Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A step in the right direction

• 09-02-2007 3:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

Ok guys as you know one of the biggest probelms facing Airsoft in the Republic is the lack of skirmish sites available to us. It has been suggested in the past that a way around this would be to ask a local landowner for permission to play somewhere on their property. As I am sure you also know the biggest problem with this solution has been insurance.

Well with not inconsiderable help (read arm twisting :D )from a, lets just say friend of Airsoft (I don't know if they want their name put up in a public forum) an insurance company has decided to cover us.

They have given a preliminary quote of E40 per person per year. This will provide comprehensive cover for any one living anywhere in the Republic or Northern Ireland. I have some information on its way to me at the moment so I will be able to tell you exactly what the cover entails early next week. This quote is is based on a group membership which in my opinion gives us even more reason to set up some sort of Irish Airsoft Association. So with even more help form our aforementioned friend (We all really owe them some beers :D ) we have come up with a provisional Constitution. It needs a little more work but I'll see about posting it up here later tonight.

If you ask me it could only serve to help distance us from any idiot who decides to run amock with an AEG if we have a list of registered association members who all have their own insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

excellent news alright!

I was talking to Nonex on the phone and he was saying that even if we were able to set up some kind of an Airsoft club to begin with. Membership cards. Keep a list of names and addresses etc.

Looking forward to seeing this constitution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

Great news alright!

40 Euro a year is nothing for anyone who is really serious about playing Airsoft. And as you say, it may help smooth things with the law, makes it more above board. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

NICE hehe means that certain people wont get arrested then.:p all we gotta do then is find somewere that we can go and use it and for 40 euro even a 10 year old could come up with that in a year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Great news!

I agree with oisin (and Nonex) that we should begin to set up even a provisional airsoft club with a collection of names, addresses, numbers and emails -- that way we could (a) make the sport look infinitely more respectable [an organised club, and insurance], and (b) have a way to keep everybody up to date on any advancements with this thing [contact list].

To get the ball rolling if it's alright with you lot I was gonna set up a gmail account for people to email, so we can get a list of all the people who might be interested in joining a club once it's established. Not gonna do anything else with it, just collect email addresses and names.
    Is that alright with ye?

I was thinking airsoftnaheireann[at]gmail[dot]com

I think it's a safer suggestion than Irish Republican Airsoft, as was suggested on the bus! :D

It's just a provisional thing to gauge interest. What ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭whupass

well maybe if we got the insurance person to collect all the personal information becuase they are the person who needs it, but i had exactly the same idea as you dave mc g

Deadly, well seeing as I got the imprimatur from whupass :D I went ahead and created:

airsoftnaheireann(at)gmail(dot)com

If you would be interested in joining an airsoft club based in the Republic of Ireland, then send an email from your regular email address, to the address I posted, stating your name and age (might be relevent at some stage) and expressing your interest in joining.

I just went ahead and sent my own details to it.

Sorry if it seems like I'm jumping the gun here lads! But it's just to provisionally gather a list (external to boards) of names interested in setting up a club. If one is set up then there'll be a list ready to be used to give out updates, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

Great news :D cant wait to pay me 40quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭EyesOnly

Thanks for the info N.O.I.P
    Nice one, cant wait for this to get setup ( puts aside €40 for this,well 120 cos id say my bro and nephew will as hes getting his camo/gun sorted out now :D)
    We need somewhere for an AGM ;p (perferably somwhere in the middle of ireland and not in dublin(might put ppl off))

ill wait for things to start before i give my email out, i dont give my private one out to often ;p
    Eyes

Okay well what do we need to get a 'club' going?
    Presumably:
    -a name
    -a website
    -members

Anything else? I'm not sure, but since the club wouldn't actually be hosting the skirmishes itself, I would think that we wouldn't need insurance to exist as such.

www.airsoftireland.com is a fairly organised website -- do they not kinda monopolise the whole airsoft scene all over Ireland? I know they're geared towards Norn Iron since that's where they're based, but I would think that once sites start opening down here, those sites will want to be affiliated with the larger organisation.

What I'm trying to get at is, what purpose is the club down here supposed to serve?

