Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BDO Final

• 14-01-2007 7:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭

It's not going to rival the PDC final, I'm certain of that. But hey, it deserves a thread of its own at least.

I've had a cheeky* bet on Adams to win 7-4

*cheeky - a word used by me to justify a silly bet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Jeez Tony Green said its the finest championship he's seen in 30 years. Numpty.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

He also said there was absolute silence - as always - when the players are throwing.
    He must be getting both blind and deaf!

I wouldnt mind seeing Adams winning it, but I'd hate to see him walk away with it and thus win with no pressure.

First set against the darts to Adams.

Adams 2-0 up and coasting.

He was miles ahead in the World Masters final and lost, but I'm not sure Nixy has the ability that MvG showed then!

Adams 3-0 up in sets. (3-1, 3-1, 3-0)

Sets: Adams 4-0 Nixon
    Legs: Adams 12-2 Nixon

Demolition job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

He was 10-1 to win 7-0. That's looking generous now.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I dont have BBC in my apartment so I usually go home to my parents to watch the darts. Didnt go home today because had a feeling this would be a demolition job and ts looking like that will be the case.

5-0. 3-1 this time to Adams. Nixon missed a lot of darts to make it 2-2 in legs.

How did he get to the final??

Poor Nixon couldnt finish his dinner.

Nixon missed 12 darts at a double to go 2-1 up in the 6th set against the throw - Adams takes out 40 at his 5th attempt after being miles behind.

2 more missed darts a double by Nixon and Adams takes the 6th set 3-1.
    Adams scored poorly in that set but Nixon still couldnt take advantage.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Sounds to me as if Nixon just cant hit a double to save his life. He did exactly the same in the latter half of the de Ruiter match but he eventually managed to win it. Sounds like a very poor showing and a very poor final.

Adams breaks Nixon in Leg 1
    Nxon breaks back in Leg 2
    Nixon starts 40, 45 in Leg 3! Adams got a 180 in between.
    Adams sitting on 68, when Nixy hits 180.
    Adams missed two darts at D4
    Nixy doesnt even get a shot at a double from 72.
    Adams takes out D2 - one leg from title and throwing first.

(commentry mentioned they've broken the record for 180s in a championship - surprisingly)

Adams still not throwing great - follows up a 45 with a 43.

Nixon on 164 - scores 95.

Adams 157 for match - T1 first dart - but leaves 40

69 for Nixon - S15, S18 - one dart at 36 to save it. Hits it! 2 legs each. The first time he got 2 legs in a set.

The comeback is on!!! lol

Nixon well ahead in final leg.307 to 415.
    212 to 355.

PN: 112 - gets T20, S12, D20!

A set for Phil. Crowd erupt

Adams sucking a lemon - EDIT, in fairness he was gracious first

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

Nixon takes the title:D

Adams throwing very average.

Nixon with 78 left against the throw
    T4 (going for 18) , S8 (going for T16) :rolleyes:

Adams need bull for leg - hits 25

PN takes out D16 for the leg.

Come on Nixon! :D

Nixon comfortably holds throw to make it 2-0.

Adams takes out 161 to make it 2-1 - might get him back on form.

Nixon throwing for set.

Adams throws in another 41 - every leg he's having one. But Nixy's not making him pay.

180 from Adams leaves him on 95. Nixy replies with 137.

MA 95: 25, T20, S5 only

PN 54: S18, D18!! Set for Nixy, 2-6

Would be some comeback if Nixon could do it. He has the darts in this set now doesnt he?

P.S. Rooster, have a look in the Mod Nomination thread.

Nixy takes out 61 for 1st leg in set 9 with throw.

Adams wife complaining about the break...

Adams needs 141 - misses T20.
    Nixy needs 56. 16, S20, D10.
    2-0 for PN.

Nixon throwing for set.
    PN hits a 180 to leave 223. Adams on 301
    124-201

PN 124: starts with T5 - leaves 70.
    Adams leaves himself 141.

PN 70: T15, S9, 0
    MA 141: S20, T20, 50
    PN 16: D8!!

Set for Nixon 3-0. 3-6 now.

Great posts Rooster, keep them up.Sounds like Nixon is hitting everything now!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,811 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Thanks for the updates lads,OH is watching Emmerdale/Corrie,thought it (the match)was over at 7 o'c

Seven Worlds will Collide

2 legs each.

Adams missed 2 darts for title.

Nixon takes out D7 with his second dart.

6-4 now.

(Sorry got distracted by a ridiculous comment on the moderation thread. Going to keep out of that now. We get on fine as we are anyway. Fook the begrudgers)

Balls - family commitments means an end to my updates. Hopefully someone else will take up the mantle.

first leg to Nixon in set 11

Rooster - signing out for a while!

Thanks alot for the updates Rooster.

This will be the greatest come back in the History of the sport if Nixon can keep this up.

Adams had 2 shots to win the match for double 8. (And my bet would have come in!) Bit of a bottler.

Still though...I'm cheering for Nixon.