Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2000's Nostalgia

• 19-01-2007 4:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭

There seems to be a 20 year gap between a decade, and when it's cool and retro again. Every decade has it's own icons, which people are nostalgic about. For example the 80's have rubiks cubes, arcade games, mullets, miami vice, the A team etc.

In 20 years, what will people be nostaligic about this decade?
    I'm thinking
    iPods
    Reality TV
    Emo
    Myspace/bebo etc.
    Harry Potter
    Frat Pack Movies
    DVDs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

nonsense boards will outlive us all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I'll be nostalgic about my hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

childrens dummies!

I loved them!

iPods, definately.
    Jade Goody.
    Reality TV.
    Ugg or slouchy boots.
    Drainpipe jeans.
    Cocaine.
    GHDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Cool thread...
    I was thinkin about this aswell recently... I remember the early 90's were remembered for Rave and dance music and childrens dummies!
    I think the 00's will be remebered for Terrorism, youtube, bebo, iPods, mohawk haircuts and indie & alternative music.
    My memories of the late 80's/ early 90's include indie/ alternative music. you know, back when it was good (from my point of view anyway).

i think this decade will be remembered for pointless wars (more pointless than the usual ones), global terrorism, reality tv, ipods, the boom in internet usage and... well that's all i can think of.

Faith, what's a GHD?
    I've heard that term before, but either i never knew what it was or i have forgotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭oRlyYaRly

julep wrote:
    My memories of the late 80's/ early 90's include indie/ alternative music. you know, back when it was good (from my point of view anyway).

i think this decade will be remembered for pointless wars (more pointless than the usual ones), global terrorism, reality tv, ipods, the boom in internet usage and... well that's all i can think of.

Faith, what's a GHD?
    I've heard that term before, but either i never knew what it was or i have forgotten.

It's a hair straightener.

I feel obliged to link to this ad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l52kV4ophGI

Good Hair Day?

here was me thinking faith had made a typo and meant to say "GHB"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

My views of the 2000's will be:

The Internet, iPod's, Digital TV cathching on with Sky in nearly every home, the fact that every person now almost has a mobile; The massive rise of Black music and political correctness also. Huge Corruption in Ireland, the fact that certain members of society are loaded while others are worse off than the 80's.

The decline of Manchester United and Real Madrid as superpowers of European soccer. The rise of Kerry as the dominant Gaelic Footballing County of the decade on a basis not seen since the 80's. Materialism and the beginning of the greatest threat humanity has ever faced Global Warming. The dominance of the Fianna Fail dictatorship despite they screwing everybody. I may have more to add in the next three years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

netwhizkid wrote:
    The massive rise of Black music

tbh as a hip hop fan Id remember this decade as the genres severe downturn (some exceptions obviously) after the quality of the early to mid 90s.

I think if they did one of those shows interviewing future celebrities who were in their teens and 20s back now the stuff would be

September 11th
    Iraq
    Mobiles
    House price madness
    ****e 10 a penny studenty bands
    Bebo (the thing seems to have died over the Christmas period for my contacts. Fad indeed)
    Irish soccer being as far away as imaginable from the pride and glory of the 1990s (barring Stokes and Doyle and co form part of a golden era generation like that of France in the late 90s and we somehow reach far in Euro 2008, or even feckin qualify)
    Reality tv, unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Well with any luck it'll be -
    "Hey remember fake tan?"
    "Remember those stupid lip jobs and drawn-on eyebrows? God, what were we thinking?!"
    netwhizkid wrote:
    The massive rise of Black music and political correctness also.
    An ironic corelation to be sure. :eek:
    "Jez chillin with muh [female sex-industry workers] and kickin' it with my [ethnically diverse friends with whom I feel a sense of brotherhood]. Ayyee"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

the beginning of the greatest threat humanity has ever faced Global Warming.
    Global warming is only 7 years old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Global warming is only 7 years old?

You missed the memo?

I reckons we'll look back fondly at low cost airlines.. really!

netwhizkid wrote:
    The massive rise of Black music
    it's almost as if the blues never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Stuff we will (probably) remember in 20 years time:

September 11
    George Bush and his brilliant war strategy!!!!!!
    The euro, and associated price increases

and...

The tyranical reign of Bertie Ahern :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Black music has been on the rise since then 1920s, what's happening this decade is nothing new.