And what do ye think of Airsoft na hÉireann as a name? And for a website (ie. www(dot)airsoftnaheireann(dot)com). Cos that name's not taken and if ye approve of it (or indeed if ye can think of a better one), then I can buy the name and start building a basic website. Or someone else can, it doesn't bother me, I just wanna get the ball rolling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

I like Airsoft na hÉireann, if only for its kitsch value :) (I think it would be aerbog if fully translated)

Count me in if you're forming a club!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

if we got some form of club together we could get a section put on the ASI website for us. linking to a website of our own maybe.

Great to see the ball rolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Dave if you dont know how to set up a website i might be able to pursuade my sister to teach me how as she set up the trinity windsurfng site.

I've actually done a few websites myself, so I'd be capable of doing it, but if anybody feels that they could do a better job (ie. they have a few years of experience with web design) then by all means go for it.

Anyone able to think of a better name than Airsoft na hÉireann? Or should we go for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

this might help? can make use of my site if wanted for meetings
    once a month or something like that and then have meetings at more sites
    as they start up

How to structure your sports club/organisation

3 November 2005

Introduction

A common question for clubs, events, and governing bodies at all levels of sport is what is the best legal structure to use - club or company? In this article we take a practical look at the pros and cons of the most likely options for your club or governing body.

1. Unincorporated Association

A. What Is It?

● A group of individuals coming together to carry out a mutual activity, in common language a club. The group usually draws up a set of rules to regulate the relationship between the members and will usually provide for a committee to run the club’s affairs. An unincorporated association is the most common structure for sports clubs as it is the simplest and most informal way to establish an organisation. Put simply, any sports group or club which is not a company is an unincorporated association, whether its members are aware of it or not!

B. Advantages:

● Informality: Comes into being simply as a result of a mutual decision on the part of its members to form a club.

● Simplicity: No need to file or publish accounts or returns. Legal formalities and administrative costs are kept to a minimum although it is a good idea to have at least some rules and regulations set out in writing.

● Privacy: The rules and accounts of unincorporated associations are not a matter of public record, allowing for privacy in the club’s affairs.

C. Disadvantages:

● The club has no separate legal personality from members.

(i) No limited liability. The members will be personally liable for any liability of the club not met by its assets. Therefore caution should be exercised in taking on any onerous debts.

(ii) The unincorporated association will have to appoint trustees if it wishes to hold property such as a clubhouse. Similarly, if the club is to make a contract or be a party to litigation, a nominated member of the club must act on its behalf. However, as these activities are usually limited they are not too big of a drawback.

D. Suitable For?:

● Grassroots clubs who do not hold any significant property or employ staff and whose liabilities can be easily covered by having in place appropriate insurance policies. Notable exceptions to this general rule include the IRFU and the English Lawn Tennis Association which are both unincorporated associations. However, nowadays most large sports clubs, events, or governing bodies are limited liability companies.

2. Guarantee Companies

A. What Is It?:

● The liability of the members of a guarantee company is limited to the guarantee amount, usually a nominal sum. The guarantee company’s constitutional documents are its Memorandum and Articles of Association. It consists of members who normally elect a board of directors to conduct the affairs of the company and to whom the executives will report. It is possible to have either a public or private guarantee company. There are two key differences between public and private guarantee companies. Firstly, a public company limited by guarantee must have a minimum of 7 members with no upper limit on the number of members. In contrast, a private company limited by guarantee can have only a single member up to a maximum of 50 members. Secondly, a public company limited by guarantee is prohibited from having a share capital, while a private company limited by guarantee must have a share capital.

● A key characteristic is that a guarantee company may and generally will wish to generate a profit but it may not distribute that profit to its members. Profits are thus reinvested in the company/sport.

B. Advantages:

● Limited Liability: The liability of the members is limited to the guarantee amount.

● Separate Legal Personality. This characteristic provides a club with the ability to hold property and bank accounts in its own right and the ability to sue and be sued in its own name rather than in the name of certain individuals.

● Flexibility: A company’s Memorandum and Articles of Association may be tailored to the purposes of the particular sports organisation. In particular a private company limited by guarantee may create different classes of shares in order to give different shareholders different rights. A Shareholders Agreement may also be put in place to further define the relationship between the members.

