Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Overall College at the Student Champs'?

• 04-01-2007 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭

Just wanted to start a new thread, again......

I'm trying to get 6 players from each college organised for a team event which will run throughout the Student Champs'.....

I hope ya'll know about the $1,000 bonus for players that are registered before Jan 14th (if not check out www.pokerireland.ie).

Well we're also going to add $1,000 to this team event if we can get it organised.

$120 per college to enter ($20 per player).
    Each team will start off with 2,400 points.
    If one player from your team is knocked in oh, 302nd then your team loses 302 points.
    The team with the most points at the end will be declared the winner.
    The longest lasting team player will add a certain number of points to their teams total (I will work it out later).
    The winning team will get all of the prize-money from the team event which will be completely separate from the main prize-pool.
    Each team member will receive one sixth of the total due to their team, it will be lodged into their online 888/Pacific accounts.

Email me stephen@pokerireland.ie if you are interested and are the head of a poker society or if you are just organising a team for your college.

One team per college only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

I'd be interested in this for team DCU if cooker3/phantom would like to set one up and DCU will win fo sho :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Hawk Eye wrote:
    I'd be interested in this for team DCU if cooker3/phantom would like to set one up and DCU will win fo sho :p

I'll ring Conor Bergin now just to run it by him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

Ok thanks carfax, great idea BTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,228 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

carfax wrote:

One team per college only.

Great Idea with the team event.
    Just one questions. One college per team is fair. What about DIT, as there are two campuses and poker socs. Will it be one team for DIT, or can auniger and boltons treet both enter a team.
    I dont mind either way, Maybe a combined DIT team, or it auniger street want to extend an invitation to me id except it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I don't mind a combined DIT effort especially since we hae lost two of our runners to skiing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

shoutman wrote:
    I don't mind a combined DIT effort especially since we hae lost two of our runners to skiing :(

i was just thinking that this will probably be the first event where one of them hasnt been representing the college, maybe we might win something

Mellor wrote:
    Great Idea with the team event.
    Just one questions. One college per team is fair. What about DIT, as there are two campuses and poker socs. Will it be one team for DIT, or can auniger and boltons treet both enter a team.
    I dont mind either way, Maybe a combined DIT team, or it auniger street want to extend an invitation to me id except it,

Yeah, I was thinking about that. the DIT's are technically different colleges aren't they???

Either way its all good, I just need people to help me get it organised.....Loads of time though.

carfax wrote:
    Yeah, I was thinking about that. the DIT's are technically different colleges aren't they???

Either way its all good, I just need people to help me get it organised.....Loads of time though.
    Different campuses, but in terms of cao they are the same.
    I just thinking about the back lash that would hapen if dit were to do well.
    They had two colleges etc etc.

A combined college team might be easier. We'll sort something out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 DCU PokerSoc

Don't worry just like the past two intervarcity tourneys DCU PokerSoc will take this one down too! I will choose the team asap. Don't know if we can put Rob on it though the last one I invited to.....HE NEVER WOKE UP FOR.....ain't that right Rob? And phantom lord (aka Shane), is a loose as, well I don't even know now what to compare him too, but he will probably one of the first, if not the first to get knocked out, and will probably happen in the first blind level (and there will be some bad beat story to come with it)!

Prob just pic the same team we took to CIT (which we won), but will have to change it round cause I'll be playing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Don't worry just like the past two intervarcity tourneys DCU PokerSoc will take this one down too! I will choose the team asap. Don't know if we can put Rob on it though the last one I invited to.....HE NEVER WOKE UP FOR.....ain't that right Rob?

You expected me to be in Houston by 8:30am, there was never a realistic possibility. I don't do 8:30am!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Trippie wrote:
    i was just thinking that this will probably be the first event where one of them hasnt been representing the college, maybe we might win something

oh... oh... OH....!! i'm tempted to set up a poll for best student player of the year and when myself and anto are tied first insist you put a link in your signature to said poll.
    and in the unlikely event that we dont top the poll, i'll create numerous fake boards accounts to rig it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 DCU PokerSoc

Ha! Before everyone starts riddling you, you spelt "Heuston" wrong. It ain't Houston as in Texas! Maybe you just woke up!?

That is correct DCU, you were number one but that was because I was not playing in Cork, like cooker doesn't do 8.30 I don't do Cork.

