Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Librocop?

• 23-01-2007 6:09pm

I've just been shushed by a rogue librarian in the Lecky (when I was whispering quietly)! The world has finally become sane! The Lecky was always a fortitude of full blown conversation and too-much-noisery.

During my exploits in the Ussher recently, I saw him take water down from tables and place them on the floor. He seems to do the rounds every hour or two walking slowly to induce fear in others around him. I wonder whether he is employed to enforce the new rules in the library.

Has anyone else experienced this phenomenon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

The blonde Eastern European fella? Yeah, he's a great laugh. 'Tis funny when you whisper in front of him to get him to give you a stare. Then continue. I'm going to ask him for directions to the toilet, see if he talks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

What new rules in the library? Has it not always been against the rules to talk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I saw him last week or the week before, whenever I was in the Lecky. Good stuff about stopping people talking but bad game for the water. By Christ, I want my water on the desk within reaching distance. Not on the floor within reaching distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭King.Penguin

Sounds like he's bored. Soon he will develop a fetish for crosswords and will be out of your hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Thank ****. I can finally do some Geography study without having to haul ass up to the Ussher where it's actually quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

A moment after the fans desisted in the hamilton library today; somebody farted exceptionately loudly. It was in such a depth of silence, then followed by a short pause after which the offender's whole corner erupted in raucous laughter. I was over the other side, and every single person I could see had their hands on their smirking faces, trying to suppress the giggles.

/random

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

I don't like Librocop's attitude. He has censured me once, so, perhaps, I don't like him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭sonofsam

Lads....he has a job to do and attitudes like these don't help

:D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

The noise level in the lecky is adisgrace,its supposed to be a reading room and yet idiots walk through the place gabbling at the tops of thier voices and occasionaly talking on thier phones.As with all reading rooms in the libray its supposed to be a silent area so that people can study in peace without being disturbed by loudmouths who are more interested in thier social life than thier fellow students.The orientation space in the ussher is another case in point,people hang around theer in gangs,shouting and laughing despite signs askinng them to be quiet.The sound from this area travels very well into the lecky and also up to the iveagh hall area.The reason Danny has been walking around the place is because students have complained about the noise and being unable to study.

I'm often surprised by how loudly the staff in the library speak to you. I always kinda half whisper and they seem to roar back. I suppose working in a library all day and trying to whisper all day would drive you mental.

Thats mostly due to background noise,it can be very difficult to make yourself heard if the place is busy.For example ther could be a q of twenty people,all yapping,four staff alll dealing with people,a scrum at the duty librarians desk and up to 15 people using catalogues in the iveagh hall alone.Added to the noise of people traipsing up and down uncarpeted stairs and you've got a pretty noisy environment.Either that or the stress has driven us mental :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

People talking in the Lecky is a disgrace all right. On my way through this morning, I counted five out-loud conversations (four involving students and one involving staff).

I agree that the lecky is a disgrace in that respect.

However, the staff member on a certain, high, floor of the Ussher never shuts his door and blabs quite loudly on the phone.
    Also staff members in transit through the Ussher often talk at normal volume.

In regards to Danny, should he then not spend more time in the lecky rather then busting somebody on the phone in the Ussher stairwell?
    If he stayed in the area where the noise was, the noise should reduce..

However, the staff member on a certain, high, floor of the Ussher never shuts his door and blabs quite loudly on the phone.
    Also staff members in transit through the Ussher often talk at normal volume...

Is this a bald guy with a goatee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

ah the terminator. i love that guy, i think he's doing a great job! yeah he was definitely there last year - its not a recent phenomenon!

...he's prowling the 4th floor of the Ussher at the moment.

Why, oh why isn't the staircase in the Lecky carpeted? The thing about noise is that it generates more noise. People talking at an inaudible whisper isn't a big problem. However, when people feel they need to whisper louder because of the non-stop clatter on the Lecky stairwell, it eventually escalates into full grown "Oh mo Gawd" conversations/bitching sessions. Of course there wouldn't be a problem if people didn't communicate verbally in the first place, but I'm yet to see a library that has successfully banned talking/whispering.

Staff should be setting an example by keeping voice levels as low as possible, but in a work environment that necessitates verbal communication such as the issue desk there is only so much that can be done. Librarians in their offices should keep their doors closed (I've nearly shushed a few myself) but, again, the sound of their phone conversations will inevitably travel through the glass, so again it is impossible to eliminate noise completely.

Oh, and from my experience, students rarely pay attention to signs in libraries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Jager Man

He should be moved down to the Lecky to shut people up answering their phones. Another petition maybe in the works......