From a non pop-culture, political point of view I think this decade will sadly be remembered for Bush, the Iraq war, atrocities at Guantanemo Bay and the rise of major 9/11 style terrorism. On a more positive note, we'll remember Ireland's economic good times, slowly but surely increasing liberalism in Ireland, and the continuing expansion and unity of Europe.

I hate to sound like a whiney git, but the future could be reeeally sh1tty what with wars, climate change etc. We may yet cherish these good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

julep wrote:

Totally agree, I think good rock music is sadly at death's door, if it hasn't already passed through. I'm wondering what the next big thing will be...

cornbb wrote:
    Totally agree, I think good rock music is sadly at death's door, if it hasn't already passed through. I'm wondering what the next big thing will be...
    record labels are currently scouring myspace for the next big thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Pints under €50...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

In Ireland:
    IRA
    Belfast Bank Robbery
    PSNI
    Ahern and Harney

International:
    Terrorism, Al Qaeda,
    Reality media creeping (invited) into every facet of our lives
    Metros
    Google
    Undermining of United Nations. Bush/ Blair
    War in Afghanistan
    Wars in Iraq
    Epidemics: SARS, H5N1
    Tsunami
    End of Concorde
    England and Ireland both win Rugby World Cups:D
    Africa remains conspicuously absent from these sorts of lists.
    Iran prevents itself from becoming a second Iraq.
    "Death of Rock" predicted once again.

By the way, what do people think was the most boring year of the 00's so far? I'd have to say 2005.
    And what is the word for the 00's... zeroes??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

InFront wrote:
    And what is the word for the 00's... zeroes??
    the naughties ;)

noughties.

I think people are either misunderstanding the point of the thread, or don't understand the word nostalgia
    OP wrote:
    There seems to be a 20 year gap between a decade, and when it's cool and retro again. Every decade has it's own icons, which people are nostalgic about. For example the 80's have rubiks cubes, arcade games, mullets, miami vice, the A team etc.

In 20 years, what will people be nostaligic about this decade?
    InFront wrote:
    In Ireland:
    IRA
    Belfast Bank Robbery
    PSNI
    Ahern and Harney

International:
    Terrorism, Al Qaeda,
    Reality media creeping (invited) into every facet of our lives
    Metros
    Google
    Undermining of United Nations. Bush/ Blair
    War in Afghanistan
    Wars in Iraq
    Epidemics: SARS, H5N1
    Tsunami
    End of Concorde
    England and Ireland both win Rugby World Cups
    Africa remains conspicuously absent from these sorts of lists.
    Iran prevents itself from becoming a second Iraq.
    "Death of Rock" predicted once again.

I don't think any of us will look back in 20 years and think "Hey, remember when the twin towers were bombed? That was cool... I wish we were back in those days!", or "I know what was cool! SARS! Let's bring that back!".

No offense meant by picking your post, InFront, it was just the most recent and long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Faith wrote:
    I don't think any of us will look back in 20 years and think "Hey, remember when the twin towers were bombed? That was cool... I wish we were back in those days!", or "I know what was cool! SARS! Let's bring that back!".
    You never know, the next 20 years might be really, really shit... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Faith wrote:

No offense meant by picking your post, InFront, it was just the most recent and long.

Yeah, sorry about that, just realised when I was browsing the forum again that this thread is called "2000's Nostalgia"... Well that was hardly nostalgia obviously! just what I think this decade will be remembered for.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

I'll be nostalgic about...

flying abroad (cos i doubt cheap air travel will be around for long). the rise of the internet and web 2.0 youtube etc. ( as in, i'll be able to tell my kids that i was around at the start of all that ). the music i think is crap now but will look back on and come to like, regretting i didnt got to more concerts. The Simpsons. some obscure sweet i like now but which will be slowly phased out, becoming the topic of 'i remember' programmes on late night radio. Paltry 3.2 GHz processors and HDs with a mere 250GB of storage. The clothes i wear now ( looking back i'll probably find i dressed like an idiot ). Skateboarding. Pokemon cards. €2.20 getting you a bag of chips.

probably more, can't be bothered to think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

