Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Awkward comments in a Dublin card room

• 26-01-2007 7:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭

I was playing a tournament last Sunday night in a Dublin club and there were a lot of comments that made me feel a little uneasy.

There was a chinese guy at my table from the start and we both made the final table. He was sitting beside me all night, including the final table, so we were talking a lot together about hands and that.

At the final table, there was one guy in particular (big bald tatooed guy, I'm sure some of you know who) who got involved in two showdowns with the chinese lad, and both times made comments like 'I have ye now chop suey' or 'ye can go for your curry now'
    (I can't remember exactly, but along those lines).

The Chinese lad just smiled at him, but I thought it was out of order.

Then two other guys started calling him 'Ding jung' everytime he did anything.
    This went on for a couple of orbits before he finally said, 'why are you calling me Ding jung?'. To which they replied, 'ah he's a snooker player'. Their tone suggested they thought this was a compliment.

Two weeks previous I was at a cash table with the same bald tattooed guy and there was an oriental American guy there, and the same thing was going on, everytime the American played a hand this guy was calling him Bruce Lee, and again it didn't seem to bother the American guy, or anyone else for that matter, but I found it a little cringy.

The reason I'm posting this is to ask, should I have said something to management?
    Or, should the dealer say something?
    On the surface, both lads didn't seem too concerned by these comments, it was as if they hear it all the time, but I thought it was bordering on racism.

I didn't name the club in question, because they are obviously unaware of this, and I'm sure would take action if one of those two guys complained, so I'd appreciate if nobody else names them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I would of just asked the Chinese guy what his name was, and if the other lad persisted in calling him by something other then his actual name I'd of picked him up on it.

I don't know who you are talking about but I doubt there would of been any real racist undertones, I've never seen this happen while playing live.

If it does effect you or make you feel uncomfortable I would definately bring it up with management,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

if you didn't like the bald guy u should've went absolutely bat****! completely off the deep end, demand he be barred and berate anyone else u don't particularly like in a 40 foot radius. thats what i intend to do tonight.

however i won't be going as far as nickyod and peeing on the table, as I understand his party trick goes...

seriously though, 'enough of that racist bull****' is usually enough to quieten all but the dumbest of asshollioes. if he continues, then fcuk him, he deserves to be barred for insulting your time and intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

I know him. He is barred from a lot of the casino's in Dublin for a range of things. I've seen him do much worse before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Well since he's barred in most clubs in town its fairly obvious what club this was. He has pops at lots of people and thinks it pretty funny. I'd say he's more Jade Goodie racist than outright racist.

I think without wanting to sound weak on the subject if the guys in question don't make an issue of it then I'd say nothing. If they were in discomfort then I'd probably say something directly to the guy because anything else seems really weak.

If he has a problem with that I'd do a Dessie on his ass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

he is not worth wasting space on boards about. he is a terrible ape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

ollyk1 wrote:

I think without wanting to sound weak on the subject if the guys in question don't make an issue of it then I'd say nothing. If they were in discomfort then I'd probably say something directly to the guy because anything else seems really weak.

This was how I felt on both occasions.
    Each time, both guys didn't seem bothered at all by it, so I left it at that.

Besides, big bald barred from everywhere guy just looked like an idiot both times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

i too know this guy and he is a fecking gobs@ite,

i also had a problem with him, caught him hiding tournie chips [two 100chips mind - cant understand this, its not the amount its the fact that he does it, really p@ss's me off ] this was in the club that's being talked about... i brought this to the attention of the card manager and was told that he's being watched....

anyway if im playing a tournie and he's at the table i wont play unless im moved to a different table.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Just a quick thought! Does anyone think this is a side effect of on-line poker where its the norm to belittle and insult players?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

i too know this guy and he is a fecking gobs@ite,

i also had a problem with him, caught him hiding tournie chips [two 100chips mind - cant understand this, its not the amount its the fact that he does it, really p@ss's me off ] this was in the club that's being talked about... i brought this to the attention of the card manager and was told that he's being watched....

anyway if im playing a tournie and he's at the table i wont play unless im moved to a different table.....