The RDS is a totally different story, anything royal is alright with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Phil-Dublin

Hi

I usually only play a small game (with real chips) with my friends and a little online on poker stars in 1 table games. i am wondering about playing in your student poker tournament even though i am not actually attending a university or proper full time college, i am doing the ECDL computer course when i have time off work. does that mean that i may enter the tournament?

also, can you explain what the "last longest" thing is exactly?

i am guessing that it means that if i register by the 14th Jan, that i would then be in with a chance to last the longest in the competition of those people that register by that date and win $1000 even though i might not make the last 20/30 players of the tournament. is that correct ??

I have 1 last question, is there an additional cost attached to entry into that part of your tournament or is that a bonus being offered for early registration.?

Phil-Dublin
    i hate flops

Correct on the last longest bet, thats exactly how it works.
    No extra fee, its a bonus for early registers.

As for the ECDL course, i'm not sure if that counts, its up to pokerireland. 3rd levels were all that were discused, and I think a leaving cert student inquired too. I'm sure carfax will give an answer soon

Hi

I usually only play a small game (with real chips) with my friends and a little online on poker stars in 1 table games. i am wondering about playing in your student poker tournament even though i am not actually attending a university or proper full time college, i am doing the ECDL computer course when i have time off work. does that mean that i may enter the tournament?

You are 100% ok to play.

also, can you explain what the "last longest" thing is exactly?

i am guessing that it means that if i register by the 14th Jan, that i would then be in with a chance to last the longest in the competition of those people that register by that date and win $1000 even though i might not make the last 20/30 players of the tournament. is that correct ??

Exactamondo.....All players that are registered before midnight on Jan 14th will be included in this and at the moment there are only 20 or so players registered.
    I have 1 last question, is there an additional cost attached to entry into that part of your tournament or is that a bonus being offered for early registration.?

Not sure exactly what you mean here but there are no additional costs. That is a bonus offer. The $1,000 bonus is not being deducted from the prize-pool and it is simply an incentive to get players registered early so we have a better idea of the number of dealers, tables etc that will be necessary.

When you lodge your $92 (€72) entry fee you will also end up receiving a $20 bonus immediately into your online account.

We are hopeful that we will get 400 players but by Jan 14th the picture should be a bit clearer.....Over 250 people emailed me to pre-register for this event but most thought they could pay cash on the day. Most people are really understanding and don't mind the extra bit of hassle so we should get at least this number on the day.

Hope this helps Phil, and hope to see you in the RDS on the 27th.

You can email stephen@pokerireland.ie or post here if you have any more questions.

Oh yeah and check out www.pokerireland.ie 'cos it rules!

Mellor wrote:
    As for the ECDL course, i'm not sure if that counts, its up to pokerireland. 3rd levels were all that were discused, and I think a leaving cert student inquired too. I'm sure carfax will give an answer soon

What ya think Mellor, is this newbie ok to play?.....Hee hee.

carfax wrote:
    What ya think Mellor, is this newbie ok to play?.....Hee hee.
    No problems with me. Didn't want to be getting anyones hopes up. Sure the whole tourney is about bring poker to the masses, and puitting on excellant games for minimun buy-ins. See you in the RDS Phil.

I still havent registered, can't get them to send me my password.
    How many people are registered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

hey mellor, you playin the jackpot €20 FO tonite?? or anyone else for that matter??
    (sorry for postin here, only thread i could find mellor)

Mellor wrote:
    No problems with me. Didn't want to be getting anyones hopes up. Sure the whole tourney is about bring poker to the masses, and puitting on excellant games for minimun buy-ins. See you in the RDS Phil.

I still havent registered, can't get them to send me my password.
    How many people are registered?

Roughly 20 so far.

There are at least another 50 or so that have emailed me to say they are registering before the 14th but lots of people don't seem to be checking their emails.....So the last longer bet will probably be between 100 players or less.

Its just a matter of making sure everyone that pre-registered plays and then getting the message out to the general student population of Ireland......Help is welcome in this regard.

ITT-Pat wrote:
    hey mellor, you playin the jackpot €20 FO tonite?? or anyone else for that matter??
    (sorry for postin here, only thread i could find mellor)

Can you make sure any of the lads playing know about the last longer.

