Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are You Afraid Of Downloading Torrents?

• 25-01-2007 7:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭

Just wondering about the dangers of downloading torrents. I download now and again and use PG2 (which probably doesn't do a thing!) but with alot of stuff now being reported in the news about it and the lawsuit against a couple of big torrent sites (which are back online again) and P2P networks, are ppl like yourselves just risking it & thinking the chances of being caught are slim?

I know it's illegal to d/l movies & all the other stuff, but personally I can't see the harm with tv shows. If you have sky you're paying for it already and I can't see the difference between having a show on your pc than having it on your sky+ box. But that argument for another day eh..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

since i don't download anything illegal from torrents i cannot say i'm afraid of anything really, worst i could get is a virus, ohh noes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

well me too apart I suppose the tv shows. Just saw in another thread of a guy that downloaded over 2.5gb today alone so thats why i posted this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

there all at it why not you :D:D

holy crap my thousand post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

If you have sky you're paying for it already
    An argument that makes sense only if the show has already aired on one of Sky's channels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Not worried in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭forbairt

AntiRip wrote:
    I know it's illegal to d/l movies & all the other stuff, but personally I can't see the harm with tv shows. If you have sky you're paying for it already and I can't see the difference between having a show on your pc than having it on your sky+ box. But that argument for another day eh..:)

No its illegal to download copyright movies ...

If you have sky .. movies ... you're also able to download from them legally ... granted its only a select number of movies ... but I was quite happy with it before .. even including their DRM up after 30 days stuff ... :)

An argument that makes sense only if the show has already aired on one of Sky's channels.

i know aiden, a weak argument but it makes me feel a little better :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 2,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭LoGiE

Not one bit. I get to watch shows I'd otherwise be waiting months to see if at all.

forbairt wrote:
    No its illegal to download copyright movies

tv shows, music, software, it's all copyright isn't it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

AntiRip wrote:
    well me too apart I suppose the tv shows. Just saw in another thread of a guy that downloaded over 2.5gb today alone so thats why i posted this

Is that all :(

Ive hit 5.7gb down so far, and have 4 hours left.

And 2.8gb up. And this is my daily average. And on the days i dont download i seed. Since october i have done over 700GB of traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭coolmoose

not scared really. don't download that much anymore, but have done (a lot!) in the past. i don't download movies or anything though...how often would ye download movies? you're talking pretty big filesizes there, curious how often ye wud do it!

Anti wrote:
    Is that all :(

Ive hit 5.7gb down so far, and have 4 hours left.

And 2.8gb up. And this is my daily average. And on the days i dont download i seed. Since october i have done over 700GB of traffic.

ok guys, ye are making me feel a little better. I've downloaded alot in the past though whwn i first got broadband (the novelty of it) but not so much anymore. If there was better movies out there maybe. That's a fair bit of d/l u/l Anti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

I don't think they're really after the small fishes like us. I haven't downloaded anything yet today but I downloaded 3.5 movies yesterday, probably about 2.5GB. To hell with them, we've had to pay for it for long enough :D . They do seem to be getting stricter though and it wouldn't suprise me if most of the main sites are closed down within a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭IgsTer

anti what isp are you with that offers you that type of upload speed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

The only thing that scares me about torrents is the slow speed.
    Thats why I use newsgroups and max out my connection(3 mbit) on anything I download.
    Of course it's all legal. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Used to download a lot of music just when i first got broadband now i dont download much anymore, unless its a cd that isnt out yet, then i just cant help myself. I do go out and actually buy somthing though afterwards most of the time, even if its not the cd then its a band dvd or some form or band clothing.

Not too worried about the whole getting caught with torrents thing after a freind of mine got caught, They send him a letter saying he had to pay 500 euro for what he dowloaded, he had it all saved up but he never sent it off. A year later he still hasnt heard anything about it so hes pretty much safe now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Patricide wrote:
    Not too worried about the whole getting caught with torrents thing after a freind of mine got caught, They send him a letter saying he had to pay 500 euro for what he dowloaded, he had it all saved up but he never sent it off. A year later he still hasnt heard anything about it so hes pretty much safe now.
    What kinda stuff used your friend download and how much of it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,560 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270

nope, only when in work :p

Anti who you with for broadband?

I average ~ 1.2-1.5Tb a year, less now as i have most series of tv shows i like. 40Gb of simpsons was the single biggest download ive done so far in 5 days.

6 gb in a day is no big deal. And eircom have yet to enforce caps.
    For example I can get about 1 gb an hour on newsgroups.
    And I only have 3 mbit, in some countries that would be considered slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

On a related note did anyone hear that (edited by khannie) a well known torrent search engine have decided to buy their own country?
    Its called sealand and as far as i know its an old WW2 gunning platform.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sealand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭srdb20

Lads i know this is slightly off topic but just wondering how does one go about using, setting up newsgroups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

You would normally need to use a paid-for service to get access to the binary groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭srdb20

Does it work out quite expensive for the year, can you oay by the month or annually, or is it per download?

What are some of the best binary groups and are there any decent docs for setting up and using the newsgroups also what kind of setup is involved in using it?

Sorry about all the questions lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

I pay €14 a month for an unlimited download cap.

It's pretty easy to use, everything that's on torrents is there and more.

