Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FitDay

• 10-01-2007 12:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭

hey i know this may have been asked many times

but i opened an account on fitday and was wondering how do i know what my personal calorie needs are for the day and also how many i need to reduce it by in order to lose weight ??? i wanna lose a steady pounds a week if possible by combination of 50 mins cardio 3 days a week and also some weights combined to try tone up as i lose weight

my stats are as follows

im 26 year old man and 6.2 in height and weight 20st 10 pounds but told i hold it well and look 17 ( like that helps me ) i work in an office and dont get much excercise during work as im sitting on my ass

going to go gym mon , wed , fri , and maybe a swim on sats

if anybody can look at this and maybe try help me figure out my daily calories needed and also how much to reduce to lose weight id really appreciate it

please no smart arse's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Well post up your diet in detail as that's the main thing. You need to be eating the right foods, eating more often etc. Once we address any problems there we can go about seeing where to reduce calories and so on.

A pound a week is a good number to safely lose every week.

In the stickies at the top of the page there is a great post giving guidelines to calculating your daily calories needed.

Remember though it's just a guideline and you may need to adjust things depending on your individual needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭telecaster_dub

cheers tribulus my problem is that i dont have a set diet i couldnt say every monday i have this and tuesday this etc

i like pasta and chicken ( fillet boiled ) and dolmio stir in sauce which i dont think are that fatening anyway and its only like 2 tablespoons of sauce just to give it a taste , also i like spagetti bolognese just the regular dolmio light sauce and pasta , chicken goujons and a few wedges , boiled eggs brownbread toast , mince stew ( mince , potatoes , carrots , onion , sausages , all boiled in pressure cooker and oxtail soup in it , ham salad bauguettes or wraps , chicken curry with chicken fillet ( boiled ) and uncle bens microwave rice and low fat uncle bens curry sauce

these are just some of the foods i like , i know u should be eating more veg etc but i can only eat carrots and anything else i gag , only certain foods i like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Boru.

Okay…I know you asked for no smart assess, BUT….

This is your 8th thread regarding weight loss and calories since August…now I have no problem with that – the board is here to answer questions and help…however I do have a concern as your exact question has been answered over 16 times in those threads – (incidentally I’m not counting the Lipotrim thread) already.

Now to put this into even greater perspective – had you taken the advice from the post here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054970654&referrerid=&highlight=

In August, you said you were 19.5 stone, in today’s post you said you were 20st 10 pounds, which means you’ve put on 17lbs - over a stone). You could have lost at between 1-2lbs a week with ease since then. That would mean by NOW you could have lost – 24 - 48 lbs of FAT. 48 lbs dude!!!! That would mean by now you could have been 17 stone – BY NOW YOU COULD HAVE REACHED YOUR TARGET! If not blown it out of the water.

Instead you ignored that advice. A few weeks go by and you ask again – but still its not advice you wanted to hear and you insult those people who offer good sound advice that would have gotten you to your goal had you implemented it..

Go back and read you own threads – here are the links

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055004777&referrerid=&highlight=
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055001836&referrerid=&highlight=
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054987265&referrerid=&highlight=
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054992355&referrerid=&highlight=
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054978916&referrerid=&highlight=
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054974708&referrerid=&highlight=
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054970654&referrerid=&highlight=

We’ve all explained this to you, but no one, not me, not trib, not Dragon, Transform, G’em – none of us can do the work for you.

You KNOW what you need to do. Had you done it, by now we could be hearing your success story, rather than the same request for the same advice just so it can be ignored and discarded.

I don’t mean to insult or offend you – I know how hard it is to lose weight – but there has to be a point where you accept responsibility for yourself. I fear that in asking these questions on the board rather than taking responsibility and affirmative action you abdicate it thinking that it is now OUR responsibility to find answers you will like and that involve no work and no effort.

Posting about wanting to lose weight won’t help. Posting about your wanting to lose weight is not a sign of commitment. Posting about losing weight wastes valuable time where you could be out walking, shopping for healthy fresh fruit and veg or lifting weights.

There is nothing more anyone can tell you. There are no magic pills, or liquid diets that will suddenly make your problems vanish. Hard work will. So get to work.

When you have dropped at least 1 stone pm me and I will give you 100 Euro and, free of charge design a complete workout and nutrition program – but I won’t waste my time on you until you prove to me your worth it.

I’m also setting a time limit on the offer – you have ten weeks. If you haven’t lost a stone in 10 weeks , that would be the 21ST Of March 2007 then you get nothing. So go take a photo of you today in just your shorts and with a copy of today’s news paper. Then a photo of the scales with your current weight and today’s newspaper. In ten weeks do this again. If you have it down by more than 14 lbs / 1 stone – I’ll give you 100 Euro and design your complete nutrition and exercise program. Until then – not a word.

You have 10 Weeks 23.59 minutes 59 seconds
    You have 10 Weeks 23:59 minutes 58 seconds….