I know who you are talking about now. So he's up to his old tricks and the management are doing nothing. not very impressive. a gutless disgrace in fact. i'm sick of hearing about this guy and his antics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Jimmy Hoffa

Who is this guy name and shame what club sporting emporium. Race and class distinction have no place in the card room or anywhere else.If everyone complained he might get barred and be free of this dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Ah folks i ve just registered and now i think i know who it is. I wud have no probs confronting the lad but i do think he s more deffo Jade Goddy thananything else. Anyhow I tool a particular turn to the guy when I heard what he was doing wit tourny chips and cash chips.. Ps May I welcome myself to the boards.. I Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

This guy is a cheating scumbag, why the SE treat him like royalty is beyond me. He should be barred. The fact he's somewhat racist is not surprising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Ok so it is who i think it is and it is the SE. Yeah i agree about the cheating stuff. Hang him out to dry i reckon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭58o

Hey I play in S.E semi regularly and am struggling to identify the culprit here. its not the guy who if painted green would look like Slimer from ghostbusters is it?

yeah i have to agree with Lloyd, i think this lad [don't want to say his name] doesn't even realize what he is saying half of the time and i feel this is because he is uncomfortable with himself and by being loud and annoying is his way of gettin attention, doesnt no how to connect with people so he acts out in an over grown child-like way.... [very sad really]

Lazare dont let this dude put you off playing live as i cant see him been around to long and if your going to confront him make sure you dont make the same mistake as i did and lose it, i do suggest saying it to the management as they will deal with it, no point giving your senses to this guy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Silver-Tiger

58o wrote:
    Hey I play in S.E semi regularly and am struggling to identify the culprit here. its not the guy who if painted green would look like Slimer from ghostbusters is it?

Funniest ever actually lmfao.....
    But Seriously ye thats him:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Is this a guy who's often quite loud and drunk and makes a lot of noise when he wins a pot?

I think what Shout said is a good course of action. Sometimes it is a fine line between a slagging and being offensive. Mostly however I find poker players to be well behaved in this respect. For example I've only ever been called a Tan away from the table :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

one night i had to listen to said ape go on about how good prune juice was for his bowel condition for a whole 30 mins.

we were 3-way in an MTT in the SE and I agreed to chop it with a chip lead just to get away from him.

should definitely say something to management if he starts up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

Lazare wrote:
    ... made comments like 'I have ye now chop suey' or 'ye can go for your curry now'
    other guys started calling him 'Ding jung' everytime he did anything.
    This went on for a couple of orbits before he finally said, 'why are you calling me Ding jung?'. T
    shoutman wrote:
    ...I doubt there would of been any real racist undertones...
    How real should it be before we stop tolerating it?

I'm sorry folks, but this kind of nonsense of jokey matey comments that we are supposed to accept when paraphrased as 'Ah sure they were only trying to be friendly', or even worse that they are only as stupid as the racist on the TV?
    If it walks like a racist, talks like a racist (even smells like a racist :rolleyes: ) it probably is a racist.
    I recognise the particular muppett in question here and IMO the attitude there couldn't be much more real but there is a more general problem and the focus should be on the broad response to these sort of fools. There are no shortage of them anywhere and the poker tables are no exception.

I don't think that other than the withering look that says shut up you moron , there is much you can do at the table. I suppose thats up to the individual I wouldn't be backward about coming forward but you can't expect people to stand up in an environment like the poker table. I'd suggest bringing it up with the nmanagement, who can have a word with the guy and if it doesn't stop, there are lots of other places to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

I was also at the table and witnessed this. Guy is always passing comment on someone. The one with the irony is when he calls me big guy ;)

didn't think much of it at the time as most of what he says goes in one ear and out the other. But now that you mention it your right. There was no need for this and the Chineese guy who I know well may have felt it.
    I'll have a word with my chineese friend the next night I see him and get his views on it.

Anyway. Terrible nuience. terrible player to boot. Management said that they can't do anything about it until they actually catch him doing something although I've heard stories but all unproven.

Mac

Lazare dont let this dude put you off playing live as i cant see him been around to long and if your going to confront him make sure you dont make the same mistake as i did and lose it, i do suggest saying it to the management as they will deal with it, no point giving your senses to this guy..

