Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

17" tft's for 23 euro on komplett

• 19-02-2007 12:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭

must be a mistake but i got one just look in weekly offers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Just got one there myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Sheesh it's €29.38 on the site... false advertising!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭poggy

Sheesh it's €29.38 on the site... false advertising!

ya sorry my mistake :rolleyes: guess i just got over excited!:rolleyes:

Ha. Out of stock already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Will be interesting to see if they honnor this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 TimHurley

Thanks for this alert. I just bought one myself. However, now I'm beginning to think I rushed in - this might not be the monitor for me as it is VGA. I don't have this input on my new desktop - surely I should be buying DVI or USB only? Even if I can convert VGA to digital, surely I'm losing out anyway on resolution etc etc?

Any comments?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

TimHurley wrote:
    Thanks for this alert. I just bought one myself. However, now I'm beginning to think I rushed in - this might not be the monitor for me as it is VGA. I don't have this input on my new desktop - surely I should be buying DVI or USB only? Even if I can convert VGA to digital, surely I'm losing out anyway on resolution etc etc?

Any comments?

Doubt they will honour it but if they do just sell it on to someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭poggy

TimHurley wrote:

Any comments?

no u'll be grand vga to dvi are quite common, and with little if any picture loss

i hope they do honor it but its worth a try!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

It says DVI on the site.

Stark wrote:
    It says DVI on the site.
    In the title. But further down on the product information it says VGA. Looks like there are a few mistakes about.

Yeah it says 8ms in the title and then 16ms in the spec :confused:

tuxy wrote:
    Will be interesting to see if they honnor this.
    they have to, if you get an email receipt with €29.38 on it then they can't go back on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭alastair_doom

hellboy99 wrote:
    they have to, if you get an email receipt with €29.38 on it then they can't go back on it.

Not a chance. Happens all the time with DVD misprices. And i Doubt they'll let 260euro x many times slide by. Would be nice of them if they did tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Worth a try I suppose. Not very likely they will honour it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Ordered products:

1,00 PCS 317924 Xerox 17" LCD XA7-17i, Expected in stock 01.03.2007
    8ms, DVI, 500:1, 1280x1024

1,00 PCS 121186 Power Cable Notebook 3-pin 2m (UK)
    w/fuse (Mickey Mouse)

Total Order Amount:

Net 24,28
    Freight 9,92

VAT 21,00 % 7,18
    Order Total 41,38

Worth a try but they aint even in stock judging by email i got. If they were ready to go from warehouse it might slip under radar but not due in stock untill 1st march

The price is wrong, it's £139 on komplett.co.uk

https://www.komplett.co.uk/k/k.asp?action=weekly

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭kikel

I doubt they will honor it.but if your not in you can't win! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

once they take the money off you they can't go back on it.

with the way komplett works they'll send you an order confirmation first then only charge once the goods are shipped. they'll notice the huge pricing error and the sheer volume of them ordered and probably won't honour it, that being said it's worth a try

Cremo wrote:
    once they take the money off you they can't go back on it.
    Nope... they can refund you. I went down this road with Apple over a year ago when they grossly miss priced a Digital SLR camera.

I stuck a 500GB hard drive that I've been meaning to get on my order along with this monitor... I wonder if that will throw them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭Fnz

2 pcs estimated shipping on 2007-03-01
    2 flat 17" monitors for €82.75 delivered. :eek:

Here's hoping! God loves a trier.... and I ♥ a bargain.
    Cheers OP. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭The Roach

I noticed these when ordering RAM earlier and decided to chance my arm too. Just checked my order status there, it's coming up as "Confirmed" with an estimated shipping date of today!

Here's hoping.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭god's toy

HA! thats priceless! (eh, get it?) it's a wonder it's not all over the Komplett forum already, cant wait to see how they deal with this one... you may find delivery being €150!:eek:

I remember the old Komplett.ie deals where you did get loads off and you knew you got a real deal, if only they would return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 66o66o

Back up ito 239 now!! Ah well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭brophy

just ordered one there but they are now out of stock,,, but he ya never know

the shipping date i have is the 1st of next month so doubt i will get mine....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

cant believe i missed this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭brophy

is now at propper price on there website €239

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

(Please keep the subject when replying to this mail. This is NOT an RMA no. Das ist keine RMA-Nr. Sollten Sie diese Mail beantworten, behalten Sie bitte den Inhalt bei. Dit is geen RMA nummer. Laat het subject-veld ongewijzigd.)

Dear Customer,

We regret to inform you that there was a price error with the Xerox monitor on your order.
    This has caused us to cancel the order, I’m afraid.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused with this genuine pricing error.
    Our Marketing team will endeavour to ensure this does not happen again.
    Needless to say, the person responsible has been spoken to.

