Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Hated County in Ireland

• 13-01-2007 12:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭JCB

This thread is inspired by me being sick on a Friday night and this thread about leitrim which is a good laugh.http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055031951

So what is your most hated/least favourite county (in a non violent houseburning fashion of course!)

I have listed the usual suspects! Let the flames begin!!!!;)

What is the county you most dislike? 498 votes

Leitrim!
    0% 0 votes
    Dublin
    6% 32 votes
    Cork
    36% 182 votes
    Kilkenny
    29% 145 votes
    Donegal
    3% 16 votes
    Waterford
    3% 15 votes
    Limerick
    2% 13 votes
    Cavan
    8% 42 votes
    Kerry
    6% 32 votes
    Other
    4% 21 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Look how this thread turned out, careful now. It has been done since also I think. *douses petrol over thread and lights up*

[token response]
    Dublin person: Cork
    Cork person: Dublin, Cork is the real capital
    *fight and slagging ensue* :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Cork or Dublin I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Cork always wins these things. Just like we win everything else.

Cork of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Put Roscommon on It..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭dvega

And dublin is a runaway.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

Yeah Roscommon.....without a doubt......very sly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Laois.
    I have nothing against the people there, but almost every time we go down the country my parents insist we stop into Portlaoise and call into my Dad's ex partner who lives in the town. He has no sons so when this happens, I am forced to wander aimlessly around the town while the adults talk.

Portlaoise has nothing of interest, in case you were wondering. It has a mental asylum and a prison, but I'm never tempted to visit either.

Can anybody explain why, for such a modern state, the counties are so jagged? Why are they not straight lines?

In fairness to my thread tar, rb ie and stepbar were all being knobs.Leitrim does have traffic lights and I was pretty annoyed what was said about Leitrim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

We were just having a laugh in that thread Dazzler, don't take it too seriously.

I don't dislike any county in particular, Limerick is a bit of a kip but I don't hate the place. If anything I probably dislike Dublin the most just because I've been here almost 21 years and am getting sick of the place and anywhere is a nice break from it. Cork is my favourite place to go outside Dublin.

Oh my most hated county is Roscommon but only when it comes to Gaelic football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Dublin....think they own the fcuking country:rolleyes:
    If your not from dublin your a mucker, like WTF?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭JCB

Ruu wrote:
    Look how this thread turned out, careful now. It has been done since also I think. *douses petrol over thread and lights up*

[token response]
    But this is the brand new 2007 edition!
    A lot has changed since that thread!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

Plug wrote:
    I call some people who live in dublin muckers :D I wouldn't exactly consider it an offensive term and wouldn't care less if someone called me one since I spend a lot of time in kerry :confused:

Edit: I live in Dublin(and always have) otherwise that first sentence would seem pointless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

have to hate that cork accent, it just about gets in ahead of dublin heads who think they are the b-all and end all.

Plug wrote:
    *you're

Don't worry about it, its just because you have funny accents, play and follow bogball, have some connection to a farm, dress like the Dubs did 5 years ago and refer to Dublin as the "big shmoke". :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

it worries me that the fact none of yee realise Carlow is a figment of Irish peoples imagination

rb_ie wrote:
    *you're

Don't worry about it, its just because you have funny accents, play and follow bogball, have some connection to a farm, dress like the Dubs did 5 years ago and refer to Dublin as the "big shmoke". :p
    So they claim anyway:rolleyes:

Stupid Dubliner's:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

rb_ie wrote:
    *you're

Correct someone's spelling or berate them for their fine country heritage again and you'll earn a ban ya Jackeen! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

my god, im so tempted to let loose on this thread, but i wont, coz my anger has subsided cseeing as Cork havent played a GAA match in Dublin in a while.

The_B_Man wrote:
    my god, im so tempted to let loose on this thread, but i wont, coz my anger has subsided cseeing as Cork havent played a GAA match in Dublin in a while.

Yeah, Mayo have though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Ouch! nasty! when was that again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

rb_ie wrote:
    refer to Dublin as the "big shmoke". :p
    It's the Pale or Jackland :p

Another Dub v rest of Ireland thread.

nesf wrote:
    Correct someone's spelling or berate them for their fine country heritage again like and you'll earn a ban ya Jackeen baiii! :p

FYP :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Caliden wrote:
    have to hate that cork accent, it just about gets in ahead of dublin heads who think they are the b-all and end all.

Real Cork accents are things of great variety, subtlety and beauty unlike that fake one you hear on Dublin-centric TV. Propaganda, I tells ya!

Guess what I voted? Dare you violate the sanctity of the ballot box? Zomgerz!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

JCB wrote:
    But this is the brand new 2007 edition!
    A lot has changed since that thread!!!

Ahah, yep looks like things have changed alright. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

I'd have to vote for cork and the annoying way they end every sentence with "boy". WTF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

Ruu wrote:

I'd be more inclined to think:

Dublin person: Doesn't care
    Cork person with a chip on their shoulder: Dublin

"Cark is de real capital of Ireland, bay!"
    "Roish, well eh loike, the last time I looked at a focking atlas, Doblin was the capital."

