Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beggar at my door

• 22-02-2007 11:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭

A while ago my doorbell rang. Standing at the door was a mid-20s woman with a young child. I said 'hello' and waited for her to introduce herself or something. She must have no English because she held out a piece of cardboard with writing on it.

I instantly said 'No, I have nothing'. She nodded and said 'ok, thanks, bye'.

I didn't even read the note but I assume she was looking for money. Now I feel like a bit of a cow. I'm thinking I could have at least given her a few euro, maybe they have had no breakfast this morning, are living rough or something etc etc...

On the other hand, I think she shouldn't be going around door-to-door begging with her child in tow. It's not setting a good example and there are places like the St. Vincent de Paul that people in need can go to for help.

Obviously the self-righteous 'you shouldn't beg' side of me came to the fore by turning her away.. but.. it's kind of niggling at me now.

What would you have done? Was I right or am I a complete inhumane selfish cow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

its the " catch 22, will i piss or will i poo " situation. Obviously, this comes down to what is "wrong". Legally I believe its wrong for her to beg at your door step, and further more if every beggar in Ireland came to your door looking for a yoyo you'd be broke before lunchtime. Course its going to niggle at you but dont let it get to you... its always gonna be tough but (here comes the corny comment) but its a tough world out there.

Maybe, maybe not is the answer. But dont let it get to you is the key.

did I just type all that :confused:

my bowl of cornflakes awaits

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

My mother's rule was also 'never give money'.

She used to give a regular caller children's clothes that were no longer needed and food until she saw the clothes dumped over a wall just up the road.

Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

A while ago my doorbell rang. Standing at the door was a mid-20s woman with a young child. I said 'hello' and waited for her to introduce herself or something. She must have no English because she held out a piece of cardboard with writing on it.

I instantly said 'No, I have nothing'. She nodded and said 'ok, thanks, bye'.

I didn't even read the note but I assume she was looking for money. Now I feel like a bit of a cow. I'm thinking I could have at least given her a few euro, maybe they have had no breakfast this morning, are living rough or something etc etc...

On the other hand, I think she shouldn't be going around door-to-door begging with her child in tow. It's not setting a good example and there are places like the St. Vincent de Paul that people in need can go to for help.

Obviously the self-righteous 'you shouldn't beg' side of me came to the fore by turning her away.. but.. it's kind of niggling at me now.

What would you have done? Was I right or am I a complete inhumane selfish cow?

LOL, at the bold text. Reminds me of the mute guys selling postcards.
    "No I dont want anything"
    "Ok then, thanks."
    "Hey ... I thought you were mute ?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Nope, they're on par with the people who sit at the Luas station on Stephen's green and ask you for spare change while you buy your ticket knowing full well you have a hand full of it. Once or twice is ok, but I found that if that scheme is working word get's out and they come back in greater numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭yellowellie

Ya, I suppose getting you to read the note (and likely taking it into your hand) is a way of engaging you and making it harder to say no.

If she's able to say 'ok, thanks, bye' she should be able to at least learn (if she genuinely has limited English) how to say 'money please'.

I suppose it makes them seem more vulnerable to you if you think they can't speak the language.

Your responses are re-inforcing the side of me that thinks I did the right thing.

Just remembered a LiveLine show where they were discussing a 'professional' beggar boy in Dublin who has a decent home but makes a killing out of begging.

I guess begging is only a short-term fix to a long-term problem. Cruel to be kind I suppose..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

lock n load tbh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

If she was alone and she seemed to be fit enough to work i would not have geven her any money.

BUT

Having child with her changes the situation.I wouldnt give her money for her sake but for kids sake.

I believe if you give money to 10 people and 3 of them are fake its still better than giving NO Money to all 10 people if 7 of them are Genuine who should be helped

But once again i feel to have soft conrer for beggers with kids i put my self in their shoes and try to imagine how it would feel and than thank GOD I am in the giving ones and i hope he keep it that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭crazy_dude6662

most of them are druggies in anyway.
    there is a woman in wexford who begs, every morning shes dropped off by a rolls royce, then picked up by it again at night. (have seen it happen)

my sister was with her freind and they passed by a woman with a kid begging, the only had a twenty euro note between them, so they bought them food, when they gave it to the woman she started screaming at them that she wanted money, threw the food at them then walked off draggin the child by the hair.

a while ago i was in town, a woman was begging with a child, and sitting beside her was a brown thomas bag, she was smoking and talking to a woman about how brown thomas so expensive, while showing her clothes (new) from a brown thomas bag. before saying to passer-by, "please my child needs food"

so yes, you did the right thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pigheads of the opinion that you don't get something for nothing in this world. Therefore whenever I give beggers money I usually make sure I get something in return. Like if I give a euro I'll invite the begger in and let them tidy my room or dig holes to put my dead animals in. Everyones a winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭madhitchhiker

If that beggar were in my door I would have asked what she needs and would have doubled it. That way I feel of help and happy. If I were in her shoe I would have done the same. We never know when we'd need help too.

