Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

my mother

• 06-01-2007 3:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭insane drummer

right heres the deal, me and my ma, we don't get along very well at all., always fighting with each other, telling each other to **** off, her calling me a lazy bastard that i don't work hard enough in school (and im aiming for 590 points in the lc this year) and that i don't deserve my girlfriend in my life at all, (they get on well) all this followed by me telling her to go **** herself and calling her a cow.

we havn't got on that well since ive been about 5. if i split a bit of milk on my jumper whilst taking a drink, getting screamed at and probably a slap across d arse! so its not something new

well its just getting worse and worse, and my dad dosn't help, there not married but live in the same house, and separate rooms. he tells her to **** off and leave her alone at times to, and dosn't answer the phone to her, but tells me its wrong, (which i know it is, but i get angry, which is natural). the fact that hes being hypocritical annoys me too.

but anyways, today she lost the head at me, telling me i didn't deserve my gf and that as punishment my gf wasn't aloud up to the house for a week, because i let my 5 year old sister draw a picture for me on a copy and she got a tiny bit of pen on her new jumper. i lost the head with her as usual. am i being provoked or dose it seam that im out of line? any ideas on what to do. im 17 atm, if that makes a difference!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey!

I have to say that sounds a tough situation, and Im in the very same myself. Im in second yr of college and Im home for Xmas (going back tomorrow though thank God) but don't get on with my mother at all, there are many rows in my house and shes the catalyst for them all. Like you, this has been going on since I was very young.

First of all, dont blame yourself, if its happening with your dad also, then she clearly goes on a mission to provoke a reaction, so the best thing to do is try and stay calm and count to ten, and just ingnore her or answer in simple 'yes' and 'no' terms. When she tells you to **** off she wants you to do the same back so that she can lay equal blame on you. It must be very hard for you when you have the pressure of exams coming up, maybe try not to be at home as much as possible? Can you study in a local library or can you study in school at the evenings? The last thing you need is stress like this at home when you have a very important year coming up. However, on that topic, remember, in september you will most probably be leaving home, and you will be free of the pressures of living with your mother, you will have your own life and you can live it how you wish, if you can just keep this in mind as a focus then this will certainly help, its what got me through the Leaving Cert, just the knowledge that the end was in sight and Id soon have my own life.

Her behaviour regarding your girlfriend is completely childish, shes clearly just using her against you as she knows you'd want to see her. I have to admit Im not too sure what to say regarding that situation, if your both in school together you may just have to take that as an oppertunity to see her and if you are studying there afterwards, as your mother is clearly going to continue to be unreasonable in regards to letting you see her. Is it possible though thats shes worried about the amount of time you spend together with your Leaving Cert coming up? Hypocritical I know.......

Anyway OP, I wish you the best, and just try and remain calm and if you cant just go for a walk, anything, just get away for a bit and try and think.

Best of luck with the studying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Well it takes two to tango, from your post it all seems very one sided.

What was the reason that she got mad at you today?

If your dad acting like a hypocrite annoys you then take a step back and make sure your not doing the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭dvega

Your aiming for very high points in the lc this year and that has to be your number one priority,your pre's are only around the corner,does she leave you study in peace?If not i suggest you go to a relation or friends and if she still doesnt leave you study i suggest tell a teacher or another adult.Sit down and have a chat with her about how this is affecting you and your school work,after all remember as soon as you finish your leaving you can head on to college and maybe move out.

if you dont get the points you want remember its another year at home.So do something about it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭insane drummer

ooh no im honestly not saying that im an angel! im far from it when it comes to her, today she got mad because i gave my sister the pen to draw and she got a tiny dot on her new jumper, which wiped off.

