Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Audi S3 arriving shortly...

• 25-12-2006 3:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭

Hi all... should be getting my new for 07 Audi S3 sometime this week...

Looking forward to it...

Spec is: Sprint blue, Bi-Xenon Lights, 18" Alloys, Twin Colour Napa Leather, Sat Nav, Auto Lights & Wipers, Winter Package, Additional Interior Lights, Aluminium interior Inlay, Electric Climate Control.. most is standard really apart from the leather, sat nav and the lights/winter pack.

Only 8 of them in the country at the moment I believe...

Any thoughts good or bad??

newmS3SPR325.jpg
    newmS3SPR317.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Absolute beauty! Think I saw a nice silver one in the showroom of Audi on the Navan Road the other day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Nice car, I bought an S8 a few weeks ago and I'm mad about it. I never realised there was such a difference between a standard model and the S version, well I did really but I had to pretend to be allowed.;) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Cracker! Somethin to look forward to alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,321 ✭✭✭MarkN

Thanks lads.. going from a MKV GTI with 18s, the wheels could be a little more inspiring but it's a small issue.

If and when I can, I might put the RS4 wheels on her which look like this!

audi_rs4_wheel.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

MarkN wrote:
    Only 8 of them in the country at the moment I believe...

.......................Any thoughts good or bad??

I'll race ya!!

...........when I get me TT......................and remap it........and put a K04 in there.........and :D

This week is going to d.....r....a.....g for you. bet ya can't wait!:cool: There is nothing like the feeling you get when driving off the forecourt in a brand new car no matter how often you change cars. Even better feeling when its an S3!!

Was expecting the TT next week too but my build week has moved back to week 5. :(

I don't even have to drive it off a forecourt.. they are bringing it to my house!

Can't drive it til Tuesday though cause of the 07 plate :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

MarkN wrote:
    I don't even have to drive it off a forecourt.. they are bringing it to my house!

Can't drive it til Tuesday though cause of the 07 plate :(
    Is that the exact s3 you got. Was it from newmarket, it looks amazing,i would put on the rs4 alloys instead and give it a light tint nothing too dark.
    And ofcourse if you want more power then get it remapped :)

That's the exact one yeh, from Newmarket.. it's the first S3 on Carzone.

I will prob sort the wheels in time but it's costing me 58K, I'm not spending anymore on it for a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

MarkN wrote:
    but it's costing me 58K,

Jesus ****!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭nialler

MarkN wrote:

I will prob sort the wheels in time but it's costing me 58K, I'm not spending anymore on it for a while!

I wonder how much the S8 cost. But nice car and I'm sure you'll wear her well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

MarkN wrote:
    but it's costing me 58K

Don't mean to rain on your parade ...lovely car, wouldn't mind one myself:D ...but do you realise that the German list price (even with 21%VAT) is "only" 36.665 ??

Next time you meet Bertie or any of that crowd, get him to say "Thank you, MarkN"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭themessiah

Yeah why is its so expensive , the vrt should not be that high isnt it only a 2.0litre.

Loved to know the reasoning for buying one aswell ?

A Ford Focus St can be bought for 31500 cash or nearly half the s3 , do doesnt have 4wd drive. Spec is
    221 bhp 152 mph 0-62 mph 6.6 30mpg

and is not that far off in terms of performance either to the s3
    0-62 mph in 5.7 seconds, 155 mph, 261bhp , 30 mpg

And if you wanted a 4WD Drive go the whole way and maybe something like a

Subaru Impreza Type−25 Litchfield

# 415bhp @ 6,500rpm (400bhp from 5,800rpm − 7,000rpm)
    # 570Nm / 420lbft @ 3,800rpm (300lbft from 3,000rpm)
    # 8,000rpm Redline
    # 304bhp/ton
    # 0−60mph in 3.7sec
    # 0−100mph in 8.7sec
    # 157mph limited top speed

MarkN wrote:

wow thats expensive,you should have got the new r32.but the s3 looks amazing.Will it hold that much value what do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Sorry, lovely car & all that but 58k is just wrong! Just an example of what can be bought for the same money:

http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=533844

There are so many fabulous cars you can buy for that sort of dosh!

