Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bus to Predator 03/02

• 23-01-2007 3:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

Okay so as some of you might know I've been looking into organising a bus to take us up to predator for the ASI birthday shoot on the 3rd. Well after spending about a weeks worth of lunchbreaks and running up a fairly impressive phonebill (my boss is going to kill me :D ) I have finally managed to get what I think is a pretty good deal.

At the moment the bus is provisionally booked to set off from Bray, stop in town to collect people then head to predator before reversing the whole process that evening. I'm expecting a phonecall later with the final price confirmation but its looking to cost about 200 less then everywhere else. They need to know by the 29th and they also want money up front so that means I need a list of people who are definitely goning to get this bus. As far as I know this is a walkons only event but you can ring the guys at predator to check that out.

So anyone who is going to get the bus, reply and let me know. There is no need to copy and paste a list just reply and tell me if you will be there. Oh and for the Connaught contingent surely you know somebody who lives on the east coast that you could crash with the night before.

For months we have been saying how much we wanted to skirmish, we have a poll that has 13 names on it of people who want to skirmish. So if we ever want Airsoft to take off down here this is a damn good oppertunity to show people just how serious we are. I don't know about you but hail rain or shine I'm going skirmishing on the 3rd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,589 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Well done on that. 200 off is one massive difference. Whenever you want the money give me a shout.

?!!?!?
    No one replying?

That's not a good sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

Major physical accidents not withstanding I'll be going :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

Me and my brother will get the bus depending on how pricey it'll be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Cheers lads just a few more and we should have enough.

With 15 people it should be running about E26 a head, I'll be ringing them back later today to double check it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I'm in.

When you want to money, just come over to me in work, beat me up & take whatever money I have in my pockets.

...pretty much a normal day anyway.

Yeah we're in. €25 weirdos a head is pretty good actually.

Hmm some interesting points have been brought to my attention. So for everyone who is getting the bus we should pay very close attention to these suggestions

1. Transport: Long arms should be transported in a rifle slip, not in a hold all or backpack, binliner etc.. The latter looks very,very bad. i.e. youth arrested by Gardai with AK-47 airgun replica in backpack.
    Also when a gun bag is seen it is expected to have what looks like a gun in it, criminals dont usually use gun bags!
    Guns should be kept unloaded (and where applicable possible battery, gas mag out) whilst they are not firearms it could be construed as offensive. i.e. a bar of soap is not a weapon but intent to throw it at a car makes it one.
    Pistols should not be carried on the person until at the arena, this again could be construed as possesion of an offensive weapon and looks very very bad. Carried in original box in any bag in an unloaded condition is best.

2. Rules of deploy: Have very strict rules of where and when the guns may be taken out and where they may be carried openly to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

basicaly, from the bus car park to the base camp on top of the hill. opening a bag to show somrething while on the bus wouldnt be that bad but make sure the driver doesnt see it as it may "put him off"

Swing and a miss, that was pretty much the exact opposite of what I was thinking. It would be much better to keep everything packed away until we get to the camp/safe zone. Why risk freaking out a driver/causing a crash or getting us all arrested just to show off a toy an hour early. Think about it you pull a handgun out of your bag and the driver happens to see it in his rearview the last thing he is going to be thinking is "Thats a damn fine airsoft pistol wonder if its a TM or KSC"

LIGHTNING wrote:
    I.E keep your pants on lads:D

Yeah uhm remind me never to borrow a gun from you :D

Master of the Universe

opening a bag to show somrething while on the bus wouldnt be that bad but make sure the driver doesnt see it as it may "put him off"

Are you mad? Taking guns out on the bus might result in him turning around. Thank god you're driving up :p

i ment open the bag to look into it. of coarse i wouldnt sujest takingthem out on the bus.

NEWSFLASH, Armed Gardai chase bus full of terrorist along m1 towards the boarder.

Master of the Universe

See, if you say to a bus full of people;

"at no point, open your bag, look in your bag, take a gun out, etc etc"

Then there'll be a very limited number of people who do. If any at all.

If you tell people;

"Okay, you can open your bag and show people, just don't take the guns out"

There could be a very limited number of people who actually do take a gun out.

The more you restrict people, the less likely they are to do something really stupid. Fair enough if it's just them. But in a bus full of people they'll be putting everyones chances of going to a game at risk. Bit unfair that I think.

Just want to make sure this goes 101% perfect!

Just inform the bus driver at the start of the journey that we are carry airsoft equipment. Then if he/she does see or hear anything related to airsoft, they won't panic.

This is not to suggest that we should put any equipment on show in the first place. Lets keep everything wrapped up until we get to Predator.

And when we get there we wait till we get to the safezone.

Master of the Universe

Just inform the bus driver at the start of the journey that we are carry airsoft equipment. Then if he/she does see or hear anything related to airsoft, they won't panic.

This is not to suggest that we should put any equipment on show in the first place. Lets keep everything wrapped up until we get to Predator.

And what if the bus driver then feels a bit uneasy driving up the north with a bus full of "guns"? They might refuse to do it. Leaving us stuck for a lift.

When N.O.I.P rang and asked originally, he said that we played a game similar to Paintball and would be carrying related equipment. This should be enough. A
    s long as no one takes stuff out of their bags or starts screaming stuff about how they're gonna "pwn" everyone we should be okay.