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

How about "the whole of northern ireland" as an option?

[runs and hides behind sofa\]

kidding!

faceman wrote:
    How about "the whole of northern ireland" as an option?

[runs and hides behind sofa\]

kidding!
    Just don't specify whether you're protestant or catholic. That way, neither can come after you incase they're going after one of their own ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'd vote for Dublin for the way they say "I'll have another Heino, bleedin' bleedin' bleedin', when's the next DORT? I'll stab ya, ya durty ratten Polski""

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Dublin. never liked the place

I'd vote for Dublin for the way they say "I'll have another Heino, bleedin' bleedin' bleedin', when's the next DORT? I'll stab ya, ya durty ratten Polski""
    Erm...yeah...

nesf wrote:
    Correct someone's spelling or berate them for their fine country heritage again and you'll earn a ban ya Jackeen! :p
    Im proud of you. *wipes tear from eye*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

My most hated county is Tipperary South Riding.
    I'm from Tipperary North Riding

It's the whole northside/southside debate for people from outside the Pale

We had more than one county council long before Dublin did:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Well I don't hate it but I have always wondered why Longford exists. Seriousley what has it ever achieved. If it got nuked tomorrow, would anyone notice?

Also, if I spoke with a Cork accent, I would be embarrassed to speak tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

rb_ie wrote:
    Just don't specify whether you're protestant or catholic. That way, neither can come after you incase they're going after one of their own ;)
    That won't stop them. Did you learn nothing from Captain Planet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭rediguana

Longford (shudder). Oh wait, that's the most DEPRESSING county.

Hated? Dublin isn't as bad as it used to be, now that the foreigners have diluted the heady mix of brashness and superiority.

Tipperary gets my vote. Its people could do with more subtlety and finesse.

That won't stop them. Did you learn nothing from Captain Planet?
    Hrmm, you do have a point. If Captain Planet taught us anything, its that barring the intervention of a superhero, the Catholics and Protestants of Northern Ireland will nuke the place regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,543 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Most of Dublin, just because of the bloody traffic nightmare and the insane price of housing..
    Mind you when I buy that house in Shrewsbury I'll have a Helipad - only way to move about Dublin these days:)

Other than that, I'd vote for Youghal in Cork, seriously, does anyone from outside the place understand a word these people are saying without a translater?

It ought to be a county or even a country in its own right and Youghal speak into a language of its own right imho.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

cooker3 wrote:
    Well I don't hate it but I have always wondered why Longford exists.

I thought it went the way of Pluto and now is known as a proto-county?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Plug wrote:

We Do!

:D:D:p:p:D:D:p:p:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭the Shades

hmmm... it has to be Kildare, no good has ever come out of the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

MMM this is such a hard decision for me to make ...................

DUBLIN:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

and yes im from Cork boi;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Cork hands down. On account of the chip on the shoulder that every cork person carries that would make Atlas himself shudder.

And that irritating "The real capital" mantra that goes through my nerves and removes me from the space-time continnum to a happy place where I am inflicting brutal and horrendously violent vengeance that is physically not possible on the pituitary f*cktard that said it.

Lemming wrote:
    Cork hands down. On account of the chip on the shoulder that every cork person carries that would make Atlas himself shudder.

And that irritating "The real capital" mantra that goes through my nerves and removes me from the space-time continnum to a happy place where I am inflicting brutal and horrendously violent vengeance that is physically not possible on the pituitary f*cktard that said it.
    Yeah I'd agree with that (except about Cork being the worst/most hated county). This "Real Capital" stuff is the biggest crock of shíte I've ever came across and its time Corkonians just faced the f*cking truth of the matter that Cork never was, and never will be the capital of this country. Maybe they could combine their efforts and saw the county off our Island and float it out to sea, then they could have their own government and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Figured Dublin would be in 1st purely down to the fact that it is the REAL capital, is the biggest city, is the place people around the world might have actually heard of.

However, glad to see Cork in 2nd. Almost everyone I meet from that place has some sort of chip on their shoulder coupled with unwarrented superiority complex in order to compensate for the former. Oh yeah, and the stupid accent too.

As for Culchies accusing Dubs of incorrectly presuming they are the be-all and end-all of the country I do find it ironic how many times I get this accusation levelled at me by culchies who actually LIVE AND WORK IN DUBLIN. If it isn't the be-all end-all then go get a job somewhere else.

The chips on my shoulders balance each other out. So there!

Oh, I'd also question how many of the people who voted Dublin actually have been through or spent some decent amount of time here, and not just came up to Croke park for the day to watch the bogball, got píssed off with the traffic jams on the Northside of the Liffey (which they themselves create), then get píssed off with standing at a bar around croke park for an hour waiting for service because the place is packed with their neighbours/relatives/a good chunk of their county and the fact that we have Gardaí doing random stop points so they can't have a few pints and drive home drunk like back in the arse of nowhere where they insisted on coming from in the first place and consequently deciding Dublin was the worst place in Ireland.