Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Secret Passages undenath UCD

• 03-01-2007 11:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭

I'am in the process of writting a piece on hidden Ireland. So far I've visited the CIE tunnell under the Pheonix Park and spent a charming day wondering Dublins sewers. As I understand it UCD has it's own secret subterrainin passages. If anyone could provide me with some details I'd been more then greatful. I can understand if anyone feels uncomfortable revealing any details on a public forum like this. So please feel free to PM me

Cheers

Starn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

wierd just mentioned this on AH, when you were asking about underground stuff. I know a fair bit about it, through both official and other means i won't go into here... nothing illegal, just a bit dodge all the same! PM me if you want more info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

does Dublin have cool sewers like so many cities seem to? (ie Paris)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

Garret wrote:
    does Dublin have cool sewers like so many cities seem to? (ie Paris)

I'am afraid not. But I'd still love to take a trip up the dodder

I vaguely remember reading a thread on boards before about them.To be honest.My friend brought me into them last year and it waas a let down.Its just a dark concrete hallway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Yeah I let my friend take me up the back passage once too, it wasnt as pleasant as I'd hoped..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭gerry87

There was a thread a while back where someone posted about exploring the tunnels, i don't remember who it was, but they did up this map.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭JimmNeutron

Umaro wrote:
    Yeah I let my friend take me up the back passage once too, it wasnt as pleasant as I'd hoped..
    Haha, i dont think he meant it that way ya sick minded person.
    Durrty!!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

A lot of the tunnels are actually service ducts for stuff like heating (according to official sources). There are a number of entrances - many are easy to spot, but all are locked securely. I would not be surprised if there are not silent PIR-type alarms down there so be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Steak

I'd love to go down there! does anybody know if many people have been down there? is it true that they were unlocked at one stage?

Steak wrote:
    I'd love to go down there! does anybody know if many people have been down there? is it true that they were unlocked at one stage?

lots i'd say. Apparently loads of the doors down there have keys hidden around them somewhere.

gerry87 wrote:
    Apparently loads of the doors down there have keys hidden around them somewhere.
    nice! I might take a trip down there some night. it's all safe and stuff yeah!?

Steak wrote:
    nice! I might take a trip down there some night. it's all safe and stuff yeah!?

aside from the monster, all safe. Just bring him some chocolate and he'll leave you alone.

Just a quick note that if services do catch you down there you'll want to have a pretty good reason - a guy i know got in serious trouble (i.e. the guards being involved) for being caught in a college building which was closed, never mind a sealed off tunnel.

If you still want to go down there, don't go on your own. Stay away from any electrical boxes and/or heating pipes - it'll be damp down there and you don't want to be burned or electrocuted. Ensure that the door you enter by won't be closed accidentally!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 johnjinks

Yes they are service tunnels and I have been down them recently.They are well lit and are quite warm due to heating pipes. It is possible to enter them beside the quinn school or the science building. There are even sockets down there. It is possible to walk to clonskeagh from the quinn school underground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

gerry87 wrote:
    There was a thread a while back where someone posted about exploring the tunnels, i don't remember who it was, but they did up this map.

finally my curiosity has been satisfied!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭scop

Nice to see some good old fashioned UE has found its way to Dublin. Can you PM me details about where you will be publishing the piece? Dublin, of course, has one of the worst reputations regarding UE from my experience, and over the years I have only seen one really interesting photo journal of an Irish place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

Umaro wrote:

hee hee

gerry87 wrote:
    aside from the monster, all safe. Just bring him some chocolate and he'll leave you alone.
    sound!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Umaro wrote:
    Check my sig.
    Let's hope that your g/f isn't on boards.....

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I can't believe this.

Considering it's an expellable misdemeanour to be in the tunnels at any stage, why is it that people periodically come onto this site and start talking themselves up as having been down there.

THE UCD AUTHORITIES READ THIS WEBSITE AND TEND TO FOLLOW UP ON STUFF PEOPLE SAY HERE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Which people will then deny. 'I was only boasting loike'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

Considering it's an expellable misdemeanour to be in the tunnels at any stage,
    You're hardly going to tell them that you attend UCD.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

Sangre wrote:
    Which people will then deny. 'I was only boasting loike'.
    And the 'loike' will actually make that believable.

Check my sig.
    Let's hope that your g/f isn't on boards.....

Good grief! It would appear that my perfectly innocent remark about my back entrance adventure has been taken wildly out of context!!

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

No, not at all. It's not even the slightest giveaway that you're posting in the UCD forum.

Either way, it's illegal. I'm sure the Gardaí would be brought in for a non-UCD-goer. Such as Sangre. Non?

Ha ha, not before you had legged it!

You must be so strong, able to carry away all the services people who had caught you. Unless they used boards to find you, in which case they would be able to figure out where you live. Are you strong enough to carry your house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Apparently all the easily accessible entrances are locked now ¬_¬

You must be so strong, able to carry away all the services people who had caught you. Unless they used boards to find you, in which case they would be able to figure out where you live. Are you strong enough to carry your house?
    Did I miss something or is it standard practice to try to 'carry' people you are running away from?

Oh wait, it was just a pathetic attempt at being snide.