#Elites wrote:
    Piracy
    The RIAA/MPAA/IRMA/BPI/etc's reign of terror

Also, DVDs
    Bush/Blair
    Emo kids (when the trend disappears, who will we have to slag!?! :( )
    Google
    Muse
    CRT monitors
    Youtube
    Web 1.0, 2.0, 3.0 and 4.0 (all due to happen before 2010 ¬_¬)

(some of them aren't exactly good things, but they'll still be thought about.. maybe not missed, but thought about)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

some or personal and some are more general

1.dermot morgan and fr ted (coping the phrases in school and other places, the money was resting in my account will hopefully be a handy phrase)
    2.copying eric cantona when playing footie by having the collars turned up or doing jurgen klinsman dives or ian wright throwing jersey over your head after scoring a goal
    3.being single, with no kids, and have hair (i am sure that be in my mind when i think back to these days in years ahead)
    4.when people with some talent got record deals.
    5.rep of ireland soccer glory days under charltan
    6.the innocent days of school pre leaving cert and college exams (kick the can,conkers,footie,first kiss, first disco etc)
    7. college drinking sessions throughout the year and particularily rag week with mates ya prob will never see again (thats in years later, bha to having boring responsibilites)
    8.listening to the news about bill clinton's extra curriclums (go on the boyo, bar all the war stuff, a rock n' roll prez)
    9. laughing/crying/rejoicing/applauding bono's next move of embarrasing himself
    10.great comedy shows like fast show and only fools and horse (brilliant catch phrases like "suit u sir.... or making love to a beautful woman is like..., i'm a geezer abit of who a bit oh way i'll nick anything)
    11. when sega were good, all remember the megadrive and its 16 bit console lol
    12. battle of the bands blur v oasis (oasis oasis oasis) we need another media mad war between two bands, to keep things interesting
    13. summer of 1995 and its heatwaves and constant sunny days (never know global warnig might give us that in months like january)
    14.when everything was a bit cheaper,
    15. christmas pressies like subteto, scielectrics,bmx bikes, shoot annuals (footies book)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

andrew163 wrote:
    The RIAA/MPAA/IRMA/BPI/etc's reign of terror

Also, DVDs
    Bush/Blair
    Emo kids (when the trend disappears, who will we have to slag!?! :( )
    Google
    Muse
    CRT monitors
    Youtube
    Web 1.0, 2.0, 3.0 and 4.0 (all due to happen before 2010 ¬_¬)

(some of them aren't exactly good things, but they'll still be thought about.. maybe not missed, but thought about)

There, there old chum, there will always be gingers. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Podge and rodge
    pat kenny
    those T.V.'s before lcd T.V.'s
    mobile phones without t.v.
    smoking
    video tapes

YORE MA!

pat kenny,- ya remind me what des bishop said about us slagging him off now (bring back gay byrne) and in ten years time when ryan turbidy takes over late late we will be calling back for pat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I can't believe no one mentioned the dot-com crash or the big anti-climax that were most millenium celebrations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Faith wrote:
    I loved them!

iPods, definately.
    Jade Goody.
    Reality TV.
    Ugg or slouchy boots.
    Drainpipe jeans.
    Cocaine.
    GHDs.
    Jade Goody?Not a chance! She'll disappear back to the rock she crawled out from sometime in the next few years, albeit a bit better off. Whats to remember?Her ugliness? Shes not exactly talented and I sure as hell won't be telling my child about the pig-human hybrid that made it onto the Z list in Britain for a few years. Jade Goody an icon?Lol.

Have no idea what could be classed as retro-cool in a few years, certainly not Bebo or Myspace or anything of that sort.

Emo may certainly come back a few years down the line, suppose time will tell on that one.

Playstation/PS2/Xbox perhaps.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