C. Disadvantages:

● Regulated Environment: The Companies Acts prescribe various regulatory requirements which companies must comply with such as Companies Registration Office filings, meaning increased administrative burden and not insignificant cost compared to unincorporated associations. Cost may be an issue for small clubs and sports. Also failure to comply with these requirements will lead to probable prosecution and fines.

● Directors’ Duties: Where clubs or organisations are operated as companies they must appoint directors who are subject to onerous statutory duties and may be personally liable if the company fails to comply with the Companies Acts.

D. Suitable For?:

● Larger clubs holding property and governing bodies, in instances where profits are not to be distributed. Examples include Kilmacud Crokes, Longford Town F.C., the FAI, the Irish Basketball Association and Páirc an Chrocaigh Teoranta, the company established by the GAA to manage Croke Park.

3. Limited Companies

3A Private Limited Company

A. What Is It?:

● A private limited company with a share capital, a board of directors and members who hold shares in the company which may be transferred and which may carry particular rights e.g. voting rights. This is the typical basic private company that most people are familiar with. The private company limited by shares may have a maximum of 50 members.

● The company’s ‘rules’ are its Memorandum and Articles of Association which are filed in the Companies Registration Office. It may also have a set of rules to deal with the conduct of the organisation’s affairs which may go beyond matters normally covered by a company’s Articles of Association. This is allowed by company law but it is very important that the rules conform with the Articles, as at law the latter have primacy over the organisation’s rules.

B. Advantages:

● Capital: A private limited company has the ability to raise finance by attracting investors through issuing shares and debentures. Shares may also be bought and sold.

● Limited Liability: As with guarantee companies.

● Separate Legal Personality: As with guarantee companies.

● Flexibility: As with guarantee companies.

C. Disadvantages:

● Regulated Environment: As with guarantee companies.

● Directors’ Duties: As with guarantee companies.

D. Suitable For?:

● Larger and more complex commercial and financial operations such as governing bodies and large clubs wishing to make a profit and possibly distribute that profit to its members. Examples include Shelbourne F.C. and European Rugby Cup.

3B Public Limited Company

A. What Is It?:

● A company that offers its shares to the public. It must have a minimum of seven members but, unlike a private company limited by shares, it may extend its membership beyond 50. A PLC may offer its shares directly to the public or sell them through the Stock Exchange and float the company in this way. In Ireland, there are no sports clubs listed on the Stock Exchange.

● The PLC is in many ways very similar to the private company limited by shares, with principles such as limited liability and separate legal personality being equally applicable. On the other hand, the law and practice applicable to its formation, capitalisation, membership, corporate governance, transfer of shares, and accounting disclosure requirements is markedly different.

● A public company may be formed afresh or a private company may be converted to a public company where it wishes to increase its membership and/or raise additional capital. The formation of a PLC is typically a commercially motivated and expansionist move on the part of an organisation.

B. Advantages:

● Flexibility: As well as having the ability to tailor its Memorandum and Articles to suit its purposes, a PLC may issue various types of shares with different qualities of membership rights attached. For example, voting rights can be restricted to a small number of specific shares in order to retain control of the club in a few hands.

● Separate Legal Personality.

● Limited Liability: Each member’s liability is restricted to the amount unpaid on his shareholding.

● Share Transfer: Shares in a PLC are in principle freely transferable, allowing a member of a golf club to sell his membership, perhaps even at a profit. This right is not absolute and may be subject to certain restrictions contained in the company’s Memorandum & Articles. The PLC can also be listed on the stock exchange.

● Capital: A PLC has the ability to raise finance by issuing shares and debentures. It has the added advantage of unlimited membership, allowing it even greater potential to raise capital.

C. Disadvantages:

● Regulated Environment: PLCs are subject to an even more stringently regulated environment than the other two types of company.

● Directors’ Duties: The directors of a PLC are subject to the same onerous statutory duties as the directors of the other two types of company discussed.

• Loss of Control: As the Glazers’ purchase of Manchester United illustrated, a significant disadvantage to a PLC offering its shares to the public is that it has no control over who purchases its shares or the intentions of its new owners. Despite the rancour of United’s fans the reality is that their club left itself open to this kind of takeover the day it became a PLC.

