Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you think 'god save the queen' will go down?

• 12-02-2007 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭

I'm intrigued to see how that'll go down at croker! Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Good i hope, if the crowd disrespects it i will be dissapointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

daveirl wrote:

It's just another game. I dont see how the venue will change how people would react to an national anthem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Agreed. It was after all the IRFU who got €4 million from Sunday - from rugby fans. The GAA only got the rent!
    It's just an anthem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Yeah I totally agree that its only an anthem, but taking the history of croker into account I think you're bound to have a few people who will dis it. I mean I'd hate to see it but I personally think its inevitable.

Marshy wrote:
    Yeah I totally agree that its only an anthem, but taking the history of croker into account I think you're bound to have a few people who will dis it. I mean I'd hate to see it but I personally think its inevitable.
    I expect higher standards from rugby supporters.
    It's not a soccer game.
    While all rugby fan are not angles, the only riot in a major sporting event in Ireland that comes to mind is a certain soccer game in lansdown road.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

there is more issues at stake than a two minute song to the dear old quenn. it should be respeced no matter if its soccer or rugby or gaa. we would expect our anthems to be respected abroad. if anyone gets so annoyed by it, they could always popout to the toilet or get a beer

Marshy wrote:

Thats what im afraid of and with the extra tickets, it will be more open this year to have that kind of people there. To say it definately wont happen is stupid cause i have heard plenty of dissenters to GSTQ being played there and if there enough to start booing others might join in. I dont want it to happen but i do think theres a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

I hope it goes off well, us Rugby fans are more a respectful bunch compared to others, If other people cant just accept its History then Fcuk them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

It's already been played at Croke Park. 2003 Special Olympics. Or doesn't that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Steyr wrote:
    I hope it goes off well, us Rugby fans are more a respectful bunch compared to others, If other people cant just accept its History then Fcuk them.

Now thats real respect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

just checking out the after hours thread, where there is a similar thread about croker, there appears to be well found fears of republician sinn fein (lads behind love ulster riot) pickting outside croker, and possibility of riots. brilliant thats all we need. why cant they feck off, most of the country dont seem to have a problem with rugby being played at croker.who do they think their representing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Marshy wrote:
    but taking the history of croker into account I think you're bound to have a few people who will dis it.

True. But they're unlikely to be in the ground. They'll more than likely be outside or even more likely, down the pub.

I wonder are any of them thinking of having a demo outside the ground. Wouldn't put it past some of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭An Tarbh

well correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think it was booed when the hooligans went mental in the West stand in 95.

The fact that Amhrán na bhFiain was played in full without the GAA interuption towards the end suggests that rugby fans have got their hands on the tickets and should be the same for the England match.

I doubt there'll be any problem with it, other than the fact that it's the worst national anthem of all the teams but that's just a question of preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

If the media have anything to do with it you can be sure it wont go down very well at all.
    Fair too much sensational coverage of late, imo, all created with the sole aim of generating emotion and bad vibe on the day.

Mrs_Doyle wrote:
    Fair too much sensational coverage of late, imo, all created with the sole aim of generating emotion and bad vibe on the day.
    Agreed, the media are blowing the whole thing out of proportion.
    I think it will go off with out a hitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Republican Sinn Fein are planning a protest at Croke Park, so lets hope that what happened at the "Love Ulster" march doesn't happen on the day.

I'll be very disappointed if anything serious happens. I just hope the hype generated by the media and some other organisations doesn't cuase what will be a tense situation to boil over.

I think the genuine rugby fans will be respectful.

I'd hate to see what could be a very memorable day in Irish sporting and cultural history being tarnished by a few morons out to cause trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Republican Sinn Fein
    I really REALLY hope they do - and then we can laugh in their faces and call them the idiots they are. I really cant stand those 'arm chair' republicans.

Not to sound like a tosser here, but Rugby is a game played and watched by gentlemen! The friendly natutre of players and fans and the rich tradition are the main things I love about rugby. The fact I can try to kill a bloke on the park at 3.30 and be playing drinking games with him at 5 is pure class :)

I hope that everyone is quiet for all 3 anthems :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

The protest will be no where near the ground as the GARDA have it cordoned off.

I just can't wait for the dozen or so bomb warnings there will be on the day.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

I really REALLY hope they do - and then we can laugh in their faces and call them the idiots they are.
    That doesn't bother them, though does it?
    If a foreign person laughed at them, they'd shrug it off, saying that a foreigner wouldnt understand the issues.
    If an Irish person laughed at them, they'd shrug it off and say he was a West-Brit wannabe and a disgrace to his nation.
    If a known legitmate Nationalist or Republican laughed at them, they'd shrug it off saying he was a sell out and a traitor to the glorious cause.