Buying a new car in this country is an absolute waste of money, the trick is to buy a good demo model with all the spec. a year or two old and you'll get serious value for money. All the cars I buy are secondhand and all the commercials are new, for tax and VAT purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Those A3's are great womens cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The OP sounds familiar. Do you go by the name Big Balls on here too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Thats him alright. Sounds Familiar? You've probably heard him as well. :D

I'm sure he won't mind me saying this but I know him from other forums too and he can sometimes have a short fuse. Jimmy, Boy are you gonna get it!! :D

I've an A3 too and I'm getting a TT in Febuary. You callin' me a poof too!! :D

Not the first time I've heard someone say that though about the A3. Can't get my head around it though. How can a GTI be a mans car and then a car with 265BHP, 4WD and looks more muscular and manly even in pink..be a womans car? Even my 2.0TDI looks more manly than a Golf or R32.

A 1.6 A3 might be a Womans car. Any other engine and its a mans car! :D

bazz26 wrote:
    The OP sounds familiar. Do you go by the name Big Balls on here too?

How does he sound fimilar?, why would he bother having 2 names

drdre wrote:
    He's probably in two minds about things.:)

drdre wrote:

Not sure really but something just does seem familiar here. Not having a go at him btw, just curious myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

MarkN wrote:
    it's costing me 58K

Fucking hell, that's a lot of money for what is essentially a VW Golf!

For only a pittance more, you could have a BMW 335i Coupe. Now that's a car. A man's car

In my experience only sissy boys or DJs would go for that A3 tbh...

unkel wrote:

For only a pittance more, you could have a BMW 335i Coupe. Now that's a car. A man's car

Or something like these:
    http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=521920
    http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=534388
    http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=530197

or this :D :
    http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=559764

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭omega man

Congrats, the new s3 is a stunning car but i must admit a stunning waste of money also imo. Unless you won the lotto of course!! Every new car i get, i seem to get the wondering eye after 6 months or so. I would have to shoot myself if i bought a new s3 only to start wanting something else! Enjoy it man and drive safe!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,639 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Good God Almighty.. My 2005 S4 Cabrio set me back $60K US (After tax). You guys are getting ripped off.

I'm not entirely sure where the S3 fits in vs the BMW series. There was no doubt in my mind to go Audi over BMW between S4 and M3, the interior quality of the Beemer just was no match at all. I assume the S3 is of similar quality to the S4.

Looking at the earlier posts comparing with things like the Focus and Subaru, I think people are missing an important factor in the Audi's favour. Whilst I accept that a Mitsubishi Evo is just as fast as the S4, (Actually, a little faster) and costs about half as much, the Evo (and the other racers) suffer a serious flaw when it comes to 'liveability'. I spend 100% of my driving time in my Audi sitting in the cockpit, and only a small % of it driving fast. Yes, I could have bought a Ford Mustang GT cranking out the same 0-60 time or better for almost half the cost, but there is absolutely no comparison with the interior quality. The Audi's driver's seat is just a nice place to sit. Enjoy your S3, dude, the other guys are just jealous.

(How the hell do they justify 58K for a Fiat?)

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭DirtyDog

unkel wrote:

'In my experience' 335i's are crappy looking and favoured by women (or ladyboys)- BMW's in general are overrated and this country is glutted with them. He's not going for the A3 he's going for the S3 a very rare car in this country and a fantastic car.

Get off your high horse its a car for god sake it doesnt mean your above everyone else and it certainly doesnt make you a man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

S3 wow....one hell of a car.....dont let BMW fanboys get you down...soon you will be burning them all at the lights............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

yea id love one of them, rare.. thats what i like the most, its so rare and soo many people will be jeolous of you. I know I would be if I saw you ;) but 58k... EEK

S3 wow....one hell of a car.....dont let BMW fanboys get you down...soon you will be burning them all at the lights............
    You won't be burning me at the lights.;) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,470 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

yeah itll piss all over a 335i or an e46 m3:rolleyes:

seriously nice car mark, its your money and you can spend it whatver way you like. whether its good value for money or not is a moot point, cracking car and they seem to hold their value pretty well too looking at the old model

junkyard wrote:

01 M5? Nice car.

He might beat you yet, though. In Ireland, how often will you be at the lights when the road is wet? That's where the extra weight thrown into 4-wheel-drive makes it up. Not much point in having the power if you don't have the traction to put it on the tarmac.