Cheers Wes, but it would take an awful lot more than that clown to put me off live poker.

Btw, did you find out why he was hiding two low value tournament chips? Seems a bit stange.

Macspower wrote:

I'll have a word with my chineese friend the next night I see him and get his views on it.

Mac

That would be great Mac, next time I see you, I'll ask you about it.

You probably remember me, I was BB to your button.

Conor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

no room for this type of nonsense in a card room, i encountered similiar before with this muppet, just turned the ipod up and ignored him that actually irratated him more than me giving a reaction....i expect he was not loved as a kid hence the attention seeking at his age

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

In the states I've been called "paddy" and "irish" quite a bit at tables. It doesnt bother me unless I think the person is trying to be snide or offensive. Its really in the way its said I guess.

I was in another club a few nights ago with a security guy (please no guesses and certainly no names) who made Hong Kong Phoey noises and karate chops when a chinese guy bet. My way of dealing with it was to catch the chinese guys eye and subtly (but not too subtly) nod in yer man's direction and lift my eyes to heaven and shrug. The chinese guy couldnt keep from smiling and it wasnt done again.

"Frown power" as coined by Stetson Kennedy is a very powerful way of conveying non-approval while avoiding confrontation.
    Anyone interested in this topic should definitely read his life story:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stetson_Kennedy
    He used Superman and comics to seriously damage the KKK.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

I agree with the inter racial thing but is it still ok for inter county abuse coz there no way i'm giving up getting onto those Wexford bollix's

Lazare wrote:
    Cheers Wes, but it would take an awful lot more than that clown to put me off live poker.

Btw, did you find out why he was hiding two low value tournament chips? Seems a bit stange.

not to sure - but i was sitting beside him and when i confronted him on it he told me to be quiet, straight away i stood up and told the dealer and said i was not sittin at a table with a muppet stealing chips, dealer said he didnt see it so i told Alex and he said he'll look into it - i was pretty adamant about sitting on the same table and would no resume the tournie until i was moved, which was facilitated...

im guessing this was not picked up on the cam's.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Macspower wrote:

Anyway. Terrible nuience. terrible player to boot. Management said that they can't do anything about it until they actually catch him doing something although I've heard stories but all unproven.

What a load of crap(not you,them). They're a private club on private property, they can do whatever they want. They can ban whoever they want.

not to sure - but i was sitting beside him and when i confronted him on it he told me to be quiet, straight away i stood up and told the dealer and said i was not sittin at a table with a muppet stealing chips, dealer said he didnt see it so i told Alex and he said he'll look into it - i was pretty adamant about sitting on the same table and would no resume the tournie until i was moved, which was facilitated...

im guessing this was not picked up on the cam's.....

what are small denomination chips at one stage of one tourney are final table chips at another. how much evidence is needed.
    he's already barred from the Fitz for doing the same thing. and a few other places.
    Bottom Feeder, if that is your real name, (as Dom like to say) you did right.
    fair play to ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

nicnicnic wrote:
    I agree with the inter racial thing but is it still ok for inter county abuse coz there no way i'm giving up getting onto those Wexford bollix's

jealousy will get you nowhere in life - i'll sell you a nice site in wexford at a fair price so you can finally get out of that sh*thole slum

...i've just made my mind up to travel accross the border tonight to knackerland to get some soft money - hope to see you later

gg

...btw to all the stuff about the ignorant fella - somebody just kneecap him and he'll learn to stfu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Does this person have tattoo of a star on his neck?

May have had his hair dyed blonde over the christmas period and then shaved his hair off at the start of new year, mid 30's, about 6'2", 16/17 stone, normally has his girlfriend with him?

If so i think he plays with me and i will bring this thread to his attention.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

JP, thats not the person.

I'd prefer if names and identities were kept from this thread. Guesses and descriptions are not required either to be honest with you. If you feel strongly about this specific cases, take it up with the clubs, not through us.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

nicnicnic wrote:

No Problem Nic, i can take it safe in the knowledge that ur our poker inferiors:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

DeVore wrote:

"Frown power" as coined by Stetson Kennedy is a very powerful way of conveying non-approval while avoiding confrontation.
    Anyone interested in this topic should definitely read his life story:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stetson_Kennedy
    He used Superman and comics to seriously damage the KKK.