Extrmemists of any stripe are like that - essentially entrenched in their own vision of victimisation and totally convinced that they're doing something justified and noble. And that everyone else is wrong. All the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

If there was a time to boo the English NA, then it was when they stood on the wrong side of the red carpet that time... (or was the anthem first)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

RuggieBear wrote:
    The protest will be no where near the ground as the GARDA have it cordoned off.

I just can't wait for the dozen or so bomb warnings there will be on the day.:(

But I bet the TV cameras will show some form of protest and make us look like idiots. It's a sporting occasion - lets drop the politics and enjoy 80 minutes of what will, hopefully, be good rugby.

God Save The Queen in Croker - so what. Sure, there are events that happened there in the past, buts let's look forward. If we live in the past the future will never come.

I'm quite nationalist/republican, but I'm also sick of the anti-British sentiment that resounds in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

What's the controversy? It's the national anthem of a visiting nation, playing our own national side as equal partners in our own capital city. Why should their anthem be any less respectfully regarded than anybody else's?

Those who think that nobody, not even the British, should sing God Save the Queen, even at such an unthreatening and totally appropriate occasion such as before an international sporting fixture are emotionally stunted, historically naive and politically ungenerous inadequates who do not have the character to accept that not everybody shares their prejudices.

They are no better than the dreadful Richard Aldous (the English guy who sometimes sits in on the Newstalk morning program) who got all upset at the sight of Germans exhibiting some national pride during the World Cup which they organised so brilliantly last year.

Here's what he wrote in teh Irish Times at the time .
    A vaguely disconcerting aspect of the recent Fifa World Cup - not least to Germans themselves - was the sight of 70,000 of their flag-waving countrymen proudly singing Deutschland über alles in Hitler's Olympic Stadium.

The arena remains eerily dominated by the distinctive fascist-style architecture of the Olympic Marathon Gate. Seventy years on, the Führer's presiding role was taken by the benevolent figure of "Der Kaiser" Franz Beckenbauer, perhaps the most respected man in world football. Nevertheless it was a controversial decision by the German FA to embrace a notorious past in such open fashion by putting this infamous stadium at the heart of the tournament.

Notwithstanding the fact that the words, if not the tune, of the German National Anthem have been changed so that they now read Einigkeit und Rechts und Freiheit (Unity, Justice and Freedom) why shouldn't a generation of Germans born long since the end of the War feel proud in their own country's achievement? And how far do you have to go to expunge Nazism from today's Germany? Tear down a stadium because Hitler visited it once?

This is the same attitude that some developers had towards the beautiful Georgian architecture in Dublin. "It was built by the Brits. Rip it down and put up mostrosities like Liberty Hall, or Setanta House or the other concrete and glass hideous beings that now infest the city centre."

Come on guys (and girls). Let's show we're more magnanimous than this ignoramus. Stand to attention for GSTQ, let the English sing it to their heart's content, applaud politely at the end and then belt out Amrhan na bhFiann and Ireland's Call (if we must) with full gusto and urge our team to get stuck into them.

For the next 80 minutes only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭spanner

Come on guys (and girls). Let's show we're more magnanimous than this ignoramus. Stand to attention for GSTQ, let the English sing it to their heart's content, applaud politely at the end and then belt out Amrhan na bhFiann and Ireland's Call (if we must) with full gusto and urge our team to get stuck into them.

For the next 80 minutes only.

and from this form and the general public I think this will happen, but remember before the love ulster parade nobody really seen the riot come the way it did. It nearly came out of no where and their voice seem to be listened to more abroad. I really hope their is not a repeat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Conor_8

spanner wrote:
    and from this form and the general public I think this will happen, but remember before the love ulster parade nobody really seen the riot come the way it did. It nearly came out of no where and their voice seem to be listened to more abroad. I really hope their is not a repeat

I agree and hope so too. But with all the emotion its hard to tell. I can't remember an Irish crowd booing kickers as much as the France game in Croker.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

...For the next 80 minutes only.

Someone had better tell the Irish team that a rugby match lasts for 80 minutes then and not 78 minutes like last week !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Ponster wrote:
    Someone had better tell the Irish team that a rugby match lasts for 80 minutes then and not 78 minutes like last week !

78? They didn't play for the first 15 either.

Sadly I think the English national anthem will be booed, but not necessarily by rugby fans. I think the event junkies and fair weather fans that turn up for any remotely major sporting event, will embarass the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,890 ✭✭✭cgarvey

Sadly I think the English national anthem will be booed, but not necessarily by rugby fans. I think the event junkies and fair weather fans that turn up for any remotely major sporting event, will embarass the country.

