Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should private security guards be armed

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,204 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Dr_Teeth wrote:
    I don't think this is particularly realistic..

* Unarmed robbers aren't going to contemplate robbing a van guarded by soldiers.

* Armed robbers would be shot centre-mass and most likely die immediately. Soldiers wouldn't fire warning shots or "shoot to wound" if a robber was pointing a gun at them.

Army lads are well trained and as has been said they do have rules of engagement.

Soldiers have training for this kind of thing I'm sure and are not just gona shoot because the robber is pointing a gun at him

• Registered Users Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Celticfire

kearnsr wrote:

Soldiers have training for this kind of thing I'm sure and are not just gona shoot because the robber is pointing a gun at him

I would imagine that's exactly the time to shoot, what do they have to do wait till they are shot first?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,204 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Celticfire wrote:
    I would imagine that's exactly the time to shoot, what do they have to do wait till they are shot first?

I would have thought shooting is a last resort

• Registered Users Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Celticfire

kearnsr wrote:
    I would have thought shooting is a last resort

Ok , explain to me the options that arise when armed thieves have just pointed a gun at an armed soldier. Give me all the options that soldier has in the split second he has to decide if he's going to live or die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭Random

Celticfire wrote:
    Ok , explain to me the options that arise when armed thieves have just pointed a gun at an armed soldier. Give me all the options that soldier has in the split second he has to decide if he's going to live or die.
    Yes, you would think the only choice is to shoot.

I thought that because the soldiers were in an urban environment in their own country, and there's no martial law or nothing .. that they couldn't actually fire their weapons.

Don't ask me where I read that, it seemed stupid, this is why I asked.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Steyr wrote:
    But i think they must give verbal warnings first for the person/s to stop and if verbals dont deter then warning shots and if that dont stop then use of deadly force.

Whilst I'm fairly sure there are steps in escalation (And I don't expect any serving Irish soldier to confirm or deny this, it's the sort of thing the Army doesn't like being talked about), I think a little common sense is required. If the first indication that there is a problem is a chap opening up on you with a Kalashnikov, it seems rather redundant to give a verbal warning first.

"Oi! You naughty person! Stop emptying your magazine of 7.62mmx39 at me, or I shall be very cross and demonstrate my crossness by displaying my weapon. If you continue to shoot at me, I shall fire a warning shot at you. If you have moved on to your third magazine, I shall shoot back..."

I would. I would in my civilian capacity as well. If someone's pointing a gun at me, it is a threat to my life, and I will defend myself. Presumably this is the same for Ireland, but around here no rules of engagement can prohibit the very basic right to defend your life or that of your colleagues. I'm certainly not going to wait until after he pulls the trigger: At that point, I may not be in a fit, unperforated condition to return fire.
    and shooting to wound
    Where, exactly, are you going to aim in a dynamic environment with a 5.56mm rifle that will be a shot to wound? Bear in mind that if you take a shot at a leg or arm, which will probably be moving, and miss, the bullet is going to go somewhere. You want to aim at the place that gives the best chance of a quick hit, and that's centre mass. If he survives, fine.

By complete coincidence, my boss wandered in the door as I'm typing this. We had a good conversation relating our various firefight stories, and I asked him point blank about a 'shoot to wound' policy. (He was the SWAT team leader for San Francisco Police). He laughed.

As for the concept of 'who pays for cash escorts', I can see arguments both ways, but lean defiinitely in favour of keeping the current situation: Law and order is a government responsibility. If we start a precedent of charging private bodies for the services of the police or army, does that mean that when I suffer a burglary that I should pay an 'incident fee' for the police to come and check it out? The banks are already funding the escorts: It's called corporation tax, and the police and Army are paid by taxes.
    I thought that because the soldiers were in an urban environment in their own country, and there's no martial law or nothing .. that they couldn't actually fire their weapons.

Don't ask me where I read that, it seemed stupid, this is why I asked.

Closest I can think of is American law, which generally prohibits the use of the military for domestic duties which would result in a situation where shooting is required.

NTM

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

Irish soldiers will most likely have shot you before you aim a firearm at them. They avoid whats called the mexican standoff -

"You put the gun down", "No - you put the gun down....."

If it's reached that stage the soldier should already have fired and one of his buddy's most likely will within the next few seconds.