I have on occasion asked people to stop talking and they have. You should try it some time, it works best if they are on the other side of the partition most of the Lecky desk's have. Slowly creep up from behind it, gives them a right shock!

Oh, and from my experience, students rarely pay attention to signs in libraries.

Thats part of the problem.I recentlyhad to tell somebody to stop talking on thier mobile RIGHT BESIDE a sign saying that they werent allowed.If reading the sign proves difficult,there's a helpfull illustrative diagram of a phone with a line through it.There are fines for using speaking on your mobile in the library and to my mind its one of the most irritating,arrogant habits that some people have.Oh yeah,and ipods and mp3 players are also not allowed in the library,the noise from them can carry for yards and how can you study and listen to music at the same time anyway?:confused:

Degsy wrote:
    If reading the sign proves difficult,there's a helpfull illustrative diagram of a phone with a line through it.
    Lol.
    Oh yeah,and ipods and mp3 players are also not allowed in the library,the noise from them can carry for yards and how can you study and listen to music at the same time anyway?:confused:
    I agree with having this rule for the gobsh*tes who pump it through their earphones, but don't think it should be enforced for those who are not affecting anyone.

In certain circumstances, music can keep me active while studying, avoiding that "I just read six paragraphs and remember nothing" feeling.

I have a good idea for the Lecky. Give Librocop (Danny?) a little workstation on the desk under the stairs. It's a prime location: you see him as soon as you enter; you see him if you're walking up the corridor; it's as central as you get for the Lecky, all areas within earshot; and his presence there would generally lower the volume.

He could still go on patrols of course, in his quiet manner, and BESS girls wouldn't talk as they wouldn't be sure he's gone because he could be just at the other end of the room for all they know.

Thats a good idea.

Danny should be based in the lecky - either in the librarians office there, and make quick rounds, say every 15mins of the lecky or be actually based out on the floor of the lecky

He can still do his hourly round of the Ussher from there

Thats a good idea.

Danny should be based in the lecky - either in the librarians office there, and make quick rounds, say every 15mins of the lecky or be actually based out on the floor of the lecky

He can still do his hourly round of the Ussher from there

Or people could use thier common sense and stop shouting and roaring in the reading rooms.It would be nice for society as a whole if certain laguna-beach soundalikes just kept thier vacuous voices down in general,interspacing every two words with "like","random" or "oh my god" seems to be what passes for conversation these days.

It would be nice for society as a whole if certain laguna-beach soundalikes just kept thier vacuous voices down in general,interspacing every two words with "like","random" or "oh my god" seems to be what passes for conversation these days.

Dude, preaching to the ****ing choir here.

Degsy wrote:
    Or people could use thier common sense and stop shouting and roaring in the reading rooms.It would be nice for society as a whole if certain laguna-beach soundalikes just kept thier vacuous voices down in general,interspacing every two words with "like","random" or "oh my god" seems to be what passes for conversation these days.

It would be great but it is not going to happen on its own.

So, either introduce an incentive such as Danny in a more prominent place

or bring in tasers and act like the university in california (link to follow)

That's the one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

There's only one Librocop in the world and he's the angry looking, swaggering bald bloke in the UCD library.... not some Trinner wannabe Librocunt! :mad:

ha librocunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

Club Lecky

There's only one Librocop in the world and he's the angry looking, swaggering bald bloke in the UCD library.... not some Trinner wannabe Librocunt! :mad:

Oh yeah?Wears a dress does he?:rolleyes:

Too true. I worked with the guy (in between working as a male model and an investment manager), if you covered his head from just below his nose up he was the spit of Robocop.

Angry, nasty man.
    Degsy wrote:
    Library workers were probably saying something similar in the 60's, only giving out about the words "man" and "dude".

BTW, I feel so totally left out of the loop. Some randomer librarian knows what laguna beach is and I don't have a clue. OMG, what a 'mare!
    how can you study and listen to music at the same time anyway?
    Apparently listening to Mozart helps people remember things. And, while I'm fairly certain students aren't listening to Mozart these days, I'm sure Arcade Fire works just as well.

randomer.

Grrrr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

And, while I'm fairly certain students aren't listening to Mozart these days
    Speak for yourself...

And, while I'm fairly certain students aren't listening to Mozart these days
    Speak for yourself...
    Jimmy Eat World
    Right. Never pinned you for an emo.

whats an emo?

Pfft?

Pfft?

Pfft?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Pfft?

Pfft?

Pfft?