Cheers Pat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

ye no probs i'll tell anyone who i see

ditpoker wrote:
    oh... oh... OH....!! i'm tempted to set up a poll for best student player of the year and when myself and anto are tied first insist you put a link in your signature to said poll.[/SIZE]

will the vote be closed or open to more than just the two of you's?

Nah not playing, decided to take my ass to the gym, ill go next week maybe>
    best of luck tonight,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

And phantom lord (aka Shane), is a loose as, well I don't even know now what to compare him too, but he will probably one of the first, if not the first to get knocked out, and will probably happen in the first blind level (and there will be some bad beat story to come with it)!
    lol. I'm as solid as a rock!
    Hawk Eye wrote:

without doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭fobster

Good to see the tournament being advertised in the Jackpot yesterday, the €20 fo is a target audience is ever there was one.

fobster wrote:
    Good to see the tournament being advertised in the Jackpot yesterday, the €20 fo is a target audience is ever there was one.

Yeah Duke was telling me he has the flyers and everything.....I really shouldn't be playing poker this weekend, I should be in town stopping people on the street to get them interested.

Thanks again for all the help lads;
    Tell everyone you know about this tournament and get registering soon please.

Got my 888 account working and just about to register.
    But their are two available tourneys???????
    Down the bottom of the list, obviously the national student poker championship is one,
    but what is the Clamper restricted game?? Its description is the same as the one above.
    Entry into the live event at the RDS on jan the 27th.
    The only reason I noticed it was because I got an email from "Clamper" the other day about a poker game

Mellor wrote:
    Got my 888 account working and just about to register.
    But their are two available tourneys???????
    Down the bottom of the list, obviously the national student poker championship is one,
    but what is the Clamper restricted game?? Its description is the same as the one above.
    Entry into the live event at the RDS on jan the 27th.
    The only reason I noticed it was because I got an email from "Clamper" the other day about a poker game

Hi Mellor,

The 'Clamper' tournament is just for players that didn't click on the link or did other bad things when trying to register. Its all the one but 888 just had to find a way around their system.....(not sure to be honest).....Derek 'The Clamper' Williams is my business partner/friend and he really negotiated the sponsorship from 888/Pacific (I was just taking all the credit).

Keep the registrations going guys. I know the last longest bonus of $1,000 would be nice to have between just 25 players but it will help if you can get the word around about the offer as I will have a lot of work to do as regards organising equipment and dealers in the week before the event.

Cheers.

Thought it was something like that, as i was sure i've seen his name around and about.

Any way, 3 weeks to go!!!! 25 Players Registered.

I organised a mail to be sent around all student poker players from bolton street.
    And I can give you an email code that will send to the whole of DIT. players or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Phil-Dublin

tHANKS FOR LETTING ME IN GUYS,I SUPPOSE ITS A BIT OF A PUSH SINCE I AM ONLY DOING AN ECDL COURSE, BUT I SPOKE TO SOME FRIENDS THIS EVENING ABOUT IT AND THEY SEEM TO THINK ITS GREAT VALUE

ALSO JUST TO RUB IT IN A BIT, SOMEONE VERY NICE JUST TOLD ME THAT THEY WILL BUY ME INTO IT, ALL THEY WANT IS TO SEE ME HAPPY, NO RETURN EXPECTED, NOW HOWS THAT FOR LUCKY?

I AM REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO IT NOW AND I JUST WORKED OUT THAT IF ONLY 25 PEOPLE PLAY, WE COULD SPLIT THE $1,000 BETWEEN US AND GO ON THE PISS ASWELL

tHANKS FOR LETTING ME IN GUYS,I SUPPOSE ITS A BIT OF A PUSH SINCE I AM ONLY DOING AN ECDL COURSE, BUT I SPOKE TO SOME FRIENDS THIS EVENING ABOUT IT AND THEY SEEM TO THINK ITS GREAT VALUE

ALSO JUST TO RUB IT IN A BIT, SOMEONE VERY NICE JUST TOLD ME THAT THEY WILL BUY ME INTO IT, ALL THEY WANT IS TO SEE ME HAPPY, NO RETURN EXPECTED, NOW HOWS THAT FOR LUCKY?

I AM REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO IT NOW AND I JUST WORKED OUT THAT IF ONLY 25 PEOPLE PLAY, WE COULD SPLIT THE $1,000 BETWEEN US AND GO ON THE PISS ASWELL

lol, brilliant idea.

