Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone for football? Thursday at 12pm - Meet at luce hall

• 25-01-2007 12:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭

Right it seems my big brother's plans for a casual game of football on Saturday mornings have not transpired so I was wondering if I could get my fix from lads in College.

The aim is to have a casual game of four- or five-a-side football once a week.

It would be good exercise, a bit of fun, a good way to meet people and re-kindle those hopes of getting a trial for Aston Villa. It also finally gives me an excuse to buy an expensive football that I've wanted since I was a kid...

The days are getting brighter and the weather will soon pick up I think the best place to have it would be the Botany Bay courts. We do live in Ireland, so the Luce Hall indoor court could work too.

Don't worry if you're crap at football, so long as you can kick it and run I think it's going to be acceptable given the standard 'round these parts.

I don't think we'd get ten lads from the TCD forum so foreigners are welcome as well. If anyone can drag along a couple of mates the more the merrier. I reckon there'd be more than enough interest to give it a go at least once.

Anyone interested? Europerson? B.ie_curious? Original_psycho? John? Dónal? Daithí? Dec? Ed? Neil? Xebec? Nietszchean? Troglodyte? Barry? Niall? Bartley? Kev? Rónán? Andrew? Any of the other posters?...Right_Side?

G'wan, you could lose the weight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Ibid wrote:
    Anyone interested? Europerson? B.ie_curious? Original_psycho? John? Dónal? Daithí? Dec? Ed? Neil? Xebec? Nietszchean? Troglodyte? Barry? Niall? Bartley? Kev? Rónán? Andrew? Any of the other posters?...Right_Side?

Why no girls? Worried that we'd show you up? Cos er, you'd be wrong.
    Ibid wrote:
    ...and re-kindle those hopes of getting a trial for Aston Villa...

Villa? Seriously Enda, sometimes you just make it too easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

So could you, there's a pothole outside the Nassau St entrance with your name all over it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Ibid wrote:
    Right it seems my big brother's plans for a casual game of football on Saturday mornings have not transpired so I was wondering if I could get my fix from lads in College.

The aim is to have a casual game of four- or five-a-side football once a week.

It would be good exercise, a bit of fun, a good way to meet people and re-kindle those hopes of getting a trial for Aston Villa. It also finally gives me an excuse to buy an expensive football that I've wanted since I was a kid...

The days are getting brighter and the weather will soon pick up I think the best place to have it would be the Botany Bay courts. We do live in Ireland, so the Luce Hall indoor court could work too.

Don't worry if you're crap at football, so long as you can kick it and run I think it's going to be acceptable given the standard 'round these parts.

I don't think we'd get ten lads from the TCD forum so foreigners are welcome as well. If anyone can drag along a couple of mates the more the merrier. I reckon there'd be more than enough interest to give it a go at least once.

i'm just upset i wasnt asked...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

I notice the only responses are from people I unintentionally (it was pretty late) excluded on the list. The thread's been viewed 26 times though, so the rest of them must be too scared to decline. Hmm.
    stargal wrote:
    Why no girls? Worried that we'd show you up? Cos er, you'd be wrong.
    You're more than welcome. You're pretty much the only girl, and you're not on the Who's Who thread, thus I didn't include any girls.
    Villa? Seriously Enda, sometimes you just make it too easy
    You can't call anyone easy :D.
    Pet wrote:
    So could you
    I know.
    Joe wrote:
    i'm just upset i wasnt asked...
    I named Kev but not you, burn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Troglodyte

You know, its a really nice idea. However, there's no way that I can say yes to it. You see, I'm crap at football. Now, crap may be acceptable here, but I'm talking about a very special kind of crap. The sight of me playing football is reputed to be funnier than 5 hours with Tommy Tiernan while off your head on weed.

No I can't play, but I can always stand at the sidelines to shout randomly, wave a scarf and offer moral support (or something).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I'm up for a kickabout, once these exams are over.

