Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Desperate Housewives Season 3 Thread - RTE Pace - NO SPOILERS beyond last aired ep

• 03-01-2007 3:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭

So what did you think? Do you agree that this looks to be a better season, for the most part? IMHO, its back to season one quality and both episodes were fantastic. Kyle MacLachlan is creepy and the mystery element seems more compelling than the first season already.

Nice way to add to the mystery by having Orson whisper "Tu me manques, Monique" to the body, indicating it was yet another person he probably killed. "Tu me manques" means "I miss you" in French, so this should be an interesting plot.

One of the many best bits was after Xiao-Mei shouted to Gaby: "You are meanest person," Gaby shouted back: "I am the meanest person! You've been in this country for a year - modify your nouns, damn it!" Xiao-Mei: "What a bitch!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭2funki4wheelz

Have to agree, back to the humour and purpose of Season 1. I was very disappointed with 2, I felt like the show was a one trick pony once the Mary Alice murder mystery was solved. The Applewhite family really seemed thrown in for the sake of a handy plot and it didn't work for me.

Kyle McLachlan looks pantomime bad, I love it, we'll be shouting at the telly at Bree on this one. Unfortunately it looks like Susan gets to cop on about his evil side before everyone again, like she did with Paul in Season 1.

Lynette's family dilemma is hilarious and serious too, I love the depth and realism of her character.

And Dougray Scott sure is something nice to look at :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I love Dougray Scott!

Orson is really creepy! Where has Danielle Van De Kamp gone, though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Did I miss something? Was there a reason yer man Orsen ran down Mike last season,or has that yet to be established?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Caked Karen

i really enjoyed it! have a feeling we are in for a good season!

damn the boys were hot enough and they they throw Dougray in for good measure!!! im not complaining at all

tvnutz - i was watching an old episode the last night and remember when mike went to orson to get something done with his teeth, they started talking about some time he done in prison, i think it will come back to something along those lines. id say there is more than meets the eye with it!!

i think we could be in for the best season yet in my opinion!
    Gabby is going to shine i think this season for some reason and same with lynette - i love her! she's brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭claire h

Fantastic episodes. Loved Bree running off the doctor post-orgasm. :D Looks like it's going to be a good season...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭pokerwidow

Ya I was wondering about Danielle too. Poor Mike, we don't get to see him smile. The Lynette family storyline was very funny.

Delighted to have it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭wba88

I thought it was great especially having a double episode. Something to look forward to on tuesdays! :)

wba88 wrote:
    I thought it was great especially having a double episode. Something to look forward to on tuesdays! :)

were there two episodes on last night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭SoSueMe

tvnutz wrote:
    were there two episodes on last night?
    Yep, only because Channel 4 were doing it and so RTE could say "before everyone else."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Thought the 2episodes were very funny.
    Can't wait for the rest of them! Hopefully they'll be just as good now!

SoSueMe wrote:
    Yep, only because Channel 4 were doing it and so RTE could say "before everyone else."

oh,knocked the tv off after the first one,didn't realise there was a second. Oh well...tis a show I watch on occasion and don't really care if I miss,considering I think its not very good,but for some reason watch anyway. Kind of like watching a soap...

RTE2 Ratings:

1. Listen to the Rain on the Roof 503,000
    2. It Takes Two 442,000

DH is as popular as ever but why did 60,000 viewers go between the two episodes?

SoSueMe wrote:
    DH is as popular as ever but why did 60,000 viewers go between the two episodes?

well i knocked off the tv after the first one because i didn't know there was a second one on. I don't remember them mentioning it at the end. could have happened to a few (thousand) people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭lynnsback

Has anyone else on here got the season 2 DVD box set? I got it for Christmas and it says on the back of it that it has bloopers, a poker game and interviews with the male stars of the show on Disc 7. I cannot find any of these!! Are they hidden somewhere or did I get a faulty copy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 rolan

I found it strange that there was three strands that were the same as season 2.

The first being that Gabrielle "loses" a baby - season 2, she was pregnant and was knocked down the stairs, and in season 3, it turns out not to be her child. Seems like they realised that the character wouldn't work with children.

The second is Bree marrying an "insane" guy. George was insane, and we've yet to discover how insane Orson is. But instead of pacing out a relationship, it's once again, Bree runs into it, a marriage proposal, and in this case marriage.