also yesterday i had to get a fitness test done in my gym, and i got up at 8 to do about a hour study before i went as i was goin 2 Dublin at 12, so i wanted to do some before and after. when i told her i was going to the gym 4 a half hour, she lost the head and didn't believe i did any study at all, even though she had in fact been asleep until 5 minutes before i went to the gym. she lost the head because i was "dropping my studies"

and today, i had to get money from the atm for her and i was supposed to get it last night, but it totally slipped my mind. i said today that i would give her the money and id get it out of the atm for myself later because i was studding. but today she wanted me to stop studding because she needed something.

i wouldn't mind canceling the test and booking it for another time., but because of people loosing weight before and after Christmas, (feeling guilty for eating so much) it took me weeks to get a time that i wasnt in school and during the holidays.

i do lose the head with her like that too, but its just because its what were used to doing now. im not sayin im an angel, but it has been going on for a long time, and i only started to relly do it the last 5 or so years, and before that she was still at it,.

any ideas?

dvega wrote:
    if you don't get the points you want remember its another year at home.So do something about it now.

ooh no i don't need that many, i need something in the mid 400s, but im aiming that high so i do my best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Steve01

ooh no i don't need that many, i need something in the mid 400s, but im aiming that high so i do my best.
    Good thinking, same deal with me.

By the looks of things all yourself and your mother do is shout the heads off each other. Best solution I can think of is try and have the calmest, most civilised conversation possible with her about how this is effecting you. If she doesn't listen and loses the rag again, take solace in the fact that you can move far and away when college time comes around later this year. Someone else suggested that you try studying at a friends house, I think this is a great idea. Or do what I do and study in the library

Also, just checking your myspace profile. Good to see your a fellow drummer who alse likes Smashing pumpkins, foo fighters and pearl jam. rock on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I used to fight with my mom constantly, and when she was stressed because of work or something she'd often get pissed off over nothing and start a screaming match with me, over little or nothing. I used to lose the head about it, but found out as I got older that the best way of dealing with it is to keep a level head and stay calm about it. Try and just talk (not shout) rationally about whatever it is the fight is about, and if she insists on raising her voice or being completely ignorant about it then just walk away and leave her to calm down by herself. You losing the head while she's having a fit will do absolutely nothing but cause a massive unnecessary row. As hard as it is, keep calm and keep your voice down and just talk, if she starts screaming, refuse to discuss it with her and tell her you'll talk to her when shes ready to calm down and walk away.

Its hard enough though, its an awful lot easier to just start shouting back at her but it accomplishes nothing.

Good luck with it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 cmahon

I know what it's like to be at odds with your parents, but it's much easier when you go to college (especially if you move away like I did). Me and my mam get on so much better since I've left home. My advice is to keep your head down, try not to be the first one to raise your voice. This is one of the most important years of your life and you don't need the stress of endless shouting matches. I feel a little bit sorry for your ma, it sounds like she might be jealous of your relationship with your gf, especially because her relationship with your dad isn't so good...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭darkflower

right heres the deal, me and my ma, we don't get along very well at all., always fighting with each other, telling each other to **** off, her calling me a lazy bastard that i don't work hard enough in school (and im aiming for 590 points in the lc this year) and that i don't deserve my girlfriend in my life at all, (they get on well) all this followed by me telling her to go **** herself and calling her a cow.

we havn't got on that well since ive been about 5. if i split a bit of milk on my jumper whilst taking a drink, getting screamed at and probably a slap across d arse! so its not something new

well its just getting worse and worse, and my dad dosn't help, there not married but live in the same house, and separate rooms. he tells her to **** off and leave her alone at times to, and dosn't answer the phone to her, but tells me its wrong, (which i know it is, but i get angry, which is natural). the fact that hes being hypocritical annoys me too.

but anyways, today she lost the head at me, telling me i didn't deserve my gf and that as punishment my gf wasn't aloud up to the house for a week, because i let my 5 year old sister draw a picture for me on a copy and she got a tiny bit of pen on her new jumper. i lost the head with her as usual. am i being provoked or dose it seam that im out of line? any ideas on what to do. im 17 atm, if that makes a difference!