I'd be up for it as well

Though soccer aint really my thing...

mine neither - but its been a while since i've had a good game of footie and wouldnt mind the exercise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭wesclark

I'd defo be interested. I lost all 3 games when I played in a charity event last year but the idea of physical exercise is strange and alluring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

If it's on in the morning time I'd def be up for it. I'll be working from 2pm out in DCU though on Saturdays from a week or two's time so starting no later than 11ish if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Troglodyte wrote:
    You know, its a really nice idea. However, there's no way that I can say yes to it. You see, I'm crap at football. Now, crap may be acceptable here, but I'm talking about a very special kind of crap. The sight of me playing football is reputed to be funnier than 5 hours with Tommy Tiernan while off your head on weed.

No I can't play, but I can always stand at the sidelines to shout randomly, wave a scarf and offer moral support (or something).
    I'm in the same boat: the sight of me playing association football is just hilarious.

Mattie, please never call it association football again. Or I will have to hit you, and taunt you for mis-pronouncing 'emeritus' a second time.

Saturday could work, but it might wipe out some of the culchies. I was thinking maybe the evening time, say a Tuesday at 6 or something. I figured better to leave the details like that until after we have a few lads.

Good to hear you're interested too, wesclark. I played that tournament as well and we got hammered. Thanks for the good-wishes from the supporters.

So we have myself, Neil, Iain, wesclark and Andrew. Any of you got any friends that could bring it up to 4 on 4? Would any of the Pubs lads be interested, Andrew? Ronny Mitchell looks relatively in shape, would he give it a go?

I'd say I could get a couple of people alright. Sorry I read your comment about your brother's saturday plans as meaning you wanted to play on Saturdays! An evening could work well too.

Ronny and Eoin might be up for it...

Correct that - Eoin definitely wants to play :D

I'd agree that the Botany Bay courts would be the best place to have it too by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭King.Penguin

I'm definitely in, as long as it doesn't clash with any of my other co-curriculars and I'm on a different team to Andrew_83. I'm going to go Julio Baptista on his ass.

We should get pet and john to play for comedic effect.

Wednesday at 6/7 suits me, you'll need to check with luce hall people to see if it's free. Not sure how much it is to book, deposit for ball and floodlights. If botany bay proves un-bookable (I notice ladies rugby training in there some evenings) I reckon we go off campus into one of the parks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

So could you, there's a pothole outside the Nassau St entrance with your name all over it.

That WAS actually a joke; retaliation for the absence of my own name in the list.
    We should get pet and john to play for comedic effect.

Hahahahahaha. I don't think you could handle the comedy of me playing football.

Tuesday at 18.00 suits me.. Have a lecture until 6 at wed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

I'll probably be playin' twice a week anyway so dunno if the lungs/legs will be able for another session on top of that. Good idea though.

Eoin and Kev bring us up to seven players, I'm sure we can find one more to make it four-a-side.

I can't do Wednesdays at 6pm, I have a tutorial, as do other Econometricians.

I can do Monday from 5pm, Tuesday from 6pm, Wednesday from 7pm, Thursday from 3pm, Friday from about 5pm (new timetable for HT) and Saturday pretty much anytime.

How does Tuesday at 6 sound? Kev, can you do that? Neil? Wes? Andrew?

Anyone available for a lunch-timeish slot?

Most of those times suit me, though I do have exams next week so probably not then :(

Ibid wrote:

How does Tuesday at 6 sound? Kev, can you do that? Neil? Wes? Andrew?

Anyone available for a lunch-timeish slot?

Tuesday at 6 suits me fine. As does anytime really, more of a library than a lectures man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Troglodyte

europerson wrote:
    I'm in the same boat: the sight of me playing association football is just hilarious.
    Pet wrote:
    Hahahahahaha. I don't think you could handle the comedy of me playing football.

Excellent, perhaps we could form a kind of "I'm ****e at football" brigade. We can get deckchairs, sit down and watch that athletic bunch sweat it out on the field and laugh. It's gotta be worth a try.

Tuesday at 6 is awkwardish for me. I work till half 5 then I play badminton at 7. I could do it but I find it difficult switching from soccer to badminton as my mind is stilling acting like I was playing soccer when I play badminton.

