Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your Training Goals for 2007...

• 26-12-2006 2:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭

Hi

Wanted to start a thread to about what your Training goals for 2007 is.

Me, I want to bring my skills and training to a level I never did before, and do some teaching for RBSD too.

If training goes well, and endurance improves, I will definately aim to fight a few Muay Thai fights, and K1 Kickboxing. If I get enough ground work down my end of year, I will aim for MMA.

Here is my approx planned schedule..

Mon - Fri 715am running, 8am - 10 am Muay Thai with sparring and clinch.

afternoon...Aiming for 3 sessions a week of MMA ground/grapple lessons...mix of greco/freestyle and BJJ. (I have been putting this off for months)

Sat Morning...Teach Self Defence.

Saturday afternoon Muay Thai.

Sunday...travel to Bangkok for 3 hours Jeet Kune Do with Kali. and Sparring.

Basicually mon - friday if I am not workin my business, I am going to be training.

I got the chance to do all of this...its all on my door step, so I am going to do it all...and get to the highest level I can.

What about you???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

1. get into some sort of reasonable shape... I relaise it aint gonna be six pack city but something better than I am at th minute

2. Get over to judo in coolmine on a saturday

3. combine the 2 of them and get a fight set up with roper

4. make him apologise for calling me fat in a previous thread :)

5. do a bit of power lifting in johns

6. and a wee bit of swimmin as well

paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

Get my ass to thailand.

Get my ass handed to me by a cocky 16 year old for the first 8 months.

Push said snot nose down a flight of stairs.

Spend 6-8 months fighting.

Recieve an award that reflects the majesty of my moustache

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

1. weigh more than 65kg.
    2. start lifting weights.
    3. keep up the muay thai.
    4. stop pulling guard.

that'll sort me out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

Train as much as a 13 year olds lifestyle will allow

Compete in as many competitions as possible

Do Muay Thai

Tap John Kavanagh out and beat him in table tennis haha

Stop making mistakes in BJJ

Become an all round better BJJ'er

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Scramble

1. Keep a balance between Muay Thai, Brazillian Jiu Jitsu and MMA classes.
    2. Start lifting.
    3. Enter two competitions this year- the Sub grappling tournament, and the Irish BJJ Open again.
    4. Train more BJJ wearing a gi (The first time I rolled in one was competing in the Irish Open...).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

1. Beat Tito Ortiz (probably won't happen).

2. Be alittle more consistant with training and ease off the gargle on the weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

Finally get to train after being injured for just about 6 months, another three or four weeks hopefully..........
    ciaran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Hey all,

My personal goals are to get into better shape, learn to hit harder and take up a new art - Muai Thai, which I'm very excited about:) .

I want to to start teaching some self-protection courses. Also, get my ass in gear for the Combatives.ireland website - which I'm supposed to be working on;) .

I intend to do a bit of traveling to the UK for some more combatives training (but more on that later as it's confirmed).

That's about it for now...;)

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

like all beauty contestants my goals are:

1) world peace

2) work with poor kids

3) travel (preferably to a tropical island in the phillipines where i can train some very well respected escrimadors )

oh wait..I'm doing 3) in a weeks time ..he he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Great thread Gerry.

I aim to keep doing 2 classes of MT a week and 3 hours of bag time a week at home (got the bag up today. Delighted.).

I'm aiming for as close to a paleo diet as real life allows.

My wife's expecting a baby any day now so keeping those two in place for the next six months will be enough I think. :)

Oh...I'd like to be able to do a headstand push up. I tried a couple of weeks ago...not a feckin' hope. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

Go back to the gym

Join TKD

Kill Bill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

paddyc wrote:
    3. combine the 2 of them and get a fight set up with roper

4. make him apologise for calling me fat in a previous thread :)
    Paddy, you don't have to make me apologise, you just have to ask and I will.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Wow, there was I feeling sorry for myself and I see the amount of guys on here that are trying to recover after injuries etc. Fuvking worse thing for me is that none of my injuries are training related, work and a friggin car crash. However, my main goal is definately to get past the sheet with injuries (even started today:)) and get into reasonable shape.