Sorry again for the inconvenience caused.

Best regards
    Komplett

Got this at 9.09am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Voipjunkie

conZ wrote:
    (Please keep the subject when replying to this mail. This is NOT an RMA no. Das ist keine RMA-Nr. Sollten Sie diese Mail beantworten, behalten Sie bitte den Inhalt bei. Dit is geen RMA nummer. Laat het subject-veld ongewijzigd.)

Dear Customer,

We regret to inform you that there was a price error with the Xerox monitor on your order.
    This has caused us to cancel the order, I’m afraid.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused with this genuine pricing error.
    Our Marketing team will endeavour to ensure this does not happen again.
    Needless to say, the person responsible has been spoken to.

Sorry again for the inconvenience caused.

Best regards
    Komplett

Got this at 9.09am.

yeah my order has been rejected as well.
    Never really expected them to honour it. But if you're not in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

This happened before and Komplett didn't honor it.

They don't take the money from the card until they ship either. :rolleyes:

Wasting your time lads, don't get worked up over it when they reject you.

The person responsible has been spoken to? I feel bad now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭mickjohnlong

its back up to 219 now on the site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭dubmick

"Needless to say, the person responsible has been spoken to"

I don't think there was any need to say this. Poor business sense imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

dubmick wrote:
    I don't think there was any need to say this. Poor business sense imo.

My thoughts as well.

Back in my graphic design days I got in trouble for miss-pricing a gas strimmer with the price of an electric strimmer. Apparently one costs about €100 more than another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Ah sure humans ain't perfect. Typos happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Deadlocked

Damn it.

Got the same email. I had ordered 6 when there was 15 in stock.

Any point in complaining?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭dubmick

maybe if you had of just ordered one!

Six is a bit greedy :eek:

dubmick wrote:
    maybe if you had of just ordered one!

Six is a bit greedy :eek:

I actually would need at least 4 of em. And would of sold on two.

Bah... they canceled my whole order. It wasn't the only thing I had purchased.

Actually... what was this about on the order:
    "Power Cable Notebook 3-pin 2m (UK)
    w/fuse (Mickey Mouse)"

Mickey Mouse? Perhaps this whole thing was done on purpose by a disgruntled staff member.

Its a thing for converting From American to European electrics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭The Roach

Hmmm, I got the same email this morning about them cancelling my order, but I've just received one saying they're shipping the order and it has a tracking number and everything.....

I'm going to try not to get my hopes up, but maybe..... :)

Poop on it anyway!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Kenny 5 wrote:
    Poop on it anyway!!! :p

Loser!

Yeah whatever.......how's your 360?? AHahahahahahahaahahahahahaha!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

does anyone have a link for this as i cant find it on the web.thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

ye its gone outta the weekly offers :( what a pity that i didnt spot this before hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I thought all retailers had to honour advertised prices ? I'd follow up on this if I were ye.

Mistake or no mistake (and s**t does happen) but if they'd advertised a higher price than intended and you'd bought it they wouldn't be "cancelling your order".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

ye its gone outta the weekly offers :( what a pity that i didnt spot this before hand
    It was a pricing mistake.
    Nobody received any,all orders were cancelled.
    You wouldnt have got one .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,105 ✭✭✭SteM

Liam Byrne wrote:
    I thought all retailers had to honour advertised prices ? I'd follow up on this if I were ye.

Of course they don't.
    Liam Byrne wrote:
    Mistake or no mistake (and s**t does happen) but if they'd advertised a higher price than intended and you'd bought it they wouldn't be "cancelling your order".

No, they'd be refunding your credit card. Komplett are a professional company not a bunch of cowboys. If they were advertising a higher price people wouldn't be ordering 6 at a time and then wondering if they should complain when the price isn't honoured :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I think it's a grey area....here's why.

From the ODCA website:
    8<
    The consumer does not have an automatic right to the product at the lower price. A price indication is what's called an "invitation to treat" and it does not oblige the seller to sell at the price marked.

If the consumer is advised of the correct price before purchasing, they are not entitled to the goods at the lower price.

If a wrong price is marked on an item this must be pointed out to the customer before the transaction takes place.
    8<
    The page that this is on indicates that it "also applies to goods sold by mail order, catalogue based sales, and goods purchased from the Internet in Ireland."

But when you pay by Credit Card on the 'net, when does the transaction take place ? When you click "Submit", or later, when the order is being fulfilled ?

And why did Aer Lingus or RyanAir (whichever it was) honour the €1 price thing last week ?

I'm not saying that I want anyone to get hung for a typo, just curious as to where the legislation draws the line. And just to be clear, I'm not singling out Komplett or dragging them into disrepute - like I said, it was a genuine type.