal and showed them the AK. It all went downhill from there...

They insisted that airsoft guns were considered firearms and they took me to the station. I was asked loads of questions about where I got the 'gun' and if it was used for any illegal purposes. After about 20 mins, somebody finally informed them about the change in law, and they released me. They gave me back the Beta and brought me home...apologising every 20 seconds or so...hehe.

Good thing I saw the funny side of it.

Oh, and the neighbour was warned that he would (finally) be arrested if I made even one more complaint about him. The gardai gave him a really hard time. I think they are a bit annoyed about having to keep calling down because of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,809 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

!!!!!
    Yet again, Irish Gardaí are unaware of the law. Ridiculous isn't it? At least they actually admitted they were wrong in your case..

Glad to hear that other guy is sorted out anyway. That sounded scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭ditpaintball

hmmm, good thing i was not in that situation and left my my sniper paintball marker lying around....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

Ouch that must have been embarrassing "I swear Guard, I only use it for recreational purposes" :p

At least they apologized when they found out it was legal. Could have been worse. You may have at least gotten a night in the cells. And you've got that psycho off your back.. alls well that ends well :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

LOL

I'd say that'd be sh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

Moral of the story, don't ever invite the gardai in while your airsoft gear is lying around...

Master of the Universe

Moral of the story, don't ever invite the gardai in while your airsoft gear is lying around...

Wise words.
    I keep my AEG in my wardrobe ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Your neighbours an awful d***head...I'd hate that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

It sucks what happened to you (I would know... to a small extent) but in a way it's good that there was another legal test adding to peace of mind. Good thing you kept calm and all. How did they manage to get informed about the change?

I suppose it would be good practise to have a copy of the exact wording of the change in legislation with you wherever you have airsoft weapons... as ridiculous as that sounds, and not that it would make much difference, but it would show you weren't being a chancer.

It sucks what happened to you (I would know... to a small extent) but in a way it's good that there was another legal test adding to peace of mind. Good thing you kept calm and all. How did they manage to get informed about the change?

I suppose it would be good practise to have a copy of the exact wording of the change in legislation with you wherever you have airsoft weapons... as ridiculous as that sounds, and not that it would make much difference, but it would show you weren't being a chancer.
    I'll agree there. Just told my dad the story and it put his mind at ease about all the machine guns being delivered to our door! :D It also helps that Spitfire plays airsoft!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

LMFAO, funny stuff.

Why does your neighbour want to kill you though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

So why did you say you were arested when you weren't? Trying to make it sound cooler or something?

FX Meister wrote:
    So why did you say you were arested when you weren't? Trying to make it sound cooler or something?

:confused: He was arrested, he just wasn't charged!
    I'll agree there. Just told my dad the story and it put his mind at ease about all the machine guns being delivered to our door! It also helps that Spitfire plays airsoft!

It's also helped me convince my cohabitees that I'm not breaking the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

What does? That I play?

Yeah, obviously having a Garda take part in the sport is likely to convince skeptics of its legality!

Could work the other way given the small mindedness of some people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭EyesOnly

O.o Unlucky M8, Suppose its just luck more of us ain't been brought to the cop shop yet, I.e carrying 5-6 in the boot of a car from one side of the country to the other.

Tbh i didnt see a guard from galway/roscommon border to dublin lol, Or from here to Pred.

Good to know the guards did accually check up to see and not just lock you up :p. I swear i heard Spitfire telling them to take you in lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

:confused: He was arrested, he just wasn't charged!
    No. He was taken in for questioning. He wasn't arrested. He wasn't charged. FACT

why wouldnt i, you hardly think i PAID for all my guns do you?:p

FX Meister wrote:
    No. He was taken in for questioning. He wasn't arrested. He wasn't charged. FACT

Okay well I'll let him answer that, since neither of us were there, but you can be arrested without being charged (it's happened to the best of us :) ), and I understood that being taken into custody for questioning implies arrest. Again, I wasn't there, and this is off topic.

Master of the Universe

FX Meister wrote:

Damn people and their technicalities :rolleyes:

You can also be taken in for questioning without being arrested.
    Its like, you get invited down and if you say no im not going, THEN you get arrested. Basically.

Master of the Universe

I'm sure they have to give you a valid reason for being brought down to the station first though? Would seem a bit mad if they could just arrest you for saying no.

o1s1n wrote:
    Damn people and their technicalities :rolleyes:

Of coarse there must be some sort of reason.