Actually, Paddy Clint, you've given me great inspiration, I bet I'll get closer to a six something pack that you LOL, mindya I'm not saying how long!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭crokester

1) Gonna keep on trainin five days a week and two weights sessions per week.

2) Manage to do this and have a good degree come may!

3) Hop in the ring at some point over the Summer for the first time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I'm going to get back into regular training now that I've adjusted to my new job. I plan to go for my TKD black belt in June, so my goals will be to train at least 3 hours a week, plus some weight and general training, and get my weight to around 65 kg.

I'm not looking for much really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Training in England with Lee Morrison

Have my 3rd dan at the end of the summer TKD

Learn how to roll more proficiently (flowing with the go!)

We're working on Urban Combatives Ireland, myself and Baggio can hopefully pull somethin off!

Apart from that my main goal is to stay happy and healthy and enjoy everyday as it comes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭Baggio...

Jon wrote:
    Training in England with Lee Morrison
    We're working on Urban Combatives Ireland, myself and Baggio can hopefully pull somethin off!

Yup! can't wait to train with Lee in feb - should be some exciting things happening on the CQC front;) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

good to hear you back training, any plans for a show in the black box... without doubt the best venue in ireland for a fight night....

a six... something pack ... you say.... the last time you had a six...something pack... did you not get lifted by the guards :)

take care and best wishes for 2007

paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Jon wrote:
    !

Thats sounds great! Keep me posted on how that is going to go!

I am starting similar over here in Thailand myself (aside from all the Muay Thai, Jeet Kune Do, and proposed learning ground).

Going to teach a mix of Combatives with KM, and of course Milling Sessions for the chosen few as times goes on.

I even got me URL set up...just have to change my old irish site to thailand info and add a few pages.. www.selfdefencethailand.com

Was thinking of going to train with these KM guys in March in Australia... I have been reserachign them...and its like a mix of Geoff Thompson with proper KM.... much better than the usual bolloxology KM on offer.
    http://www.tacticalkravmaga.com.au/default.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Im2Lazy

Hi Gerry,

This is a really good thread.
    Hope you're keeping well & enjoyed Xmas & have a good New Year in USA.

My training goals for 07 :
    1. To actually do some training would be a start as I have trained since Sep due to work & other commitments.

2. Try not to tap as much as Michael Flatley & start tapping people out for a change.

3. Get a regular training routine going so & build up my cardio.

4. Do a few cool seminars in Thai or BJJ or Eskrima or KM or anything that tickles my fancy.

5. Have fun & stay injury free.

I forgot to post my own, all I did was goad Paddy a bit more. Here they are in no particular order:

1. To get stronger, faster, fitter, and better technically

2. To win everything I enter... or at least give 100% in losing

3. To develop my own gym

4. To enjoy the coming 12 months as much as I've enjoyed the previous 12, maybe even more... I've had a really good year training wise, its been fun, educational, competitive.... great!

5. To keep smiling :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

1. find a place to train again
    2. to get my fat ass back in shape
    3. to get back competing and kicking ass :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

1. Stay training.
    (Just started back training at the start of Dec after 2 year hiatus due to lazyness)

2. Enjoy my training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭crazy monkey

Hi All,

1. Heal up well ;) and avoid further injuries
    2. Get fitter, cardio and musculature wise
    3. Develop an actual bjj game and do more thai with Paddy C
    4. Get aggressive [constructively so] in training :mad:
    5.Get Im2Lazy [or to use his fight name, the michael flatley of grappling...aka tap tap tap tap] down to the mma league to compete, just kidding old chum...
    6. Win mma league vets division
    7. Fight on a least one pro show, under either semi pro or pro rules, this year
    8. Start to enjoy my training again :cool:
    9. Be less of a j@ck@ss
    10. Tap JK... :eek:

Ah.....goals.....who keeps moving the goalposts???

happy new year lads and ladies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Michael O Leary

Bambi wrote:
    3) travel (preferably to a tropical island in the phillipines where i can train some very well respected escrimadors )

oh wait..I'm doing 3) in a weeks time ..he he

Hi Bambi,

Sounds really good. Tell me more.