Yes thats a Good thinking
    but on the other hand what if you invite them in and then out comes a GUN out of their pocket:eek: or they pick something from inside ur house which u dont even notice and later u realize

I hope Pighead it dosent remind u anything :D

Beggers turn robbers too !

Pighead wrote:
    Pigheads of the opinion that you don't get something for nothing in this world. Therefore whenever I give beggers money I usually make sure I get something in return. Like if I give a euro I'll invite the begger in and let them tidy my room or dig holes to put my dead animals in. Everyones a winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Futureman

most of them are druggies in anyway.

What does "in anyway" mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

If that beggar were in my door I would have asked what she needs and would have doubled it. That way I feel of help and happy. If I were in her shoe I would have done the same. We never know when we'd need help too.
    Ok, I really need €170 for a new pair of shoes. PM me for where to send the cash.

Begging is for necessities not luxuries.Would u consider that something you cant live without ?

I think its about common sense
    Ok, I really need €170 for a new pair of shoes. PM me for where to send the cash.

Begging is for necessities not luxuries.Would u consider that something you cant live without ?

Quoting someone means that you put your comment UNDERNEATH their quote. Would you consider that common sense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

What may seem a luxury to one man can be an absolute necessity to another.

While personally I could live without €170 shoes, who's to say there is someone who can't, and more importantly,who are any of us to judge what is a necessity!

That beggar might consider a bottle of Jack every day a necessity to ease their pain as it were, I certainly wouldn't consider a bottle of whiskey a necessity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭insafehands

Futureman wrote:
    Quoting someone means that you put your comment UNDERNEATH their quote. Would you consider that common sense?

You attack the post not the poster, right? I think this post is a bit of pedantic d1ckhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Most of the beggers are not as bad off as you think, the following springs to mind,

http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0321/dychtanowiczd.html
    "A 27-year-old Polish man has been convicted of begging in a public place while in possession of €11,000. "

Anyway count yourself lucky that she didn't spray you with breast milk, thats what one Gypsy did when she was arrested by Gardai, she took out her boob and started to spray them with breast milk, can't find the link but its somewhere in another begging thread on boards.ie.

Futureman wrote:

Yes I do consider that a common sense.

Point Noted :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I firmly beleive in a fair days work for a fair day's pay..therefore when i give a begger a few cents i insist on them doing a little dance or perhaps singing a song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭DonalN

reminds me of a story I heard about a beggar in San Fran...he was one of the guys that hang around at intersections hassling folks as they were waiting for a green light..
    Anyway, some reporter decided to follow one of these 'beggars' one day, and he followed the guy from the intersection where he had been begging all day, to a few blocks away, where he promptly dumped his 'begging gear' into the back of his Merc and sped off.
    Apparantly, he did this every day and had made a fortune out of it..

I dunno...maybe just an urban legend..

....time for me lunch...

You attack the post not the poster, right? I think this post is a bit of pedantic d1ckhead.

Okay - but you can attack the poster by calling me a d1ckhead? I see....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Having child with her changes the situation.I wouldnt give her money for her sake but for kids sake.

I believe if you give money to 10 people and 3 of them are fake its still better than giving NO Money to all 10 people if 7 of them are Genuine who should be helped

That's why she brings the child so you get suckered in and feel sympathy for her. Looks like it works on some people.

The problem is I see your theory reversed. In my experience 3 are real and 7 are fake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭I_and_I

DonJose wrote:
    Most of the beggers are not as bad off as you think, the following springs to mind,

http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/0321/dychtanowiczd.html
    "A 27-year-old Polish man has been convicted of begging in a public place while in possession of €11,000. "

Yeah I'm sure most beggars have a few grand in the bank and are begging purely for the thrill.....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,359 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I would never give them anythining. There are far too many frauds out there. I would especially never give a non-national any money. Google Roma Gypsies and you will find out why.