DeV.

Yeah I read about this guy before but can't remember why? Cool how he used the Klans code words and stuck them into the weekly Superman Radio show. All the kids were out in the streets using the "Secret" words. And the Klan members got very hot under the collar. lol

BTW - Lamb Chop - How did he get that name? I always thought it sounded a little politically incorrect. But everyone calls him this so presumably it isn't.

Fatboydim wrote:
    Yeah I read about this guy before but can't remember why? Cool how he used the Klans code words and stuck them into the weekly Superman Radio show. All the kids were out in the streets using the "Secret" words. And the Klan members got very hot under the collar. lol

BTW - Lamb Chop - How did he get that name? I always thought it sounded a little politically incorrect. But everyone calls him this so presumably it isn't.
    He was used as an example in Freakonomics which you might have read (if you havent, I have a copy I'll loan you, you'd love it!)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

I found Freakonomics to be a midly amusing but utterly overrated, intellectually vacuous pop book with no genuine unifying thread.

Well at least the thread has been suitably derailed such that we will no longer be heading out tonight with flaming torches and pitchforks to lynch any bald tattooed Dublin poker players we find. Norman can sleep soundly tonight...actually I doubt it I'm sure *someone* is out to get him regardless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

We aren't talking about Norman here are we? He is a decent guy imo, the person im thinking of a the cheating scumbag who's been banned from most casinos

Oops you see the problems with these things, no we weren't talking about Norman, that was kinda my point about why physical descriptions can be bad. I was using Norman as an example of someone who looked like that but who it wasn't. Norman dislikes all races equally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

hotspur wrote:
    Norman dislikes all races equally!

ha!

No, I know exactly who is being discussed here and its certainly not Norman. Norman may have his character flaws but racisism is definitely not one of them. I'm going to close this thread now as I feel its served any useful purpose and is sailing close to the wind.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

hotspur wrote:
    I found Freakonomics to be a midly amusing but utterly overrated, intellectually vacuous pop book with no genuine unifying thread.
    Vacuous? Nah. Correlation != Causation is his problem (abortion), but most of his economics is well-grounded. He got his degree at Harvard, doctorate in MIT and is now working in the University of Chicago.

The unifying thread was that economists should rule the world ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Fatboydim wrote:

Apparently he's called Lamb Chop cause because when he started playing he was like a "Lamb to the slaughter".........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

smurph wrote:
    Apparently he's called Lamb Chop cause because when he started playing he was like a "Lamb to the slaughter".........
    You must be joking. :) I saw him knock five or six players out at one table. "Lamb Chop" is probably Cantonese for "any two".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

kincsem wrote:
    You must be joking. :) I saw him knock five or six players out at one table. "Lamb Chop" is probably Cantonese for "any two".

I know he is scary stuff, and has much improved since the early days apparently:o

Ibid wrote:
    Vacuous? Nah. Correlation != Causation is his problem (abortion), but most of his economics is well-grounded. He got his degree at Harvard, doctorate in MIT and is now working in the University of Chicago.

The unifying thread was that economists should rule the world ;).
    I found his arguments about abortion/crime very convincing. I didnt see any misunderstanding with causation/correlation in fact he was very clear to consider and argue against other causes. Ultimately you look at the data (observe), you formulate an explanation (theorise) and you try and prove it. The last bit is often impossible in Economics because of its nebulous nature.

I think he put it forward as a theory rather then a proven fact to be honest, as a supposition I found it reasonably compelling.

DeV.

in a round about way of bringing this back on topic, I met him in Vegas last year when he was doing experiments to see if Poker players are better at generating "randomness" then yer average Joe! (I won 94 dollars for my time spent playing his simply random number generation game :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

DeVore wrote:
    in a round about way of bringing this back on topic, I met him in Vegas last year when he was doing experiments to see if Poker players are better at generating "randomness" then yer average Joe! (I won 94 dollars for my time spent playing his simply random number generation game :) )

Yeah one of his researchers asked me to go to that as well but I was too scared to go in case I was inducted in to some mad cult or something, you know what those crazy yanks are like.