NTM

Love the way the fanboys immediatly set about me...:rolleyes:

Good point about the four wheel drive....the e46 is a much more expensive car....so is a 335i remember this is a new car he is buying and its a real pleasure to get a new car....so lets not rain on his parade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

For that money I would've bought a nearly new NSX-R. There's a supercar.

Or a Skyline GTR R34. The Japs don't call it Godzilla for nothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

junkyard wrote:

Nor me :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Love the way the fanboys immediatly set about me...:rolleyes:

Good point about the four wheel drive....the e46 is a much more expensive car....so is a 335i remember this is a new car he is buying and its a real pleasure to get a new car....so lets not rain on his parade.

A decent E46 M3 is sub 40k now... :eek:

Anyhoo, agreed on the whole pissing on ones parade thing, if someone wants to buy a new car let them. I've always sworn I'd never buy a brand new car, but am currently trying to resist the urge to buy a 335i or Z4 coupe brand new.

Personally preferred the older S3 - think the huge grille on the front does the car a disservice, but its undoubtedly a great car.

Let us know what you think of it once its delivered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Yeah im a big fan of the new A3, let me have first option when you go to sell it in five years! ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Lovely car, OP. Nothing beats the feeling of collecting your brand new car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Could you not have waited a for the 30th aniversery GTI? 30HP more than the MK5 GTI and alot cheaper;)

ouch!! just seen 60k! you could have got this. the ultimate audi for that money.

http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=530820

An S3 a womans car.. :D

I'm on dial up today lads so I'll keep it short!

I could've had a 04 E46 M3, a new R32 (test drove one, apart from engine it just felt like sitting in my GTI), a 335ci with cloth seats, or a Jap rocket (never been into them at all though, sorry!), the A8 posted up from Carzone (although at 24 I dunno what I'd want a car with a load of wood inside!)...

The car I WANTED was an Audi S3.

To those of you who love cars and can see over the cost of cars (ye sound like a bunch of old lads at a bar sippin a pint of Guinness for 5 hours BTW:rolleyes: ), you know why I chose that car.

I'll do a review once I have it... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

Good for you Mark, be interested to hear your comments on it when you take delivery.

Out of interest, what put you off the E46 M3?

If you don't mind me asking, how was insurance on the cars you were choosing between?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Fair play Mark, its a gorgeous car. I'm another one who spends obscene cash on cars, but what the hell, its horses for courses! I've just today traded in my '05 A3 1.6 FSI for a new GTI... can't wait!! Should have it in 8 weeks or so.

Having come from an A3 to a GTI, back to an Audi now, how do you think the GTI measures up? I know it will be like chalk and cheese from a performance point of view, but in terms of quality, reliability?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭optiplexgx270

What a crap thread i want my 70kbytes back :( Reason the damn thing is so rare is on account of it being 10k overpriced and all but 10-50 of the population having sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Thumper Long

Just wondering if you went with the comfort seats in front or the racing seat, i've had my eye on one of these for a while and will probably go for one closer to the summer, like yourself moving on from a GTI and dont see all that much difference with the 30th anni model, did the jap thing previously with an impreza STI, sorry to all the jap lovers but there is just no refinement all the reliability in the world cant account for passion, what extras are you getting on the car to bring it to €58K, and hey post some pics if you can when you get it, it might quieten a few of teh naysayers and i'd love to see them, and you will have all the time in the world to drive a cruise liner like the A8 when you are old and grey, heres to the ultimate hot hatch the S3 definitely a mans CAR. ;)

For people wondering why I, for example, was willing to pay $60K (US) for an S-Car which doesn't go any faster than a much cheaper Evo or Impreza which also has four wheel drive, this is the answer:
    s42.JPG
    I submit that it is an argument in favour of picking an S3 over a Focus SVT or other such similarly fast car. I defy you to find me a Focus or Subie that has anything even close to the quality of interior of an Audi, from quality of materials through how well it's put together. It's a better interior than my dad's Merc, or the M3 I sampled as well (Plus, in my case, the V8 vs the BMW's V6 was a clincher), and Audi is pretty much the acknowledged class leader in interior fitting until you get to the super-luxury market.