some or personal and some are more general

1.dermot morgan and fr ted (coping the phrases in school and other places, the money was resting in my account will hopefully be a handy phrase)
    2.copying eric cantona when playing footie by having the collars turned up or doing jurgen klinsman dives or ian wright throwing jersey over your head after scoring a goal
    3.being single, with no kids, and have hair (i am sure that be in my mind when i think back to these days in years ahead)
    4.when people with some talent got record deals.
    5.rep of ireland soccer glory days under charltan
    6.the innocent days of school pre leaving cert and college exams (kick the can,conkers,footie,first kiss, first disco etc)
    7. college drinking sessions throughout the year and particularily rag week with mates ya prob will never see again (thats in years later, bha to having boring responsibilites)
    8.listening to the news about bill clinton's extra curriclums (go on the boyo, bar all the war stuff, a rock n' roll prez)
    9. laughing/crying/rejoicing/applauding bono's next move of embarrasing himself
    10.great comedy shows like fast show and only fools and horse (brilliant catch phrases like "suit u sir.... or making love to a beautful woman is like..., i'm a geezer abit of who a bit oh way i'll nick anything)
    11. when sega were good, all remember the megadrive and its 16 bit console lol
    12. battle of the bands blur v oasis (oasis oasis oasis) we need another media mad war between two bands, to keep things interesting
    13. summer of 1995 and its heatwaves and constant sunny days (never know global warnig might give us that in months like january)
    14.when everything was a bit cheaper,
    15. christmas pressies like subteto, scielectrics,bmx bikes, shoot annuals (footies book)

But surely all this is nineties nostalgia?
    Which is completely missing the point of the thread?
    Or am I going completely totally mad?
    I checked, and I'm not you know.

The (gag) noughties will be remembered for Spongebob Squarepants, bebo, and all those other internet fads designed to lower the target IQ of the whole world.
    A series of unfunny cartoons mentioning Mohammad, the leaders of the so-called free world being shown up as the criminals and terrorists that they are, Lordi, non-voting students wearing tee-shirts with seemingly irreverent politically comedic statements to make a stand rather than, you know, doing anything. (Got bush?)
    Oh yeah, and the re-election of George W. indicating that America is almost entirely populated by cruel jokers, morons and gun-toting one-tooth cloud shooters with a hatred for the whole world.
    Also, the death of guitar music. When was the last time u saw a guitarist who could, you know, play guitar?

Someone said The rise of Hiphop / black music? Hiphop is dead, crushed under the weight of lamborghini Gallardos, Massive bottles of gin, and 14,000 fat-arsed girls getting naked in a video.

Oh, and the rise and rise of shows / books / articles / threads touting nostaliga to the oh so cynical masses to remind them of a time when space hoppers were cool and you were happy to play with a lump of plastic that pissed its pants for days on end without it having to have a 100baseT broadband connection attached to its hole.

Oh and hopefully the tragic and extreeemmeely painful and drawn out death of Bono. That ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

The show Big Brother will be gone by the end of this decade (no matter what their current contract is) and I think people will be nostalgic for that (esp the first couple of years when it was still an interesting social experiement and not just another X-factor show).

CD's/DVD's will be a nostalgic memory too as the interweb coupled with solid state & harddisk become the universal way of dispensing and storing entertainment media.

rb_ie wrote:
    Jade Goody?Not a chance! She'll disappear back to the rock she crawled out from sometime in the next few years, albeit a bit better off. Whats to remember?Her ugliness? Shes not exactly talented and I sure as hell won't be telling my child about the pig-human hybrid that made it onto the Z list in Britain for a few years. Jade Goody an icon?Lol.

I certainly won't be remembering her in a good way, as I doubt anybody else will. But I mean, in 20 years time, people reminiscing about the 00's will say things like "Remember that stupid idiot Jade what's-her-name? God, I hated her!".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

GPHD

Good Pubic Hair Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭singingstranger

- iPods
    - an era where people still bought CDs and didn't just download music
    - the explosion of text messaging
    - the Nintendo Wii
    - 3G mobiles
    - the rise and fall of Big Brother
    - Web 2.0 (Bebo, MySpace, Facebook etc...)
    - The Dunphy Show :p

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

When there literally were still plenty of fish in the sea
    Building/upgrading your own PC
    Physical storage media
    Serie A
    The cult of the metrosexual
    Snow
    Gangsta Rap

But surely all this is nineties nostalgia?
    Which is completely missing the point of the thread?
    Or am I going completely totally mad?
    I checked, and I'm not you know.

The (gag) noughties will be remembered for Spongebob Squarepants, bebo, and all those other internet fads designed to lower the target IQ of the whole world.
    A series of unfunny cartoons mentioning Mohammad, the leaders of the so-called free world being shown up as the criminals and terrorists that they are, Lordi, non-voting students wearing tee-shirts with seemingly irreverent politically comedic statements to make a stand rather than, you know, doing anything. (Got bush?)
    Oh yeah, and the re-election of George W. indicating that America is almost entirely populated by cruel jokers, morons and gun-toting one-tooth cloud shooters with a hatred for the whole world.
    Also, the death of guitar music. When was the last time u saw a guitarist who could, you know, play guitar?