D. Suitability:

● The PLC can be a suitable vehicle for clubs with a large membership which have a strong profit motivation and are intending to continue growing but require access to capital to do so. As the Irish sporting market is small, few clubs fall into this bracket. The exception is in the golf and country club market, in which several clubs have either converted to or incorporated as PLCs. As the number of members in a PLC may exceed 50, it is a particularly suitable vehicle for commercially run golf clubs, which typically have a membership of hundreds. Various classes of shares may be issued, allowing the club to market different classes of membership to the public. Examples include Carton House Golf Club, Castleknock Golf and Country Club and Glen of the Downs Golf Club.

Conclusion

Each of the above discussed structures has its merits, each has its drawbacks, and none will prove to be a panacea for all of the eventualities that may arise. Nevertheless, the organisation that objectively appraises its own peculiar circumstances and then chooses the structure that best fits those circumstances will have at least laid the foundation for a successful venture. If the sports club, event, or governing body decides to incorporate then it is very important that it keeps up to date with all of its company law obligations especially relating to its company filings. The corporate governance environment has changed substantially since the establishment of the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement in 2001 and there are substantial penalties for failure to meet the filing deadlines. It is also important that company directors in particular are aware of and comply with their statutory and fiduciary duties to the company.

Kenan Furlong, Associate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

I have no problem with the name airsoftnaheireann but I was thinking of something simple like the Irish Airsoft Association, as I would also like it to include people living in NI and some people may not like the gaelic name. Well at this stage I have had more then a little to drink and for some reason my leg seems to be bleeding a substantial amount so I'll throw up some more thoughts and upload the constitution tomorrow.

Dave if you get the chance could you mock up a basic site nothing too fancy as I think that the ASI forums would be fine for any kind of national association discussions, so maybe sections for news, reviews and possibly a guestbook. I have had a couple of ideas for an all Ireland tournament using all the sites in the country (yes yours too nonex :D ) but like I said I'll post more in the morning.
    what purpose is the club down here supposed to serve?
    My last point :D the main purpose of having an organization set up down here is so that Airsoft can have a unified public face to represent its interests and that of its proponents to the Gardai and various well meaning but utterly clueless public interest groups. Ideally the association would end up being the governing body for clubs nationwide ie: one club per county all affiliated with a national govening council similar to the FAI setup only not as badly managed :D

Right well I hope that all made sense, until tomorrow have a good night and happy airsofting :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

sounds good, i've no problem coffing up 40 quid a year for insurance.
    as for name, its good but i was thinking of Airsoft Skirmish Society

So does any1 actually know someone with suitable land?
    I believe its long gone but does clara lara still exist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

yes

Master of the Universe

Although I am quite fond of airsoftnaheireann, it would probably be a good idea to keep everything straightforward and in English. Not everyone speaks Irish. And although it's pretty basic stuff, the less you have to explain about your group the better.

Irish Airsoft Association is to the point.

"Hi, I'm such and such from The Irish Airsoft Association". The only word there that may need some explanation is the word "Airsoft". Everything else is pretty self explanatory.

Plus the addition of the word "association" makes it sound like a proper legitimate body.

It would be an excellent start alright if someone could get a website thrown up. Summary of the aims of the organization. League tables when/if they start. General airsoft related information. Somewhere to point people with questions.

As for using it for discussion, I'd be a bit reluctant to start a forum on it. As you really can't get better exposure then boards. Personally I came across the airsoft Ireland thread on here long before I even knew ASI existed. And I know many of you discovered the recent airsoft boom (!) in this country on here too. Without talk here, I'm pretty sure a lot of people would miss out.

maybe not a forum but a messaging system would be good and a classifieds section for gear and guns would be handy.

Alright lads I'm gonna buy irishairsoftassociation(dot)com and I'll post the email address associated with that when it's done. And I'll get cracking on a website ASAP. I agree that a forum won't be necessary, because people will undoubtedly be drawn either to boards or ASI and it'll prove more hastle than it's worth.