Download speeds are excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I use torrents and find the speed to be great. Most of the media stories regarding torrents is about the illegal downloading of music, rarely if ever hear about downloading movies/software/etc. I only download TV shows as I've no problem paying for movies or music. However you can't get TV shows for years after, usually takes 20-30 mins to download a HD episode. Don't see much advantage to paying for a Newsgroup just to have it a few mins earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭jimbling

what software etc do you use for the newsgroups? Has it gotten easier to search etc?
    Just remember using some of these before and just finding it a nightmare to make your way around.... and searching for particular stuff was a pain as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

You all realise that your isp can in most cases see exactly what you are downloading?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,685 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

in related news i see fox is hounding youtube for some users details for uploading content
    http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20070125-8700.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Stephen P

I use torrents quite a lot, not as much as I used to but still quite a bit. How can someone find out what you're downloading?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

stephen p wrote:
    I use torrents quite a lot, not as much as I used to but still quite a bit. How can someone find out what you're downloading?

Unless you are using packet encription, your Isp can find out exactly what you are doing. Luckely most Isp's in this country don'y bother to look through logs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭mick.fr

Avoid to download Irish music if you allow me to suggest you.
    Some groups in Ireland are after that and have requests ISP logs.

Anyway this all thing is about being ripped off all the time by the big media blues, isn't?
    All the big ones have not been able to develop online services and are still trying to make sales through usual and old sales channels. Some singers have understood this and are providing full albums or single on their websites.

I would be happy to pay an online service to get all my favourite TV shows such as Surface, BSG, ...legally and at a non rip-off price. But I guess this is too much to ask.

Plus being really tired of all those ads on TV, too much is too much, we are not stupid cows for god sake. Everybody needs a living sure, but too much is too much.

not sure if anyone of ye have seen the video called piracy is good? It's easily found through a search. But basically it's an australian presentation about torrents and how television died on nov 2004 when bsg was first shown on sky one before anywhere else in the world and the guy makes an argument that the tv stations can actually make more money through torrents if they advertised discreet dogs on the shows because they'd have a worldwide audience. Also, some shows wouldn't be as successful at all only for torrents because one person d/l something and then tell his friends of this 'great' show who did d/l's it and so on. Apparently Australians are the biggest downloaders...

jimbling wrote:
    what software etc do you use for the newsgroups? Has it gotten easier to search etc?
    Just remember using some of these before and just finding it a nightmare to make your way around.... and searching for particular stuff was a pain as well.

I use newsleecher with super search $30 a year . It has a search with most files avilable cached, very fast to find what you want.
    Then pay $15 a month for access to a good newsgroup server.
    Some people might find that expensive, but the euro to dollar conversion makes it very cheap and well worth it for me because I download about 100 gb a month.
    Once you use it going back to torrents would be unbearable.
    You all realise that your isp can in most cases see exactly what you are downloading?
    Ya but the organisations have to have some kind of proof before isp logs can be requested. They can see what files peope are sharing by logging onto p2p networks but newsgroup's are not p2p.

tuxy wrote:

Ya but the organisations have to have some kind of proof before isp logs can be requested. They can see what files peope are sharing by logging onto p2p networks but newsgroup's are not p2p.

Does PeerGuardian protect you at all? Also there is a box you can tick in utorrent that encrypts your data (if it works at all!) I also found afew site with streaming videos that you just view on your browser which is handy if you don't want to d/l the show..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

This thread makes Khannie nervous. In particular, I don't want any further discussion of binary newsgroups until I've cleared up what the overall position on them is....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

krazy_8s wrote:

Yes ofcourse, but why would they want to see what you have downloaded unless asked. They dont give a funk at all, unless the guards ask for your internet history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭ActorSeeksJob

Peerguardian does seem to protect you to some extent, just looking @ some of the ip's it blocks will show you.

In fact, I don't want any discussion that will help people download copyrighted material. Peerguardian, for example, is only useful in this context.

Khannie wrote:
    In fact, I don't want any discussion that will help people download copyrighted material. Peerguardian, for example, is only useful in this context.

I thought if you didn't name any sites or talked about any particulars it was ok. I did't think it was illegal to talk about things that were illegal but fair enough I know where you're coming from. Once you start discussing a topic like this it doesn't take too long before it starts escalating and it then gets to the point where you have to make the call. I'm the OP and I've gotton my answers so there should be no more on the topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

tuxy wrote:
    And I only have 3 mbit, in some countries that would be considered slow.

uhm.. in pretty much any country bar ireland, thats considered slow tbh.

AntiRip wrote:
    I thought if you didn't name any sites or talked about any particulars it was ok.

For torrents, it is ok, because they're used for legitimate purposes all the time. Newsgroups don't fall into the same category.
    AntiRip wrote:
    I did't think it was illegal to talk about things that were illegal but fair enough I know where you're coming from. Once you start discussing a topic like this it doesn't take too long before it starts escalating and it then gets to the point where you have to make the call.

That's the unfortunate reality alright. Hell, I don't want to stifle conversation, but the line is blurry sometimes.
    AntiRip wrote:
    I'm the OP and I've gotton my answers so there should be no more on the topic.

Ah, this is an organic discussion type thread. I'll leave it as is for now.

For what it's worth....I'd be nervous about downloading films (or anything that comes on dvd) with torrents on the public network.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

<snip>

Banned for posting links to copyright material.

I think this thread has served it's purpose.