uhuh. i could imagine how active your family circle is. i guess you're just at the age when you try going against authority. that time would come to pass though. and when you become PARENT like yours, you'll understand why.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

Why not try and be the adult instead of shouting back? If there's a row brewing then leave teh room, leave the house... But shouting back will just provoke a reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It could be that your mother is going through The Change of life, ie the menupause.
    It is pretty much about two years of your body doing things on you that you don't expect and like having pms a lot of the time ( well from what my mother told me :) )

The best thing you can do is not get into it with her.
    Disfuse the situation if she has a go because of something trival she see as your fault take a deep breath say sorry and leave the room.
    If she is persistant and starts following about the house go for a walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

my dad's the same. we had screaming matches for years. it was really bad for my mother who would always be put in the middle. i'd tell her what he said and he'd make up my side of the conversation to make it seem like i'd done something wrong and tell her some lies.

one day i realised that he's a f*ckhead and will always be a f*ckhead no matter what i say to him. now when he starts going on about all my failings and how i should do everything his way and how fantastic he is and his latest epsiode of "standing up for himself", i.e. screaming at some helpless shop assistant for no reason, i just agree and leave the room at the earliest oppurtunity. better for all concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Wow, I thought I was the only one with a mental parent!

Thaed, he says his mam's been like this since he was a kid so I doubt it's menopause.

OP, just leave the room when it starts or say CALMLY, "I'm not going to argue about this" and say nothing after, you'll seem adult and she'll prob shut up when she realises she won't get a reaction.

If the girlf is used as blackmail, just hang around in her house or outside. Study in the library, and if possible could you stay with another relation.

I was kicked out and have been staying in my gran's with one of my female cousins. I still can't stand to be in same room as my dad and have huge fights from time to time but I try now to just walk off or sit there thinking about other stuff while he lectures me for 2 hours

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Thaedydal wrote:
    It could be that your mother is going through The Change of life, ie the menupause.

I would have bet money that my mother was going through the same thing when I was a teenager. Though insane drummer, I would never, ever have gotten away with verbal abuse like you throw at yours.

Sounds to me like there's a pair of ye in it. Your Ma needs to relax big time. However you will never be the one to tell her that, unless you have a death wish.
    Talking back at her is just a red rage to a bull.
    I just kept out of my mothers way at the time and spent most of my time in my room.
    I suggest you bite your tongue when she starts, don't rise to it, say nothing at all, a person can only rant for so long when there's nobody to bounce off. If there's anyway possible to move out of the house when you start college, do it. Until then, keep the head down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Not wishing to be patronising, but I don't think it's the end of your relationship with your mam or anything. You are at the age where you reckon you know what's best for you to do, your mam still thinks of you as the lovely little 3-year old chap you used to be. It'll pass, it'll get to a stage where you won't want to turn every issue into a fight, and neither will she.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

me and my da can be the same. he can be a dick and trys to shift his responsibility over to me when things go wrong. I adjusted my behaviour and we get on much better now

the one thing I would advise you is not to allow yourself to become like your mother. your nearly a grown man and if you want to win with her then maybe try a course of unilateral disengagement. look at her as a person and see her failings and why she is such an aggressive person. start pointing it out to her when she gets on your case. your parents sleep in seperate rooms and argue all the time. who is she to give you relationship advice.
    also learn to laugh at her. she is excerciseing as much power over you as she can so the idea that you don't respect her of take her seriously would be totally enraging.
    Finally I would say don't concentrate on this crap in the run up to your leaving. you have a bright future ahead if you apply yourself in the next few months, don't let this self-important yoke become a distraction which will effect your points.
    REMEMBER: DO NOT BECOME LIKE HER!!!!!!!

my mother is gone away for a few days. last night my dad gave me a tenner so i could buy toilet roll on the way back from college. i forgot.

when i got home he asked for the money back, which i gave him. then he said very indignantly "well i'm not buying the toilet roll. you or your sister can but i'm not". this is of course after taking the money for it back (the household money, not his own).