Anyone with suggestions for a layout or anything to do with the website feel free to email them to airsoftnaheireann(at)gmail(dot)com (since that's already registered, and the other email I set up will probably just forward to that!) cos it'll save me having to think too much! :D

Alright folks, you can now visit

www.irishairsoftassociation.com

For the moment it consists solely of a provisional (sh*tty) logo (I'll do a good one within the next day or 2) and a contact email address (admin(at)irishairsoftassociation(dot)com)

I'll let yiz know when I've actually got a few pages done, but for now just wanted to let ye know what the deal is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Very nice!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Shouldnt you be waiting for the constitution, a meeting where membership can vote on it (first article of club constitutions define the name for example), an elected commitee etc. before going ahead with registering domains and setting up websites?

Nice :) i think the idea of having a list of members would be very handy and also havin personal info Eg. Name, Mobile(assuming everyone has one),address, email and all other relelvant info. as far as the names both are cool but as Oisin said not everyone can speak irish and its not just for irish people so irishairsoftassociation is pretty sweet :) good idea and finally theres some airsoft movement down here thanks to mainly N.O.I.P for being the info maniac and orgainising busses and what not :p

CiaranC wrote:
    Shouldnt you be waiting for the constitution, a meeting where membership can vote on it (first article of club constitutions define the name for example), an elected commitee etc. before going ahead with registering domains and setting up websites?
    (a) I don't think that the name is that important at all; everyone wants something related to i. Ireland, and ii. Airsoft. The name that's been registered achieves this and as Oisín mentioned, the 'association' part gives it a more organised and formal appearance.

(b) If there's a problem with the name then someone can just choose a different one. It cost all of €10.

(c) If we don't start making positive steps like establishing a website and picking a name and finding a few members, then I'd say we'll be months trying to do the rest like deciding on a constitution, etc. I imagine the internet will be our main source for advertising and for gaining members.

(d) The people who are establishing the club (the members), and making the decisions, are on this forum! This is what we are using to communicate! If anyone has objections, they will be raised here, but most people seem to be happy with the name.

DaveMcG wrote:
    (a) I don't think that the name is that important at all; everyone wants something related to i. Ireland, and ii. Airsoft. The name that's been registered achieves this and as Oisín mentioned, the 'association' part gives it a more organised and formal appearance.

(b) If there's a problem with the name then someone can just choose a different one. It cost all of €10.

(c) If we don't start making positive steps like establishing a website and picking a name and finding a few members, then I'd say we'll be months trying to do the rest like deciding on a constitution, etc. I imagine the internet will be our main source for advertising and for gaining members.

(d) The people who are establishing the club (the members), and making the decisions, are on this forum! This is what we are using to communicate! If anyone has objections, they will be raised here, but most people seem to be happy with the name.

Well im assuming we will use this to communicate until we have some sort of forum set up on the website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

DaveMcG wrote:
    Alright lads I'm gonna buy irishairsoftassociation(dot)com and I'll post the email address associated with that when it's done. And I'll get cracking on a website ASAP. I agree that a forum won't be necessary, because people will undoubtedly be drawn either to boards or ASI and it'll prove more hastle than it's worth.

Anyone with suggestions for a layout or anything to do with the website feel free to email them to airsoftnaheireann(at)gmail(dot)com (since that's already registered, and the other email I set up will probably just forward to that!) cos it'll save me having to think too much! :D

If at some point a forum is added, have a look at:

http://www.phpbb.com/

It's very good. You can see an example of it in use at : http://cerberus.kauler.com/phpBB/

Actually, the layout of that entire site is quite good. It has list of members, application forms, forums, FAQ, profile etc. I know the guy that setup the site. He may be willing to give some help or advice.

http://cerberus.kauler.com/

Master of the Universe

DaveMcG wrote:
    Alright folks, you can now visit

www.irishairsoftassociation.com

For the moment it consists solely of a provisional (sh*tty) logo (I'll do a good one within the next day or 2) and a contact email address (admin(at)irishairsoftassociation(dot)com)

I'll let yiz know when I've actually got a few pages done, but for now just wanted to let ye know what the deal is!

wah! nice work man! I go for a walk up the mountains and when I come back, a domain has already been bought.