I was referring to the fact that the services guys that had caught you in the tunnels would hang onto you. It amuses me that you think that you can run away from people within an enclosed area. Where all but a few exits are locked. Fleeing from people who would know the territory better than you.
    But no, you are such a daredevil not only think that you could avoid them where they have every advantage, but you also want to tell them what you did, and make it easy for them to find you, by posting it on a public board.
    In war, you would be what we call a "human shield" or "meat sack".
    Now, for a completely random image

Breadmonkey, I'm going to put in a request that the admins change your name to "GingerBreadmonkey". Then your cries that "they can't catch me" will have an appropriate pantomime-esque gloss that will fill me with much mirth. /Comic-Book Guy.

On a serious note the college have/will bring in the feds if any alarm is triggered, because they don't know whether it's a ucd student or not. And very likely they will get the guards to deal with the matter. Just a word of warning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

THE UCD AUTHORITIES READ THIS WEBSITE AND TEND TO FOLLOW UP ON STUFF PEOPLE SAY HERE!

Do they really?That would be so cool if Brady actually mentioned panda and the boards.ie crew at his UCD buisness meeetings........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

You really would be surprised by who lurks on these boards.

Haha, The_Minister must be the one trawling UCD boards to infiltrate the student population. Nothing else can really explain why he's such a sap.

Hulla,
    If you could ask the admin to change my name to I_LOVE_THE_MINISTER, that would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

there's no way services could catch you down there, all you'd have to do is close your eyes and mouth and you'd be shrouded in darkness

I think you might be getting confused between the tunnels and an ostrich farm.

panda100 wrote:
    Do they really?That would be so cool if Brady actually mentioned panda and the boards.ie crew at his UCD buisness meeetings........
    It was mentioned at one of the welcome meeting things for first years.
    Haha, The_Minister must be the one trawling UCD boards to infiltrate the student population. Nothing else can really explain why he's such a sap.
    Ahem. The UCD staff READ these boards, we have no evidence that they post on them. To my knowledge, which dwarfs yours, the UCD admin has never set up a student. They merely read the boards to find out what we are saying, what is going on in the union, who we are bitching about (*Cough* Ferdi *Cough*). Why you think that the UCD Admin would waste there time insulting, or talking to, someone like you is beyond me. Does it boost your self-esteem to imagine that some random distant people with the power to push paper think you worthy of notice? I hope not, because they don't. How do I know? Because so far you have said nothing truely worthy of notice on this board or any other.
    As for me being a sap, all I can say is that if that was the best you could come up with, then I imagine that you had to look up the spelling.
    Hulla,
    If you could ask the admin to change my name to I_LOVE_THE_MINISTER, that would be great.
    It's amazing. I feel like an archaeologist, studying primordial comebacks before wit was invented.

Wasn't breadmonkey the guy who quit this board, insulted everyone, threw the ultimate hissy fit and then promised never to coming back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Either you two chill-out or you're taking a long timeout in the corner.

Umaro that was happycrackhead afakik

Umaro wrote:
    Wasn't breadmonkey the guy who quit this board, insulted everyone, threw the ultimate hissy fit and then promised never to coming back?
    How dare you!

It was indeed Mr. Crackhead. He hasn't been around recently.:D

I'll take a deep breath and a cold shower.

Hey Fun Boys!! Get a Room!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

griffdaddy wrote:
    there's no way services could catch you down there, all you'd have to do is close your eyes and mouth and you'd be shrouded in darkness

Yeah cos when you have your eyes and mouth opened its really bright and they might see you:confused::D . Like this: 46.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭themole

starn wrote:
    I'am in the process of writting a piece on hidden Ireland. So far I've visited the CIE tunnell under the Pheonix Park and spent a charming day wondering Dublins sewers. As I understand it UCD has it's own secret subterrainin passages. If anyone could provide me with some details I'd been more then greatful. I can understand if anyone feels uncomfortable revealing any details on a public forum like this. So please feel free to PM me

Cheers

Starn

Why don't you just ask someone in services about the tunnels? Say your doing a story, you never know your luck. I wouldn't advise sneaking in , ie trespassing, and then writing a story about it.

On a relevant note there are several tunnels in Galway:
      NUIG also has similar tunnel to UCD. I know some people who have been in these. Once again you could ask the NUIG college authorities for access.
      There is a tunnel going from one of the convents in the city to a national school in which the nuns teach. I think its the Mercy Convent, or possibly Presentation Convent.
      There is also a tunnel which formed part of the Clifden railway line. It should run from the trainstation under the city to a bridge over the river Corrib. You can still see the remains of the railway bridge, just upriver of the salmon weir bridge.

I don't know of the state of the last two. Afaik they are both sealed, so access may be a problem.
    Good luck with the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

It's a lot like the original Half-Life down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

... Why you think that the UCD Admin would waste there time insulting, or talking to, someone like you is beyond me. Does it boost your self-esteem to imagine that some random distant people with the power to push paper think you worthy of notice? I
    It's amazing. I feel like an archaeologist, studying primordial comebacks before wit was invented.
    I love you man

panda100 wrote:
    Yeah cos when you have your eyes and mouth opened its really bright and they might see you:confused::D
    hahaha, if there was something like that down there even the biggest, baddest, blackest member of services wouldn't venture down. Actually on a side note, has anyone else noticed that recently services seem to be wandering campus in ethnic squadrons? i've seen one with four black guys, one with four polish guys and then another one with the usual irish guys

Yes, how odd that is.

I could just imagine the craic a Polish, a Nigerian and an Irish guy would have walking around for hours on end.