rather than ask the inevitable question "why", and listen to a ten minute self-important speil about why everyone else is selfish except him i just said fair enough and came up here to tell all you boardsies. :)

also, last week i forgot to put petrol in the car and he called me selfish and lazy and said he'd never do something like that to someone. this from the man who purposely drives the car home with the needle touching the bottom at least once a month to teach my mother not to be so selfish by leaving him with only enough petrol to get home.

and if i ever call him on things like calling me selfish and lazy for forgetting something he says i'm trying to give him a heart attack. once i asked him to stop repeating everything everyone said on the tv, thereby stopping everyone in the room hearing the tv (one of his favourite habits). the argument ended with him saying that i threatened to stab him

if i hadn't learned to laugh at how pathetic the guy is one of us would have been dead by now

edit:slightly OT but i like to vent :)

turns out the reason he won't buy the toilet roll isn't to do with selfishness for once. he's just too embarrassed to buy it. a 65 year old man is afraid to go into a shop and buy toilet roll for fear of what the 16 year old behind the counter will think

the two of us were supposed to be bringing the christmas tree to the recycling place today. earlier i jokingly said we should just break it up and throw it on the compost heap. i made it clear at the time it was a joke. just now i saw him tying the tree to the car and asked why he hadn't asked me to help since he wouldn't let me carry it out the back on my own last night because it weighs a whole ten kilos and i could get a hernia.

he said "you clearly aren't interested in helping. you kept on saying it".

i was about to let him get on with it when i noticed that he'd only tied it to the car by four flimsy branches and it fell off when i lightly pushed it so i re-tied it in a non-retarded way and he's off to the recycling place on his own because he's retarded.

this is fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭DAVE_K

parents are regular people - some are @ssholes and some are not. You just get into a situation where as they're in authority you end up thinking they're always right - they are not.
    I look back on some of the sh1t my parents have done to me (i'm 33 now) and still think "jeez they were well out of order".
    I had a particular incident when i was 14 - it was about 8 o'clock in the evening and at 5 that day in my company my best friend had drowned (long story, not relevant to thread). I was up in my room sticking up posters on my walls (who knows why - why not?), my ma came up said "don't be doin that" I said "why not" and got beat around the place for answering back - this is like hours after I've been through one of the worst situations in my life....but you know being at that age I spent many an hour looking back trying to work out what exactly it was I did - now I know the answer - NOTHING.

A lot of people have mentioned you're off to university soon. I remember thinking "let me out of here quick" and I went to uni in the UK instead to get further away. What about funding though - are you going to be reliant on your ma for funding when you're gone, as this can be a real blackmail issue. i.e. do what I want or you won't get any money for college

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

I didn't get along at all with my dad when we lived in the same house. We use to argue all the time. I didn't even think he really liked me much. And I learned to just bite my tongue and not answer him back. But after I moved out, and grew up a bit, we became very close. I'm sorry you don't get along with your parents OP. My dad passed nearly 4 years ago and mum passed this Christmas Day. All the fights seem so trivial now. I'd give anything to be able to argue with my dad now. Love your parents while they're here.

cmahon wrote:
    I feel a little bit sorry for your ma, it sounds like she might be jealous of your relationship with your gf, especially because her relationship with your dad isn't so good...

this actually makes alot of sense cmahon. talked it over with my gf and seemingly shes thought it for the last few days too. well said it might be why.

