Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VRT Dodging

• 10-01-2007 11:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭

My neighbour bought an English car last August and even though the law says you must pay your VRT within 24 hours there have have been driving on the English ever. So that 5 months with no road tax and five months less in the value of the VRT.

Surely this is taking the complete piss and making a total mug of the rest of us who pay our taxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I know of a car in Mooncoin co Kilkenny thats here on UK plates for months now since last summer at least.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Revenue have announced a huge blitz on VRT avoidance. My wife works in Revenue and confirmed it. Large number of staff and resources have been set aside so it looks like they mean business. All VRT and road tax is back dated so hopefully he'll be in for a shock soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Well I hope the fecker thats parked in my car space in my apartment block gets stung soon. Polish Reg and it's been knocking around the car park a few months now. He parked in my spot twice last week so I had him clamped on Sunday. He hasn't seen it yet I don't think because the notice is still under the wiper and it's 85e a day. That'll learn him!!

Onkle wrote:
    Well I hope the fecker thats parked in my car space in my apartment block gets stung soon. Polish Reg and it's been knocking around the car park a few months now. He parked in my spot twice last week so I had him clamped on Sunday. He hasn't seen it yet I don't think because the notice is still under the wiper and it's 85e a day. That'll learn him!!

Take the number plates off and phone the council saying theres an abandoned car dumped in your parking spot. No tax on the windscreen and they'll tow it :D

It's a secure underground spot so the council can't touch it... spot is costing me 120 a month which is a pain.

OP.. Sorry for the off topic. But I do agree that something needs to be done about people avoiding VRT. It really isn't fair and how valid would peoples Insurance be in an accident

Onkle wrote:
    It's a secure underground spot so the council can't touch it... spot is costing me 120 a month which is a pain.

OP.. Sorry for the off topic. But I do agree that something needs to be done about people avoiding VRT. It really isn't fair and how valid would peoples Insurance be in an accident

Can you not get whoever clamped it to tow it? Wouldn't put up with that myself especailly if you've payed for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

It's too easy to get away with not paying it. I was going to do it myself only I was too chicken! That & the fact the the Traffic Corps are based in the same complex as us!! All their bikes parked all around it the first day I came to work, I'm sure they were oblivious to it but I wasn't.
    So I decided to just pay it, get it over & done with.
    I know a good few lads that do it all the time, buy a car in UK, drive it for a few months, sell it (paying the VRT on sale, which is also not allowed) then go straight back & buy another one!!

All they can do is clamp. Can't move a car. I have no clue who owns it either. The complex security have given me another spot anyway

Onkle wrote:
    All they can do is clamp. Can't move a car. I have no clue who owns it either. The complex security have given me another spot anyway

Would still take his plates...just to p*ss him off :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

furtzy wrote:
    Take the number plates off and phone the council saying theres an abandoned car dumped in your parking spot. No tax on the windscreen and they'll tow it :D

Has that ever worked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

Actually, I declared my car to Revenue commissioners las november but the car model was not on their computer and they could not register it. I pester them every week but they keep saying they need to check with wexford. So maybe some of you are wrong for presuming that these cars are not declared.

kearnsr wrote:
    Has that ever worked?

Worked back home in a town in Monaghan. It happened in when some foreign reg cars where constantly parking in a private car park. Heard it from the person who owns the business which was involved so looks like it does work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

WildWater wrote:
    My neighbour bought an English car last August and even though the law says you must pay your VRT within 24 hours there have have been driving on the English ever. So that 5 months with no road tax and five months less in the value of the VRT.

Surely this is taking the complete piss and making a total mug of the rest of us who pay our taxes.

So this pisses you off. Have you rang the Revenue Commissioners yet, have you rang the Gardai about it. It is about time people started reporting gangsters like this. I know I would, its not much good reporting it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

WildWater wrote:

I would be concerned if this car is covered by insurance too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

After being p1ssed off with local car dealers being total idiots. I bought a new car in the North, got it VAT free (exemption cert) and brought it down and re-registered it. Saved about €1500, but what REALLY annoyed me was the fact that I was charged VRT at the Open market value which INCLUDES the VRT. Double taxation. Like paying VAT on a price that already includes VAT.