Mellor wrote:
    Thought it was something like that, as i was sure i've seen his name around and about.

Any way, 3 weeks to go!!!! 25 Players Registered.

I organised a mail to be sent around all student poker players from bolton street.
    And I can give you an email code that will send to the whole of DIT. players or not

Cheers Mellor.....That is brilliant.

I will PM you later with a draft of an email if you like.
    Its probably best if you can send the email for me......that way you don't have to give out the codes.

I'm not sure if I can send it, as ill have a dit address. We'll sort it our in pm later.

If your forrward me that email too stephen I can send out to the aungier st crowd.

shoutman wrote:
    If your forrward me that email too stephen I can send out to the aungier st crowd.

Cheers.....I will PM ya both later.....

I should have posted this last Friday but just wanted to let everyone know that this tournament will only be available to all players that register online before January 25th.

Any player that turns up with cash on the day will not be able to play.

All online registrations must be complete by Jan 25th.

I know this makes things a little awkward but this tournament is offering great value and I'm going to a lot of effort myself so I don't mind asking players to do the same.

On the day all players will simply take the seat that is assigned to their username.

We will be checking that all players are over 18 (bring passport/drivers licence if you look under 21).

All winnings will be paid into the username of the relevant players (no stipulations to withdraw).

Please register soon.

Really need to get this college team event organised now if it is going to happen.

Can poker society people let me know if they are working on this or will we just scrap the idea......stephen@pokerireland.ie

For details of the idea see the original post of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Currently studying accounting with the ICAI, and don't think we'll be able to get a team together, but as a graduate of Trinity, UCD and DIT(Aungier Street) I'm prepared to pimp myself out to whichever of these teams offers me the best deal:D (or whichever is short a few players).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

Ill put my name forward for this team event? Anyone else interested from DIT, post...

As its a team event id say you will need a selection of different types of players on the team, so you will need someone with a LITTLE bit of gamble in them so i put myself forward to fill this role.

Is it 6 or 8 players?
    If the combined DIT team goes ahead then i'll stick my name down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

Considering there wont be more than 8 teams at most...at most!(probably) $1000 added plus the $120 from each team between 6 is very nice...very nice! Just for people to think about...

Considering there wont be more than 8 teams at most...at most!(probably) $1000 added plus the $240 from each team between 6 is very nice...very nice! Just for people to think about...

Yeah but I won't do it with less than 6 colleges involved and I still have to see what the response is like before I organise another $1,000 to give away, lol.

If anyone knows players from UCD, Trinity and NUI Maynooth that would be great......I have been trying to contact people - heads of the poker socs that is - in these places for weeks and I'm not getting very far.

Would be great to at least get a group email out to their members and organise a team for each college after that.

carfax wrote:
    If anyone knows players from UCD, Trinity and NUI Maynooth that would be great......I have been trying to contact people - heads of the poker socs that is - in these places for weeks and I'm not getting very far..

it only seems to be D.I.T interested in this so if the team event doesn't go ahead maybe it could be a 1000 for the longest lasting DIT player if the others aren't interested.

any objections?

Trippie wrote:
    it only seems to be D.I.T interested in this so if the team event doesn't go ahead maybe it could be a 1000 for the longest lasting DIT player if the others aren't interested.

any objections?
    fine by me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 skilgannon

If you dont have enough players to fill a team for each college, could we enter a team from mixed colleges??

skilgannon wrote:
    If you dont have enough players to fill a team for each college, could we enter a team from mixed colleges??

Sounds like a good idea but I just can't get responses from NUIGalway, UCC and UL right now although I know they are sending lots of players.

We could always get a mixed team going but again there has to be enough interest in the idea to get it going......Which means more people registering for the event....TODAY!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 skilgannon

I could get together a team with players from UL, CIT, DIT, and UCD... Would that be eligible??

skilgannon wrote:
    I could get together a team with players from UL, CIT, DIT, and UCD... Would that be eligible??

As of right now I will say yes, but again I will have to see what the interest is like......I'm starting to get a bit worried that players aren't registering. Of over 200 people that have expressed an interest to me personally and I'm sure there are plenty more that know about it only 30 have registered.

To have a team event the total team players involved would want to make up less then 10% of the field. If there are only 30 players playing the tournament then we won't have a team event let alone be able to add another $1,000 as a promotion.