I play soccer from half 5 to half 6 on Wednesdays elsewhere so that's a non runner at all, likewise I work till half 5 on Mondays so couldnt' make that. Work from 4 on Thursdays. So either that Tuesday slot or, preferably, anytime on Friday would work best for me. Lunchtime would work fine any day really as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Ibid wrote:
    Barry?
    Wahey, I got named.

Any day other than a Tuesday would be good. I could even go studying for these dreaded schols exams afterwards......Saturday would be very good, since it would force me to come in, and the library would be easier to get to than my house.....

I warn you though, I'm ****e at football.

Friday t 6/7? I can bring one along (dwight_showman)

Ibid wrote:
    I can't do Wednesdays at 6pm, I have a tutorial, as do other Econometricians.
    Rescinded. No tutorials FTW.

I don't think Friday nights is a great idea for obvious reasons. But better than nuffink. Can dwight_showman play other nights, Kev?

yes i think so. how about an am slot during the week?

How are the Science-enders for a weekday AM?

Would people rather a morning or evening game? I'd prefer something about 6 o'clock personally.

Where do I check out availability? Luce Hall?

Weekend AM fine for me (obv.) - evening game would be better IMO.

saturday at 12 is possible for me.

you need to go to luce hall and book the court/pitch/thing.

Right, just so ye know I'm going to head down to Luce Hall tomorrow to book us a spot. I'll get what I think is the best time to get as many people to come as possible, which may be as soon as Monday or Tuesday evening, So check back tomorrow about lunch-time.

Have most of your numbers so will send out texts. If you want a text, PM me your number. The cost will probably be less than €2.

Ibid wrote:
    Right, just so ye know I'm going to head down to Luce Hall tomorrow to book us a spot. I'll get what I think is the best time to get as many people to come as possible, which may be as soon as Monday or Tuesday evening, So check back tomorrow about lunch-time.

Have most of your numbers so will send out texts. If you want a text, PM me your number. The cost will probably be less than €2.

that's an expensive text will you email me instead?

Right, was in Luce Hall and had little success with the behemoth behind the desk, thus the lack of updates. Can't book it after 5pm, latest game available during the week is 4:20 (games last 40 mins). Crash couldn't make it this week, and wasn't half sure of people's availability at that time so didn't book.

So I need ye to state preferences as to when you can play. I have a lecture on Mondays and Fridays at 4 so I can't do then. I have a tutorial at 5 on Tuesdays but that can be avoided if necessary. So 4:20pm on Wednesday or Thursday would suit me down to the ground. Alternatively I could fit in an 11am or 12pm game (depending on day) any day.

So I need you to tell which times you can't make.

Names of People
    Me
    Neil
    Iain
    wesclark
    Andew
    Eoin
    Kev
    Guiney
    Barry
    PHB

Wednesday at 4pm (Time 1) - Guiney
    Thursday at 3pm (Time 2) - Andrew
    Thursday at 4pm (Time 3) - PHB, Andrew
    Monday at 11am (Time 4) - PHB, Andrew
    Monday at 12pm (Time 5) - PHB, Andrew
    Tuesday at 11am (Time 6) - Kevin, Guiney
    Wednesday at 12pm (Time 7)
    Wednesday at 2pm (Time 8) - Guiney
    Thursday at 12pm (Time 9)
    Thursday at 1pm (Time 10) - PHB
    Friday at 11am (Time 11) - Andrew

Obviously if 90% of people can make it at one time, and the slot is available, we're going to have to disappoint 10%.

If any of you have any mates that might be interested, get them to post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I can do:

Wednesday at 4pm (Time 1)
    Thursday at 3pm (Time 2)
    Tuesday at 11am (Time 6)
    Wednesday at 12pm (Time 7)
    Wednesday at 2pm (Time 8)
    Thursday at 12pm (Time 9)
    Friday at 11am (Time 11)

Wednesday at 4pm would be ideal

I can't do:

Thursday 3pm (time 2)
    Thursday 4pm (time 3)
    Monday 11am (time 4)
    Monday 12pm (time 5)
    Friday 11am (time 11)

Wednesday at 4 is a little dodgy for me but I could make it though I play elsewhere at 5.30.