Someone said The rise of Hiphop / black music? Hiphop is dead, crushed under the weight of lamborghini Gallardos, Massive bottles of gin, and 14,000 fat-arsed girls getting naked in a video.

Oh, and the rise and rise of shows / books / articles / threads touting nostaliga to the oh so cynical masses to remind them of a time when space hoppers were cool and you were happy to play with a lump of plastic that pissed its pants for days on end without it having to have a 100baseT broadband connection attached to its hole.

Oh and hopefully the tragic and extreeemmeely painful and drawn out death of Bono. That ****.

oh yeah sorry i did miss da point of op's thread. sorry. but then again the 7 years of the noughties have been really really bland. luckily i have made the best of a bad situation but the last 7 years has been totally uninspiring,boring and full of doom and gloom. although the 1990's was a bit of a rip off from the 1960's it was cool and exciting. and from an irish perspective it was good times for us as we had some money in our pockets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Faith wrote:
    I certainly won't be remembering her in a good way, as I doubt anybody else will. But I mean, in 20 years time, people reminiscing about the 00's will say things like "Remember that stupid idiot Jade what's-her-name? God, I hated her!".
    Lol, I thought you were one of her "fans"!

Will probably remember her alright, and she'll probably be brought up on some "Where are they now?" kind of show, 'cause theres only so much more media whoring a talentless, pig-faced nuisance like her can do(or at least I sincerely hope she'll be out of the picture in the near future).

so an amendment of the 00''s whether it's good,bad or indifferent, in no particular order

1.eamon dunphy (love him or hate him "tired and emotional")
    2. cd's (that keep skipping on ya if not looked after)
    3. the fall of guitar music to whimsical nonsense of what is out now
    4. snow in winter (ok did not have much but with global warming it prob will snow in march like in 2006)
    5. proper music journalists like john peel (rip) (hard to find many, but they are around)
    6. playstations/x box (great memories but their will prob be even better consoles out)
    7. pope jp II for all ye religious folk ?????????
    8. charles j haughey (i know he wont be missed by many, but remember how your blood boiled when ye heard all the evidence from all them tribunals, hopefully we will never see someone like him in this country again, corruption wise)
    9. beckham hairstyles making front page news (white men trying to be as cool as black men)
    10. michelle marsh and lucy pinder (will we have beautiful wholesome page 3 girls like them ever again, or will we be stuck with waifer thin paris ilton's?)
    11. being young free and single lol (children of today, take your time)
    12.alex ferguson (even a.b.u. fans will respect him and if not already be up there with the likes of paisley and shankly, hopefully man u will stop wnning lol)
    13. combative and brave footballers like roy keane (no fun with all them divers
    14. when it was fashionable for men to wear pink (cant wait to get the photo albums out to remind mates of their fashion horrors)
    15. when immigration was used as a scaremonger gimmick by some people(hopefully in 20 years we will be saying, what was that all about?)

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

It will be remembered for Netwhizzkid...low cost airlines...full employment...dear houses..

Who is Jade Goody ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Suprised only one person said the Wii and mass illegal downloads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Cool thread...
    I was thinkin about this aswell recently... I remember the early 90's were remembered for Rave and dance music and childrens dummies!
    I think the 00's will be remebered for Terrorism, youtube, bebo, iPods, mohawk haircuts and indie & alternative music.

Mohawks?? indie and alternative has been around since the eighties, I don't think people will be able to be nostalgic for that. plus there's no reason why it should die out atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

making movies about the iraq war id say
    ps2's and gamecubes etc

green day, U2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

iPods, definately.
    Jade Goody.
    Reality TV.
    Ugg or slouchy boots.
    Drainpipe jeans.
    Cocaine.
    GHDs.

Oh my god it's been a bad decade.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

IMO music this decade has been ****. with most other decades there was a defining band/movement, but not this decade (so far) and the 90's were nothing special. don't get we wrong, thare are alot of good bands out there, but nothin particularly special. i wish i was a 60's kid! (prefrably not living in ireland, since the place was a kip then)