The third is a son who's living on the streets. Last season Zach was living on the streets and found by Susan, and this season Andrew was living on the streets, found by Bree and then Orson.

Also there's now very little mention of Lynette at work (just Tom trying to get work) - proving how stupid an idea that was. There was so much more mileage to Lynette being a stay at home mom, as proven by the great Parker/Baseball story.

I don't think the series is back to season one level, but hopefully it'll build up to it - especially after a disappointing season two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

anyone else think mike might be pretending to have forgotten everything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

:| wrote:
    anyone else think mike might be pretending to have forgotten everything?
    Thats what I thought anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭tdc

I doubt it, since the doctors are the ones that mentioned his memory loss

tdc wrote:
    I doubt it, since the doctors are the ones that mentioned his memory loss
    In a suprised sort of way
    The first time i watched it i just believed it but i saw it a second time and it seemed like he was pretending. like he seemed hurt by susan being with someone else. Anyway it's just a theory:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Wow I have missed this thread...

Everyone is saying that this season is back to it's brilliance of the first series but I disagree. I've loved every single episode of Desperate Housewives, but in this season too much is happening too quickly, especially with Bree marrying yer man. I mean how stupid can you get...she already rushed into one marraige and look how that turned out. She doesn't even know this fella and she's gone off and married him as well, and this time she actually had some sort of warning.

Still, Orsons weird because he's not as sinister looking as George. He certainly is a nasty piece of work but a lot of the time I find myself forgetting he's a psycho because he's so loving towards Bree and not in an obsessive way as George was.

The magic of Desperate Housewives was the idea that everything on the outside of these lifestyles looks normal but when you look closer you can see their lives aren't perfect. Now, it's just mayhem....doesn't have the same appeal.

It's still starting out to be a great season though. Can't wait for tonights episode!

RTE2 Ratings:

1. Listen to the Rain on the Roof 503,000
    2. It Takes Two 442,000
    3. A Weekend in the Country 329, 000

Latest ratings in bold

People must not be enjoying DH, almost 200,000 people have stopped watching over two weeks.

I'm mixed at the moment. I always liked Teri Hatcher but she just bugs me this year. I can see why people hate her.

BTW, there is a double bill next week at 9PM with the much hyped supermarket hostage situation.

SoSueMe wrote:
    RTE2 Ratings:

BTW, there is a double bill next week at 9PM with the much hyped supermarket hostage situation.

And people give out to me for spoilers.....

I am watching the next episode on E4 tonight at 11.

pokerwidow wrote:
    And people give out to me for spoilers.....

I am watching the next episode on E4 tonight at 11.

Thats not a spoiler. It will be in their promos and it is in Tv Guide descriptions.
    It would be a spoiler if I said the likelyhood of who will be leaving the show or something like that... not that I'm saying someone is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Scarlet89

What the hell is going on with mike's number on her wrist and everything?????????????I'm so confussed..:confused:

Still, Orsons weird because he's not as sinister looking as George. He certainly is a nasty piece of work but a lot of the time I find myself forgetting he's a psycho because he's so loving towards Bree and not in an obsessive way as George was.
    Yeah, same here, especially as he seeed genuinely concerned for andrew too

:| wrote:
    Yeah, same here, especially as he seeed genuinely concerned for andrew too

Yeah...

I still don't get why he ran over Mike though :confused:

I also agree about Teri Hatcher. I've loved her and her character for the last two seasons (and indeed in Superman etc.) but know she's irritating me.

I hope she wins back Mike though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭md99

I've seen the first ten episodes and I think the quality is consistent with that of the first two seasons.

I didn't notice a drop in quality between season one and two. The main thing people missed was the 'mystery' storyline regarding Mary-Anne's suicide etc., personally I was never that into that storyline.

That said I love the show, easy going and great stuff

Last nights episodes were fantastic. First one; consistent with the previous episodes of this season. Loved when they got drunk! The look on Susan+Gabrielle's face when Lynette said 'yeah, Carlos is hot!' Priceless!

Second one; amazing. Great action at the supermarket but it also dealt with outside storylines from Carlos+Gabby, Bree+Orson, Lynette (and her dreams. nice touch) but the drama of the hostage story was great! I was really shocked that Nora was shot (I didn't expect anyone, let alone a 'major' character to be killed). I hated her up til her dying moment, which was great (and sort of tidied everything up so that Lynette has a nice happy family). Fantastic acting from Felicity Huffman - fair play to Lynette for standing up to a madwoman.