Good point, and certainly a cross section of the few Hill 16 fans I met last week would support that argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

ARGINITE wrote:
    It's just another game. I dont see how the venue will change how people would react to an national anthem.

QUOTE=daveirl]I disagree that it's inevitable. People respect the English anthem every other year I can't see why they'd get worked up this year.[/QUOTE]

What planet do you two "muppets" live on???? It is not simply another game in another venue. I will keep the history lesson very short and sweet, there are 14 reasons why the english NA will be booed and each one of them lies 6 foot under, 14 of our men,women and children were murdered at a sporting occassion in this said "venue" by murdering british occupied forces. Now call me whatever you want to call me (bigot with a hatred for all things british would be nice) but I for one will be booeing their NA and will do so with great gusto.

Dont get me wrong I am not a member of the GAA nor am i aligned with any pro-republican groups/parties, I am a proud Irishman and attend many sporting events, and I am delighted that rugger and footy are being played in Croker but it always left a bad taste in my mouth that their NA would be played in a venue where such an atrocity occured and for that I make no apology in showing my disgust of their NA being played in such a venue so to all you fcuking doo gooders who dont know the full facts this paddy will be booing and has 2 fingers in your face.

Id probably guess that most of those who frown upon a lack of respect for the british flag have been "public schooled" in an instution where the history books were more flavoured with the rule of the British Empire rather than the history on your own doorstep, or just mabey northside of the liffey isnt classed as "on your own doorstep"......

ARGINITE wrote:

QUOTE=daveirl]I disagree that it's inevitable. People respect the English anthem every other year I can't see why they'd get worked up this year.[/QUOTE]

What planet do you two "muppets" live on???? It is not simply another game in another venue. I will keep the history lesson very short and sweet, there are 14 reasons why the english NA will be booed and each one of them lies 6 foot under, 14 of our men,women and children were murdered at a sporting occassion in this said "venue" by murdering british occupied forces. Now call me whatever you want to call me (bigot with a hatred for all things british would be nice) but I for one will be booeing their NA and will do so with great gusto.

Dont get me wrong I am not a member of the GAA nor am i aligned with any pro-republican groups/parties, I am a proud Irishman and attend many sporting events, and I am delighted that rugger and footy are being played in Croker but it always left a bad taste in my mouth that their NA would be played in a venue where such an atrocity occured and for that I make no apology in showing my disgust of their NA being played in such a venue so to all you fcuking doo gooders who dont know the full facts this paddy will be booing and has 2 fingers in your face.

Id probably guess that most of those who frown upon a lack of respect for the british flag have been "public schooled" in an instution where the history books were more flavoured with the rule of the British Empire rather than the history on your own doorstep, or just mabey northside of the liffey isnt classed as "on your own doorstep"......

• Subscribers Posts: 16,663 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

alanceltic wrote:
    daveirl wrote:
    I disagree that it's inevitable. People respect the English anthem every other year I can't see why they'd get worked up this year.

so you are going to boo the national anthem of members of our own team? the northern members of the team have stood up for ours all these years and most would consider themselves british more than Irish. Some have been badly affected by the troubles also as most people on here will know.

It's a simple matter of respect, our anthem isn't booed in England at the rugby games, we should show them the same respect no matter what your feeling.

daveym wrote:
    so you are going to boo the national anthem of members of our own team? the northern members of the team have stood up for ours all these years and most would consider themselves british more than Irish. Some have been badly affected by the troubles also as most people on here will know.

It's a simple matter of respect, our anthem isn't booed in England at the rugby games, we should show them the same respect no matter what your feeling.

I must be missing something here.... our players NA on the day will be Amhrán na bhFiann not God save the Queen regardless of where they hail from......... and if they consider themselves more british than Irish then im afraid somebody should have pointed them towards a white shirt and not a green one because I certainly dont want to support a player who sees himself as british and not irish...