Let's hope it's the last anyway! It's pretty ubiquitous not to know that "bb guns" are not illegal anymore. None of my friends seemed to know. Obviously we shouldn't be waving them around in the front window (which is probably illegal anyway if it shocks someone) but I've had to go to my next door neighbours and explain that in case they see my ak-47 a) it's not "real" and b) it's not against the law. Not that they would report me, but I don't want any unneccessary questioning, be I arrested or not. (I suppose I could always print this thread and show it to them ;) )

Bad for public image, which I think is pretty important at this stage, as well as a waste of time. It is interesting that this actually happened though, and he got it back, etc. I know that the new law is pretty clear and all, but for a non-lawyer it's sort of hard to believe something is no longer illegal just because the definition for something changed. Until now.

Master of the Universe

I still don't understand how the government can change the classification of certain items which were once considered firearms and not inform all the Gardaí in the country. It defies logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

o1s1n wrote:
    I still don't understand how the government can change the classification of certain items which were once considered firearms and not inform all the Gardaí in the country. It defies logic.

Yes, but its tradition isnt it? Considering recent Gardai behavior regarding the law I wouldnt be suprised if they were informed but utterly ignored it or considered it an "optional" law.

Sorry Spitfire, my vitriol is not directed at your personally, but your employers.

It doesnt need to be ignored though. if theres any reason to confiscate them then you dont need to 'ignore' the new law, just use whats there, i.e. somebody waving an airsoft gun around scaring people will get it taken away and could possibly be charged based on his intentions with the toy. just the same way using a piece of wood to scare people can get you arrested based on your intentions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭mick.fr

While we are speaking about weapons and legality to have some or not, why in the hell Nunshaku and Sai have been banned in Ireland.

The fact it is banned to cary them, for sure fair enough, but for having some at home and doing martial arts in a Club ? Well I did not came in Ireland with them, so I don't really care, but I do not see the point.

Do we actually have had Grandmas being attacked by some crazy guys with a pair of Nunshaku, or a bank robbery with a Sai or whatever ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

mick.fr wrote:
    While we are speaking about weapons and legality to have some or not, why in the hell Nunshaku and Sai have been banned in Ireland.

The fact it is banned to cary them, for sure fair enough, but for having some at home and doing martial arts in a Club ? Well I did not came in Ireland with them, so I don't really care, but I do not see the point.

Do we actually have had Grandmas being attacked by some crazy guys with a pair of Nunshaku, or a bank robbery with a Sai or whatever ?

Daft political motivation designed to make insecure and easily led people feel safer. They actually arent "banned" so much as "Legally frowned upon to the point you can be arrested", near as I can figure anyway.

Oh Spitfire, ignore what I was saying earlier, I was p*ssed about something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

Why not. They were wrong to do what they done and admitted this when they became "Educated".

Originally Posted by FX Meister

He was let go because they realized they made a mistake. If that happened at 2am he probably would have been placed in a cell until the morning.

This is good for public image as the mistake was seen and apologies made. I think this is the first time any one of us has had to quote the law and won our point. Fair play to yeah Crazy Rabbit (You didnt tell them your handle on boards did you?):D

We should all get Spitfires number and have it in our back pocket.:D

MaxForce wrote:
    Why not. They were wrong to do what they done and admitted this when they became "Educated".

Originally Posted by FX Meister

He was let go because they realized they made a mistake. If that happened at 2am he probably would have been placed in a cell until the morning.

This is good for public image as the mistake was seen and apologies made. I think this is the first time any one of us has had to quote the law and won our point. Fair play to yeah Crazy Rabbit (You didnt tell them your handle on boards did you?):D

We should all get Spitfires number and have it in our back pocket.:D
    Well if you want to avoid getting brought down the station yourself by the gardai, because there not aware of the change in law... then by all means leave them lying about... its your time thats being wasted

And why would he be sitting in a cell till morning?
    That only happens if the person is drunk or is in for questioning/court.

.................And its not exactly the first time............................IS IT *****

And why would he be sitting in a cell till morning?
    That only happens if the person is drunk or is in for questioning/court.

.................And its not exactly the first time............................IS IT *****

Would they have been able to verify the validity of his claim at 2am as quickly as they did during the day? If so my apologises.

And I dont understand what you mean by Its not the first time.
    I dont recall it been on the forum befor. I know another guy was questioned in Galway about them but he was not brought to the station and I have never been questioned about them.

MaxForce wrote:
    Would they have been able to verify the validity of his claim at 2am as quickly as they did during the day? If so my apologises.