They do have rules of engagement for peace time and at the core of them is justification. If they are justified in believing you will shoot or disarm them then they are allowed to fire upon you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,223 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Gosh, why stop at arming private guards, why not the gardai? And even better, let's all strap on a six-shooter, cowboy hats, boots, spurs, and swagger down Grafton and plug anyone that gives us a suspicious look? Oh, even better, instead of just letting the USA use Shannon as a refueling point, we could all jump on the planes headed to Iraq and get some target practice? Then when we all come back to Dub, we will really feel safe and secure, knowing how to dodge bullets or dress wounds in the street? Just think of it, we could have an armed society, just like the States, where they have more guns than people according to the National Rifle Association. And after they get rid of Bush in 2008, we could invite him over to give lessons at Trin on how to shoot first and ask questions later? What a brave new world we could live in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭Random

Gosh, why stop at arming private guards, why not the gardai? And even better, let's all strap on a six-shooter, cowboy hats, boots, spurs, and swagger down Grafton and plug anyone that gives us a suspicious look? Oh, even better, instead of just letting the USA use Shannon as a refueling point, we could all jump on the planes headed to Iraq and get some target practice? Then when we all come back to Dub, we will really feel safe and secure, knowing how to dodge bullets or dress wounds in the street? Just think of it, we could have an armed society, just like the States, where they have more guns than people according to the National Rifle Association. And after they get rid of Bush in 2008, we could invite him over to give lessons at Trin on how to shoot first and ask questions later? What a brave new world we could live in?
    Oh dear. He's not getting a gun when we're handing them out!

Gosh, why stop at arming private guards, why not the gardai?

Excellent idea, though a number of them are armed already. See other thread on the subject.
    And even better, let's all strap on a six-shooter, cowboy hats, boots, spurs, and swagger down Grafton and plug anyone that gives us a suspicious look?

Also an excellent idea, though I would recommend a semi-auto and, frankly, abandoning the coyboy hat and spurs. I saw Irish people dressed up like that during the Line Dancing Craze of the early 1990s, it just doesn't work. It would certainly cut down on suspicious looks though, wouldn't it? As the old phrase went: An armed society is a polite society!
    Oh, even better, instead of just letting the USA use Shannon as a refueling point, we could all jump on the planes headed to Iraq and get some target practice?

Done that. The paper range is easier though, one can go for a drink afterwards. Not being allowed to have a drink after a shooting is a royal pisser, trust me.
    Then when we all come back to Dub, we will really feel safe and secure, knowing how to dodge bullets or dress wounds in the street?

Are either of those things really bad things to know? Response, breathing, bleeding, shock, fractures, burns, head injuries... and all that. You might actually save someone's life.
    Just think of it, we could have an armed society, just like the States, where they have more guns than people according to the National Rifle Association.

I don't see that as being an issue. I've got two (and picking up a third today). There are chaps over on the shooting forum living in Ireland with more than I do.
    And after they get rid of Bush in 2008, we could invite him over to give lessons at Trin on how to shoot first and ask questions later? What a brave new world we could live in?

I could recommend better instructors. I'll volunteer my services, I don't charge too much.

NTM

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,223 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Oh, let's not stop at arming private guards, the gardai, and all adults in Ireland. Let's arm our kids too. Then they can organise themselves into gangs and fight over territory, just like they do in metropolitan Los Angeles? What a worthwhile learning experience. Then they can go to the playground and bang away at each other, and if they hit some innocent kid on the playground (as they did in Huntington Beach, USA, not too long ago), why worry? The USA has a name that depersonalises innocent victims in Iraq. They call them collateral damage. So long as they get the bad guy with one of their smart bombs, or a platoon of Marines, what matter a few dozen innocent civilians?

Oh, in response to an earlier poster, suggesting that we upgrade from six-shooters to semi-automatics, do you really think that the average citizen in Dub will hit the suspected bad guy? It takes a lot of practice on the range, and most in Dub will not put in the time. Not only that, when they have had one too many cool ones in the local pub, their aim may be off? Now, rather than semi-automatics, where they have to aim and pull the trigger each time, why not arm all citizens with shot guns (with double odd buckshot) or fully automatic machine pistols? But what if the suspected bad guy hides behind an engine block or dives into a store when you let loose with your lead? I know! All citizens could be issued howitzers that could be towed behind their petrol guzzling SUVs. Then, when the suspected bad guy tries to seek cover, POW!, no more cover (or city block)!

Now, that's a brave new world! Just think how safe and secure we would feel with an armed society? Bagdad's civil war would have nothing on Dub! Gee, we could really have bragging rights about our streets (what was left of them)!

Oh, let's not stop at arming private guards, the gardai, and all adults in Ireland. Let's arm our kids too.

Not a bad idea in itself. I know people who used to sling a .22 over their shoulder at age 10 and ride their bicycle to the woods for some plinking. Of course, current law prohibits anyone under a certain age from owning a firearm (16 in Ireland, isn't it?) but that doesn't stop people I know from basically buying a plinker for their kid's exclusive use.
    Then they can organise themselves into gangs and fight over territory, just like they do in metropolitan Los Angeles?

I would hope not. The gangs in LA have absolutley bugger-all tactical sense or technique. I would submit that any worthy gang should have urban warfare training. I see no reason to do things half-assed. Again, I offer my services.
    So long as they get the bad guy with one of their smart bombs, or a platoon of Marines, what matter a few dozen innocent civilians?

You have no idea the amount of paperwork I have to go through every time I shoot someone. Really puts an incentive on trying not to kill the wrong person.
    Oh, in response to an earlier poster, suggesting that we upgrade from six-shooters to semi-automatics, do you really think that the average citizen in Dub will hit the suspected bad guy? It takes a lot of practice on the range, and most in Dub will not put in the time.