It is time this illegal (according to EU legislation) import tax was done away with, should shake up the rip-off motor trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

MadsL wrote:
    After being p1ssed off with local car dealers being total idiots. I bought a new car in the North, got it VAT free (exemption cert) and brought it down and re-registered it. Saved about €1500, but what REALLY annoyed me was the fact that I was charged VRT at the Open market value which INCLUDES the VRT. Double taxation. Like paying VAT on a price that already includes VAT.

It is time this illegal (according to EU legislation) import tax was done away with, should shake up the rip-off motor trade.

I agree totally VRT should be done away with but at present that is not the case. However people need to remember things like this on election day!

Nobody likes paying it but the OP is quite correct in that why should someone get away without paying it under our current system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Gatster

VRT and road tax is back dated so hopefully he'll be in for a shock soon
    Not true about VRT. How can you back date a tax which is paid once only on the day you walk into the office? Do you think all the dealers with cars on UK plates have to pay the VRT from when they got them in stock - months ago.

Gatster wrote:
    Not true about VRT. How can you back date a tax which is paid once only on the day you walk into the office? Do you think all the dealers with cars on UK plates have to pay the VRT from when they got them in stock - months ago.

Correct :o ...just meant the road tax is back datable.

Is there a number to shop these people on? Just paid the €400 road tax and across the road is a guy driving on Northern plates for 2 years now

Asked the wife and she didn't know

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

You could always put a "I hate pigs" bumper sticker on it. That should get their attention.

(Probably not strictly legal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

WildWater wrote:

Maybe he's a british resident or works for a company that are UK registered?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

muletide wrote:
    So this pisses you off. Have you rang the Revenue Commissioners yet, have you rang the Gardai about it. It is about time people started reporting gangsters like this. I know I would, its not much good reporting it here.
    How do you know he's a gangster? There could be a small number of valid reasons that he hasn't it cleared, like one a poster mentioned.
    Anyway, if you're so report-happy, why don't you head off to the Central European court about the Irish Government's illegal tax that is VRT? That would be to everyone's benefit.
    I don't condone what yer man is doing, but no point whining about it. If someone is breaking the law, unless it is directly affecting you, then it's their business. Maybe we should do something about it, but at the end of the day, avoiding an illegal Tax is pretty mild compared to all the drug dealing and all that that goes on around us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭WildWater

muletide wrote:

That would be a no and to be honest I'm not sure why not. Your right, not a lot of point reporting it here. But I wast interested in other ppls opinions as I was wondering if I was the only one to feel cheesed off by this behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

furtzy wrote:
    Correct :o ...just meant the road tax is back datable.
    True in certain circumstances, but not here. You pay road tax from the day you VRT.

My car went through the VRT system 5 months after I bought it. This was due to the fact that it was in storage. When I went in, I told the VRT place and they said fine, no problem and I paid the current VRT rate and tax from that day! Its very hard to prove how long a car has been in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭WildWater

Moanin wrote:
    Maybe he's a british resident or works for a company that are UK registered?

Nope! Ordinary Irish family with ordinary Irish jobs that dont provide company cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Mc-BigE

WildWater wrote:

Ring your local VRO office or your customs officier and give your mans address,
    If its a newish car they'll be interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭bogmanfan

A friend of mine drove around in an A4 for 8 months on the English plates. Was finally stopped on the quays just before Christmas with his mother-in-law in the car and got a bollocking from the gards. VRT'd it the next day. Reckons he saved around 500 quid in tax and VRT as the car was 8 months older and VRT was lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

1. You and your Named Drivers have not been refused insurance/renewal of insurance/had any special terms/conditions imposed by any insurer.

2. You and your Named Drivers have never been disqualified from driving, have never had any endorsements on your licence and have not been involved in any accident/loss or have had any claims made against you/them in the last 3 years.