And I dont understand what you mean by Its not the first time.
    I dont recall it been on the forum befor. I know another guy was questioned in Galway about them but he was not brought to the station and I have never been questioned about them.
    *Edit*; Certain unnamed individuals, and a few others were arrested (or questioned/detained/taken to the station... take your pick, I dunno) before because of airsoft, maybe that's what he means.

Well if you want to avoid getting brought down the station yourself by the gardai, because there not aware of the change in law... then by all means leave them lying about... its your time thats being wasted

Absolutely and I don't mean any disrespect to Spitfire as he is obviously up on the new law due to his contribution here, or indeed to any member of the force, but if the Guards who were involved in this incident had been informed about the changes in the law then this would not have happened. The question begs to be asked, Why did they not know about it.

I wont even leave my stuff out when a family member calls to my house let alone a guard. This is mainly because I have an 8yo daughter and would be very concise about the safety aspect anyway.

DaveMcG wrote:
    *Edit*; Certain unnamed individuals and a few others were arrested (or questioned/detained/taken to the station... take your pick, I dunno) before because of airsoft, maybe that's what he means.

I was not aware of this. Sorry.

MaxForce wrote:
    I was not aware of this. Sorry.
    The way they described it was gas, eg. the Garda checking to see if it's real by looking down the barrel of a machine gun! :D

DaveMcG wrote:
    The way they described it was gas, eg. the Garda checking to see if it's real by looking down the barrel of a machine gun! :D
    Heee :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭whupass

where was that posted?????

Don't think it was posted on here, they were just talking about it at the skirmishes

Master of the Universe

DaveMcG wrote:
    Don't think it was posted on here, they were just talking about it at the skirmishes

No it wasn't.
    Not very good at keeping things to yourself, are you Dave?!

o1s1n wrote:
    No it wasn't.
    Not very good at keeping things to yourself, are you Dave?!
    Aw maybe he didnt know it was a secret...

Why's that a secret and this thread isn't? lol. Ye weren't charged!

Anyways, enough secret disclosing.......

Master of the Universe

The difference being, CrazyRabbit disclosed that piece of information himself. I did not. :p

Anyway. The general consensus between all us who've come up against the Gardai is;

At first they will insist no matter what you say that you are in possession of an illegal firearm.

Later, upon closer inspection of the law at the station, they will realize what a stupid mistake they have made and let you go.

Perhaps it's the only way of educating them about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

To clarify, I was asked to come to the station for questioning about the 'illegally held guns', but I politely refused stating that I had done nothing illegal. So they read my my rights, placed handcuffs on me and brought me to the station. I was not charged. When I insisted that airsoft was legal, they checked with one of the senior officers (a seargent or something...I've no clue about ranks).

They were very pleasant and professional about it. I think they believed me but couldn't run the risk that I was lying.

No harm done, and quite amusing imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

hmmm.. this does raise the question of what if you were found to be carrying one on the street (in a bag obviously) or in the boot of your car while on the way to a skirmish, having a "replica weapon" in a public place would be a bit more fuzzy in regards to legality

Master of the Universe

kdouglas wrote:
    hmmm.. this does raise the question of what if you were found to be carrying one on the street (in a bag obviously) or in the boot of your car while on the way to a skirmish, having a "replica weapon" in a public place would be a bit more fuzzy in regards to legality

Once it's away safe, magazine out and safety on I wouldn't say there'd be much difference.

"Having a replica weapon in a public place" would be if you had it out on show, waving it around and such.

As i've said before, it would come under the same banner as putting somebody in fear by using a piece of wood you carved a gun shape out of.
    Its all about the intent involved not exactly what you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

o1s1n wrote:
    "Having a replica weapon in a public place" would be if you had it out on show, waving it around and such.
    Technically it wouldn't have to be out on show. You can be charged under the 1990 Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act for mere possession, whether it's on show or not. Otherwise the law wouldn't be much use against someone carrying a flickknife in their pocket, the Garda would have to wait until the knife got taken out to stab someone.

However, the law leaves it up to the Garda in most cases to define "offensive weapon" (it does specifically list some things as such, but mostly it's down to the Garda). There's also the point that a guy walking through smithfield square with an MP5 attracts more attention from people than a guy walking through smithfield square with a backpack.

Master of the Universe

So, if you were transporting airsoft equipment to a game and some Gardaí for whatever unknown reason wanted to search your bag, they could deem it as being in possession of an offensive weapon and charge you?

Would this not fall into the same category as transporting nunchucks and similar martial arts equipment to a club?