Thaedydal wrote:

doubt its that shes only 43.

new edition to the things im not aloud to do. me being a 17 year old, thought it was perfectly fine for me to make lunch for myself the other day, got sum microwave pasta stuff. it was one of three. because i made it with out telling her im not aloud to open the fridge without prior permission,

this woman is nuts. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭free2fly

new edition to the things im not aloud to do. me being a 17 year old, thought it was perfectly fine for me to make lunch for myself the other day, got sum microwave pasta stuff. it was one of three. because i made it with out telling her im not aloud to open the fridge without prior permission,this woman is nuts. :eek:

Yikes!! That is definitely OTT! :eek:

tell me about it, FREEK!!!

i've been looking for my keys for about a week. i've asked my entire family if they've seen them. i've been tearing the house apart looking for them. the other day i borrowed my dad's keys because i couldn't find them.

just now i was looking in the living room again and my dad decided to say "i found a set of keys a few days ago. i've been using them. i thought they were your mother's". i stared at him in disbelief for a few seconds and asked where he'd put them

i should get my own thread :D

your mother is a bit mental. a mate of mine who was 21 at the time was banned from eating in his room because he spilled milk. another friend's mother searches her room all the time and everyone in the house locks their bedroom doors. she once had the head bitten off her because she got her mother's bedroom door key and went in to borrow some deoderant or something.

you're not the only one with insane parents. most people i know have one insane parent and one normal one. its like malcolm in the middle

why is it that you need a licence to have a dog but not a child?

haha its true!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

I have a similar relationship with my mother. The best thing to do is just walk away from the situation. Dont forget in one years time she can kick you out of the house. Even though you moving out is probably the best thing that can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithimac

this is just my experiance with my parents but I think if you show weakness then you are doing yourself a massive disservice. I don't know your mother but I know my father and if he thought that he could get away with it he would walk right over me just to show he could.
    be strong
    but remember to have a back up plan in place should the worst come to the worst

i've been looking for my keys for about a week. i've asked my entire family if they've seen them. i've been tearing the house apart looking for them. the other day i borrowed my dad's keys because i couldn't find them.

just now i was looking in the living room again and my dad decided to say "i found a set of keys a few days ago. i've been using them. i thought they were your mother's". i stared at him in disbelief for a few seconds and asked where he'd put them

i should get my own thread :D

update on this. i know no one cares but i'm saying it anyway :D turns out that my dad knew they were my keys but he couldn't find his own so he lied to me so he didn't have to give them back until he found his own. this from the man who calls everyone around him selfish 20 times a day for things that aren't selfish in any way, like forgetting to buy petrol

when i asked him how he could justify lying to me about them while simultaneously calling me selfish for nothing, he said "what was i supposed to do? i couldn't find my own". he honestly saw no problem in having me searching the house for a week straight and having to borrow other people's keys the whole time because he'd lied to me

CVimes: that's crazy... and mildly amusing, if you dont mind my saying so... hope it works out!

OP: Nothing else to do but be polite and patient and walk away whenever you have to, tbh. Move out when you can. Don't start yelling back etc, it won't help.

I never realised so many people in the world disliked their parents/didn't get on with them so much...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Laura Fitz06

ya poor thing i think maybe your mam hates your old man and because your male she dislikes you or she is just takeing her hatered for him out on you , or could be she is just a moan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Jotter

ok maybe your mam is just a cow for the sake of it but I doubt it. First off all mothers love their sons, I have a son and I adore him like nothing else on earth but I know that from the age of 7 to at least 17/18 were going to lock horns. Id love it to be different and I really hope it will be but I wont hold my breath. Women find it very difficult to raise boys bec boys have so much testosterone and other hormones that women dont and they can fly off the handle fairly quick. The sons dont understand how the mother thinks and the mother hasnt a clue how the son thinks and it all just ends up in one big argumentative mess.
    My mam when we were growing up had a lot of family issues and things werent easy on her and sometimes shed fly off the handle and take it out on us, she feels so bad about it now, it wasnt her it was just the pressure she was under. Maybe your mam is the same? My mam and my brother used to kill each other the slightest thing and theyd be at each others throats, it can still happen the odd time even though my bro is early 20s but they talk a lot more now, my bro even told my mam he smokes hash and she was grand about it bec she understood where he moods were coming from a bit more then. She loves it when he sits down with her and tells her stuff!
    Maybe get your mam in a good mood and try talking to her, tell her that you want to do well in leaving and that you are studying etc, ask is she ok and happy and tell her you want to make an effort so the 2 of you get on a bit better so it makes life easier on both of you. If shes just a cow shell tell you to foff but I think shell appreciate you acting like an adult and although youll still kill each other from time to time it will improve the situation, you guys might even start to hang out :D Ok that going a bit far but its worth a try! Best of luck

bluewolf wrote:
    CVimes: that's crazy... and mildly amusing, if you dont mind my saying so... hope it works out!