Taht woman brought her kid with you so that you would feel sympathy. if you had given that woman money whe would probably be calling at your door on a regular basis looking for more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

something similar happened to me a couple of years ago, knock at the door go open it an eatern european woman with a baby says in broken english "no food give money" then she smiles mouth full of gold teeth. I say no way and go to close the door she puts her foot in t she way, so i call "tyson" she says then in really good english "who is tyson" he sticks his head down at her foot and she runs around the corner to her minder. Tysons my german shepherd.
    She never called again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭bobbi

A woman called last week to my door same situation i said i had no money (i had none) but then she asked for food we didn't have much food in the house collected some bits fruit, juices etc and she was very grateful.I personally don't give money to beggars or clothes(as said before end up dumped up the road) but if they want food i wouldn't deny them that.OP don't feel guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭oleras

DonJose wrote:
    she took out her boob and started to spray them with breast milk

I have heard of people paying upwards of €300 for that pleasure..... :D

stop the begging and start a business............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I give money to street beggars but if they ring my door and expect money there a big hurling club waiting. My home is my castle :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

Futureman wrote:
    Okay - but you can attack the poster by calling me a d1ckhead? I see....
    He called your post a pedantic d1ckhead, not you. You're lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

I never give money to beggars.

If you want to help the poor give money to SVP or any other charity.

At least I know SVP won't give people money to buy booze or drugs etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

oleras wrote:
    I have heard of people paying upwards of €300 for that pleasure..... :D

stop the begging and start a business............

She might be able to slip you in ;) Found the link about the breast milk squirting beggar

http://www.unison.ie/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1770277&issue_id=15221

"A YOUNG beggar in Dublin city centre, who refused to move on when asked by gardai, opened her blouse took out her breast and sprayed breast milk over the garda when told she was going to be arrested.

Romanian gypsies begging on the streets of Dublin are facing prosecution as part of a major Garda crack down. Romania joined the EU on January 1 and last month the Office of the Refugee Applications Commissioner received 220 asylum applications from Romanian nationals in one week. The Minister for Justice, Michael McDowell, has since applied an EU protocol stopping the office from processing the applications of EU nationals unless there were exceptional circumstances.

In recent weeks, gardai have noted hundreds of Romanian gypsies arriving at Dublin airport and other ports around the country. Most are women aged between 20 and 40 and some can beg up to €150 a day.

Gardai will only arrest someone if they refuse to move on. In the past week alone between 15 and 20 people have been arrested and brought before the District Court. All have been granted bail on condition that they stay away from the city centre. Their cases are due to be dealt with in the coming weeks. A Department of Justice spokesman said that "people from Romania and other EU states are allowed free entry to Ireland. However, if they want to stay longer than three months they need the funds to stay here or they have to get a work permit."

Rosanna Flynn of Residents Against Racism said there was little alternative to begging for the Roma gypsies."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Futureman wrote:
    It means the same as anywayz.
    Not proper English but.

I like the idea of getting some of your moneys-worth though, my own particular favourite is making people dance for me.
    I've only tried it in an MMORPG so far, but I think it'd be even more hilarious IRL. :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Begging should be made illegal: a body/company should be set up to give these people a bit of work and a place to get some sleep and a hot shower and a clean change of clothes. Basically an incorporated nunnery/monastery :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

It's a bit like traditional street beggars who use a dog or two to make you go 'awwww'. It's all down to marketing.

OP - I've no doubt the beggar was Roma (not Romanian, big difference). These women are 'pimped' by guys. They are dropped off and picked up by these guys and on a daily basis all around Dublin. There's a big network of them in Dublin at the moment.

A common trick employed by them is to say that they need water for their kid (if an infant). While you go back to the kitchen to fetch water, they'll be in and out within 10 seconds.

These people aren't beggars, they are out-and-out criminals, fact.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,327 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Not all Roma are beggars. I teach a number of Roma children and while a large number of them hardly attend and have very poor levels of English and education, there are a number of them who come from families who have always worked and who hold great contempt for 'the others'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Two weeks ago I had taken out the rubbish and there was an awful smell in the house so I opened the front and back doors to let air in. I had gone into the kitchen for literally 2 seconds and there was a small Roma girl inside my front door.