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

please no smart arse's

I assume that means me yeah? As everytime you post one of these threads i point out that you posted it before and haven't done anything? ;)

no ur right i take all blame and not even gonna try and justify it ur right

weekends is my biggest problem

i just want to know how do i find out my daily calorie needs and how does fitday work as it doesnt go into detail how much sat fat or protein etc what ur allowed it just works up how much u had that day

it doesnt go into detail how much sat fat or protein etc what ur allowed it just works up how much u had that day

It's not ment to. You're ment to work it out yourself - the formulas are......in the stickies! You are ment to work out your diet. You are ment to figure out what the best nutritional breakdown is for YOU! .

All Fitday does is allow you to track your work. It won't hold your hand and tell you what to eat and how much of it. It's not your mother. Neither are we.
    We've told you how to do this - now go back, read the threads you started and the answers you got. Then apply it. It's very simple.

On the other hand you can hire a personal trainer to do it for you - that's part of THEIR job. But you won't learn, you won't have accepted your responsability and you won't do anything with it.

If going back over the stickies is really too much trouble you can pay for what we've already given you for free. Buy this book - Burn the Fat, Feed the Muscles by Tom Venuto. It's 300 pages and explains all the basics like how to work out your cals and what amount of protien, carbs, fat you need etc. It's 300 pages - we've told you everything that's in it already.

This is book is mandatory reading for ALL my clients. It teaches you how to work things out yourself and take responsability. I ask my clients to read the book and devise sample meal plans for me - I check them, if neceassary make a few alterations and hand them back. I teach my clients how to do all this themesleves, I give out assaignments and I correct their work. They learn, they appply, they get the results they want and what is more they have learnt to do it themselves anytime they need to.

Now that's all you need to know and it's all you need to get the results you want. No more talking - just action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Is that when you drink the 300 pints? Because it can't just be that diet and sitting around doing nothing. Am I right?

300 is a bit of an exaggeration. :D

im not much of a drinker , i drink maybe 6 or 7 pints a week , i go out 1 night a week if anything.

plus takeaway after pub which i need to cut out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

no ur right i take all blame and not even gonna try and justify it ur right

i just want to know how do i find out my daily calorie needs and how does fitday work as it doesnt go into detail how much sat fat or protein etc what ur allowed it just works up how much u had that day
    Seriously man, you need to own this problem - you seem to be one for the 'quick fixes'. Fitday? Lipotrim? I know little about these but I DO know that you should be able to do it without them. Sometimes I feel that people who over-rely on these fat-loss 'projects', are looking for a way around the hard work, pain and commitment it takes. well I've got news for you, it takes hard-work, pain and commitment. You have to get used to feelin hungry, you have to forget what chips taste like, you have to get off your ass when Football Focus is on, and do YOUR OWN exercise. But guess what, when you start to do that, after a while you will love it. Do you think the really fit people who post on this board hate their lives? Do you think they wish they were going to the chipper instead of the gym every day? They don't. But you have to make it your way of life. Either that or just accept that you'll never be slim. It starts today.

Best of luck with this man, I hope you get that 100quid of Boru, but you have to give it 100?%, you have to make sacrifices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

im not much of a drinker , i drink maybe 6 or 7 pints a week , i go out 1 night a week if anything.

plus takeaway after pub which i need to cut out

A pint has about 200kcal in it, so that is 1400kcal.
    Do you eat peanuts or crisps in the pub, lash on another few hundred.

What is the takeaway, my old one was chicken balls, curry sauce & chips, that can be up to 2000kcal, chinese places give massive portions and the reason sauces taste so nice is they are loaded with oil.

A typical mc donalds is about 1500kcal with the drink,
    check it out here. Pic the item, add and select the next one on the menu place for chips etc
    http://app.mcdonalds.com/bagamcmeal

Remember 3500kcal is 1lb of weight for most people, you are eating up to that in your night out in addition to your food that day. I gave up the chinese after the pub and it helped greatly, I used to go home and eat beans instead, a full tin of beans is only 250kcal, 2 of tins will fill most people, thats about the same as a big mac, 500kcal, and more filling & healthy. If I was stuck in town I would go to a spar and get packs of cooked chicken breast.

I walk to and from the pub too. Since I lost weight I drink less since I get drunk faster due to a lower body weight, and the fact my stomach is usually emptier than before.

You need to find out your calories, it is primary school maths. Get a scales & calculator, argos have a good digital scales in the sales now for about €12, it is essential to calculate calories

im not afraid of hard work , mon-fri im grand its weekends that i get lazy

i relapse and wallow

im not using fitday for easy way out

just so i can keep track and if im under my daily calorie needs by 15 % and excercise then i should be losing weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

daveirl wrote:

7 pints a week is no problem, if you drink one per night. 7 in one night with a takeaway added on is a different story, calorie-wise.