good work ibid

Wednesday at 4pm (Time 1) EVERY 2ND WEEK (TUTORIAL)
    Thursday at 3pm (Time 2)YES
    Thursday at 4pm (Time 3)YES
    Monday at 11am (Time 4)YES
    Monday at 12pm (Time 5)YES
    Tuesday at 11am (Time 6)YES
    Wednesday at 12pm (Time 7)YES
    Wednesday at 2pm (Time 8)YES
    Thursday at 12pm (Time 9)YES
    Thursday at 1pm (Time 10) 2OUT OF 3 WEEKS (TUTORIAL)
    Friday at 11am (Time 11)YES

Tuesday at 11am (Time 6)

I think that's the only one I can't do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 nettranny

all suit me except time 1, 6 & 8,

Dwight_showman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Dwight_showman is watching you, slowly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 nettranny

dwight_showman even watches John Guiney. But Nettranny watches dwight_showman watching tranny porn

Im good for times:

(I know I got it backwards but it was quicker that way)

This is the can't-do list.

Wednesday at 4pm (Time 1) - Guiney, Iain, Barry
    Thursday at 3pm (Time 2) - Andrew, Iain
    Thursday at 4pm (Time 3) - PHB, Andrew, Iain
    Monday at 11am (Time 4) - PHB, Andrew, Iain, Barry
    Monday at 12pm (Time 5) - PHB, Andrew, Barry
    Tuesday at 11am (Time 6) - Kevin, Guiney, Barry
    Wednesday at 12pm (Time 7) Barry
    Wednesday at 2pm (Time 8) - Guiney, Iain, Barry
    Thursday at 12pm (Time 9) - Barry
    Thursday at 1pm (Time 10) - PHB, Iain, Barry
    Friday at 11am (Time 11) - Andrew, Barry

Neil, still need you to give your timeage.

Im good for Saturdays as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

I can do:

Thursday at 3pm (Time 2)
    Thursday at 4pm (Time 3)

And even at that, only occasional Thursdays (fecking labs)

Anytime Saturday would be good.

Wednesday at 4pm (Time 1) - not able
    Thursday at 3pm (Time 2) - not able
    Thursday at 4pm (Time 3) - kinda
    Monday at 11am (Time 4) - same as above -lecture is bollocks
    Monday at 12pm (Time 5) - no
    Tuesday at 11am (Time 6) - nope
    Wednesday at 12pm (Time 7) - nope
    Wednesday at 2pm (Time 8) - nope
    Thursday at 12pm (Time 9) - nope
    Thursday at 1pm (Time 10) - YES!!!
    Friday at 11am (Time 11) - nope

jesus man, wtf like with the times :P

so basically its time 3, time 4 and time 10

Looks like Saturdays then....

I can't make Saturdays, so that's off the cards atm :). If a weekday doesn't work out, feel free to try make it work for ye though.

Right, so the big loser list is:

Wednesday at 4pm - Guiney, Iain, Barry, Neil - No
    Thursday at 3pm - Andrew, Iain, Neil - Last Resort
    Thursday at 4pm - PHB, Andrew, Iain - Last Resort
    Monday at 11am - PHB, Andrew, Iain, Barry, Neil - No
    Monday at 12pm - PHB, Andrew, Barry, Neil - No
    Tuesday at 11am - Kevin, Guiney, Barry, Neil - No
    Wednesday at 12pm - Barry, Neil - Preferred
    Wednesday at 2pm - Guiney, Iain, Barry, Neil - No
    Thursday at 12pm - Barry, Neil - Preferred
    Thursday at 1pm - PHB, Iain, Barry - Last Resort
    Friday at 11am - Andrew, Barry, Neil - Last Resort

So in terms of desirability:
    1. Wednesday @ 12pm
    2. Thursday @ 12pm
    3. Thursday @ 3pm
    4. Thursday @ 4pm
    5. Thursday @ 1pm
    6. Friday @ 11am

I'll be into Luce Hall at 8am tomorrow with this list to get the best available. Will then post probably before lunch and send out texts.

Ibid.. if you want coffee on the way,

I just got some really good sumatra stuff in..

I'll probably be up by then