OP: Nothing else to do but be polite and patient and walk away whenever you have to, tbh. Move out when you can. Don't start yelling back etc, it won't help.

I never realised so many people in the world disliked their parents/didn't get on with them so much...
    i can see how it would be funny if i didn't have to live with the guy. i tell all my mates about his insane antics and they have a great laugh about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

cos nobody should have the right to say somebody else can't have kids.
    Who made them judge on who is a fit parent

i think most mothers are mad. My mum used to open my post and be snide to all my friends. She would ask them 20 questions and in the answers would find a fact about them or their families that wasn't suitable for her right wing christian ethos.

cos nobody should have the right to say somebody else can't have kids.
    except social services
    Who made them judge on who is a fit parent
    the government after they studied for qualifications

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

I been in the same situation, my mother hated the hard work of rearing kids. She got herself pregnant to a man who lied about his personal status, (He was not a rich farmer as he said he was). It certainly wasn’t love she put herself out as you clearly see. It has been a running theme of my mother through my life. She wants total control, to be rich and wants to feel superior above everyone else and want to be treat like a queen and to have everyone slaving to her. She thinks that just because she had 8 kids, she must be a great mother. She lies and find or make up excuses to blames others for her situation and then manipulates other to do her bidding.
    She a perfect serial bully and I bet yours is the same might not be as bad as yours or even worst in aggression.
    DO NOT LET HER TO PUT YOUR BUTTONS. She may gets a perverse sense of satisfaction from doing that. Bullies love to entice you to act out so they can blame you, to make you look bad to give them a excuse to continue abusing you. I was down this road. So much so I nearly kill myself when I was 12/13,
    My grand father actions and the trust he instill in me stop me. Unlike my parents my grandparents love me and love to meet me. They have been very kind but I had to watch what I had to talk about because they would give out to my parents and they (my parents) would abuse me and call me a liar and punish me for telling the truth. That pushes me towards suicide as I could not talk to anyone about my problems. For my parents did not want to deal with my problems, after all they were reasonability for 90% of my problems. My self confidence took a nose dive through my childhood/teenage years
    Just like mine, your mother chose to have sex to have you. She cannot plead ignorant about having you. She hardly conceived you in her first period. She knew about rearing babies and the work involved. She chooses her partner (your father) to conceive you.
    They both made choices in life, as you know now they mad terrible choices. Your parents failed to grow up and take reasonability for their actions.

IT IS NOT YOUR FAULT for her bad situation in life. IT WAS HER CHOICE TO TREAT YOU BADLY, NOT YOURS. IT HER RESPONABILITY TO REAR YOU THE BEST WAY THAT SHE COULD. Clearly she did not do that. If she uses money as an excuse, do not believe it. There are many poor happy families out in the world that love their kids. Your parents are not good role models for you. They raise you badly. Raising kids is not only about feeding you, clothing you, putting a roof over your head. They are legal required to do this for if they don’t the health board is suppose to take you into custody and your parents will be punish for this, legally or by society treatment of them. Parenting is about getting their kids off the best start in their life. It is also about unconditionally loving their kids. You mother betrade you. She supposes to care for your well being not abuse you. It hurts knowing your friends get on with their parents and you can’t.