NTM

Lovely car, Manic Moran. Wish we had a climate like in California over here!
    I assume the S3 is of similar quality to the S4

Nice interior, but an S3 has a 4-pot 2 liter engine. An S4 has a V8 4.2. Kinda shifts the men from the boys :)

I could be completely wrong, but reading between the lines, I get the impression the OP could not get insurance on a proper performance car
    in my case, the V8 vs the BMW's V6 was a clincher

Yep a clincher indeed. I've turned out to be a big fan of V8 engines since I bought my first one nearly 6 years ago. To be a bit anal, the BMW does not have a V6 but a straight 6. You've got a good point though! The current 3-series will get an M3 with a V8 engine for the first time soon. Will be very interesting to see how the two compare then

Fair play MarkN, I would love to be waiting to get one of those machines, how much are they giving you for the GTi. I hope your happy about your purchase a GTI is supposed to be a better all round car, I could never buy a car without testing it.

Have spotted that the new 2007 M3 will have a v10 400hp engine...OMG better start saving now and working on the other half. Dont know if my penilty points can take it though

Have spotted that the new 2007 M3 will have a v10

Nah, it's a V8 as I posted there ^^

It's based on the V10 from the M5/M6 though, so you're right there

unkel wrote:
    I could be completely wrong, but reading between the lines, I get the impression the OP could not get insurance on a proper performance car

Yeh, you're wrong I'm afraid. But when you put your money where your mouth is, post up some pics of your 2007/2008 M3 Unkel..! :) What did you drive when you were 24 anyway..just curious?!

A quote on a 2004 BMW M3 was €2,600 fully comp, Boxster was less again, R32 about the same - a ridiculous amount of money for insurance IMO.

The reason I went against the M3 was I just wanted something brand new and not really on the road here. Trying to sell on an M3 in the future was another thing which put me off - have a look at the M3s on Carzone.. they've been there for months. There's even a mint Estoril blue one with next to nothing on the clock going for €48,000 - bargain!! I got one from a dealer for 2 days a few months ago and I had to go back to them using my head not my heart. Simple as really and the things I've listed are not even to be considered in an ideal world as M3s are not about thinking they're just about 'I have to have one'.

Focus ST? You've got to be joking.. S3 is in another league.

I don't really want to go into details of trade in allowance on a public forum like this, I lost €4,000 on the GTI in a year.

The main extras on the car which knocked up the price are nappa leather and sat nav - the car was one of 8 brought in by Audi to Ireland so I had no choice in the spec, I just wanted the sprint blue and after driving two S3s I just had to have one.

Joe - I loved the GTI over the 2.0TDI A3 I had. Power, handling, looks.. it has the lot and you will no regret the change for one minute, I can assure you. I even bought two of them! :o The interior lets the GTI down slightly compared to the A3 but the drive more than makes up for it. It's prob too late for you to change your order now but I specced bi-xenons on the second one and they are just brilliant.
    pburns wrote:
    Just an example of what can be bought for the same money:

http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=533844

Can I just make a point on this as someone suggested it as an alternative.

A 2.5 BMW with cloth seats? Barge size wheel arches and around 40bhp less than the S3 which can be chipped to over 300bhp with just a remap?

You need to take your BMW blinkers off I'm afraid.

Just to sum up, this is a car forum, in theory, the people who log onto it are meant to be into cars, I felt like throwing up some details and pics for you to look over, nothing more.. if you don't like the car that's no big deal, there's cars I hate which some of you probably love and I'm more than happy with my purchase. :)