I'm a bit confused about the whole affair thing. So yer man was sleeping with this girl Monique who is actually Orsons ex-wife? Am I right? So, is she still alive? And why would Orson make the call to the police?...

I'm loving this season. I don't know why there isn't much fanbase here at boards!

RTE2 Ratings:

1. Listen to the Rain on the Roof 503,000 #1
    2. It Takes Two 442,000 #1
    3. A Weekend in the Country 329, 000 #1
    4. Like It Was 407,000 #1

Latest ratings in bold

Last nights episode was fantastic. Laurie Metcalf deserves an Emmy. I'm kind of glad Nora is gone but her death was shocking and kind of sad. This has to have been the best episode since the pilot. It is brilliant this season. I am beginning to forget season 2 (Remember Lynette eating raw meat?)

Lynette eating raw meat? I don't remember that at all.

Wheras I am an expert at Lost, I really need to shape up on Desoerate Housewives. Anyone know where I can get cheap boxsets of series1+2? (Soryy for going off topic)

I too think last nights second episode was fantastic. Glad to see Nora died and not Lynette, I love her character so much. I don't remember her eating meat but I do remember her (small) breakdown. I can relate to that.

I presume Orson told the police to throw the scent off him. Maybe he ran over Mike because Mike was sleeping with Monique. Does that mean that Mike was unfaithful? The time line is a bit off though, Monique was killed months ago. Nice the way the English guy came back to support Susan.

I was watching it on E4 on Wed nights but now RTE are ahead again. I would love more doubles but only single next week :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

She ate the raw meat (rashers) to try stop her boss from bullying her husband.

Best episode ever of any show recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

i missed the double episode on tuesday night. does anyone know the episode numbers so i can look them up?

Its on tonight on E4 if you have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

I loved how they started the episode with her shooting up the place and then going back to earlier that day to explain why she did it. Great editing!

RTE2 Ratings:

2. It Takes Two 442,000 #2
    5. Nice She Ain't 374,000 #1

Latest ratings in bold

Last nights episode was excellent. There is definitely a more consistent quality this year. There hasn;t really been any subpar episodes like season 2.
    The Art storyline is dark and does anybody normal move into Wisteria Lane? I think there is more to that stroy than we are led to believe. The Bree and Orson stuff was brilliant. The addition of his mother is intriguing as I have no idea were they are taking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

SoSueMe wrote:
    Last nights episode was excellent. There is definitely a more consistent quality this year. There hasn;t really been any subpar episodes like season 2.
    The Art storyline is dark and does anybody normal move into Wisteria Lane? I think there is more to that stroy than we are led to believe. The Bree and Orson stuff was brilliant. The addition of his mother is intriguing as I have no idea were they are taking it.

Still not a patch on series 1. I think that, when they wrote that, the wrote it as a single series TV show.

I am gonna predict that Art is not the pervert we are meant to think he is.... Would like to know how he put it together so fast - he;s only just moved in!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

^^^I know what happens.I've seen up to episode 14 but i wont reveal what happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Trix

could someone explain the story line with mike and the dead girl.I've seen all this series so far but I seem to have missed whats going on there??

Trix, all we know is that his number was on her hand and he had a flashback in which she is suggestively standing in a door frame :)
    That's all I can remember.

Last night was good, some funny moments like the beauty pagent (sp?), Orson's mother and Carlos becoming Mikes new best friend.

In contrast then the whole Mr Protector Man (don't know real name) story is very dark.

RTE2 Ratings:

6. Sweetheart, I Have to Confess 370,000 #3
    7. Bang 456,000 #1

Latest ratings in bold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Steve01

SoSueMe wrote:
    RTE2 Ratings:

6. Sweetheart, I Have to Confess 370,000 #3
    7. Bang 456,000 #1

Latest ratings in bold

What the hell? I've never heard of any of those programmes

Steve01 wrote:
    What the hell? I've never heard of any of those programmes

please tell me that is a bad attempt at a joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Can I just say that I'm disgusted that Ians butler didn't attempt to have Susan eat a snickers bar with a knife and fork... :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Justin_Pitt

i missed last nights episode.anything important happen??

It's on channel4 tonight. It was quite good, two twists at the end.

pokerwidow wrote:
    It's on channel4 tonight. It was quite good, two twists at the end.
    ah crap. I don't have channel 4.