Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monthly €200+€20 Deep Stack @ the Sporting Emporium

• 24-12-2006 1:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭

Monthly €200+€20 Deep Stack @ the Sporting Emporium

Saturday the 6th January

6pm start

Same set up as before

Buy in €200+ €20

8,000 starting stack

30 min levels to start reverting to 45 min on level 6. 150-300 with running ante 25.

Please note:
    To assist in the smooth running of this tournament I would greatly appreciate if players interested would pre register.
    As you all know it takes a long time to register 70-100 players on the day so if you know you are going to play please drop in and register in advance.

I hope to see you all then (if you’ve recovered from the festivities)

John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

same weekend of the Ipc John which will affect numbers-- wont be in bud we are all out in the city west , u mite think bout that little fact bud other then that i would have been up with a few .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Same here John, IPT in citywest will be the place to be that weekend.

But I'm sure there will be loads of other players looking for a 200 game, as the IPT event that Saturday is a 750 game, with nearly the same structure.

Gl with it and see you at the next one.

Ollieboy wrote:
    Same here John, IPT in citywest will be the place to be that weekend.

But I'm sure there will be loads of other players looking for a 200 game, as the IPT event that Saturday is a 750 game, with nearly the same structure.

Gl with it and see you at the next one.

IPC Ollie not IPT dont end up in the wrong place LOL ---Congrats on the Ept Ticket nice win---

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

I am definitely going to make it in to this tournament John.

I wouldn't be caught dead in a kip like the Citywest (lol).....

Can you pre-register me?

I will drop in the cash at some stage before the 6th.

Thanks and happy Christmas mate,
    Stephen Mc Lean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

IPC Ollie not IPT dont end up in the wrong place LOL ---Congrats on the Ept Ticket nice win---

thanks and maybe thats a lucky mistake...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,440 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

It's a bad weekend John. Best of luck with it if I don't attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Damn i have to work that weekend. Gonna miss the IPC and the boards monthly...new job sucks!

Wonder how many chips i'd lose in blinds if i didnt get into the SE til 945 on saturday night???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭zsoulking

BUMP!

I know this will clash with the Poker events tournament at the City West but I have made the decision that I will always try to have this game on the first Saturday of the month.
    The poker calendar so busy it is almost impossible not to clash with something every week.
    All I can do is keep trying to raise the bar and give the best value tournaments that I can with the resources at my disposal.

Alex and myself are currently working hard (believe it or not) putting together some new ides to improve the card room at the Sporting Emporium.

We will keep you informed of all changes in due course.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish everyone playing at the City West the best of luck and hope to see you all at some point in the New Year.

John.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

good work John, yourself and Alex are doing a great job keep it up mate. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Absolutely cracking job John....Dublin players owe a lot to yourselves and the other casino card rooms.....

See you at the €220.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

zsoulking wrote:

Alex and myself are currently working hard (believe it or not) putting together some new ides to improve the card room at the Sporting Emporium.

Any chance of relaxing the age rule? Christmas spirit and all :)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

whinge, moan

I taught the goverment did that already , she told me she was 16 anyhow its ok:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

also i would strongly recommend not banning hoodys in the card room and/or tracksuit bottoms. its just not comfortable sitting for hours on end ina suit/jeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Lplated

Anyone have any idea what the numbers for this will be like, given the IPC?

Your guess is as good as mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

with the structure changes, is this guaranteed to finish on the night?

I'd like to play but got a flight to catch the next morning

(definition of optimism: El S even imagining that he might still be involved in the later stages)

What structure changes?

5starpool wrote:
    What structure changes?

since the one and only time I played it (i.e. the 1st time!)

with the structure changes, is this guaranteed to finish on the night?

I'd like to play but got a flight to catch the next morning

(definition of optimism: El S even imagining that he might still be involved in the later stages)

Well Glyn, you might be still there in the final stages. But whether one considers themselves "involved" with 3 BBs or not is a different story...;)

Considering the fact that the field will probably be reduced to 30 - 40 or so due to the IPC I would be certain that this will be played to a conclusion before 5am.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Well Glyn, you might be still there in the final stages. But whether one considers themselves "involved" with 3 BBs or not is a different story...;)

Considering the fact that the field will probably be reduced to 30 - 40 or so due to the IPC I would be certain that this will be played to a conclusion before 5am.

3 BB's? that'd be deepstacked for me!!
    30/40 runners only would be a bit poxy, I'll ring them at 6.30 to see how many they have...

best of luck in that little tournament you're playing this w/e (but try to keep the roaring down this time :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Is this still going ahead?