As for respect, a person or country does NOT have an automatic right to respect, respect is earned and as for our anthem not being booed, I dont ever recall our soverign armed forces murdering innocent people enjoying a day out at a match!

alanceltic wrote:
    I must be missing something here.... our players NA on the day will be Amhrán na bhFiann not God save the Queen regardless of where they hail from......... and if they consider themselves more british than Irish then im afraid somebody should have pointed them towards a white shirt and not a green one because I certainly dont want to support a player who sees himself as british and not irish

So now you are telling people what their national anthem is? The anthem is played because the game is in Ireland, NOT because it is the anthem of the team. You clearly don't have a clue what you are talking about. You do know the rugby team is made up of people from northern Ireland as well? How would they play for england? I'm pretty sure we could all live without your support, whatever you call 'support' that is..

alanceltic wrote:
    I must be missing something here.... our players NA on the day will be Amhrán na bhFiann not God save the Queen regardless of where they hail from......... and if they consider themselves more british than Irish then im afraid somebody should have pointed them towards a white shirt and not a green one because I certainly dont want to support a player who sees himself as british and not irish...

QUOTE]
    Why do you support celtic then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I don't think alanceltic has realised that Irish rugby is a 32 counties game - not a 26 one, and as such amhran na bhfiann does not necessarily apply to all our players. in fact, Amhran na bhfiann has not been our players NA for a long time, hence the invention of Irelands call. if you're going to rant, rave and abuse, at least get your facts straight, because thats the most disgraceful mismanagement of facts i've seen in a post in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

republician sinn fein (lads behind love ulster riot)

Not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ken Maginnis in the Times on Saturday said he loves when Ireland beat England. He said it was an "Irish" thing. Trevor Ringland, a DUP Councillor said before the 2005 All Ireland, "stand up for Ulster, stand up for Tyrone". They consider themselves Irish on occasions like these. Or are they not Irish enough for some people?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

AlanCeltic banned for personal abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭shmaido

alanceltic wrote:

Its not fair, he doesn't deserve that ticket with that attitude, he's not going as a "irish rugby supporter" but just as a dissenter and general trouble maker, he's not going to be honouring those people who died when he boos the english NA, he'll be disgracing them. I'm sorry if this comes across as personal abuse but its making me physically sick thinking that he'll be going to the match and I won't because I couldn't get a ticket, sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

alanceltic wrote:

Oh FFS.

Its in the past. Its not going to happen again, so grow up and stop spouting this constant crap. Now I dont really believe you are older than 87 and were actually "there". They are the country right next door to you and thats the way they are going to stay. Europe is different now and to be honest you dont see most of western europe booing the Germans all the time do you?
    England isnt the same anymore, Ireland isnt the same anymore. Except for a misguided sense of hurt pride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,566 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

I would hope the the number of people who boo the anthem will be small enough that their boos will be drowned out by the sound of the anthem itself and the people who are singing it.

By booing an anthem its just showing a lack of respect to other rugby supporters from both england & ireland who have choosen to move on from the past and enjoy the present. I don't think what happened should be forgotten, but why sink down to a level of disrespect that insults your own country and people.

daveirl wrote:

agreed and since tickets are so scarce there are unlikely to be large pockets of boo boys. Anyone booing will likely be shut it pretty sharpish by the people around them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Im sorry AlanCeltic just put me asleep, what did i miss?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Basically something a long the lines that any Irish players not singing A Na Bhf should **** off and wear a white shirt. He's a proud Irishman. Or should I say 26 county man. Doesn't want people from the wee 6 who don't sing A na Bhf despite the proud tradition Ulster has of players on the Ireland team. A true Irishman. Somebody remind me what the Tricolour stands for and signifies. Answering Ireland's Call doesn't count either.

I don't think there will be to many booing. The small minority of Brits who use GSTQ and the Union Jack as triumphalist and racist, I hate. Thank God that's soccer and not rugby. Why do I think of the Love Ulster riots and Celtic shirts when I think of these people.They don't even sing A na Bhf in Irish at Parkhead.

Our national anthem is played at GAA Matches in the North. It's still the 6 counties whether we like it or not. Why not let GSTQ in the South then?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Linford

Just in relation to the Ulster players. It is likely that there will be none in the starting 15, although they will make up the majority of the bench...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

As an Iriah Nationalist and a rugby supporter, i will be respectful to the English NA, and i will stand and remain silent. I have no problem with a fellow european nation having its anthem played in the home of Irish sport, in many ways, Croke Park. No more than I had a problem last sunday when the Marseillese was played there.

But, as always, i will take my seat when that god awful pc bunch of crap, Ireland's call, is played. Why the hell the IRFU think that I have to put up with that Phil Coulter ditty, is beyond me. If you want to play for Ireland, then play for Ireland and put up with our NA. It is bad enough having to listen to it at home games, but it is now the only song played when at away matches. BAN IT!!!!! I am more concerned by Ireland's bloody Call being played than the English NA. I know it's about being inclusicve etc.... why not play Danny Boy then, isnt that what the nordies play at the Commonwealth games????

Sorry, bit off topic there... rant, rave etc.