Lol! Great definitions! My favourite bit:
    girlfriend: C'mon, lets have sex.
    boyfriend: I'm too sad to have sex.
    girlfriend: I'm sad too; lets have sex and cry.
    boyfriend: I'm already crying.

Apparently listening to Mozart helps people remember things. And, while I'm fairly certain students aren't listening to Mozart these days, I'm sure Arcade Fire works just as well.

False.
    wikipedia wrote:
    First, popular presentations of the "Mozart effect" almost always tie it to "intelligence;" thus, as noted above, Alex Ross's comment that "listening to Mozart actually makes you smarter," and Zell Miller's asking the Georgia legislature whether they "felt smarter" after he played them some Beethoven.

Rauscher herself, one of the original researchers, has disclaimed this idea. In her 1999 reply to Chabris and Steele et al. she wrote (emphasis supplied):

Our results on the effects of listening to Mozart’s Sonata for Two Pianos in D Major K. 448 on spatial–temporal task performance have generated much interest but several misconceptions, many of which are reflected in attempts to replicate the research. The comments by Chabris and Steele et al. echo the most common of these: that listening to Mozart enhances intelligence. We made no such claim. The effect is limited to spatial–temporal tasks involving mental imagery and temporal ordering.

I like listening to music when studying, it's not distracting. In fact it's a lot less distracting than most of the ambient noise in library such as coughing, footsteps and talking. Although it's different strokes for different folks (not that I recommend that anyone should listen to the Strokes). I always do a test before putting on my headphones to see if I can hear them from the desk. I don't want to be a jerk and leaking my awesome music all over the library.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

Yeah man...it really irks me when people make sweeping statements like "you can't study with music" maybe you can't, but I can damn well can, and I don't think I'd study one whit where it that I couldn't listen to music at the same time.
    how can you study and listen to music at the same time anyway?:confused:

Might come as a surprise to you but some people are capable of doing more than one thing at once. Also it's perfectly possible to listen to music in the library without distracting other people...I got sound isolating headphones so I can listen to my hippety hop full blast without annoying anyone, banning portable music devices outright would be idiocy.

Pfft?

Pfft?

Pfft?
    oh well then i'm not one of those then, i just have a varied taste in music....

Yeah man...it really irks me when people make sweeping statements like "you can't study with music" maybe you can't, but I can damn well can, and I don't think I'd study one whit where it that I couldn't listen to music at the same time.

Might come as a surprise to you but some people are capable of doing more than one thing at once. Also it's perfectly possible to listen to music in the library without distracting other people...I got sound isolating headphones so I can listen to my hippety hop full blast without annoying anyone, banning portable music devices outright would be idiocy.

Idiocy or not,they are banned in the library,its written in the rules outside each reading room.The reason they are banned is because the noise from them disturbs other library users and prevents them from studying in peace.If you want to deafen yourself with music and tell yourself you can still concentrate on whatever you're doing thats fine,but you aint allowed do it in the library!

The tags for this thread are funny.

Librarians gone mad looks like T2000

Degsy wrote:
    Idiocy or not,they are banned in the library,its written in the rules outside each reading room.The reason they are banned is because the noise from them disturbs other library users and prevents them from studying in peace.If you want to deafen yourself with music and tell yourself you can still concentrate on whatever you're doing thats fine,but you aint allowed do it in the library!
    is that one of the new rules? i used must listening devices for all of my ug time in the library.... though given some of the noise pollution i've heard off them the rule is quite understandable(ironically enough the only way to study thanks to them and people talking was to have ones own music...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭nutball

Spotted: Bogdan manning the desk at the entrance to the Lecky. It was silent as tombs throughout. Which could be down to it having been a Friday evening, granted, but progress nonetheless for those who dwell in its infernal bowels.

Degsy wrote:
    Does this rule apply to library staff as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Sawa

Does this rule apply to library staff as well?

yeah i saw someone sorting books listening to music with headphones.

i like to listen to music when studying sometimes, it does help me, its better if the music has no lyrics though, like some Yann Tiersen- thats always good. :)

I find drone and ambient music the best

Hmm, I listened to a load of Sunn)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))) (or however you write it), whilst concurrently suffering the effects of a hangover, a comedown and a high dosage of caffeine. It was a most unsettling, unproductive morning.

Conclusion: if the caffeine pixie's about, put away the drone and get out the classical. And maybe some diazepam too..

Btw, Librocop was about again this evening in the Lecky. Chastised were the BOPs! Silence reigned in the godforsaken hole in the ground that is the Lecky.

Praise the Lawd!

John wrote:
    I find drone and ambient music the best

I agree.