Michael O'Leary
    www.iewto.org

Just to burst his bubble (I'm jealous as fuvk as a matter of interest!!) and let you know before Ush does, Mick, Guro Krishna is taking them to Cebu for 2 weeks of training and its not like the 'ol WEKAF training holiday melarky, its 3 sessions per day for 12(!!) days with the old skool Warriors guys. Ush I hope
    you're black and blue (which is a lot better than being black and tan btw!!)
    any plans for a show in the black box

Could be something afoot in that department Paddy.
    did you not get lifted by the guards

I'll have you know I had... sorry THEY found NOTHING:D

And all the very best to you for 2007 Paddy.

Im2Lazy wrote:
    Hi Gerry,

This is a really good thread.
    Hope you're keeping well & enjoyed Xmas & have a good New Year in USA.

2. Try not to tap as much as Michael Flatley & start tapping people out for a change.

Things going great Steo, Thank God. Been doing some running up and down the road in icy cold weather, which was great fun, until a massive Huskie decided to chased me the other day! LOL!.

Back to Land of Smile in 5 days... I need to get back to training like a mad man!

Hey...Flatley is cool... I read his auto bio,... he was a Golden Gloves Boxing Champion... at one stage he for real could box as well as he can tap!

I d put my money on it, it could throw a mean right hook still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Im2Lazy

Hi Bambi,

Michael O'Leary
    www.iewto.org

There's some information on the "News" section of www.warriorseskrimaireland.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Tap out more
    Relegate armbar escapes to the bin where leglocks reside (the bin only opens for competitions)
    Land a flying armbar on someone in competition
    Beat The Shane at dips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

be better than last year

Hi all, (Good post Gerry):)

At the start of December I received my 3rd Level (Dan) in Wing Tsun and as there is a minimum period of 4 years before I go for my 4th Level instead of concentrating on learning more of the syllabus I really want to spend time consolidating what I have learned so far.

Paradoxically one is the ways I see to achieving this is to keep on with the Muay Thai and to get a good grounding in the basics of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu by benchmarking my Wing Tsun against what I percieve to be the best out there.

I would like to spend more time pressure testing Wing Tsun both for myself and for my class but in a safe and friendly way whether that takes the form of controlled sparring or padding up and going for it.

With the Escrima I would like to be an qualified assistant instructor by the end of 2007. My Escrima classes have been going for a year now and I would like to consolidate my knowledge of single/double stick while also working on stick and knife and Escrima empty hands.

Actually my Wing Tsun and Escrima training will be interesting over the next few months as my next Escrima module will be empty hands and at the same time I will begin my study of Wing Tsun weapons, namely the Long Pole. This is in contrast to usual Wing Tsun training which is primarily empty hands with Escrima focusing on weapons. So I will be doing the two in reverse at the same time. Interesting.

Regards,

Michael O'Leary
    www.iewto.org

At the start of December I received my 3rd Level (Dan) in Wing Tsun

Congrats Michael! well done.

You've a PM BTW :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭scuttery1

Jon wrote:
    Congrats Michael! well done.
    Second that Mick, kudos hoss, kudos:D
    Look forward to some posts comparing & contrasting WT weapons work & FMA.
    We're off to Cebu for 2 weeks on tuesday to partake of the Warriors Eskrima training camp. Tropical beaches, +30C temperature & maybe the odd bit of training thrown in, a dirty job but some one has to do it;)
    I see that the Wild Geese eskrima boys were over in Cebu in November and all in all the FMA scene in Dublin is starting to look really healthy, so to one and all, TMA, MMA, CIA , FCA whatever, have a smashing new year!!!

scuttery1 wrote:
    all in all the FMA scene in Dublin is starting to look really healthy,

Yep it is and it is good to see as it really is a minority martial art. I really enjoyed Krishna's Eskrima seminar a while back. Apart from the Eskrima itself, the atmosphere was really good and friendly. Krishna himself is a gentleman and you and Shane were going around giving helpful tips without lording it over people. Dave Joyce was there with his lads and some of the Wexford Jiu-Jitsu lads were there also and of course I had the pleasure of training with "Bosco".