3. You and your Named Drivers have not been convicted of any offences of any nature, have no convictions pending and have no more than 4 penalty points on your current driving licence. (see Special Claims Excess for Non-Disclosure of Penalty Points)

4. You and your Named Drivers do not suffer from any disability or medical condition that would impair your ability to drive.

5. You and your Named Drivers hold a full EU licence or have at least 3 years No Claims Discount if you hold a provisional Irish licence (proposers only).

6. Your No Claims Discount must have been earned within the last two years.

7. You are using a no claims bonus earned on a car and not on a moped or motorcycle.

8. Your Car is only used for social, domestic and pleasure purposes (including commuting to and from work).

9. Your Car is owned by you, registered in your name, normally parked at your address and you are the main driver.

10. Your Car is less than €75,000 in value and less than 5000cc. Certain restrictions may apply.

11. Your Car is not a car vanette, kit car, sports car, convertible, gti, Vtec. Is a right hand drive model and not converted, adapted or modified in any way.

I'm assuming that it's implied in number 9 that the car is registered in your name in Ireland!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I say Fair F**ks to them.
    I am just P'd off I dont have the balls to do this. I wouldnt dream to shop these guys in. There are far bigger crimes and frauds being commited by faolk than this.

Some taxes are simply unfair and we all should start to boycot them. (At least till we get something back for them)
    VRT - Road tax (ish) - Health Levy etc - they all suggest we get something in return, we dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Bluehair

ninty9er wrote:
    I'm assuming that it's implied in number 9 that the car is registered in your name in Ireland!!!!

You assume wrong. I've brought a few cars in from the UK and helped mates do the same. It's not uncommon to be left on the UK plates for a good while (about 6 weeks in one case) while the VRO work out what they want to charge for a car that's not on their standard list.

We were very careful to make sure having the car on UK plates was ok with the insurance since we had a document from the vrt office clearing us to drive while they decided on the vrt amount.

Long story short; the insurance companies couldn't care less where the car is registered.

Dodging tax is bad enough (and though i always pay vrt i can't deny it sticks in my craw real bad) but avoiding insurance is for morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 MR BIG

I believe the VRT is double taxation and illegal, by european law, should everyone that buys a car in northern Ireland or the UK refuse to pay and take the government to court. If as I understand it is illegal under European law shouldn't every case be won in favour of the good citizens of this Republic that are being robbed blind by the government that is far to busy inventing new stealth taxes and creating new laws and regulations to rob the people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

MR BIG wrote:
    I believe the VRT is double taxation and illegal, by european law, should everyone that buys a car in northern Ireland or the UK refuse to pay and take the government to court. If as I understand it is illegal under European law shouldn't every case be won in favour of the good citizens of this Republic that are being robbed blind by the government that is far to busy inventing new stealth taxes and creating new laws and regulations to rob the people?

As I've already said in your thread, the Danes do it and I'm sure there's a few more that have escaped my view, Apologies about Sweden I was mistaken

BMW 120d
    Ireland €38,000=283,150kr
    Denmark €61,700=460,000kr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 u all suck

muletide wrote: »
    WildWater wrote: »

my blood is boiling,i cant believe im reading this ****.what other people do as long as ur not being affected is none of ur busniess.i pay enough tax without being buggered by another tax which under eu law isnt right anyway.nosy busy bodies would be as well off spending time looking after there own affairs.ur a bunch of small minded sad people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

u all suck wrote: »
    my blood is boiling,i cant believe im reading this ****.what other people do as long as ur not being affected is none of ur busniess.i pay enough tax without being buggered by another tax which under eu law isnt right anyway.nosy busy bodies would be as well off spending time looking after there own affairs.ur a bunch of small minded sad people.
    And you are too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

drdre wrote: »
    And you are too. :)

Not to mention months late.

I'm guessign someone sign up to search for VRT threads to have a rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

WildWater wrote: »
    That would be a no and to be honest I'm not sure why not. Your right, not a lot of point reporting it here. But I wast interested in other ppls opinions as I was wondering if I was the only one to feel cheesed off by this behaviour.