I have to work tonight and tomorrow morning, so won't be playing the ME up in city west (best of luck to everyone by the way). So might give this a shot!

3 BB's? that'd be deepstacked for me!!
    30/40 runners only would be a bit poxy, I'll ring them at 6.30 to see how many they have...

best of luck in that little tournament you're playing this w/e (but try to keep the roaring down this time :) )
    It started at 6.30 the last time, so maybe ring from outside the front door.

JP Poker wrote:
    Is this still going ahead?

I have to work tonight and tomorrow morning, so won't be playing the ME up in city west (best of luck to everyone by the way). So might give this a shot!

This is definately going ahead - I will be there if things don't go my way in City West tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

LuckyLloyd wrote:

:D :eek: :D :eek: :D :eek: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭The Ace Face

This sounds like a good tournie, haven't been to SE for a while. Probably head in for this type structure.

Ray

5starpool wrote:
    It started at 6.30 the last time, so maybe ring from outside the front door.

a Dublin tournament starting within 30 minutes of the advertised start time?

say it ain't so, surely you lie?????

It's true. Doors opened at 6, and it started at 6.30. No one was more taken aback than I was to be fair.

5starpool wrote:
    It's true. Doors opened at 6, and it started at 6.30. No one was more taken aback than I was to be fair.

Good Jesus

I'll ring at 6.15 with the motor running so

did it finish on the same day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

5starpool wrote:

Nor me as I was late as a result! :eek: Very unusual for me....

Well it is a Dublin club - but it is run by two English lads and a Scottish dude (an appropriate term for John, lol) - so I guess there might be something in that.

Good Jesus

I'll ring at 6.15 with the motor running so

did it finish on the same day?
    It certainly did, and that with 61 runners.

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Well it is a Dublin club - but it is run by two English lads and a Scottish dude (an appropriate term for John, lol) - so I guess there might be something in that.

ah racism rears its ugly head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

The_Flyer didnt advertised his monthly game in arklow which APPARANTLY is on tonight and not tomorrow, so i'll be donating to this i'd imagine. not happy about it though!! Lloyd if the IPC goes all wrong for ya i'll swap 10% in this with ya if interested!

ah racism rears its ugly head
    Much better phrasing than your deleted post :p

5starpool wrote:
    Much better phrasing than your deleted post :p

thank you

damn, LL must have headed off to Citywest as I didn't get to use my funny punchline (when he indignantly said "I'm not a racist"....)

next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,447 ✭✭✭califano

Just tardn up eardly

You should quote one of his old posts and edit it to suit your purposes just so you can get the wit off your chest before you forget it.

Don't worry - just finishing up in work (man am I beat).

For Glyn's pleasure:

I am not a racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Ill be at this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Lex

I shall also donate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

I'll donate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

I'll be attending with every intention of taking the cash. tyvm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭scooter 007

any idea how many players this will get

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

DAM... cant make this [work]
    looks like this will be a good game, especially with all the people dropping out of the IPC...

I'm going to head up as well.....luck is due to change soon:D .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

I'm gonna head in for this as well - more dead money :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

meh too tired. only outta bed and watching the fa cup match. gl to all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Helper_Monkey

Is the double chance on tonight in the emporium?????

Played in this...facilities excellent, structure is one of the best around, 42 runners. 8k starting str..everything good so far!

Early doors got QQ...raised 4bbs..2 callers...flop came 267r....one guy led out 800...one guy folded..I make it 2k...he goes allin instantly..after 5 mins I fold....he told me after break he has AA..down to 5k....

Played ok until 10.30ish then it all kicked off...possibly my sickest 5 mins in all of 2007

Hand 1: Double up with 77 v A10 - up to 8k

Hand 2: Get AA..raise 3 bbs ( 1200 chips )..Dave Masters to me left calls ..and I Think Big Dragon goes all in for c. 3k..I then go all in for my stack..Dave acts a bit then folds his 66...AA v. daves 99

Flop Q1082...guess the river.......J..for a straight...totally sick!!!!!!!

Hand 3: Have c. 4k left, 2 mins later get KK...short stack guy to my right raises to 1200 I r/r to 2.5k...everyone folds..he goes allin for 3.5k....
    Cards go over KK v. 1010....Flop..XXXX..guess the river ...go on.....yep a poxy smelly 10..I called it before dealer turned it...

THre my last 600 in with Q7..surprise surpise no luck there either. I enjoyed the game put feck me this is demoralising...since I have came back in Dec after a 6 month break every allin has been like this......What do you do ?:D

Ray