My learning curve in Newman-Escrima will begin to plateau off about this time next year and I would love to do some more training with you and Shane, Dave Joyce, the Wild Geese boys and Master Ding in Bray.

Have a great time in the Philippines, I had a look at the video clip on your website and it looks great.

Regards,:)

Michael O'Leary
    www.iewto.org

Thanks for the kind words Mick
    My learning curve in Newman-Escrima will begin to plateau off about this time next year and I would love to do some more training with you and Shane, Dave Joyce, the Wild Geese boys and Master Ding in Bray.
    You know our policy Mick "come one, come all" Not so much an open door thing more of a beaded curtain opening into a den of iniquity;). You're always welcome dude as is anyone who wants to swing timber. Have a blast in 07!

Ah Jaysus, I can nearly SEE the friggin smile on yer mush as yer writing those replies you lucky, lucky bastard!!! Probley not going to see either Ush or yourself brother Hoey, so I would like to take this opportunity to wish yez (and Sue!!) a fantastic New Year. Hope ye have a great time and hope....sorry know ye'll come back in one if not many pieces. I know ye won't have time but see if Guro Krishna will bring ye to a huge shopping mall called White Gold well worth a visit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭silat liam

1. To learn the Suilwa Silat Sword style
    2. To furthur develop the understanding and promotion of Silat in Ireland and throughout Europe.
    3. To develop as a teacher
    4. To enjoy my training even more.

Re the FMA.... I am sort of getting sucked into FMA through the Jeet Kune Do I am learning.

Its Kali...and I was really impressed with the Unarmed removal of the stick... where you "snaked" around stick attackers hand. it was a little similar to some KM...but the Kali flowed much more naturally. I was crap at using the stick and knife...but I took to the unarmed Vs weapon much easlier..again probably due to the KM experience.

SKD Kali... Has any of you FMA lads come across SKD Kali?

As I said before I never really cosidered learning Kali... but its sort of coming part and parcel with the Jeet Kune Do... so it will do no harm to learn some... I am so akward with a Kali stick its funny!!!!! I mean really crap at it! Rome was not build in a day I guess!!! LOL!!! Practice, Practice Practice.

Ah Jaysus, I can nearly SEE the friggin smile on yer mush as yer writing those replies you lucky, lucky bastard!!!
    Yep, kinda looks like I have a coat hanger stuck in me gob at the mo:D
    I would like to take this opportunity to wish yez (and Sue!!) a fantastic New Year
    And the same to you and the clan brother Joyce, hope 07 brings you nothing but good stuff.
    I know ye won't have time but see if Guro Krishna will bring ye to a huge shopping mall called White Gold well worth a visit!!
    According to the schedule for the camp we have 100 hrs of training and ~8hrs for sight seeing & shopping, Sue reckons that's more than enough time to pick her up "something nice":eek:
    To learn the Suilwa Silat Sword style
    Silat sword, krabi krabong & FMA, the auld South East Asian Arts really starting to blossom...good stuff.
    SKD Kali... Has any of you FMA lads come across SKD Kali?
    Gerry, most JKD people will do the Inosanto / Lacosta blend with whatever other FMA they've been exposed to, it's all good so enjoy.
    I am so akward with a Kali stick its funny!!!!! I mean really crap at it!
    I once hit myself square in the nuts much to the amusement of the rest of the group.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

As I said before I never really cosidered learning Kali... but its sort of coming part and parcel with the Jeet Kune Do... so it will do no harm to learn some... I am so akward with a Kali stick its funny!!!!! I mean really crap at it! Rome was not build in a day I guess!!! LOL!!! Practice, Practice Practice.

when i started at the FMA double weapons i'd already trained a good bit with japanese style weapons and it still melted my head. Its a bit like learning to juggle or something, both your hands are doing something different but must still be coordinated AND keep going even if they f*** up. I found concentrating on the rythm made the difference for me. I couldn't tell you what most the double stick drills i know consist of but i can do them. it's kinda like you don't learn it logically but the rythm and flow install it anyway.

btw If you want to try double weapons why not check out krabi krabong when you're back in Thailand, it's like old school muay thai with swords, nasty combination :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

Get back into real shape (and find out if dropping to 66kg is a realistic option).