How long was I gone for?
    Nice choice of gun by the way. I see you used my version and not your one! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Miscreant

Nicely done folks. Have not logged into Boards in a month and look at the changes already! I think Irish Airsoft Association is a great name so well done to DaveMcG for registering the domain and getting the ball rolling. You can definately count me in on the whole association and insurance thing. I still have to get some gear and a few more weapons (1 AEG and 2 Gbbs just isn't enough) and I will head on a Skirmish with everyone.

Good work, no point wasting time talkng about what we could do. may as well jump in and have something to work from even if the whole thing changes by the time we are fnished.

I dont think a complete forum would be a great idea as we dont want to have this one (boards) left to die.
    As stated its where alot of people get a foot in the airsoft door.
    I've always had guns but never knew the extent of the sport and what proper guns could be bought until i happened to see the airsoft/paintball on the main page of boards one night and had a look.
    Look at me now.

We need to get a Patch style logo done so that later on we could look into getting patches made........Sorry, thinking to far ahead.
    If i can offer any assistance i will.
    I'll mess about with logo design doodles while im supposed to be working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

Good work, no point wasting time talkng about what we could do. may as well jump in and have something to work from even if the whole thing changes by the time we are fnished.

I dont think a complete forum would be a great idea as we dont want to have this one (boards) left to die.
    As stated its where alot of people get a foot in the airsoft door.
    I've always had guns but never knew the extent of the sport and what proper guns could be bought until i happened to see the airsoft/paintball on the main page of boards one night and had a look.
    Look at me now.

We need to get a Patch style logo done so that later on we could look into getting patches made........Sorry, thinking to far ahead.
    If i can offer any assistance i will.
    I'll mess about with logo design doodles while im supposed to be working.
    Do some work oinker...I dont pay my taxes for you to doss off!

O.o waits for Harekin to get a fine through the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Never going to happen, it would be too much like work for the average Irish guard and as anyone who was at predator on the 3rd found out Spitfire is way below average :D

Lmao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Master of the Universe

If at some point a forum is added, have a look at:

http://www.phpbb.com/

It's very good. You can see an example of it in use at : http://cerberus.kauler.com/phpBB/

Actually, the layout of that entire site is quite good. It has list of members, application forms, forums, FAQ, profile etc. I know the guy that setup the site. He may be willing to give some help or advice.

http://cerberus.kauler.com/

I know you work in IT, and I am but a measly art student.... But isnt boards.ie phpbb? That example site you posted a link of looks exactly the same as this one.

o1s1n wrote:
    I know you work in IT, and I am but a measly art student.... But isnt boards.ie phpbb? That example site you posted a link of looks exactly the same as this one.
    Boards is vBulletin; phpBB is basically a free, watered down replica of vBulletin.

If ye want a forum on the site then yeah I'll use phpBB; I've used it on another of my sites and it's handy enough!

Master of the Universe

Ah I see. That would explain the likeness.

I have a feeling a forum is probably going to be inevitable with that site. I guess just see how it goes.

Would still be a shame to see this place die though. And not even a year old yet!

o1s1n wrote:
    Ah I see. That would explain the likeness.

I have a feeling a forum is probably going to be inevitable with that site. I guess just see how it goes.

Would still be a shame to see this place die though. And not even a year old yet!
    Indeed; maybe we could talk to the admins about using this forum for IAA (Irish Airsoft Association... see how I'm abbreviating already? ;) It's catchy!) and just linking to it from IAA...com.

Master of the Universe

Probably the best idea alright. I'm sure they wouldn't mind at all.

Actually, If any one you are going to this skirmish on saturday, I'm sure we could have a word about the whole membership/club idea.

Yeah it's more traffic for them anyway! :D

Re: membership,

if the owner of the site is interested then maybe the site in Swords could be our primary site for skirmishes, and we could advertise the site on the IAA website in exchange for discounts for members?

Come to think of it this might require alot of administration, eg. if we charge membership fees (dunno if this is planned or needed, but possibly) we'll need a treasurer; someone will have to handle the registering of members (online or in writing?), and I'm sure there's a load of other things that I can't think of ATM.

Daunting!