You are being cheated by the VRT system, not the guy dodging it. Are you aware that the so called "Open Market Selling Price" includes VRT in its value, the OMSP is what the percentage VRT duty is derived from. So you are in effect paying VRT which is derived from a value with VRT already in it.

There are penalties for not paying VRT (and as mentioned legal reasions not to have to pay sometimes) and these are enforced by a load of civil servants employed to facilitate this insidious tax. This isnt your job and frankly you really should have more important things to worry about than what your neighbours are driving.

I can imagine half the people on this thread complaining that their neighbours clearly arent paying their Window Tax as they have more glass in their house than they do. Irish begrudgery lives on. :confused:

EDIT: Just copped the dates too. Was a bit odd VRT was so popular here recently.
    EDIT2: Lol, this means the mentioned "crackdown" on VRT has been and gone already...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 u all suck

Stekelly wrote: »
    Not to mention months late.

I'm guessign someone sign up to search for VRT threads to have a rant.

actualy,i have better things to be doing with myself.i was just searching to see if anyone had to backdate vrt.i couldnt believe what i was reading.i pay insurance and road tax on two cars that are driven daily but because i chose not to pay vrt on a car thats driven at weekends only im a GANSTER.come on.wake up to urself people!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

actualy,i have better things to be doing with myself.i was just searching to see if anyone had to backdate vrt.i couldnt believe what i was reading.i pay insurance and road tax on two cars that are driven daily but because i chose not to pay vrt on a car thats driven at weekends only im a GANSTER.come on.wake up to urself people!!!!
    You are a tax avoider :) , But seriously you should pay the vrt before the car get seized then its more hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

actualy,i have better things to be doing with myself.

indeed, but I think there's a separate forum for that..........;)

i was just searching to see if anyone had to backdate vrt.i couldnt believe what i was reading.i pay insurance and road tax on two cars that are driven daily but because i chose not to pay vrt on a car thats driven at weekends only im a GANSTER.come on.wake up to urself people!!!!

First, you have no 'choice' to not pay VRT. What you are saying is you have decided to consciously break the law. While you may not be an actual 'ganster'(sic ;)) you're certainly guilty of not-dissimilar behaviour....i.e., breaking the law.....

And, as long as more and more people dodge tax - of all kinds - the remainder of us have to pay too much. It's called subsidising. In other words, we're subsidising you. So whay the f**k should we do that, and why shouldn't we shop you and your non-VRT'd car?

drdre - he's not a tax avoider. Tax avoidance is entirely legal, and is the legitimate use of rules and regulations to mitigate, in full or part, their tax liability. Denis O'Brien springs to mind.

Tax evasion, oth, is illegal. This is the evasion of tax entirely, usually by nefarious means. This is what our illustrious 'suck' poster is doing, and if anyone know where he is, they should simply lift the phone to Revenue and have the car yanked.

If he wants to change the system, do it from the inside, not whinge about it from the outside, and in the meantime cost the rest of us money.

Oh, seeing as we're on a roll here, his car doesn't have an NCT, therefore, either. So (and I'm ignoring insurance issues deliberately), who's to say he's not driving a salt-rust infested UK pile of ****e (with a nice shiny top coat of paint...), that's a death trap waiting to happen ??

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭siralfalot

drdre wrote: »
    You are a tax avoider :) , But seriously you should pay the vrt before the car get seized then its more hassle.

its attitudes like this that really piss me off about this country, instead of protesting against an illegal tax, the general public just bend over and ask "ooh can you stick anything bigger up there Bertie?"

the typical Irish begrugdery attitude is alive and well, two of my neighbours have UK reg cars, do I care? hell no, its none of my business, fair fecks to them for trying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

siralfalot wrote: »
    its attitudes like this that really piss me off about this country, instead of protesting against an illegal tax, the general public just bend over and ask "ooh can you stick anything bigger up there Bertie?"

the typical Irish begrugdery attitude is alive and well, two of my neighbours have UK reg cars, do I care? hell no, its none of my business, fair fecks to them for trying

Exactly! tottaly agree with you siralfalot.

and to the OP - MIND YOUR OWN F'N BUSINESS! ... what is it with these people! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

You are making the classic mistake of assuming that because you are opposed to VRT everyone else is too.
    Well it is mine. Tax fraud is theft, from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Fair F**ks, Mate on UK plates for 9 months until soem bitch on his road ratted on him.