The guy needs to spread out his calorie intake over the whole week and not pack it all in in one 3-hour stretch.

im not afraid of hard work , mon-fri im grand its weekends that i get lazy

i relapse and wallow
    But you have to give it 100% No-one expects you to give up the pints, but as with Rubadub you have to find a 'good' way of doing it. Personally I find it much easier to be disciplined on days when I'm not working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

Not to be a bastard, but you know what people did before lipotrim and fitday and all the other stuff that promises health with no effort? They just shut up and started training. Plain and simple. They hit the weights and got out on the road, foot or bike.

You know you can do it. We know you can do it, because we've all done it ourselves.

Just get cracking bro. At 20 odd stone, you shouldn't worry about the nitty gritty of macro-nutrient ratios, just start training. Read the dietary sticky at the top of the page and you'll be laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Boru. wrote:
    When you have dropped at least 1 stone pm me and I will give you 100 Euro and, free of charge design a complete workout and nutrition program – but I won’t waste my time on you until you prove to me your worth it.

I’m also setting a time limit on the offer – you have ten weeks. If you haven’t lost a stone in 10 weeks , that would be the 21ST Of March 2007 then you get nothing.

If he is going to cheat himself by saying he is eating cleanly then he might cheat you out of this...

im a lad 6.2 in height and 20st and 10 lbs but hold it well

anyway to the point i was on a site and entered my details as in weight , height , sex , age and was told my calorie count per day is 2300

so if i eat say 2000 per day and excercise should i lose weight ????

no haters or smart arses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

I'm looking foward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭kwalsh000

Before it all goes to hell..just gona say try to make some time for yourself to have a good read through the stickies and get your head around it. I know it can take a while to get used to some of the ideas of what need to be done, but keep things simple and remember..
    If you eat more calories than you need you will gain weight (good or bad)
    If you eat less than you need you will loose

Remember tho, if you eat 2000 calories but do nothing all day then chances are you wont loose, and if they are bad calories like lots of simple carbs, unhealthy fats etc then you wont loose

Lean meats, fruit and veg etc...and anything that has alot of sugar and/or carbs should not really be eaten in the evening or nite.

Get some exercise, even walking, running, swimming etc. Weights is as good as anything as you build muscle and burn calories. So if you need 2300, and eat 2000 healthy calories and do exercise then you should loose slowly. Dont try lob a stone off in 2 weeks and you should be fine. But always rememebr, if you dont seem to be loosing weight after a while on your current routine then just change it, no point continuing something thats not working. And read througha lot of threads and stickies here....

Now im not 100% on loosing weight and more people here know more than i do, so we will let them explain....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭rediguana

anyway to the point i was on a site and entered my details as in weight , height , sex , age and was told my calorie count per day is 2300

so if i eat say 2000 per day and excercise should i lose weight ????

no haters or smart arses

Yes, you should lose weight that way.

Try to reawaken your taste buds by reducing your sugar / salt / fat intake. If you start eating 'purer' foods, you'll find you need less of the above trio to satisfy yourself. It's a virtuous circle.

The good thing about carrying an extra couple of stone, is that the first X pounds should melt away relatively painlessly if, as you propose, you eat less and exercise more. This weight loss can then act as a powerful motivator for more good deeds and subsequent shedding of bulk.

At least you're not short and fat.

Good luck!

Ronnie Coleman holds it well too :D Seriously though weight doesn't necessarily equate to fat, and if you "hold it well" then you might have a bit of muscle there which you won't want to lose.
    I don't know how old you are, but you used the term lad so I'm guessing your not too old, in which case for someone your height 2300 calories seems very low. This could be your RMR, which you shouldn't worry about too much (the first R means Resting), because if you want to be in shape and lose fat ... listen to this because it's the important bit ... you NEED to exercise. If your exercise involves weights and you eat properly, you WILL lose fat!

cheers men i apprteciate iy

davy im 26 years old

gonna sort my act out once and for all ok and i will update yous on progress

davy im 26 years old
    Just a thought - that 2300 cals could have been what you should eat to lose weight - just worked out your BMR http://www.bmi-calculator.net/bmr-calculator/ and it's 2650. In other words, if you stayed in bed all day you would burn this many calories. So 2000 is quite low to start with. Especially as you will look to burn maybe 500 cals a day through exercise. So if you eat 2300 - PROPERLY - and workout, the weight will fall off.

CIMG2079.jpg

You have 9 weeks 5 days and 34 minutes 6 seconds
    You have 9 weeks 5 days and 34 minutes 5 seconds
    You have 9 weeks 5 days and 34 minutes 4 seconds......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

cheers men i apprteciate iy

davy im 26 years old

gonna sort my act out once and for all ok and i will update yous on progress

Open a fitness diary in the fitness logs section. Add to it everyday even if you've only made a small change in your routine, that way you keep us all up to date and if you wane its gives us the opportunity to encourage you!

Adh Mor!