Master of the Universe

I'm sure he'd be more then happy to use his site as our primary place to play. Sure it's the only site I can imagine being sorted any time in the near future. He's also sorting out another one as well. But I won't say any more about that until its concrete.

Well, there will have to be a fee to cover printing of membership cards and other costs associated with it. But that'd just be once off and pretty small. Just keep it as a purely non profit organization/club.

There would have to be a treasurer alright. Would also need someone to take on the task of keeping a book about all the goings on. Including names addresses etc. And possibly a mug shot of everyone. Just in case!

Yeah I actually have on my notes (:D) that I might put in a review section. Should be easy enough... Just fill in the sections and email them to reviews@IAA.com.... (I'll create that, lol).

Here fellas I'm working on a logo at the moment and I'm thinking something like this:

38062.jpg

It's not finished... I'm trying to illuminate the white sections a light shade of red (like in this scope), and I need to put something in the middle that would be kinda the important part of the logo. I was thinking 'IAA' in some sort of cool font. Failing that, maybe someone could give me some ideas of a symbol of some sort to put in there. The obvious option is a gun, but that's perhaps too cliché ;)

Any ideas? Oisín, you're an art student, make with the ideas! :D

What do ye think of it anyway? That would go across the top of the page similar to this site.

Master of the Universe

DaveMcG wrote:
    Yeah I actually have on my notes (:D) that I might put in a review section. Should be easy enough... Just fill in the sections and email them to reviews@IAA.com.... (I'll create that, lol).

Here fellas I'm working on a logo at the moment and I'm thinking something like this:

38062.jpg

It's not finished... I'm trying to illuminate the white sections a light shade of red (like in this scope), and I need to put something in the middle that would be kinda the important part of the logo. I was thinking 'IAA' in some sort of cool font. Failing that, maybe someone could give me some ideas of a symbol of some sort to put in there. The obvious option is a gun, but that's perhaps too cliché ;)

Any ideas? Oisín, you're an art student, make with the ideas! :D

What do ye think of it anyway? That would go across the top of the page similar to this site.

Nice logo! I can see Harekin And Evolute..and Mick. hmmm. Maybe use one of the longer shots with more people in them? Faces would be less recognizable. I don't know how people would feel about being part of a logo.

Keep up the productive streak anyway. We'll milk you for all you're worth ;)

Actually, just another thing. If you're going to write a logo into a circle, in this case "www.irishairsoftassociation.com", start the www in the bottom left segment instead of the top right. Would make it easier to read ;) I think so anyway...

I'm not a fan of the Americas Army logo TBH LIGHTNING! Maybe others are, I dunno.

Oisín you're right about the www thing, I'll sort that out once we're closer to deciding on the basic idea.

I think this looks alright... I want the words (not in the logo; in the banner) to look better than they do, but can't think of a way to... They look very plain! What do ye think of the sniper in the background of the logo? It's not really good for if we want to make patches in the future, but I can't think of anything else at the moment :confused:

38067.jpg

Re: faces in the banner,

MINE IS THE ONLY ONE THAT'S IMPORTANT! :D (just above the F & T in the text ;))

Master of the Universe

I actually really like the offset sniper sights to the left. Works well with the text across. Nice format.

Oh, so YOU'RE the one who's standing right in front of me! Damn camera hogger :P

What can I say, the camera loves me! :D

I'll leave the logo for now, I'll get back to it. I'll let ye know what I have the layout done...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭whupass

dave if you need any help my dad is a website maker and he has offered to make me a site before, he made that jamesons film festival site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭ditpaintball

Good progress on the association lads. May i suggest the use of a pre-modded version of phpbb, called e-tegra. http://www.e-tegra.com/. The IPPA - Irish Paintball Players Association site, http://www.irish-paintball.net is built entirely through e-tegra. Once a capable admin sets it up, sets your themes and looks etc, the site will run it's self.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

DaveMcG wrote:
    What can I say, the camera loves me! :D

I'll leave the logo for now, I'll get back to it. I'll let ye know what I have the layout done...

Nice logo Dave, I'm in it too, top right :)

Master of the Universe

Fiach Dubh wrote:
    Nice logo Dave, I'm in it too, top right :)

So you are! Didn't see you hiding away up there in the corner.