Not the biggest fan of road tax either..... at least i pay the toll :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

11. Your Car is not a car vanette, kit car, sports car, convertible, gti, Vtec. Is a right hand drive model and not converted, adapted or modified in any way.

i was insured with hibernian on a golf mk2 gti 16v:):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I think those terms and conditions only apply to their online quotes. They may insure gti/vtec etc over the phone. Of course, if you didn't tell them it was a Golf GTI your insurance cert wasn't worth the paper it was printed on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 seanpaul

Lets Start a Petition!

I've posted a few replies about VRT.

I will say this again: it's totally illegal and the EU have given Ireland a few years to get rid of it, however the Irish Government are looking to use another loop hole in EU Law by converting VRT from a Tax for Registration to a Tax on Emissions
    don’t be fooled by any politician telling you that it's an environmental tax. They have to get rid of VRT, so instead they are doing this clever move to a Co2 output based tax ect to keep within the EU rules. In the new proposals there will be a 35% top rate ---- mark my words, it’s on its way soon!

Believe it or not I am a small car trader in the UK (I’m Irish) and do most of my business in Ireland and help people find cars. I hate the fact that my customers have to pay VRT, and I can’t believe my customers in Ireland have to pay so much more for cars than in the UK or the rest of Europe for that matter.

Why doesn’t someone start a petition against VRT?

Any takers? - Anyone got the time and know-how to set one up on here electronically or on the net?

Keith

KJG-Cars

seanpaul wrote: »
    Why doesn’t someone start a petition against VRT?
    What makes you think that most people in Ireland want VRT abolished?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Golferx

I think you will find the consensus is that most people want it abolished. Because of VRT Irish people are being denied the free market for cars, the free market that was promised by our Govt.

When McCreevy halved the rate of CGT it resulted in an increase in tax revenue. It is entirely possible that reducing VRT would have no net effect as people would then be spending the same amount of money but buying better, safer cars. Because of VRT, life saving safety features are taxed at up to 100%, because of VRT, but our Govt does not care. We should be eliminating the likes of Yaris/Fiesta/Micra cars from our roads, not encouraging their sale. These cars are mobile death traps. Anyon

The method of calculating OMSP is also manifestly unfair and illegal (Competition Law). Why should the level of tax levied on a car be determined by a chosen importer? If OMSP was the marker, then the market should decide the OMSP, not the importer. Has anyone who has ever bought a new car ever been told how much VRT they have paid?

VRT is a symbol of the corrupt anti-competitive practices of our country. It is a closed system, anti-competitive and anti-consumer.

VAT, is supposed to be a tax on Goods and services, yet it is levied on VRT. Anyone care to tell me how this is legal? It doesn't look like it to me.

Golferx wrote: »
    I think you will find the consensus is that most people want it abolished.
    What are your grounds for thinking this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Anan1 wrote: »
    What makes you think that most people in Ireland want VRT abolished?

I do, but not to have it replaced with something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Golferx

I have found, from discussions, and looking at contributions to discussions, that most people accept the unfairness of the system and are in favour of a more equitable system. Anyone advocating VRT, or supporting it, is a rare breed.

Go on, Anan, tell us the consensus is the other way.

We have a Civil Service which is pathetic, especially in Revenue. They constantly fail to be equitable and will always go for the easy target. VRT is symptomatic of that. It is laughable how unfair it is. Asked to justify it all we get from the Civil Service/Politicians is something along the line of the money has to come from somewhere.

Well, over the past 10 years we did not need the money from VRT. It was taken by the Govt and, on the whole, wasted. A good Govt would have managed fine without VRT and a good Govt should manage without it.