Right now is best to educate yourself about the three main of abuses (1/ Physical – which most people know of, 2/ Verbal abuse and 3/ Emotional abuse. Emotional abuse is the worst as it hit the deepest humanity within you. It design to make you feel cold and brutal or weaken you, so you abuser can feel better about themselves. I know it difficult to get over but know you are not alone. Look for understanding friends to talk to who are not aggressive. Believed it or not the telecoms ads are right “it is good to talk”. It helps to dissolve the damage that was cause to you by recognizing the damage it.
    Most women bullies when abusing, uses emotional and verbal abuse. Which clearly, you have been subject to emotional and verbal abuse most of your life. The bulling is so entrenched, I bet it is considered “Normal Behavior” in your family as it was within mine. Your mother just like mine is so obsessive about it. I bet you obsessive about the hurt she cause you and want or act out in retaliation. I could not retaliate as my whole family would abuse me. I had to play it safe. For I knew it was only a matter of time when I can walk out.
    Do not get me wrong, I tried to get on with them but they failed to change their behavior towards me. After all, you know all of your family bad traits.

No matter how bad things get for you, you will always know if those who is abusing you do not change and acknowledge their wrong doing then the abuse will continue in the same or another form.

When I eventually broke ties with my manipulate family, I was lucky, for my extended family saw through my mother and family bad behavior. It took time. I original taught, that I was alone, because throughout my childhood and I could talk to others about what going on because of my parent bad attitude. And everyone believes my mother. Clearly your mother and father failed you as mine did. When I broke all ties with my family they tried emotional abuse to guilt me back, but luckily for me my extended family with the exceptional few who support my mother devious behavior and they are constantly trying to push my buttons. But do you know what happened when they failed? People started look at them and the unwanted attention backfire on then. People are starting to questioning everything she ever said. I move on to be a person no matter what my mother or family try to pin on me, I did not react back at them I talk to others ack
    The worst is emotional abuse. For example: They deny that they every abuse you and then say that they love you.

The best advice I can give you is: You need to look after yourself. You becoming an adult and you will be legal responsibly for you actions. You will not be able to get or keep a job to keep you independence from your mother, so start one step at a time.
    You need to control yourself, the way you treat others is important. If she throws more abuse at you, walk away , keep cool.
    Try this, If you get angry- Pause for a moment Admit how you feel to yourself. A moment later you will feel less angry. Keep doing this until you can get control of your feeling.
    Most important, you will become a parent some day. Do you want to treat your kids as badly as you were? Then make sure.
    For how your kids treat you when your old, depends how you treat them when they are young.
    It is your choice. After all we live in a democracy.

Here a very good website:
    http://www.bullyonline.org/related/family.htm
    You can be a lot better than you mother.
    Keep it cool for yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

My parents did not truly care about me, all they wanted was a slave. And here to prove it.
    When I was 10, I had a serious heart mummer, On the operation theatre, my heart stopped for up to a minute. They nearly lost me and then one week after getting home, I accidentally broke my cheap cup and got a hard beating for it and was punished for a month. They were extremely angry about it. Not all parents love their kids.
    There was a news article in the newspaper some time back. Here the summary of it
    There is one mother in Mayo who moves from London back to Mayo because the British social services were on to her about her treatment of her daughter. Her mother treated her worst than a slave. She was beaten for every trivial thing and was deny food as punishment. Until one day she sent her daughter back to London to her uncle because her daughter was no good to her as she was always too sick for her. The daughter died approx 1 month due to malnutrition. It looks like the daughter did a lot wrong. hey! Where is the mother love? and where was our own health service to protect the child? The mother was report to the heath board by the British social service when she moved despite no formal requirement to do so.
    free2fly wrote:
    I didn't get along at all with my dad when we lived in the same house. We use to argue all the time. I didn't even think he really liked me much. And I learned to just bite my tongue and not answer him back. But after I moved out, and grew up a bit, we became very close. I'm sorry you don't get along with your parents OP. My dad passed nearly 4 years ago and mum passed this Christmas Day. All the fights seem so trivial now. I'd give anything to be able to argue with my dad now. Love your parents while they're here.
    My parent did a