Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

weight loss question

• 20-02-2007 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭

I was wondering if anybody can advise or help with a weight loss problem, anyone who knows me will know this isn't for myself. Basically, a colleague of mine, has asked me for some help and advice about a month ago, now I can supply psychological and emotional support easily enough, I know nothing about diets, as it is something I've never had to look at.

My friend started to attend weight watchers about 12 weeks ago and at the same time started to attend curves. Now I know people here don't have a lot of time for these programmes, but my colleague is clinically obese, so my own thoughts were this is great, its a start that she can build on. Over this period she has lost 22lbs, which once again I think is great; she has a lot of work to do, but a march of a thousand miles ect.

The first six weeks with these proigrammes were fine, lossing a couple of lbs per week. However, after this a cycle semms to have developed where one week she losses weight, and the following week she puts on a half pound or pound. The poor girl is gutted by this, to the extent that she approached me and asked me to check her weight with her on a weekly basis, and this was a hugh thing for her.

To give an example when we checked it last week she was 131kg, this week she was 132kg. She sticks to the weight watchers points, no longer goes to curves, but walks instead, this week she went for three walks, 45, 50, and 80mis long. As a psychotherapist, I'm happy to help her with the motivational/psychological/emotional side of things, but with the physiological side of things I'm no use.

So sorry for the lenght of the post just to get to this question, has anyone any ideas why her weight is oscillating on a weekly basis like this?

My suggestion to her was to give weight watchers another month or two before she tries anything else, as after all she has lost 22lbs, but if anyone has any suggestions of another type of programme, it would be appreciated. The reason I suggested to stay on with weight watchers is she attends with friends, so they additionally supply her with some support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Her fat might be turning to muscle. Muscle is heavier then fat so tell her not to panic this might be the case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

well her fat isn't turning to muscle, but it's possible she's losing fat and gaining muscle at the same time.

But in fairness, fair play to her for starting to do something about it at all - it's never easy and as far as the diets that are out there go, WW isn't the worst if it's done the right way.

I know this is going to be a difficult thing for her, but she really needs to try and forget about "weight". There's a bundle of things that might affect it, and it's going ot be even more noticeable the mroe often she weighs herself - how hydrated she is, what time of the month it is, how recent it is since a large meal - these and other things will highly influence her weight.

Her clothes and the mirror are a much better guage of her progress.

It's also important that she eats the right kinds of foods - if the points system still runs the same way as it used to then there's a whole host of "free foods" she can avail of - a yummy veggie soup can be made that has no points in it and she can sip it and fill up on it when needed. Make sure she's also neither going over OR under her points- starving herself won't do her any good either (not saying she is though!!).

It's a shame she's stopped going to curves in favour of just walking though- as much as I'm not a fan of that gym, it's still better than simply brisk walking.

There are lots of dieting "crutches" out there that people use now - low-fat soups/ biccies/ drinks/ bars etc but that don't really help people lose weight at all. Instead they maintain a craving for highly sugary foods instead of teaching the palate how amazing healthy foods are!

As super difficult as it's going to be for her, she needs to stop concentrating on the scales as an indicator of her progress. Instead ask her how she's feeling and how her energy levels are - my guess is that both will be much improved. Those are the benefits that make losing weight most worthwhile, and they're the ones that you have to remember when the diet goes a little bit arsed-ways (which it inevitably does!!). Good luck with it, and good on you for being such a fantastic support for her!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Bodyfat monitoring might be an option for her, to show that it's dropping.
    She will plateau, everyone will, and that's when you need to find new resolve and fresh willpower. Good luck to her. I'm sure if you show her this thread in a few days, there will be a lot of heartening things for her to take from it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 pinkie1

i have the same thing but it is that i am gaining muscle but my shape is improving even though my weight did not decrease after a certain period of time.
    It is disheartening if you think nothing is happening but this must be what it is.
    Also, a few years ago i lost 3 stone but it took 2 months before anything significant happened - eventhough i tried very hard.The body needs some time too and then the weight will go faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Ye I would be with g'em on this one, yes there are problems with curves but for somebody only starting out, it is just after while when you can no longer increase the resistance on the machines that it no longer becomes the best way of training.

The other thing would be for her to monitor is when her period is, as this may cause her to put on an extra few lbs in water retention but will generally disappear soon after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Another thing to consider is hydration. Obviously you wouldn't drink a big glass of water before weighing-in as this would add a lb or so. Most people recommend weighing in at exactly the same time every week as most people have a routine and you;re likely to have the same hydration levels at 9am this friday morning as you did at 9am last friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

Has your friend recalculated the number of points she's eating since her weight loss?

As your friend looses weight her points allowance will decrease.

It sounds like she's maintaining her current weight at present but she needs to drop some calories to get out of the cycle. A little maintenance on the way down is a good thing. Her body will readjust to her current weight and will start to drop when things have settled. She's probably loosing inches at present rather than pounds. It'll also be harder to put on those 22lbs again.

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭hardtrainer

Your friend has taken the most important and probably the hardest steps. As has been pointed out already, encourage her to stay in Weight Watchers. The program does work and it is a very effective and sensible way to lose weight.
    Like G'em said, the scales are really not the best indicator of her progress, at least not in the short term. I can understand the reasoning behind weekly weigh-in's at WWs, but a monthly weigh-in would be more realistic and would avoid the disheartening effects of an increase in weight from one week to the next. If she is sticking rigorously to the WW diet, she will weigh less from month to month. Also, the tape measure is a great measurement of progress too as your friend will see results here even during times that her weightloss has plateaued. At 131kg, she has a long way to go, but a combination of WW and curves will get her results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Yep, hydration is a huge factor. I reckon I could hold 2kg in my bladder, 1.5kg in my stomach and a good christmas dinner in my colon (sorry!). Not to mention water in my body lost on a nights drinking.

As mentioned clothes and inch measurements are essential. I stayed 12stone for months losing inches on the waist, gaining muscle and losing fat at the same rate.

Also she has lost 22lb, that is 10kg. Exercise will increase the metabolism BUT she is now carrying less weight, so doing the same exercise will not burn as much energy as it did back then. e.g. to burn the energy she did walking 5 miles back then, is the equivalent of walking 5 miles now BUT with the 10kg, a good 2 bags of shopping.
    I can now do my daily cycling commute in 25mins, when I started it was 60min, but if I put the weight I lost into a bag I would be back up to probably 40-45mins again.
    I do not advise carrying the "lost" weight by the way, just making a point that she might stabilise at a given weight.

Weightwatchers teaches calorie counting, but in a very simplistic way, she should get into the habit of real calorie counting, easier now she knows about "points". I know some women who go on about points, but still do not really know the mathematics behind, and are not aware of portion size as much, which it all boils down to. One was telling me about some food item that had the same points as another, it clearly didnt (since I know my calories well). Turned out she was equating a 60g chocolate bar to another chocolate bar that was far less calories (I think those really thin dairy milks).
    The points do make you tend to go for low calorie (point) options. Knowing calories means you dont fall for overpriced brands or products which are really not that low calorie at all, e.g. "go ahead" buiscuits, weightwatchers bread. Many weightwatcher products are simply very small portions, but the same calories per 100g as any "normal" meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Cheers thanks to everyone for the replies, I'm going to print this out for the later, and there is plently of info here for her to look at. It is interesting to note that the when we spoke yesterday, that we covered a some of the above, how she feels within herself, energy levels, clothes size. I have also suggested that she consider attending curves again for a while. Personally, as I have know her a number of years, I am delighted with her lifestyle change, and the self-determination she is showing at the moment. Thanks again to everybody.