Dedicate myself more to my training.

Win something other than a tkd competition.

like the Lotto? :)

Jon wrote:
    The Lotto has won a tkd competition?:)

Bambi wrote:
    when i started at the FMA double weapons i'd already trained a good bit with japanese style weapons and it still melted my head. Its a bit like learning to juggle or something, both your hands are doing something different but must still be coordinated AND keep going even if they f*** up. I found concentrating on the rythm made the difference for me. I couldn't tell you what most the double stick drills i know consist of but i can do them. it's kinda like you don't learn it logically but the rythm and flow install it anyway.

btw If you want to try double weapons why not check out krabi krabong when you're back in Thailand, it's like old school muay thai with swords, nasty combination :D

Jaysus Bambi...I had serious trouble with a 1 stick drill with 4 moves!!!!! I think I ll keep a rain check in the 2 sticks for about 6 months! LOL!.

Actually, I did will with the knife, and cut my experienced training partner to bits....Defang the Snake and all that. I just used the knife as an extension of punches, went for wrist with fast speed "defanged" and the nice throat slash...he was a little shook! but there you go...thats all the years hand work in kickboxing, coming in, and a very aggressive forward moving mindet! LOL!

scuttery1 wrote:

Gerry, most JKD people will do the Inosanto / Lacosta blend with whatever other FMA they've been exposed to, it's all good so enjoy.
    D

Ah ok...so its a blend...the logo says SKD Tatical Kali- Escrima-Arnis

The lads say in time it will help empty hand work develop.

My JKD teacher was under Instanto and crew and then later he became Ted Wongs (Bruces last private training partner) student, so we are learning the last version Bruce had to JKD, the stripped down version with the fencing footwork, KO power in Straight lead, and all the Wing Chun and Trapping gone, which Bruce threw out (few people know this)... there is one simple trap...and I knew and used similar when I was fighting full contact kikcboxing.

I am learning off http://www.i-jkd.com/about/mark-stewart-biography.php

So its very interesting... 3 hours on sundays...and lots of sparring to come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

Jon wrote:
    I was thinking more along the lines of fighting but I'd take it.:D

:D:D:D
    I once hit myself square in the nuts much to the amusement of the rest of the group.
    :D:D:D

John, you seem to be very found of this particular type of practise.:D

Gerry, if you're not used to the stick, it seems very unusual for the guys to START you on stick and knife. Try working out with the stick solo and you'll be amazed how fast your stickwork will come on. Doesn't sound like you need to do that for your knifework, great stuff my man, and its great to see the empty hands complementing the weaponed stuff as well as the other way round.

John, you seem to be very found of this particular type of practise.:D
    Well to be fair Dave the last shot to the shaft I got had nothing to do with me other than the fact I didn't get out of the way of Gerry Quinn's disembowling forhand:D

another thing...its bad enough getting a full contact whack of a Padded Kali stick...so getting a whack of a real one!!! serious ouch!!!!

Massive Respect to FMA guys!

scuttery1 wrote:
    I once hit myself square in the nuts much to the amusement of the rest of the group.:D

Sure I hit myself on the head with my stick while demonstrating an Escrima move to my class.

Regarding co-ordination with two hands the way we do it in Newman-Escrima is to start off with the single stick and for beginners the "live" (unarmed) hand is placed infront of the mouth. However when people are more comfortable with the single stick then we start to work on the live hand following the stick hand so the two hands are moving together and this means you start to use your body weight and centre of gravity when striking as opposed to just your arm which gives you more power. We then start to the "live" hand for striking which developes this even more so that after we hit with the stick we then rotate the body and deliver a palm strike or punch.

When people are comfortable with this we then put a stick into their second hand and it is not such a big jump as they already have the basic co-ordination. After double stick we then go into empty hand, palm stick, stick and knife, sword, staff etc but the main thing is that we are learning not how to use 10 different types of weapons but how to use your body and that basically is the same no matter what type of weapon is at hand.

Anyway, sorry for the long post Gerry but it might put into perspective your current difficulties in FMA.

Regards,:)

Michael
    www.iewto.org