I'll stop there and say that we never have our front door open, in fact its usually locked even when people are inside during the day.

I let out a yelp as soon as I saw her as she had literally shocked the crap outa me, she stopped in her tracks and said 'Change?'. I just pointed to the door and she went out, her mam was waiting at the gate for her.

It was nuts that the one time I left the door open, she was in inside in a second. Obviously it was coincidence, as I don't believe that people are hiding in the bushes waiting for an open door.

As a matter of principle I tell em all to feck off if they show up at the front door, beggars, people looking to wash windows, people looking to shove junk mail through the door, everyone.

I, cynically perhaps, refuse to give over money to street beggars who have more expensive runners than I do. I've always had that policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

spurious wrote:
    Not all Roma are beggars. I teach a number of Roma children and while a large number of them hardly attend and have very poor levels of English and education, there are a number of them who come from families who have always worked and who hold great contempt for 'the others'.
    That's good to hear spurious.
    Personally I dont give to beggars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

There's a little boy who spends his time in McDonalds in Grafton St begging with a sign thats not in english. He wrecks my head cos he'll come around a few times while i'm sitting there, ffs im just trying to eat in peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

layke wrote:
    Nope, they're on par with the people who sit at the Luas station on Stephen's green and ask you for spare change while you buy your ticket knowing full well you have a hand full of it. Once or twice is ok, but I found that if that scheme is working word get's out and they come back in greater numbers.
    Its gotten worse, Layke, now the chuggers have caught on and were standing at the LUAS ticket machines at the Dundrum Bridge, amongst others this morning. F*ckers.

I wouldn't give anyone who came to my door looking for money a single red cent either. I give homeless people money most days, but the fact that some actually come to your home to ask you for money...well...they're just lucky they don't get a kettle full of boiling water over them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I don't give to beggars or chuggers on the street/my doorstep.. simple as really.

If they're that much in need there's organisations out there to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭MAYPOP

I only give money to animal rescue charities. Beggars should be arrested and beaten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

If I were in her shoe I would have done the same.
    All that money and Heather McCartney is begging as well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I make sure they give me a blowjob before getting my €2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭englander

Probably down to working class, non-religious upbringing but I get very annoyed with people when I see them give to people on the streets/under cashpoints.

Dont you get it ? They will never go away. They will always be there if you give money. Even if they dont really need it, they will be there even if they have enough for essentials.

I do not want to be hassled by beggars when in my house or walking down the street etc.

I want to eat my food in peace without having to shoo beggars away.

I want to get cash out of the machine without thinking the skanker looking up at me (in his sleeping bag) may pull a knife.

While I am at it I dont want to be approached by Chuggers. They are only there because of the few of you who insist on talking to them and handing over your bank details !

If you want to do some real good, put pressure on the government to provide the essentials and get these people off the streets or set up a soup kitchen or something.

Giving a euro to a beggar may make you feel good and give you a better chance of going to heaven :rolleyes: , but is not solving anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

I will not give anything to beggars after my experiences working in town. I work on the northside and have seen some total scammers. There's this one junkie who begs, goes to play the pods in video game shops and then gets trashed or high. I know this because I've seen him with his cans and one unfortunate time had the displeasure of sharing a bus journey with him. He was smoking and talking away to his friend without a care in the world with a can in his hand. I've seen this scumbag grab a child's hat and throw it to the floor when the kid was playing on a game pod because the grown man wanted to play. He works on intimidation and it is disgusting.

I've seen 14 year old girls dressed up with their little handbag beside them begging on the street. Beggars on fancy mobiles. A neighbour gave one some clothes and food and we found them dumped in our garden later that day. There are so many reasons at this point that I just can't give to them. The Roma ones are really rather aggressive too. A friend's sister was slapped in the face by one because she wouldn't give her change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I once knew a bloke who made IRL£120 on Dublins Grafton St a Day. Said he would keep doing it as it was the only way to pay for his Habit.

I also once saw a beggar insert 5 cent into the Card slot of one of the AIB Banklink on grafton st so everyong had to queue by the one he was at.

I also knew a guy who faked being handicaped to beg.

If Roma gypsies can afford to fly here they should have saved a little longer and brought food.

I also had these feckers at the door Im with Biko on that.

Sorry I work bloody hard at a job I dont like so I dont have to beg , let them do likewise.

Shooting is too good for the lot of them.