That's why you need the semi-autos: More rounds means a greater chance that you might actually hit what you're aiming at. 15 times 2% is a lot better than 6 times 2%, after all. It's very embarassing to empty your firearm and see the target still standing. Hard to explain to your mates.
    Not only that, when they have had one too many cool ones in the local pub, their aim may be off? Now, rather than semi-automatics, where they have to aim and pull the trigger each time, why not arm all citizens with shot guns (with double odd buckshot) or fully automatic machine pistols?

Now you're talking my language. The machine pistols would probably be the better bet, as really, you want something that will fit on your hip or your handbag.
    But what if the suspected bad guy hides behind an engine block

What? On Grafton street? What's a car doing there? The owner deserves to have holes punched in his bodywork.
    I know! All citizens could be issued howitzers that could be towed behind their petrol guzzling SUVs.

Again, we have that problem of the theorised scenario taking place on Grafton street. You're not allowed drive SUVs (towing howitzers or not) down it. I would recommend a field gun more than a howitzer, however. The range on Grafton Street is such that the lower trajectory is more suitable. Something like a 105mm mountain gun would be perfect.
    Now, that's a brave new world! Just think how safe and secure we would feel with an armed society? Bagdad's civil war would have nothing on Dub! Gee, we could really have bragging rights about our streets (what was left of them)!

Dublin's roads aren't in the best of condition anyway. A few craters might be an improvement.

NTM

As the old phrase went: An armed society is a polite society!
    Well, it must be true, just ask anyone in Bagdad or Lebanon or South Central Los Angeles?

Oh, my credit card and I are quite familiar with pedestrian Grafton. Just didn't want to leave out the rest of Dub. Wouldn't want anyone complaining and reaching for their piece.

A whole new spin comes to mind for RIP: Rest In Piece means Rest In Peace.

Well, it must be true, just ask anyone in Bagdad or Lebanon or South Central Los Angeles?

Oh, they execute each other in a most polite manner down there. It's something of a ritual. Except in South Central L.A., they don't bother with tea. Most uncivilised.

What is the most polite society in Europe? Surely the Swiss, right? Efficient, prim people... Where you can go to the local Spar with an assault rifle over your shoulder.

http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/6236/450pxcarolinemigrosp100eu7.jpg

NTM

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

ciaranfo wrote:
    It's been a while since TV3 showed The Siege.

My short answer is "this isn't the United States" and I rather hope that doesn't sound too condescending as an answer.
    Oh, let's not stop at arming private guards, the gardai, and all adults in Ireland. Let's arm our kids too. Then they can organise themselves into gangs and fight over territory, just like they do in metropolitan Los Angeles?
    Arguing by extremes is a pitiful way to argue. And pretty annoying to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

parliament wrote:
    No, firstly I can't imagine there being a change made to the laws of the land to allow regular citizens to carry firearms.

Secondly, I would prefer a security guard to hand over the money rather than try be a hero and resist and start a gunfight which could result in innocent people being hurt/killed. We need to encourage less use of guns not more. Once the step is made of arming even regualr guards on the street there is no going back. It would result in criminals who do not carry a gun to all of a sudden being forced to use one to continue with their daily business.

Ze reason not to arm them, they have hand guns, we get semi-auto, we get auto, they get rpgs, barretts. Whatever Gadai/security get, they'll get the better to win. Its the wrong way to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭poobum

Dempsey wrote:
    Ze reason not to arm them, they have hand guns, we get semi-auto, we get auto, they get rpgs, barretts. Whatever Gadai/security get, they'll get the better to win. Its the wrong way to go

even i you dont arm the gardai with guns, most need to be armed better! they have no deacent baton or anything, have you ever looked at what an american cop or english go out with(bar the gun) they are much better equipped! most gardai at one stage or another while on duty have been assaulted and beaten, but this has been allowed due to bad training and arming! (once again i dont mean guns but with blunt weapons etc they havent even been given a chance to defend themselves!

sceptre wrote:
    Arguing by extremes is a pitiful way to argue. And pretty annoying to be honest.
    I wonder if you would have agreed with the intent expressed by Jonathan Swift when he wrote his Modest Proposal? Correct me if wrong, but didn't he propose to raise and feed the Irish young to the British upper classes in terms of meeting their tastes? Was this a parody? Obviously he did not really plan on serving them our children to eat? Of course, his command of the language would surpass anything we have seen by anyone in this thread including myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Chief Wiggum: All right, you scrawny beanpoles: becoming a cop is not something that happens overnight. It takes one solid weekend of training to get that badge.
    Crazy Guy: Forget the badge! When do we get the freakin' guns?!
    Wiggum: I already told you: you don't get a gun 'til you tell me your name!
    Crazy Guy: I've had it up to here with your..."RULES!"

Seemed appropriate given the context :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,997 ✭✭✭✭event

definitely not.
    we have enough 'mistake' shootings after arming the gardia.

really?

which ones are they?