...but then how will I articulate how much I'm gonna pwn you all...? :confused:

Master of the Universe

DaveMcG wrote:
    ...but then how will I articulate how much I'm gonna pwn you all...? :confused:

Big talk is better left till after you've actually played a game and know what you're like ;)

I KEEL YOU!!! :Dd

Im gonna make sure I pwn you...for example you dont know where anything is in the site...MAJOR disadvantage.

I know where my FAMAS is, that's all I need to know! :D

Lol, easier said than done son.

Master of the Universe

Ah yes, the confusion in not knowing where anything is. The only place on the site I havent played yet is the village. Which, from what I've heard, is the best part :rolleyes:

The village is class. its got ore bits added to it everytime i've been. started out as more or less a load of frame work the first time i was there.

Its good craic and the not knowing whos behind what wall really gets theblood pumping.

Master of the Universe

Yeah I'm really hoping I get to play it this time.

Jesus lads, it's a week away today :O

N.O.I.P, any more news about that bus?

We still haven't got alot of names for the bus, have we?

Master of the Universe

Well, it's just a 15 seater. about 7 or 8 from here. Then there are a few more people who usually drive up that we're gonna try and get too.

Should hopefully be enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

o1s1n wrote:
    Ah yes, the confusion in not knowing where anything is. The only place on the site I havent played yet is the village. Which, from what I've heard, is the best part :rolleyes:

Yeh the village is cool you should ask Ryan can we play it on the because im sure he wouldnt have a problem with it seening as theres a bus load of use going up to play :)

Ps. If anyone is wondering im Harekin's bro so ishould become a bit more active on the forums now that ive gotten my pass back :p

Master of the Universe

Evolute wrote:
    Ps. If anyone is wondering im Harekin's bro so ishould become a bit more active on the forums now that ive gotten my pass back :p

You had me scratching my head wondering who you were there for a sec. :D

I think the reason I didn't get to play it myself is I was stuck into a "Special squad" which had to go off on a mission while everyone else was playing that part.

that sucks i woulda gone mental lol although if ya stay in the bunker for too long it begins to kill your back u own people but its a bit of a pain in the ass just ask him and im sure he will say yeh after all as i said there is a bus load of peeps going up for the day dont really think he would like to dissapoint do you?? hehehehe this is gonna be fun

I got 3 rentals coming. Miceal from Predator gave the ok. So we have a few more bums on seats in the bus.

Master of the Universe

Did he just give your three rentals the ok? Or rentals in general? I have a friend interested in coming too.

You are supposed to clear all rentals with them before you go, with rabbits 3 that brings us to 10, hopefully the ASI guys will get back to me today or tomorrow and I can finally book the bus on monday. Then all I have to do is decide what guns I wanna bring with me :)

ive 3 renatals booked in too.

Id say we wont ned to ask about the village. we'll get to use it without asking

Yeah, sounds like with all the people going it'll be more like WWII than a skirmish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Im in for this.

jeez, loads goin now! :D

Means grenades will be worth the money...and Ill have my MOLLE vest to fill with them...MWHAHAHAHA!!!

Master of the Universe

Just an update on the bus people. See how many we have so far.
    That's 12 if I can count properly.

N.O.I.P
    o1s1n
    DaveMcG
    Fiach Dubh
    Harekin
    Evolute
    CrazyRabbit & 3 rentals
    Liamo333
    Ample Free ...?

Did you speak with sleepershark, he said he might be intrested in getting the bus up.

Master of the Universe

N.O.I.P said he'd get in contact with him. They should hopefully fill up the last three seats.

Now, fingers crossed everyone actually turns up :eek:

has the money not been up front?

Master of the Universe

I haven't a clue what's happening with the money. I know N.O.I.P is booking it tomorrow. He'll probably give me a call and try and figure something out.

That doesnt sound too inspiring......

You're a mod now,
    You could ban people if they have said they were going and dont turn up. Then just make up a reason for banning them so its not a personnel grudge.

Master of the Universe

Silence you!

Master of the Universe

N.O.I.P
    o1s1n
    DaveMcG
    Fiach Dubh
    Harekin
    Evolute
    CrazyRabbit & 3 rentals
    Liamo333
    Ample Free ...?

****e I forgot Nonex. Plus Scope and his mate expressed interested in the Bus too.

Ok so heres my thoughts, everyone on Oisins list has said that they are going on the bus. I'm booking the bus today with that in mind and paying for it on my credit card so I'm going to need to get the money back as soon as possible. Obviously I'm not going to get to collect it from everyone before the day so what I'm suggesting is this anyone who can, can pay me through paypal, if you don't use paypal you can pay me in person before saturday or on the day and for anyone who says they are going but doesn't turn up and hasn't paid before hand you will still owe for the bus as it was organised with your contribution in mind. Does this sound fair to everyone?

Just spoke to one of the ASI guys and there are 3 going so we are now at 15 defs which brings the price to 28 as its going to cost 425 overall for the bus.

ok cool this is gonna be so freaking cool and im gonna have to own numerous of you hehe:) nothing personal mwhahahahaha :p

Evolute wrote:
    ok cool this is gonna be so freaking cool and im gonna have to own numerous of you hehe:) nothing personal mwhahahahaha :p

Ok little man just make sure your mommy actually lets you go :D